West Bromwich Building Society Reviews

Click here if this is your business
West Bromwich Building Society
★☆☆☆☆
1.3
10.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Telephone Banking

  • Internet Banking

  • Local Branch

  • Cash Point Facility

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
West Bromwich Building Society - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for West Bromwich Building Society

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“41 days to open an account due to all their failings....”

★☆☆☆☆

written by effingpot on 10/01/2024

I had a horrific experience trying to open a WebSave ISA with West Brom. The rate was good, the experience was the worst banking related experience I've ever had. The complaints person blamed the bank that the money was coming from and took no responsibility for the failings, lack of action, lack of follow up, mistakes, lack of response or lack of practivity - they sent forms by snailmail which got lost in the post, they emailed evenutally when I contacted the other bank and got the details, as WB were not willing initially to contact the other bank, they forgot to send forms and basically did a horrible job that only completed because I was in touch with them and other bank on an almost daily basis, racking up 4+ hours of phone calls, losing >£500 in lost interest (they claim that's ok as they give themselves 30 days to do what others take 24 hours to complete). I got a call today from a very condescending Complaints manager offering an insulting and offensive settlement, which has only encouraged me to go to the Ombudsman and to warn as many potential customers off ever using West Brom. That said, the team answering the phones were all lovely, were very embarrassed and seem to be let down by a system and backoffice team that don't deliver and put them in a very awkward position. AVOID.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“REVERSE MORTGAGE SHAM”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ShyanneSparks39 on 20/01/2023

They sold my parents a reverse mortgage in 1989. £20k. They have now taken possession of the home. Forced me to move out. 7 days after my mothers death they said I had to be out and make sure there was nothing left behind. After over a year and forcing my brother & I put the house through probate that wasn’t needed as there was a will in place. They finally got the house. It has been another year and the house is rotting where it stands. They are total sham artists and are proud of their accomplishments. Sham all day long b

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Happy to destroy individuals with no care ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by NathalieThomas400 on 14/09/2021

Horrible way to treat people! Give you hope with AIP…then when you have hope and home (that you would never have looked at if wasn’t for West Brom) to then take it away and pocket the fact you want that home and take the £8k to pay out of mortgage you currently have with them and stress finding another, 13 years I have been with them once gone, never going back..as accordingly to them it ok to give AIP as small print says not 100% so it ok to lead you up a garden path and then destroy you! I am an accountant I wouldn’t have my job with that behaviour! Don’t give a AIP if you aren’t sure if underwriter would actually accept! I would have preferred you just said no instead of false hope and then destroying future is careless you don’t know the mental stress people face individually and this treatment could have very damaging impacts in individuals health and relationships…

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Awful.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Kelf18 on 28/07/2019

My family and I have had an awful experience with this building society. My dad took out an equity release mortgage with them and he’s sadly passed away. Upon his passing we had to deal with their employee. She treated us with so much disrespect which really upset me and my family especially at this very difficult time. She was very rude and didn’t have a clue what she was doing. I made her aware about a boundary dispute at my dads property whereby the neighbour had taken some of our land and I felt the society needed to know considering they were taking possession of the property, and her response to me in such a rude and forceful manner was “get on with your life”. This was one of the many examples of her rude and unnecessary behaviour. I submitted a complaint to the society and their response was to defend this employee on every point of my complaint. They stated they had done things which I have evidence they hadn’t. Plus they said their employee never said the things to me which I claimed she had. Luckily I started recorded my calls with her after a couple of telephone with her because I was so shocked with her rudeness. I have proof that this bank has tried to cover up for their employee. A disgraceful building society.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 1

“AWFUL - Terrible service and poor mortgage access”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 239Sweeney on 12/04/2019

Overall the West Brom is a poor lender. Their service lacks professionalism and the use of online access to your mortgage is non-existent. It is never easy to make payments to your mortgage and you can be 100% guaranteed that the Mortgage Team will a mistake a some point with your account. I would strongly advise that you look at another lender on the high street for mortgage or savings products. The West Brom are not consistent in their approach to lending and will often change processes during the term of your mortgage. My advice is, if you want a hassle-free mortgage lender, avoid. Go else where. You will be treated fairly and with professionalism. They are amateurs.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Savings account that won't accept deposits!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by xzStone378 on 25/01/2019

Easy enough to open this account but be warned. Your Nominated bank account is the ONLY account you can PAY money into the Websave! Fair enough for the nominated account to be the only account to withdraw into. Had a large sum returned as it wasn't from my nominated bank! Several phone calls later and extreme stress levels to track down what had happened to my deposit. After searching the West Brom web site I found that to change the nominated account a form has to be downloaded, filled in and posted back to make the change. Ridiculous way to operate a savings account in today's current low interest rate banking environment. Unhelpful chap on customer services too. Needless to say I have closed this account.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 1

“Equity release”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Wbbscrap on 05/12/2018

This company sold my parents an equity release mortgage where the interest accumulated at a ridiculous amount. I complained but the couldn’t give a xxxx. Totally disgusting company. They even wanted to charge interest after my parents were both dead. Totally immoral.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Turing a blind eye to blatant fraud that been...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by MylieRivera on 09/12/2017

But to Let mortgages. Totally deceitful and illegally presented commercial valuations submitted to the society by their own approved panel surveyors. Not once but twice submitted. Additionally the conveyancing solicitor who has a duty in law to me and also to the lender, omitted all sales conditions and did not declare the gifted deposits. The property was completely mis described, was 1 bedroom short, and the property was supposed to be fully refurbished, was virtually uninhabitable. The rental claims were 50% out and the property was circa 100% over valued. I have spent years sending proof of wrongdoing and internal failings within the WBBS that allowed this to happen. AT EVERY TURN,they have either ignored my Solicitors, my MP and other legal professionals, or occasionally they have responded and they never answere point for point but are skilful at biguiling semantics and then claim they have answered the question. They have in all departments, inc the CEOs frustrated all of the overwhelming and substantive proof that has been sent to them and their external 3rd party Solicitors they have employed to frustrate, and there are several documents missing from my WBBS file that are evidence including legal statute and remedies that they refuse to even acknowledge. After all these years, they have to be covering something up as they have broken all their Core Values and not complied with Regulatory reporting requirements. The F Ombudsman has no remit or Authority to engage in BTL mortgages but WBBS lawyers erroneously still encourage one to go there? If I had committed this fraud, I would have been reported and be in jail now. The WBBS conduct themselves with absolute impunity. HOW CAN THEY IGNORE THIS, when also English & Criminal Laws have been broken?...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Avoid”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Dalrymplerl355 on 09/10/2017

Wish I had never taken our mortgage out with these idiots. 1. Errors and inconsistencies in documentation. 2. Extremely vague conditions set on what repairs had to be done, unhelpful in trying to resolve queries. 3. Ridiculous constraints imposed on which contractors could do the work. 4. Staff at the call centre generally have no idea what they are doing. Avoid at all costs!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Mortgagage Nightmare! ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by HectorMcIntyre on 04/05/2017

Went through L&C who recommended West Brom. Weeks of silly questions, mountains of documentation sent substantiating every aspect of our application only to have them refuse to give me a mortgage on the basis that my partner will be living in the property with me and therefore they will only lend to both of us! This is after supplying letters stating my partner will have no future claim to the property etc and monies for deposits being completely separate. Met all their demands then still wouldn't leave to only me. Avoid at all costs, more hassle than you can imagine. I don't think they want to lend money.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Dreadful - Don't let your Mortgage Broker contact West...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by xhMcLean416 on 24/10/2016

We and our broker has bent over backwards to meet the very many demands for information. And done it willingly. West Brom now know more about us than we know about ourselves. West Brom, after many weeks have now refused us a mortgage because they have decided we don't intend to live in our new home, but rent it out. This based on the fact that we don't currently/geographically live near the new house. We wrote a long letter justifying all the reasons why we were indeed intending to make the new property our home and move away from where we are now. We desperately don't want to lose our new home. We are gutted. All the stops now being pulled out to find another mortgage. I just hope the current owner is prepared to wait and not put it back on the market. How dare they make this unwarranted judgement about our long term plans?? And I might add making out we are lying about our intentions.. Shame on you West Brom. We are a mature couple (in our 50s), high income earners and pose no risk at all.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Slow, Moronic, Useless”

★☆☆☆☆

written by GabrielAguirre on 03/04/2016

Having spent weeks asking for ridiculous information regarding my mortgage application, which left my mortgage broker to cease any future business with them they ruined purchase of property over minor details. DO NOT USE UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Notanotherpassword's Comment

Written on: 15/08/2016

I'm currently going through a mortgage application , 4 weeks on and still being asked ridiculous non relevant questions ie why is there no Subscription to sky or Virgin on my statement ? , logic would tell anyone I don't subscribe to any of those ! , every few days it's something ridiculous , and when I ask why it's taking so long I get excuse of " extremely high volume of business " creating delays .. The low rates were attractive but the way my mortgage application is being dealt with has made me regret using the WBBS .. I'm going to cut my losses despite the admin fee I paid and cancel my application with WBBS and put an application through another lender , could do without the stress WBBS are causing ,if I was rating WBBS I would award NIL stars ... MR E

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 1

“Rude and unsympathetic”

★☆☆☆☆

written by shamtas on 04/12/2015

I think they are very rude and lack empathy. Peoples circumstances are not always the same but they do not care.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Bad service on mortgage advice”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Muirfk191 on 29/08/2015

my mortgage adviser dragged my mortgage application to 3 90 min session.. And with this drag.. The seller had chose a new buyer. Terrible service

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“DO NOT PUT YOUR SAVINGS INTO THIS BUILDING SOCIETY”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Mitchell317 on 04/02/2015

We want to withdraw our savings to buy a property abroad, but you try and get your money out, they are making it so difficult they will not transfer your money into a exchange company. We had to open an account in Barclays who by the way as usual are fantastic and understanding. Don't open an account on line, you would think to withdraw your money would be a case of going on line oh NO you have to also write to some place in Newcastle. you could liken this to giving your money to RICHARD TURPIN, he robbed with a mask and a gun WEST BROM BS are doing it with a pen.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“No problems mortgage went through first time.”

★★★★☆

written by lsb2411 on 27/10/2014

Used London & Country for our broker and got our Mortgage with West Brom. No problems at all everything went though first time.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 1

“AVOID AT ALL COSTS”

★☆☆☆☆

written by greenplastic81 on 22/07/2014

1. Misled about the nature of solicitors being on their panel 2. Took forever to respond to queries and get offer out 3. Ordered a ridiculous survey post our homebuyer survey (cavity wall ties) 4. Cannot speak to an underwriter only processing teams, who are smug, rude and unhelpful. 5. Contracts are misleading and huge detail finely hidden with no assistance. Please, this company are totally after your money in fees, and do not want to lend.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Dreadful company, regret ever coming across them”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 12/04/2014

Insanely lengthy initial application Errors in information which caused delays Appointing their own solicitor - a completely unnecessary party which served no purpose other than costing us money. A ridiculous list of questions to our solicitors which were unnecessary and upon completion they then asked a whole load more for no reason whatsoever delaying our exchange date yet again and costing us money. Horrid process & their main aim seems to be to get as much money out of you as possible for services not required and ruining our plans for our move time & time again. Very lengthy process, they refuse to be chased or even speak to you about issues. NEVER use them for anything!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Terrible company don't go anywhere near!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Medina183 on 11/03/2014

Re- mortgage they get you to pay a booking fee of £99 for a low interest mortgage then they refuse you this product and say you can have this other product for another £99 on an higher interest. Do not deal with these people they never ring you back and are very un helpful.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Illegal holding of a passbook”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 24/11/2013

Upon receipt of two Authority letters the west bom in knowle refused witout warning to issue a cheque to the account holder and retained a passbook thus preventing transfer of funds no warning was given just a staight retention,despite the request was from a solicitor.The branch concerned also rang the account holder at work number but still refused to acknowledge identity The staff concerned where rude and caused distress and embarassement to my wife.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by wendycharmain23 on 16th July 2014 Report this content
My mortgage finishes in December 2014. I had a phone call 2 weeks ago saying that my monthly payments will increase by £200 because of the change in interest. Is this right?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview