Barclays Travel Insurance Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Barclays Travel Insurance
★★☆☆☆
1.8
19.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Barclays Travel Insurance - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Barclays Travel Insurance

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Barclays are Incompetent!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by McQueenwn81 on 22/01/2024

Barclays wrote the wrong name on our policy. They know that they made this mistake and yet refuse to correct it. Our insurance is now invalid as if we needed it, we could not make a claim with the wrong name on the policy, but that hasn't stopped Barclays collecting my monthly payment for the policy! Hours and hours being passed around by customer service has resulted is NOTHING BEING DONE!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“As bad as the Post Office Scandal”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Holycombe on 08/01/2024

We had travel disruption with no fault by us - first of all they put all sorts of obstacles in our way to even get the travel pack terms and conditions, then they refused compensation for a spurious reason although we totally proved it wasn't that. We spend weeks compiling a 36 page document then just said Computer says No. We've been customers for ever and paid the monthly fee for 2 years and this is how we were treated. We're £3,500out of pocket. They are despicable - don't use them and read all the reviews to reveal on all sites to reveal just how bad and dishonest they are.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“worst Insurance”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Aabb5656 on 28/10/2023

I will not recommend anyone about this Insurance. This is one of the worst Insurance I have ever experience, Please stay away.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Outstanding ”

★★★★★

written by Oustanding1 on 17/09/2023

I debated for a long time in travel insurance and finally decided to go with Barclays Bank I am so glad I did family holiday I had a fall and needed survey being in hospital abroad is so different to the uk and and don’t assume hospitals abroad will work with all travel insurance companies the do not I was able to contact Barclays as they have a 24/7 contact they were absolutely fantastic through one of the must difficult times in my life there staff really were fantastic and ensured I could have surgery and bills were paid and rescheduled flights and transport When your abroad hospitals will demand payments immediately you must have the right Insurace to deal with all this rest assured if you use Barclays travel you will be taking care of if you need them Well done Barclays I will be forever grateful for tur help

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Quick and easy”

★★★★★

written by CassidyKennedy on 23/06/2023

Unfortunately had to cancel a trip due to serious I’ll was of partner Provided letters to confirm diagnosis on Monday and insurance paid out on Thursday Really can’t fault them at all - quick and easy payout in very difficult personal circumstances

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Spot on service ”

★★★★★

written by KENDO1953 on 12/04/2023

I've been with Barclays travel pack for over 15 years and fortunately never had to use the service but on 11/03/23 I had to cancel my holiday due to being positive for coronavirus,I spoke to a agent who was extremely helpful and advised me how to get my money back.after only 4 weeks I had a email saying that I would get my money back within 3/4 working days.FANTASTIC RESULT and would recommend the travel pack insurance to anyone!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“When I called barclays to ask about barclays travel...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Braeden485 on 29/09/2022

When I called barclays to ask about barclays travel inssurance, they made it looks like a heaven. But then when I started my journey, it was like nightmare. It started with lounge access , the staff sent me to another lounge because their one was full. It was the worst event that I have ever seen. Nooo food variation or drink,no quality plus not enough for everyone. Then I lost my luggage, they said they the insurance do not cover my lost jewellery. Nobody told me that before. So , I do recommend that package at alll . Basically ur paying for nothing.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 6 0

“No support - Had to buy a 2nd Policy to fly! Shocking ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Welshy69 on 05/10/2021

Absolute joke - NOTE you will not be able to find any documents with Persons covered and a policy start/finish anywhere! This means you will get to the airport , they will ask you for your insurance policy ... When you show your bank info they will tell you it does not state COVID cover and you will like many others end up going on line and panick buying a last minute policy I have asked aviva 12 times for My proof of policy , had chats to Barclay on line who says It srun by a third party! Seriously It’s their bank Disgusting

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 1

“Poor sign-up response”

★★★☆☆

written by goak on 30/08/2019

On sign-up for annual travel insurance I didn't receive any conformation, either email or postal. After one week of hearing nothing I phoned them (long process!) and they confirmed I was signed up and agreed to email me. I was advised that the postal pack takes up to 10 days. OK ... but it would have been so much better if they'd sent me an automated email acknowledgement at the time I signed up. Not difficult!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Complete waste of money”

★☆☆☆☆

written by NickiColeman on 21/02/2018

For many years we have paid for the Travel Plus Insurance. Over time the benefits have decreased. We have just been on a very special holiday which went over the 31 days by a day. Therefore we had to pay an additional premium to cover the extra day and also increase the amount paid out should we have to cancel this was about an additional £130. Whilst away we were caught in a cyclone in New Zealand we were stuck for 2 days. We had additional expense of a motel room and car hire as we had missed our train connection. Surprise, Surprise we were not able to claim for these additional expenses as the policy didn't cover this. On making a complaint with Barclays it appears that all we would have been able to claim for would be to send our bodies back to the UK if we had been carless and got ourselves killed. Yet another failing of Barclays, the only way forward now is to ditch them and try and find a bank that does operate a customer service policy.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 1

“Wiggling out of a claim”

★☆☆☆☆

written by CynthiaHays313 on 31/10/2017

We were forced to stay in Florida due to Hurricane Irma. The insurance is now not covering us for enforced stay abroad therefore we had to incur additional costs out of our own pocket. I really would not recommend this insurance - I am cancelling mine.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Travel Restrictions Not Mentioned on Barclays Website ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 16/10/2017

We've had the Travel Pack Plus (and whatever it was called before it changed in 2015) for many years through our Barclays Premier Account. This year was the first time we needed to use it. Our daughter (aged 20), travelling with us and who lives at home fell gravely ill whilst on holiday in Crete. She was put in a coma on life support in the ICU for 10 days. We telephoned the helpline number for advice on getting her home and we were informed that because she wasn't in full time education this year she wasn't covered. They wouldn't even help us with what to do, who to contact or any guidance whatsoever. Our daughter recovered well and was able to fly home to a UK hospital after 2 weeks - we had to arrange the repatriation ourselves and with the help of friends in the UK during what was the most terrifying ordeal of our lives. The bill for the Air Ambulance Plane was £22,000. Before we had our Barclays Premier Account we would always buy travel insurance for specific trips. Having this Barclays travel pack gave us a very false sense of security. I have just looked on the Barclays website for the Travel Pack Plus and it doesn't mention anywhere that I can find about these restrictions. It says that it will cover the whole family if they are travelling with us. About 3 screens in you find the Terms & Conditions and even then the Key Exclusions don't mention anything about children ages or current education situations. I would be interested to hear how many others have been affected by this. I have telephoned Barclays and logged a complaint about the way this is sold.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 6 0

“Don't waste money with Barclays, buy proper insurance ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Pclerkin on 09/02/2017

I have had the travel insurance pack with Barclays for years. In September 2016 I was lucky enough to go on an extended travel around South America for up to 6 months. 2 weeks before leaving I called Barclays to inform them of my plans and check that I'd be fully covered by my policy. They said yes. Unfortunately at the end of January this year I had an accident and fractured my leg. When I called Barclays to make a claim they said that I wasn't covered because my policy only covered me for up to 30 days consecutive travel and that I should have bought an extension. This was never explained to me when I called prior to leaving. I am now stuck in South American alone, immobilised. I've made a formal complaint but told this would take up until march to resolve (1 month) and that is it being escalated!! The worse service I could have imagined, I am stuck here not knowing with I'm entitled to and I am currently not covered if I did have another accident. First thing I'll do when I get home will be switched banks as Barclays have shown no compassion in this case, I've banked with them for over 17 years and they are acting very unrespectful. Don't waste your money and time, ditch Barclays and get proper insurance.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 1

“Easier to contact God”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Spencersgran on 18/05/2016

Been trying to contact this company with a query and been passed to three different departments after pressing button 1 or 3 or 4.In the end I thought try new claims they should know the answer.Seven minutes later I am told "Our operators are busy but they know you are waiting"for the heaven knows how many times so I hung up.Feel sorry for anybody who was putting a claim in they will still be waiting tomorrow

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Please do not take a Travel Insurance policy with Barclays”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ansa111 on 23/10/2015

We lost one of suitcases and the remainder were delayed upon arrival to Turkey. It has been three and a half months now and still not even a single phone call or email from Barclays. My personal experience having to deal with Barclays Travel Insurance is to basically declare them to be incapable of having any kind of professionalism, customer care, zero awareness of what it actually feels like to lose baggage and have your holiday ruined. I have been calling them every other week and the excuses they use are the following: 1. The call either drops or they claim not to be able to hear you.(Has happened to me on all 9 calls I have made.) 2. "Oh we are sending your claim to the assessors". (Again have been told this 5 times) 3. "I do not understand why your claim has not been reviewed by claims department". (Have been told this 4 times) 4. "We have not received any emails from you as were requested". (Despite sending numerous emails they claim not to have received only 1 email.) 5. "I will be personally dealing with your claim now and I have to answer calls and deal with customers whilst sifting through 35 pages of your claim. This could take some time". ( Iam sorry and apologise that my baggage was delayed and one suitcase vanished and most of all IAM SORRY FOR TAKING OUT THIS POLICY WITH BARCLAYS!!!!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Article limit / Depreciation”

★★☆☆☆

written by JulieWoodward on 06/03/2015

I'm not sure if this is the case with all insurers but there is a £300 article limit. My daughter lost her phone which will cost about £500 to replace. Barclays will only payout a maximum of £300 and then they also mention depreciation. Beware of this and check whether the competition offer something more competitive.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“friendly and suppirtuve”

★★★★★

written by Morrowhm1947 on 16/09/2014

Day prior to my flight I came down with dmfood poisoning, dehydration dropped my blood pressure so Thomas cook rightfully wouldn't let me fly due to risk if embolism. Called Barclay's insurance who were very helpful, arranged overnight stay in a lovely hotel and flights back the next day. Also arranged airport transfer from airport to home. Couldn't have asked for more. The process was a little long winded albeit but that was more down to the airport side of things. We did however have to draw money to pay the airport medical which will be reimbursed, because the airport would only take cash not travel insurance. Really supportive in a stressful and worrying time, definitely recommended.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 2

“Don't use”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Silva147 on 06/09/2014

Had to cancel our holiday because of death of my wife's mother.the claims process is very complicated and has been delayed by contradictory requests for more and more information from the insurer.so far the process has taken 6 weeks and we seem to be no nearer getting our money. I will not be renewing barclays additions.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Claim payouts without a quibble”

★★★★★

written by FVWsenior on 16/06/2014

I have had Additions Plus travel insurance with Barclays for a number of years. During that time unfortunately I have had to make two claims. The first was when my wife's mother died just before we went on a package holiday and after a confirmatory letter that we were not likely to have been aware of the condition from her doctor concerning the illness from which she died they paid out in full. Secondly I lost my passport in Italy and claimed for the expense of going to the Embassy and incidental costs including for a new passport and was again paid in full. Good policy which I have also extended for longer trips abroad of up to 60 days.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

“Easy and informative”

★★★★★

written by on 15/08/2013

Our mother was taken ill on the second day of our 2 week holiday with a bleed to the brain which required a 2 week hospital stay, various scans and operations and a stay in intensive care. I contacted the emergency contact number and was put through quickly to the international assistance team. From there they were helpful, understood the situation and kept us up to date with everything. When I asked them to send confirmation emails for hotel booking references they did, when asked for a call back they did. They arranged hotels for our father so he could stay on near to the hotel and arranged a medically assisted flight back to the UK. Overall they have been EXCELLENT in every aspect and would have no problems using them again for travel insurance.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by jeanwalker on 1st June 2024 Report this content
I think my travel pack has cruise cover. How can I check?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Masspot on 26th June 2016 Report this content
I am trying to get my pass to the airport lounge, Inkeep getting passed from one section to another. Can anyone advise me who to approach to start the process off?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview