The Utility Warehouse www.utilitywarehouse.co.uk Reviews

★★★★☆
3.7 / 5
70% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
The Utility Warehouse www.utilitywarehouse.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for The Utility Warehouse www.utilitywarehouse.co.uk

The Utility Warehouse www.utilitywarehouse.co.uk

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Auto compensation lies for 35 days with no connection ”

Written on: 13/04/2022 by Kaleigh1 (1 review written)

Utility warehouse Sept/oct time family want some help ask me to do a training call and potentially sign up for a new supplier of my gas electric broadband landline number and mobile contract On the 17th October 2021 i joined utility warehouse ‘As a guide, once we're able to proceed with your application, it typically takes 5 - 15 working days to set up Home Phone and Broadband services (depending on whether you need a new phone line),’ Brilliant! I had a phone line already at the property therefore expecting a smooth simple transaction The app changed a few days later saying i was going live on the 1st November ! 1st november email sent no reply 2nd novemeber online chat 36 mins apologised and informed it will be on within 24 hours they can say its all live 4th november during the busiest time of my year with my business i first called them to say i still didnt have a working line i was still managing to bounce off talk talk for my connection They arranged an appointment for a specialist team to come to the outside of the property and fix the issue within 5 days 34 minute call and online chat sanphi and rasheed were who i spoke to and the first time auto compensation was mentioned that i would be entitled too so far four days at £8.06 for my troubles also given extra compensation of £20 as way of an apology for the first few days of their service not being up to their standards 8th november after receiving text on the 7th to say engineer was due i had to call to find out why i still didnt have a wifi connection or phone line 21minute call they cant give me an answer try blaming it on talk talk and make out i need a whole new phone line which they tell me they will sort out as soon as possible i had to call back again to get my appointment on the 10th november 12 minute call 10th nov receive a call at 8am from the engineer who was in a different town at a different address completely and because it was wrong in the system they couldnt do anything and i couldnt have an appointment with them that day which is funny because my router and bills and sim card all made it to the correct address prior to this appointment So i had to call again 47 minute call to be told the engineer and the address were infact wrong and they would send someone out again but this time to do the ‘simple swap of wires in the green box to make my wifi work! This was jodee the second person to promise auto compensation of £8.06 per day until i was connected he also added an additional £18.90 compensation for my wasted day for the engineer at this point i asked to have my cooling period used and everything cancelled i was assured to the auto compensation and told it was more worth me staying and waiting it out with the £8 per day than move again 15th November I call again 31 minutes still no line still cant tell my why now saying they need to do a whole new line after speaking to talk talk whilst i was on hold and blaming them again promised in the next few days id get an appointment for an engineer id need to be home and take time out from work to see the engineer 19th november text to confirm installation of new line on the 23rd november between 1-6pm 22nd november reminder text of appointment tomorrow with changed times of 8-1 for engineer followed by another text for phone line installation between 1-6pm At this point ive had to make sure im home all day 23rd november the day is here finally illl have internet ! Or not… engineer does a new line tells me it will all be sorted and leaves few hours later still no wifi so i call them 1hr 18minutes cant tell me why but i cant be turned on straight away takes days takes time please wait for it to go live promised it will go live finally on the 1st december 2021 angela added £25 extra compensation as i yet again asked to leave and have all my account closed i was assured i would be looked after the auto compensation would surely make me feel better knowing i get £8 a day whilst they cant sort it i again let them get away with it 1st december busiest month of my year aswell mind you and 1 hr 53 minutes on the phone my telephone line went live ending 330 but nothing else! They raise a query and try to get my internet expedited i again ask to leave i am assured by auto compensation and told its not worth leaving this close to xmas when i m going to get this compensation next month as it will be in my end of dec bill 2nd december get a text to say they will send a request to attempt to expedite it like stated 24 hours previous! Also got an email to say their working on resolving my issue ! 3rd december another text to say they have expedited it and an engineer will be there on the 6th december to activate my fibre another 3 more days 6th december we finally go live after 35 days of no connection !!!! 12th December email enquiry about my compensation received their automated email answer but never received an actual response 24th december am. Email received from them saying their sorry were leaving and my active lines etc would be cancelled!! Had to call on christmas eve and ensure this wasnt the case for them to tell me it was an error… i was furious to have to call at christmas when i wanted to spending time with family and friends i told the lady on the phone i would call back in jan as my december bill still hadn’t changed to include my automatic compensation and i refused to have money taken out my account for a line i didnt have in nov. At this point i informed her id be cancelling my direct debit and id call back in January to get what i was entitled too she completely agreed knowing they were in the wrong wished me merry Christmas and told to call back mid jan it would definitely all be sorted and reflected on my account by then. 24th jan 49 minutes online chat as i was working to chase my auto compensation as it still wasnt showing on my bill i was assured it would be sorted within 7 days 9th Feb i had to call back again as id now had jans bill which still didnt include my auto compensation! 1 hr 26min call went through 4 departments told them all the story top to bottom all agreed it should of all been sorted assured they had raised with the right department a complaint at my non added auto compensations and again palmed me off when i tried to there and then just cancel and leave and fold me it would all be worth it and they understand completely where i was coming from i was extra angry as they cut my wifi and mobile phone service off due to non payment yet every person i spoke to is telling me not to set up a direct debit until the compensation is added otherwise they will try taking the lot out of my bank wifi and mobile instantly reinstated with all the apologies under the sun promised it would be sorted within 7 days 19th feb called again 54 minutes still nothing been done no one could tell me why the compensation hadnt been added and why i was still getting letters threatening me so they put a hold in my account till the end of feb so they could sort it all out and my services wouldnt be affected until my compensation had been added 28th feb 1 hr 22mins phone call still had nothing change on my account still no compensation still getting letters been cut off again im instantly reinstated and apologised too im passed to the tech department who listen to my story and put another hold on my account for two weeks and say it will be sorted and someone will call me to confirm this in the next few days once credits were in place and account was sorted out 17th march ive been cut off again wifi and mobile so i call again my wifi is reinstated mobile im told takes 7 days (still waiting 13th april) now saying they cant do it even though they promised me profusely that they wouldn’t do this at this point i ask to be put through to the complaints department ive asked for this many times before but this time they do put me through and a complaint is opened ref.031120 told i will get a response within 2 working days as the weekend was due please allow 4-5 days 31st march had to be reinstated on my wifi again! Still no news on mobile now told they have had to go back to 3 mobile for the phone number and this could take 7 days 1 hr 59 min call spoke to two people and then asked to be put through to complaints after 49 mins holding for complaints to escalate my complaint i was cut off to no avail 1st april called them back again told i had a case manager called sabah best in the business dealing with my case please give her two working days to catch up and call you 1hr 8 min call i took their word and awaited the call 6th april still no call back 1hr 54mins on hold for complaints and i got hung up on at 3.30pm Recalled at 4.38 another 1 hr 8 mins was then offered a call back why was this never a option before? 10 mins later they called back from complaints department 30 min call mostly in hold whilst he was trying to work out what was going on and why sabah hadnt responded at this point the case was escalated told id have a call from her within two days. 11th april still disgusted i havent had one response i told them they had 24 hours to get my case escalated and my 25 day old complaint seen to otherwise id blast it over social media and go to the ombudsman and trading standards gave them till noon on the 12th april 53minutes 12th april at 11.15 i finally on day 26 of my complaint and 6 months after opening my account i finally got my call back to which to my disgust the 33 minute call was entirely script read she wouldn’t talk to me like a human she didnt care about my hardships they issued their final stance of £100 which i declined they offered it anyway as a credit even if i went to the ombudsman so at that point i asked for a deadlock email as they are now retracting every promise made to me in recorded phone calls since november 1st please see pictures its an interesting read where they blame industry standards open reach talk talk my old suppliers (who interestingly i was told by a uw worker are their suppliers too?) and even training issues! Bottom line: - [ ] Should of gone live on the 1st november - [ ] Was waiting 35 days for a connection - [ ] Promised £8.06 per day for them 35 days for 6 months by every person i spoke to in every department i was passed around too - [ ] Billed incorrectly for 3 months for two phone lines - [ ] Billed for a line i didnt have in november - [ ] Ignored and been made to feel like im invisible and as a customer i dont matter - [ ] Spent 19 hours 45 mins on the phone where im calling you for your issues you should be calling me about - [ ] Had an interrupted service for 4 months even though i was promised this wouldn’t happen - [ ] Had my escalated complaint ignored for 26 days - [ ] Extra wires in my home i still dont think i needed in the first place - [ ] Threatening letters and bailiffs for funds you knew were being withheld since december 24th for my compensation that you all promised i was being given - [ ] You say i owe £450.95 i make the correct number -all your errors and promises £176.89 ive included sabahs £100 because i think im well within my reasons to ask for the £346 in total compensations i was offered + £200 goodwill gesture for the last 6 months and for a multi million pound business what you offered was insulting sabah has therefore paid £100/£200 of that goodwill gesture meaning i owe you in total £76.89 which i paid today before sending my email to the ombudsman to the get the rest credited to my account and at that point as i have offered all along i will reinstate my direct debit

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Very convenient and easy for budgeting”

Written on: 06/04/2022 by JordynArcher188 (1 review written)

I have been with this company for quite a few years. Occasionally I notice this company or that who might offer one service a bit cheaper, but with all the services in one bill it really helps me be organised for budgeting. And they don't put up their prices again dramatically at the end of the initial period. I always found the customer support very good and occasionally needed their tech support which has always been very sharp.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Ruined Christmas Present ”

Written on: 29/03/2022 by Adisont1977 (1 review written)

In December 2021 my partner got a contract with Utility Warehouse and a mobile handset Samsung S21ultra as my Christmas present. My hands are affected with arthritis, I wanted a mobile with the stylus. The dream never came true... Three months later, I have plenty of frustration, disappointment and anger. Thanks to the Utility Warehouse polite customer services team. 1. UW sold to my partner the mobile which does not come with the stylus, it's stylus compatible. This fact was not explained. 2. UW sold a FAULTY handset, the phone stopped charging in the first month of using. 3. UW "forgot" to notify that the handset, in fact was so faulty that it could not be repaired by UW technical ream and was sent back to the manufacturer. 4. UW "forgot" to notify that the manufacturer issued a NEW handset instead of the repaired faulty one. 5. UW repeatedly "forgot" to call back, forgot to escalate my complaint to the decision makers, refused to find ANY solution. 6.UW refused to accept my decision to stop the contract, because all the above trouble. BUT 7. UW continues to TAKE THE MONEY for the contract. Stay away from UW mobile department!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful company”

Written on: 09/10/2021 by Darian165 (1 review written)

Awful internet provider, useless staff, bad customer service, don't ever go with them, I also changed providers, they got told by my new provider a while before changing over and we kept telling them we was gonna change because they was so bad and they still charged us to leave as they said we didn't give them any notice, when we did. Very bad company, they need to work on better prices, better customer service.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“unexplained Bills”

Written on: 08/09/2021 by Smilersos (1 review written)

The Bills you get are unexplained - they sell their business on cheap prices; however, the Bills have added money. Now, they may be legitimate but are unexplained. It takes several hours to get to speak to someone. The recorded phone message says you have a five-minute wait but this turns into hours. I guess it is all designed to get rid of you and to accept it but I don't accept it. I would not recommend this service to anyone

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“No proper meter readings”

Written on: 21/06/2021 by Noname55 (1 review written)

Despite having a smart meter fitted 2 months ago, I am still getting estimated bills. Although I pay a fixed amount per month - I would still like to know what my actual bill is. Am considering changing to another supplier…

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★☆☆☆

“Broken promises”

Written on: 08/06/2021 by 314Erickson (1 review written)

I inherited prepayment meters when I moved into this property. Called to ask for normal credit meters and was given a date for installation.....date came & new prepayment meters were put in. 3 weeks later electric meter lit up like a Christmas tree and not accepting any credit. Despite me informing UW on Friday they have insisted I run out of electric before agreeing to send out an engineer.. Now, no electric and possibly a 4 hour wait.....not impressed at all. The stars are for the very patient call handlers who are fabulous, UW policies are horrendous forcing someone to run out of electric when they can see from smart meter it’s broken.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“HOPELESS”

Written on: 25/05/2021 by Bryan493 (1 review written)

After 1 year we got a bill for over £900. After 1 hour wait we found out that when we bought the house Utility warehouse had to manually connect the smart meters to their system. They did the gas but did not connect the electricity. When it was connected 1 year later they sent us a massive bill. We agreed to pay it over several months paid the April bill and then got a demand for full payment within 3 days or they would take us to court. After an email and a letter to the chairman there is still no response. We shall contact OFGEM. RUBBISH COMPANY DO NOT TOUCH THEM WITH A BARGE POLE.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Everything was going fine, even got sent £129.00 back...”

Written on: 25/02/2021 by KennedyShea (1 review written)

Everything was going fine, even got sent £129.00 back as an overpayment then wham!! They doubled my bill. This took me over my overdraft so changed gas and electric and they sent a final bill for over £600.00. Went to CAB and now I have and arrangement to pay them £1.00 a month. In the process of changing phone and broadband too. Admin fee of £10.00 to change broadband and £32.00 for light bulbs. DO NOT GO WITH THIS COMPANY.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Honestly can say worst company i have dealt with in ages”

Written on: 16/02/2021 by Dumenil81 (1 review written)

Having just moved to a new house i inherited them, so unhelpful and far more expensive than going direct to energy providers!! I never agreed a contract with them and as found it cheaper to go direct they have charged me through the nose during the transition period

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“CUSTOMER SERVICES - Terrible”

Written on: 18/01/2021 by Kaden100 (1 review written)

no-one ever answers the phone, had an issue with our smart meter (didn't work) now got a new one, but cannot contact anyone to set it up. don't use them they are awful

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I own a rental property and on the 29th of October the...”

Written on: 15/12/2020 by Bdav100 (1 review written)

I own a rental property and on the 29th of October the tenant was discovered to have been running Cannabis factory. For safety reasons the electricity was cut off. UW have now decided that their estimated £7000 bill should be paid by me. I did not have a contract with UW the tenant did. They now require £2500 up front payment to reconnect and will not allow me to switch to another provider. They do not answer complaint phone calls or emails. I have left two emails for the CEO and a personal letter. Both ignored. This organisation has no scruples, the staff are pleasant and horrified when I relay the story. Nobody can seem to remedy the issue. I would avoid this company like the plague. The actions of the company are demanding money with a menace of no electricity. I posted a review on Trust Pilot and they replied immediately stating they had sent me a private message. This was also a total fabrication.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Do no go with this company. The minute you try and...”

Written on: 18/11/2020 by Bpainter (1 review written)

Do no go with this company. The minute you try and switch because they over charge you get stung with final bills that are high, then you find out about their reconciliation charge. Terrible company. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Possibly the world's worst company!”

Written on: 11/11/2020 by CamberleyBob (1 review written)

An engineer came on 27 October to install phone and broadband but was unable to do so owing to an underground fault. Then engineers visited without warning on 28 October and 3 and 6 November, none of whom had the necessary equipment. Another engineer visited on 9 November, again without warning, and found the fault which he said would be repaired at a later date. After he left we found that he had disconnected the working Virgin line and I phoned UT to ask for it to be repaired which they refused to do. I then paid £100 for a visit from an independent engineer which I will attempt to recover from UT. One of the engineers was extremely rude and three made no attempt to protect the carpet from their dirty shoes. UT did not answer my emails but they did send emails on 2&3 November saying that the installation would be done on 27 October (!!). You will not be surprised to know that I have cancelled the installation.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Exorbitant final bill”

Written on: 26/08/2020 by Billshockwoman (1 review written)

At first it seemed a good company but the electricity seemed to be getting very expensive so I switched. Nasty shock when I received final bill. Just told it corresponded with meter readings. I have said I will pay the bill in instalments but I have decided to make a complaint so they review the bill. Staff always polite and try to be helpful but maybe a computation mistake has been made?

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Very little correspondence ”

Written on: 20/08/2020 by Vaughan176 (1 review written)

horrible experience when I decided to leave would never use them again, no correspondence or information on the final bill just issued me a £500 invoice

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Horrible experience”

Written on: 06/06/2020 by DeonCostello (1 review written)

Somewhere between an expensive energy company and a pyramid scheme. great sales team but very little service after that. they promise very cheap energy and then hit you with a big bill when you try to leave. avoid at all cost

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★☆☆☆

“Do not get a smart meter with Utility Warehouse:”

Written on: 27/05/2020 by lynmacinnes (1 review written)

We received a huge bill 22nd May from Utility Warehouse for £517.49, we have been with them for many years and have only had problems with them since we had the smart meter installed 22nd July 2019 which has not worked since then (Please see the query email 1 sent from me to them (below) . They replied on 29th July , please see email 2 below stating they are looking into the issue. 31st July they said things have been sorted when they had not, I called them and they said they would look into it. At the time this was internal smart meter device we were querying. We then received 16/8/19 an email saying an engineer which we had not been told was coming, we were not in and when we checked the device still did not work. After numerous calls chasing including an email to Utility Warehouse we still had not repaired the meter, but we decided as the bills look correct comparing with the years of actual bills where I had manually read the meters to give up reporting the issue and assumed as it was a smart meter it was sending the readings as I do remember on one of the calls with them the staff member saying that the meter outside was sending the numbers correctly and just to ignore the internal meter readings. This year Utility Warehouse changed their name to UW and sent me a couple of texts in April asking for a meter reading the first 24th April I ignored as I thought it must be a mistake as we have a smart meter, but the 2nd text 28/4/20 I went to look at the meters and saw the Gas meter was dead and even when I pressed any of the letters it would not give a reading, so I contacted UW and asked them how to get the reading. 5th May we managed to speak to and received an email 29/4/20 I followed his instructions and the gas meter still did not come to life, so we replied with an email and included the photos of both meters. 1st of May we chased with an email. 5/5/20 He contacted us apologising that he was working from home understandably due to the Corona virus and had not been able to get into the office for the information connected with our queries. Then he said that having got me to check the meters again whilst he was on the phone that the gas meter definitely is broken, but cannot be repaired until the lockdown has been lifted and asked that we contact UW when the quarantine is over to book the engineer, we agreed to do this, he said in the meantime they would estimate the bills which we agreed as he said it would be estimated going on previous bills. He then sent confirmation of the discussion on email. This bring us up to date with the huge £517.49 bill which I received via email, we called UW and explained that this is ridiculous there is no way that this is an average usage bill for us, she explained that the huge bill was because we had only received estimates and this was what was owed on the Electricity, which could not be correct, as the bills have increased over time and been on par with what we have used over the years with them. Further to the call they admitted it was their fault for not linking or registering the electric meter correctly. We created a spreadsheet showing the average prices we have paid, including back when I manually read the meter and there is no way we would have accumulated that huge bill. I have sent another chase email to Utility Warehouse, copied in the Which Award people as frankly I am fed up with them receiving awards when you only have to look on Mums.net to see many unhappy customers and their FB advert have many angry emojis.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not sign up”

Written on: 30/04/2020 by Mike9754 (1 review written)

Utility warehouse claim they fix your payments the vary Them when they want don’t have the free light bulbs there not they tell you you won’t have to pay for them if you stay with them for the length of th contract then when you got to leave they charge at least £80 could be more avoid this company at all costs

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolute worst company ever”

Written on: 13/03/2020 by Andy946 (1 review written)

Since joining in dec 2019 I have had to constantly phone with complaints on gas and electric I have spent over 10 hours waiting on the phone customer services are rubbish and to top it all they are quiet a bit more expensive than other providers glad I’m leaving they should be struck off

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview