Comet - www.comet.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
Comet - www.comet.co.uk
★★☆☆☆
2.2
34.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Comet - www.comet.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Comet - www.comet.co.uk

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“False Advertising ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Madden1989 on 30/11/2022

Do NOT buy from them. They advertise one thing then send you another. Poor customer service and they still expect you to pay for the inconvenience. A real bunch of cheapskates.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Went wrong address after i confirmed then sold my item”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Marianan1967 on 21/05/2021

Brought a fridge freezer to be told will be delivered within 7 days. Then from 2nd may puchase said delivery date 17th! Then attempted delivery to wrong address even though coment had the correct address deliver service somehow never and only had 7 morville street. Then after correcting and telling them i am disabled please call and they said they would they never still went wrong address!!! Was told they would call me back never then sold my item and told me its out of stock!!!! Then was told i would be refunded straight away as money was never taken was pending yet still now no refund no fridge freezer been left waiting now cant get any anywhere as all are sold out fuming and disabled with 3 kids will be taking this further especially as not been dealt with correctly or refunded!!!! Bang out of order this is. No refund so unable to purchase a fridge as my benefits money has already gone towards the fridge I brought which you guys have sold on!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 1

“Send in the clowns”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Stealth99 on 16/03/2021

Ordered a mobile phone on 3rd March, item dispatched 3rd March with a delivery date of 8th March. My eyebrows were rasied when the Parcelforce tracking number failed to work, however I emailed Comet about this. 8th March came and no surprise that the item was not delivered. Contacted the clowns (sorry Comet) on 9th March, they said that they would contact Parcelforce and conduct an internal investigation. I rang the clowns on the 10th, 11th and 12th March for an update, got the same response (matter under investigation) and they could not provide an update until Monday 15th March. I contacted Parcelforce on the 12th March, received an email from them on the 14th March confirming that they were still waiting to receive the item from the sender (Clowns / Comet) hence the reason why the tracking number did not work, I forwarded the email to the clowns and also demanded that they ship the mobile phone under "Next day delivery" due to the incovenience which they had caused to me). I contacted the clowns on Monday 15th (in the morning) for an update, I was informed that an update could not be provided until 4.00pm that day ? Received a phone call after 4pm to confirm that the matter was still under investigation, however they would be shipping a moble phone to me, but would not know the tracking number until Tuesday 16th March. So here I am (Tuesday 16th March at 12.45pm) still awaiting confirmation that the item I ordered on 3rd March has been shipped and a tracking number which actually works, no confirmation that the item will be sent "Next day delivery". Only one star given as you cannot submit a review with no stars. This is / was my first experince with Comet and it will be my last. I have never experienced such a incredibly poor level of customer service, total incompetence, complete lack of customer skills or care. Above all I have zero faith, confidence, trust or believe in anything that these clowns have said.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“terrible, disgraceful customer service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 21/02/2013

If it was possible Comet customer service wouldn't get a star! This is a total joke! I bought a tumble dryer which was working fine but then it stopped spinning. I have an extra care plan but I can't book a repair without an authorisation number. I tried to contact differnt numbers but nobody picks up. It soo annoying! I hate eerything about this customer service. MIt wastes my time. I've spent three hours constantly ringing and nothing happens. I don't even want to see my phone bill! This is going to be a fortune. Everyone transfers me forwards and backwords, any noone can help me!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Maryallan's Comment

Written on: 22/02/2013

i also have got a washing machine that dosent wash iv been waiting a month for repairs i rang so many numbers with not much luck how do u manage may be a law suit would be better

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“bought 3d smart blu ray home cinema ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by cairny4 on 19/12/2012

well when i got home there was no remote, tried everything but its dead without a remote, havent even done first setup, plays blu ray at least, i dont think i ishould spend money on a remote when i have paid for system, what a rubbish xmas with kids i am going to have, anyone any ideas, i bought the 190 model, bought it saturday past and managed to go in last day, man said buy one on ebay for 7 quid, well cheapest i have found on internet is 40, and might not work .....help please

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“'GET OUT NOW OR SECURITY WILL KICK U OUT'”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 22/11/2012

This is what I heared yeasterday from the manager from Comet in Preston Capitol. I naver heared any sales person talking to customer this way. I was refused information about my camera that is service since 8 weeks. I had to call police to report rasist incident after they told me to call my ..... police. I have never felt so offended. I have to addmit I was there with 3 year old son and he wanted security to kick me out of the shop. Hope he will be disciplinary fired.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“awful customer service ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 04/11/2012

bought some beats by dr dre which were faulty took them back to comet where i got them and the person would not refund them or swap them i ended up taking the broken ones home im very disappointed as i paid a lot of money for them

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“poor service/lack of contact”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 23/10/2012

We ordered a printer online, hoping to collect it from a local store but had to have it delivered. We were promised delivery for Tuesday , 07.00-12.00 but it did not arrive until after 12.00 on Wednesday. It was left in an unsecured porch. There was no contact from the delivery service. Comet's customer care dept did not contact us as promised when I rang to enquire about the whereabouts of our goods. We have spent approximately £2 on premium rate rate phone calls and wasted 1.5 days waiting in. That has to be set against the £5 we saved buying from Comet! To say that we are not impressed is an understatement and you can be confident that we will not be using Comet on line again. Are we the only ones who resent Comet's use of premium rate lines? We are still waiting for a reply to an email a week later.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“customer service”

★★★★★

written by on 22/10/2012

I was served by Diane at the Pontefract store and was extremely pleased with her knowledge of the products, her honest and friendly manner and her complete competence, she was a breath of fresh air, you do not usually find assistants with so much knowledge, she definitlely deserves being highly Also must mention Emma at the same store, who dealt with my quiery about price matching, and gave me a bette deal, she was also very friendly and competent

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Worst customer service ever”

★☆☆☆☆

written by AASA on 13/10/2012

Needed to return a faulty desktop which I bought 2 days earlier, I had to go there twice and argue with the customer service and the manager to convince them to refund my money back. They refused saying that the T&C's mentions that they don't accept refunds or returns of opened items even in the first 14 days and that I had to call customer support to try to fix my computer. I just want to know why would anybody want to return an unopened product and how are customers supposed to discover a fault without opening the goods? I decided never to buy anything from them from now on. Other retailers have much better customer service and cheaper prices.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“comets disgraceful service too a regular customer”

★☆☆☆☆

written by charleneyardl89 on 24/09/2012

Went to comet castle vale on 15/09/12 was shown around by a sales guy and we picked out the cooker and washing machine we wanted we opted for installation and was.happy with out choices.of a crown 60" duel fuel cooker and a hotpoint 8kg washing Machine. Unfortunately this is where the fun ended the sales guy was.very rude during the finance process and impolite however we let this slide as we British do with delivery booked for Saturday 22nd it was now.just a waiting game. Saturday came and the cooker was due to be installed text message from comet saying delivery and installation between 7am and 7pm track online, well that gives u no more info than the text message which is a complete joke. Knowing the engineer would phone 1 hr before delivery we went to buy some food for our new cooker, at this point o should mention all we had eaten for 3 weeks is microwave food though this.is not comets fault, we got home at 3pm still no call and getting a.little anxious. At 6pm the engineer.finally called to say he'd be with us in half an hour. When the engineer git here he wasnt an electrician and said he couldnt install the cooker as it had to have a 20a fuse not 32 at which point I am now fuming I have £110 worth of food in the fridge o cannot use among which is sea.bass I march down to comet to find out why nothing had been mentioned about this being an nonstandard installation where they refunded.the installation charge and knocked 10% off the cooker price which is great but thats.coming off the finance and I now have to find installation costs instead of being able to spread the cost. We got home and unpackaged the.cooker as.the engineers had.not even got that far and pushed it into the slot until we could get some one to install it. And OMG it doesnt fit the cooker at its widwe have.now had to take the widest point is 62" not 60" we have now had to take pur cupboard off the wall and move it the installation is scheduled again for tomorrow the wall needs remastering and we are currently about 200 quid out of pocket and worst of all I have yet been able tp speak to a single human being at comet

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Comets disgraceful service!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 04/09/2012

I bought a dyson for my mother in law on thursday the 30th august 2012, Comets e mailed confirmation of delivery, it will arrive Monday Sept 1st, I checked the tracking of the delivery early monday and it was confirmed as 'out for delivery'. My mother in law who is not well got up at 6.30am as the delivery slot was between 7am - 8pm. Ok, this is standard and we expected a long wait in, 8pm came and went and no delivery!!! I was fuming, and the frustration increased because Comets cannot be contacted, I emailed that evening (over 24 hours ago) and have had no response, i've rang their contact number on several occasions throughout the day(10pence a minute) I have gone through the options and then they tell you that no staff are available to deal with my query!!! Aaaaaaargh, how are they allowed to do this? Money has been taken from our account, hve waited in all day and no communication, charged for trying to contact them to find out whats happening to my goods, no reply to e mails??? How can Comet treat their customers like this? Don't bother purchasing anything, go elsewhere.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Terrible returns service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 29/08/2012

I purchased a Tefal iron from Comet in Braintree, Essex. After 8 months use it stopped working so I returned it along with the receipt. I was told by the shop assistant that they won't do anything and if an item breaks after 28 days it is up to me to contact Tefal and return it to them myself for repair or replacement!I cannot believe Comet's lack of customer service. I am now expected to package up an iron and get it sent to Tefal myself, in the meantime having no iron to use. To cap it all, the shop assistant was quite dismissive and took several minutes before serving me whilst chatting to another assistant.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Psychicgoddess's Comment

Written on: 25/09/2012

I hear your pain, just had a very similar experience also with a Tefal iron. The returns policy on the website does not seem to mention this and when I phoned customer services and after speaking to her Manager, the person told me that if I have my receipt and it was under 1 year old, I could get a replacement. (Family of 6, - can't do without an iron and lets face it they are not inexpensive to buy, I think mine was around £300 before sale price of £160!!!!) Anyhow after I asked customer services why mine had been sent off by the Falkirk store rather than replaced they phoned the store and spoke to the Manager who confirmed that there is a different policy for Tefal. If the people who work for Comet cannot interpret the policy, how is it that they expect customers to do so, - or is this the point! Bought loads of electricals from Comet before, - but will not buy again. Customer Service is shocking!!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Terrible service especially delivery”

★☆☆☆☆

written by polliep on 22/08/2012

I recently decided to buy a laptop online and settled on a Fujitsu AH532 laptop, i found the one i wanted on the Comet website and bought it online. they told me it would be delivered 2 days later between 7:00 in the morning and 20:00 at night so i took the day off work to wait for it to be delivered. it did not arrive on the day they said it would and then when enquiring why it had not been delivered they told me it had in fact been delivered which was false, so not only did they not deliver my product in on the day they said they would causing me to miss a day off work and then the next day as well trying to sort it out but they tried to claim they had delivered it when they hadn't implying that i had signed for it because there were 2 initials on the signature, not my initials just random initials, which i think i would know about. i therefore cancelled my order with them and will never be buying anything from them again

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Comet Purchase Fiasco”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 19/07/2012

Two weeks ago I ordered a fridge freezer from them and an hour later a dishwasher. The latter was on offer at £360 whilst everywhere else was £400. Next day got an email from 'em saying they couldn't process the payment on the dishwasher. Rang HSBC - yup debit card transaction authorised - rang Comet helpline on 0871 number at 10pm a minute. Spoke to four people. Bounced back to the front voicemail menu. 30 minutes wasted = £3.00 on the phone bill. Ordered from Boots Kitchen Appliances (for £400) on Tuesday PM - delivered Thursday. Texts and phone calls every day, and on the day, a call plus text at 0700 - arriving between 10am and 2pm. Noon - call to mobile - we'll be with you in 30 minutes. Theyw ere - great service... The debit transaction for the Comet sale took a week to drop off the available balance on the HSBC bank account. Googled around for `Comet and transaction and problems. loads of complaints from affiliates saying around 30pc of Comet online transactions fail. What a shambles. The fridge freezer was delivered as promised. Told driver and mate - he nodded sagely and said he'd heard it was a problem. I WILL NEVER BUY ANYTHING FROM COMET AGAIN. That is all....

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Incompetent or lazy electricians”

★☆☆☆☆

written by moniqueb on 11/05/2012

Comet sold me an oven, and charged for installation. Oven was delivered supposedly by qualified electricians, who said that oven had the wrong fittings and could not be installed. I cancelled that order and bought another oven, with the right fitting. Electricians who delivered that oven said it could not be installed and I had to have my own electrician. I cancelled the charge for installation and hired an electrician, who had no trouble installing the oven, at less than half the Comet price!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“comet price promise - joke!!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by cometrajoke on 11/05/2012

comet offer a price promise which is absolutely worthless. Currys have a Hotpoint tumble dryer online for £179, Comet price online £249. Rang up to ask for price match, when it came down to it they wouldn't match the price because the tumble dryer could not be delivered until the Tuesday, even though comet were unable to deliver until Wednesday. The dates for delivery are not because either company don't have stock, but simply because on my postcode they are not in that area until the Tues!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Extended warranty repairs is a joke”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 03/05/2012

Having purchased a Hoover washing machine from comet I took out there extended warranty after spending 20 mins on the phone explaining the fault to there customer service dept they arranged to send an engineer over a week later. The send engineer was sent but given no house number never arrived they were called again a 2nd appointment was made I had to wait another ten days for this privilege but the bright side is he had my full address this time he arrived at arranged time and immediately knew the problem a part needed ordering its now a week since then and the said part has arrived I'm now told I've got to wait till Next week for an engineer that's 4 weeks in total that I've waited. As of yet it's still not fixed The communication between customer service and there engineers is very poor and I'll be rolling out the red carpet providing they manage to give the engineer my address in full!!!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 08/05/2012

similar happened to myself. My Beko washing machine broke down over 2 weeks ago, rang Comet, wasted about 20 mins before answering. I went through what the fault was and was told a company called REPAIR CARE would ring with an engineer appointment. After not hearing anything I found REPAIR CARE phone number on the internet. Gave them a call, they then got in touch with Comet and called me back to say they had arranged for a local engineer to visit the same week. Engineer turned up, was here all of 5 mins told me what was wrong, which is what I had already reported wrong and said would have to order parts. Two and a half weeks later still waiting for Comet to authorise repair. Rang Comet today. they said it was REPAIR CARES fault for not e-mailing them. I rang REPAIR CARE, they said sent several e=mails to Comet and was getting no replies. Long and short of it is, Comet promised to sort it out today after I said would like all of my insurance premium back for doing all the ringing about to different companies on premium rate numbers, false promises and incompitence. Guess what no phone call as yet....

Desperate knee deep in washing customer

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Comet Click and Collect”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 29/04/2012

I ordered a DAB radio and docking station on the click and collect service to be picked up from the Portsmouth Ocean Park store. I received a phone call and e-mail to confirm the item was now available and on the website it claimed I had until 4pm to the next day to collect my purchase. The next day I went to the store and the assistants could not find my item. I then had to hang around while they went through the farce of looking for it when it became clear that they had already sold it and had no further stock. It is obviously Comet policy to sell items within a few hours of store closure but they do not state this on their website. I will not be using the click and collect service again. It is apparent that profit is more important to Comet than Customer Service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Large high street retailer acting like a cowboy”

★☆☆☆☆

written by glenc on 25/04/2012

I ordered a PC from their site, opted for an instore pick up. At the point of paying I was told that it would take 6 days to get into the store - fair enough I thought 7 days later, I was about to go in and collect it, but noticed on the receipt it says that the store should call you - so I thought Id double check before I went in I was then told that it wasn't in the store and they had no idea when it would be. They'd already taken my money, given me a confirmed date but now they tell me this I'd maybe expect this from some dodgy cheapo internet retailer, but not from a major high street one. Really bad practise. They didnt really seem to care too much either. So, I've taken my refund and will shop somewhere else - suggest you do too

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview