O2 Pay & Go Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3 / 5
56% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Tariff Features

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
O2 Pay & Go - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for O2 Pay & Go

O2 Pay & Go

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Shocking service! ”

Written on: 29/09/2018 by Dominiqueu452 (1 review written)

I have been a customer here for years and the recent issue with them has lead me to pay off my contract and move to EE. Here's why, I go away on holiday for 3weeks and I use there service O2 travel as you get unlimited internet which is ideal. Well, Turns out the internet was shocking some days wouldn't be able to use and others would be service was far too slow. I come to an agreement with one of the o2 staff that out of the 12days I used this service 5 off the days just about... They then say they will give a 50% credit on the 7 days I didn't use it! Wow thanks your service failed and you will only pay me back half my money? There argument was because I sent a couple texts which is included in the o2travel. Shocking service in my opinion. DO NOT use O2 and go to a more reliable company like EE.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Getting away with it”

Written on: 24/03/2015 by KeeganByrne308 (1 review written)

Great if you have no other option (discovered Giffgaff) and need an instant solution. Otherwise same same but different to those dreadful pay as you go deals from 17+ years ago.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“great service, poor bundle choices”

Written on: 02/01/2015 by abar499 (2 reviews written)

I think that the O2 pay as you go service is great. O2 has the very best signal coverage for payg phones without a doubt. Unfortunately, the only thing that O2 lets me down on is the poor value for top up bundles. O2 gives you the following bundles choices ; £10 gives you 100 mins + 1000 texts and data £15 gives you 200 mins + 2000 texts With EE you get the following bundles £10 gives you 150 mins + unlimited texts £15 gives you 750 mins + unlimited texts As you can see, with EE you get much more better value for a payg bundle compared to O2. However, O2 still has the better customer service and signal, it is just a shame the tarrifs aren't better value for money.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Increasing problems”

Written on: 22/01/2014

I've been using O2 Pay & Go for calls and mobile data for a few years. The positive is their coverage which has generally been better than other phone companies I've tried - Three, T-Mobile, Vodafone, Orange - in out-of-the-way places such as Scotland and East Anglia. The bad is that even with a four-bar signal, their data throughput can be non-existent. Yesterday afternoon I waited 15 minutes for a web-page to load. On a drive down the M11, mapping simply didn't update for around half-an-hour. This morning trying to read my email on the phone sometimes works but mostly is timing out, as is O2s own web page whilst I check for faults. Apparently there aren't any. I've had the same experiences in London, Edinburgh, Cambridge and Glasgow on a series of different smartphones, and recently it's been happening more frequently. Carphone Warehouse staff suggested that O2's network may be overloaded. I recently got a Three sim for a tablet and although the coverage is poorer than O2, its performance is much more consistent. I'd also add that they are charging the maximum they are allowed to by the EU for EU data roaming - though they don't seem to be unique in this - and it's still expensive. Three are much cheaper where they have local agreements eg in Italy.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“O2 Mobile Pay As You Go”

Written on: 25/05/2013 by meatloaf1966 (13 reviews written)

Without a doubt the best value when it comes to Pay As You Go. Everything is so simple and straightforward, no hidden clauses or catches, what you get is what you see. The tariffs are obvious and clear, bolt ons are a plus !!!!!! Simplicity IS simplicity, EE (Orange & T-Mobile) take note !!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Some of the o2 pay and go tariffs are great, they are...”

Written on: 16/01/2011

Some of the o2 pay and go tariffs are great, they are all much better than contracts, and the service is simply amazing with many new ideas coming out all of the time such as o2 surprises with a mini game you can play. This is superb as it gives you something back and gives you something to look forward to. not only this, the bolt ons on the pay and go tariffs are to exactly what you want for example i get 300 texts and 500mb data for a social sim because im always on line, this is for 10 pounds a month and the credit is kept on top of your bolt on. The signal strength is always good and internet speeds rarely slow down even at peak times.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“hii just switching to o2 and would like to know what...”

Written on: 24/08/2010

hii just switching to o2 and would like to know what the best tarrif is for your value of money personally i like text and call but dont really need internet can you please reply with your thoughts on the best o2 tarrif also just thought i would mension the tarrif would have to be on pay as you go. Thankyou and please reply =)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great service and all my problems i have faced o2 have...”

Written on: 03/11/2008 by awaken2die (1 review written)

Great service and all my problems i have faced o2 have been very good at sorting out speedy.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I've been with o2 for about 5 years now! Had no...”

Written on: 29/07/2008

I've been with o2 for about 5 years now! Had no problems at all, love the 'Text Anytime' although i use around about 2000 texts a month so therefore have to keep topping up £30 a month, which being at uni and that i can't always afford, to get unlimited messages :| so i'm thinking contract maybe a better option for me. But over all i think its brill

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“I have been with 02 pay as you go and overall I have...”

Written on: 11/07/2008

I have been with 02 pay as you go and overall I have had no problems, well I don't want to jinx myself now, but most of my friends are using o2 and my family, we're hapy with it so far!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Still a customer as good service but will switch to...”

Written on: 05/04/2008

Still a customer as good service but will switch to contract to avoid high call cost - about time for a price review me thinks!"!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I have been with O2 for round about a year now, and...”

Written on: 30/06/2007 by Tommo1616 (1 review written)

I have been with O2 for round about a year now, and have no teething problems with the network, they gave me a Pay and Go Sony Ericsson K750i at £89.99 which was cheap compared to Orange charging £120.50 for the same phone with no free memory stick duo! O2 even price matched the Memory Stick I was going to upgrade to from the internet and gave me one for £7.99! Unbelievable! I was also amazed at their reception, many people get rubbish signal it has nothing to do with the network but the "phone" model you choose is the culprit, I get perfect signal everywhere: the countryside and even in elevators. My granny is on Orange and gets no signal in elevators or countryside, not even on the train, yet I get full 4 bars of signal where ever I go! O2 are truly the best network and their value for money is staggering! They give you O2 treats, Bolt-ons (at £4.99 a month) and the list goes on for about 2 days approx. :) I have had minor problems with the phone though, but they were resolved by a customer service rep. at my local O2 Shop in approx 5 minutes! Compared to 3 and Orange which have to take the phone away and give you a rather chatty Nokia 1020i (NOT COLOR MODEL!) as a replacement! where-as if O2 have to take your phone for repair they give you your sim card, and the same model of phone as a STANDARD replacement! absolutely amazing!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“O2 Pay & Go is a very good deal! Just top-up £10 a...”

Written on: 15/06/2006 by jovisa737590 (6 reviews written)

O2 Pay & Go is a very good deal! Just top-up £10 a month and you get 300 free texts, and you get more texts if you top up £20 or £30 a month, which is good. If they had better signal strength they would be really good. I have read some bad things about their customer services, but I have never used them so can't comment about them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Nataliewood631's Response to jovisa737590's Review

Written on: 30/07/2007

OMG! I totally agree. I have a Nokia phone and I got the 02 sim card of the internet and I topped up £10 and got 300 free texts on the 1st day I was getting a maximum of 3 bars of signal and now the day after I have had no signal at all. I am very annoyed at this, I have no idea how to improve the signal!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“I've been with O2 for a couple of years now. If you...”

Written on: 03/05/2006 by Buy (1 review written)

I've been with O2 for a couple of years now. If you buy the SIM card online you're entitled to 300 free texts each month, provided you top up by £10 or more each month. Seems like a good deal, and it is.

Unfortunately, the O2 network is very poor. Reception is scattered, and phone calls will often cut off for no reason. Around 1 in 10 text messages takes at least 24 hours to reach its destination, although this has improved recently. Overall, the quality of the service is pretty awful.

In buying online and getting such a good deal, you're also expected to use the online customer service (ie. email) rather than calling them. You can still phone up customer services but you'll get heavily charged for doing so. However, the customer service is dire. It's painfully obvious that no-one at O2 reads your email, but simply issue a standard response. It's been many emails and several months later, and still they've been unable to answer my very basic question.

In addition to the texts, O2 also give you other free things. These include 10% off your top-ups back every so often, and a "treat" of your choice (15 free minutes or so). These are nice, but they're such a pain to activate, and each involves receiving 5 or more messages informing you of the progress of your treat, and half the time you never get your free things anyway. It's really not worth the hassle. I don't want my phone company to give me useless gifts. I want them to do their job and leave me alone.

Recently there has been a change. I can only imagine that O2 are having trouble with their system, as I haven't topped up in over 4 months and I am still receiving free texts. As nice as this is, it doesn't give me a great deal of confidence in O2's ability to keep track of my account.

I would very much like to leave O2 and change to a network that will provide a basic reliable service, with no hidden surprises, annoying alerts, or stupid tariffs. Unfortunately, with Orange selling animal tariffs, T-Mobile penalising you for having friends on other networks, Vodafone still charging 12p a text, and Virgin doing goodness-knows-what... I'm stuck with O2.

And besides, I've sent over 1000 texts and made a few phone calls, and it's only cost me £5.04. Bargain.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Nataliewood631's Response to Buy's Review

Written on: 30/07/2007

By the way I agree with what you have written because I have exactly the same O2 sim card, but I would just like to inform you that Virgin is a very good network and you have excellent signal. I am due to change to that network in 5 months.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“I have used O2 Pay as You Go for about 2 years, and so...”

Written on: 08/09/2005 by tiger74 (2 reviews written)

I have used O2 Pay as You Go for about 2 years, and so far I have had no problems. The coverage is better than expected.
I recommended it to my parents, but they don't use it so often. One day it appeared that they stopped the service so had to send an email to activate it again, which they had sorted within 48 hours.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“I have been with the O2 Pay & Go tariff for the past 2...”

Written on: 30/08/2005 by talasabz (5 reviews written)

I have been with the O2 Pay & Go tariff for the past 2 years. 300 Free text messages at £10 a month. really good value for money - reception is available at 99% of the time.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

214429_Itsonlyme's Response to talasabz's Review

Written on: 20/10/2005

I have just changed from Vodafone to O2 and I have definitely had nothing like 300 free texts. Am I doing something wrong?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Talasabz's Response to talasabz's Review

Written on: 21/11/2005

ITSONLYME - did you buy the (pay as you go) SIM card from O2?
<br>
<br>I checked the O2 site it's down now due to a re-design.. but myself and my friends have bought their pay as you go SIM only through the site and we did get 300 text messages free every month when we top up £10.
<br>
<br>I don't think they do offer these with the offline shops.. you have to buy it online.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
overview