GEM Motoring Assist Breakdown Cover Reviews

★★★★☆
4.3 / 5
86% of users recommend this
  • Speed of response

  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
GEM Motoring Assist Breakdown Cover - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for GEM Motoring Assist Breakdown Cover

GEM Motoring Assist Breakdown Cover
GEM Motoring Assist Breakdown Cover
GEM Motoring Assist Breakdown Cover

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“Fairly smooth, good follow up”

Written on: 15/08/2019 by Dallas111111 (1 review written)

Visit www.motoringassist.com

All went fairly smoothly and got me back home which was not round the corner. Recovery guys were good even though they had to do it in two goes. Got lent a car to get home… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Left us stranded”

Written on: 14/08/2019 by Banks485 (1 review written)

Visit www.motoringassist.com

On Friday,2 August, I called you for assistance when my car lost it's power steering. I left the car at a nearby garage for repair and myself and my passenger needed transporting home without the car. I explained this to the person I spoke with on the phone, but he arranged a recovery vehicle to transport myself, my passenger AND the car home. This was ridiculous as the car was already at the garage where the repair was going to be done. I JUST NEEDED TRANSPORT HOME FOR ME AND MY… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“appalling response time will be changing cover...”

Written on: 14/08/2019 by mcraes (1 review written)

Visit www.motoringassist.com

appalling response time will be changing cover providers asap… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Home start”

Written on: 03/08/2019 by GillSkinn (1 review written)

Visit www.motoringassist.com

My car was due for its MOT but when I went to start it the evening before, the battery was flat. I rang up GEM and spoke to a lovely Operator and explained the situation. She suggested a Recovery Vehicle to arrive the following mornng and either start the vehicle or transport to the garage. I was hugely relieved and delighted with this solution to my problem. The following morning the Recovery vehicle arrived and started my car within minutes. I was able to drive to my garage for the MOT… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“First class service”

Written on: 01/08/2019 by Blackbird17 (1 review written)

Visit www.motoringassist.com

Despite the fact i’ve Spent over £200 supposedly remedying this fault after 3 days away and constantly stopping and starting my bike refused to start on the homeward leg. Gem service was great from the lady on the telephone who kept me informed to the guy who picked me up. Couldn’t be faulted Thanks… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Five hour Wait”

Written on: 31/07/2019 by PhilStannard (1 review written)

Visit www.motoringassist.com

Five hour wait and counting on a Tuesday lunch, now dinner. Have notified them that i need water as is over 30 c outside and still no sign !! Having to get a taxi home and leave my keys with my vehicle for recovery. Beyond a joke… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Motorbike not starting”

Written on: 24/07/2019 by paulinejohnson (1 review written)

Visit www.motoringassist.com

Mechanic came in a specially kitted bike recovery vehicle. I told him the problem, he was very polite and helpful. The only comment that spoiled it a little was him asking if I wanted him to deal with an Alun key screw when I was replacing a side panel. He spoke a bit too soon as he did say that he could see that I'd done this a number of times; I'm a lady biker. I'm guessing he wouldn't have asked a chap unless he could see that he was having obvious problems. The bike was wheeled into the… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“good service”

Written on: 22/07/2019 by MNeeson (1 review written)

Visit www.motoringassist.com

very helpful break down man found fault quiclkly and got me back on the road… Read Full Review

Gem Motoring Assist's Response to MNeeson's Review

Written on: 31/07/2019

Dear GEM Member,

Thank you for taking the time to give such positive feedback about the service provided to your breakdown. It is great to know that we are achieving the high standards we set.

Kind regards
The GEM Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Top notch”

Written on: 18/07/2019 by stormyN (1 review written)

Visit www.motoringassist.com

Excellent rapid service with a smile… Read Full Review

Gem Motoring Assist's Response to stormyN's Review

Written on: 18/07/2019

Dear Member,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give positive feedback about the service recently provided. It is great to know that we are achieving the high standards we set ourselves.

Kind regards
The GEM Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Tillery Garage Recovery”

Written on: 17/07/2019 by colinhope (1 review written)

Visit www.motoringassist.com

Recent visit to THeatre marred by clutch failure within 1/4 mile from venue.I contacted Gem after theatre performance and was notifiedthat Tillery service would be with me within 45mins,they arrived within the time and safely returned me home after dropping my car off at local garage of my choice, where the car is usually serviced.They were very helpful and patient during the recovery providing useful advice on the problem with my car and what to expect as the cost of repairs.Great bunch of… Read Full Review

Gem Motoring Assist's Response to colinhope's Review

Written on: 18/07/2019

Dear Member,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give positive feedback about the service recently provided. It is great to know that we are achieving the high standards we Strive for.

Kind regards
The GEM Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“great breakdown cover for value”

Written on: 15/07/2019

Visit www.motoringassist.com

I broke down in my classic Rover P6 in Poole at about 17:00 hrs. A phone call to GEM motoring assist was dealt with quickly and efficiently. They sent GRS from Bournemouth to assist. As i have been a mechanic for over 40 years i had diagnosed the problem to a failed coil, the breakdown driver loaded my vehicle onto the recovery truck with extreme care, and secured with four straps. Our journey home was exceptionally great and worry free. So a job well done thank you GEM & GRS Recovery… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“GEM Review”

Written on: 13/07/2019 by 475Padilla (1 review written)

Visit www.motoringassist.com

Six years a member with Recovery Assist and no requirement to use the service so obviously happy. However on the first occasion to use the service 300 hundred miles from home the level of assistance was poor to say the least, in fact no practical use whatsoever . With the assistance of a passer-by I was able to get back on the road and drive home. Sadly I had only just renewed my membership with no possibility of a refund. Once current membership has expired another less seemingly lauded… Read Full Review

Gem Motoring Assist's Comment

Written on: 15/07/2019

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We were sorry to ready that our service wasn't up to our usual standard.

As you have posted anonymously if you haven't already contacted our Customer Services department please do so to allow us to look into what went wrong on this occasion.

Kind Regards
The GEM Team.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Classic Car Recovery”

Written on: 10/07/2019 by nf145 (1 review written)

Visit www.motoringassist.com

Excellent service using quality recovery agents with a pride in their work… Read Full Review

Gem Motoring Assist's Response to nf145's Review

Written on: 15/07/2019

Dear Member,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give positive feedback about the service recently provided. It is great to know that we are achieving the high standards we aim for.

Kind regards
The GEM Team

Reply to this comment

Gem Motoring Assist's Response to nf145's Review

Written on: 18/07/2019

Dear Member,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give positive feedback about the service recently provided. It is great to know that we are achieving the high standards we aim for.

Kind regards
The GEM Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Very help ful ”

Written on: 10/07/2019 by Davidbustin (1 review written)

Visit www.motoringassist.com

Didn't take long for help to come and was very nice to keep ringing and checking to make sure that we where okay and safe… Read Full Review

Gem Motoring Assist's Response to Davidbustin's Review

Written on: 10/07/2019

Dear Member,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give positive feedback about the service recently provided. It is great to know that we are achieving the high standards we aim for.

Kind regards
The GEM Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Inefficient Service and lack of responsibility”

Written on: 10/07/2019 by PeterMartin834 (2 reviews written)

Visit www.motoringassist.com

It took 4.5 hours to get an elderly person 20 miles home after a serious event. The transport vehicle wait was extended and extended. The call handling was inefficient and unresponsive. GEM appears to be a post box only for Call Assist a much bigger organisation without the personal touch that GEM appears to put out as its trade mark. Nowhere on GEM's main advertising did I see a limit without extra charge for transport of vehicle . It does appear in the small print but nowadays, thankfully… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★★★★

“The best customer service I think I've ever had!!!!”

Written on: 10/07/2019 by Fergusonjn55 (1 review written)

Visit www.motoringassist.com

Super efficient. The best customer service I Think I've probably ever had!!! The call handler rang many times to check whether the breakdown recovery had arrived and to make sure that everything was OK - amazing. Past experiences of breakdown cover call handler's, has not been a pleasant one. The gentleman who arrived to fix my car was also excellent. A well deserved 5 stars!! … Read Full Review

Gem Motoring Assist's Comment

Written on: 10/07/2019

Dear Member,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give positive feedback about the service recently provided. It is great to know that we are achieving the high standards we aim for.

Kind regards
The GEM Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Superb helpful service”

Written on: 08/07/2019 by nevneil62 (1 review written)

Visit www.motoringassist.com

We broke down on the A419 near Swindon heading to Chichester for a holiday with caravan in tow, recovery truck turned up within 30 mins of ending the call to GEM. The driver got everything sorted very quickly and took us the 100 miles down to our site, stopping partway to check on our dogs who were still in the back of the car on the recovery vehicle. We cant thank the driver and GEM enough for making a stressful situation easier to handle. Thank you all very much… Read Full Review

Gem Motoring Assist's Response to nevneil62's Review

Written on: 10/07/2019

Dear Member,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give positive feedback about the service recently provided. It is great to know that we are achieving the high standards we aim for.

Kind regards
The GEM Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Rapid Response”

Written on: 06/07/2019 by Bingli1 (1 review written)

Visit www.motoringassist.com

My wife was mightily impressed with all aspects of the breakdown service. Pleasant personnel, rapid response and flat battery fixed - what more could you want? Join now!… Read Full Review

Gem Motoring Assist's Response to Bingli1's Review

Written on: 10/07/2019

Dear Member,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give positive feedback about the service recently provided. It is great to know that we are achieving the high standards we aim for.

Kind regards
The GEM Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Went out of his way to assist.”

Written on: 05/07/2019 by PeterPaulandMary (1 review written)

Visit www.motoringassist.com

Turned up within the expected time and quickly agreed the best way to deal with the matter. So far so good but then we started encountering minor problems completely outside of his ability to influence. Didn't phase him in any way - remained cheerful and drove to 4 (yes 4!!) different tyre shops before we could get sorted. Very helpful… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“motorbike puncture assist”

Written on: 04/07/2019

Visit www.motoringassist.com

A tale of 2 halves. first half a little frustrating... the call centre reply person was not up to the job really, kept forgetting my details etc, had to keep ringing me back - basically took almost an hour to set up my assist Assistance guy was fantastic, really truly helpful above and beyond the call of duty. Very happy overall. Suggest call response person gets trained better… Read Full Review

Gem Motoring Assist's Comment

Written on: 04/07/2019

Dear GEM Motoring Assist member,

We were sorry to read that the service you received during the initial call to the emergency control centre recent breakdown was not up to our usual high standards although pleased to note that the assistance provided by the recovery operator met the high standards we set.

In order that we can investigate to see if some further training is appropriate for the co-ordinator concerned and to provide positive feedback to the recovery operator we would appreciate it if you could please contact Customer Services, using any of the contact options found on the ‘Contact Us’ section of our website.

Kind regards
The GEM Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
overview
www.motoringassist.com