Barnston Riding School, Gills Lane, Pensby Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★★
4.6 / 5
90% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Barnston Riding School, Gills Lane, Pensby - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Barnston Riding School, Gills Lane, Pensby

Barnston Riding School, Gills Lane, Pensby

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“ITS GREAT”

Written on: 16/12/2013

Barnston is awesome the best place on Earth. Everyone makes me feel welcome and the ponies are great just very sad that some of my favorites have retired no but there are lots more new ponies i look forward to riding every week. Some of the horses are a bit stubborn and nippy but most are lovely and easy to ride. You really cant find a better riding school in the world. This place has changes so much from seeing it a couple of years ago it could be quite dangerous at times but now its really save and they wont make you do anything you don't want to do. But of course as any teacher they would like you to have a little go. I have many amazing stories i like to share with my friends. Any ages they take so sometimes you may find younger riders or a few older riders in your class but that doesn't matter because all the horses get along together...most the time. The price can be a bit pricey but all worth it as i always have a amazing time.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★★★★

“Brilliant horses, tidy yard and excellent tuition!!”

Written on: 17/11/2013 by hannahmac (1 review written)

i have been riding for a while and have tried every riding school in the cheshire/merseyside region and i must say barnston is by far the best out there for facilities, very clean/tidy yard, excellent tuition, quality horses and ponies and above all else value for money! I really enjoy my lessons and i would firmly recommend this riding school to anybody! :)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Hannahmac's Response to hannahmac's Review

Written on: 19/11/2013

This was not me it was not me

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Great riding school!”

Written on: 17/08/2013 by 123xx4321 (1 review written)

The staff are lovely! Great selection of horses and ponies, the owners are really nice, I would recommend this to every one, good facilities!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Cleanest yard I've ever been to. Staff all very...”

Written on: 16/06/2013

Cleanest yard I've ever been to. Staff all very helpful and instructors know what they are talking about. Lessons are pitched to suit all abilities so something for everyone and its nice to see they offer scheduled lessons for adults as well as children . It is hard to find a yard that isn't too snobby and having been to many, some make you feel very out of pace. I felt very welcome on my first lesson today and will be going back.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor customer care.”

Written on: 22/11/2012 by helengraves14 (1 review written)

My nine year old daughter has been attending Barnston stables for a few months now after being so disheartened with riding schools on the Wirral. We have been really happy up until today. My daughter caught a sickness bug and was violently ill during the night. When I phoned the center to cancel her lesson for that evening in 71/2 hrs time. I was told they needed more notice in future. The young man on the telephone was totally unsympathetic, arrogant and rude. He told me I obviously haven't read the notices pinned everywhere regarding cancellation fees and at the end of the day they have a business to run. When I was talking he talked over me the whole time. In the end I had to raise my voice. He then hung up. Unbelievable!!!!You may have a business to run but you will have no business if you treat your customers this way. They have now lost a regular customer and received a bad review. I have always found the staff really warm and friendly.I am so disappointed now. Back to the drawing board.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The best EVER”

Written on: 01/11/2012

I love Barnston. They always do the right things for the ponies. When Pal broke his jaw they made the right decisioned to put him down. And Andy a loving pony got retired because he was way to old. My instructor Laura is THE BEST. She always makes sure you are safe. I have been to many other riding schools and barnston is by far THE BEST. People you should so ride here.The lessons are sometimes on time but who cares if they are late i still love them. Before i came here i wanted to make sure i would be taught how to ride and not to be messed about and i sure found my answer. THEY NEVER MESS YOU ABOUT. The other week i went riding here i was on Pickles and the other person never showed up but Laura still gave me a 40 minuet lesson! At Barnston they always check with you and your mum before they make you do it. They NEVER make you do anything you don`t want to. You always feel welcome and you always see a happy smile.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great place to start riding! Fantastic value for money.”

Written on: 14/10/2012 by Peterdon1 (1 review written)

Would firmly recommend this place to anybody wanting to ride. Lovely riding school with really nice friendly people. I ride every week with an instructor called Keith occasionally have a private lesson with Laura. Both are top notch instructors who know their stuff!! Keith is on another level I seriously recommend this guy! Horses and staff are superb one member of staff in particular who I find exceptional is a lady called Laura who I find to be very courteous and helpful. Fantastic facility for riding!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“best place on earth!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Written on: 20/05/2012 by charl_02 (1 review written)

i have been riding at barnston for about 6years and i cxant fault it in anyway! the staff are lovely, and all the horses all looked after immaculately! people who are writing things about the owners obviously dont go there ofter or are making it up as i know them personally and theyre two lovely people! the horses care for their rider and never put a foot wrong. the instructors never shout and always make sure your confident with what your doing before you do it! its AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i<3ittt, defenately the best place on earth in my eyes!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Wouldn't ride anywhere else ”

Written on: 08/03/2012

I learnt to ride here as child, came back again in my 20's and now afte a 17 year gap from riding am back again. I have found all the instructors to be very good, approachable and encouraging. They take care to match your ability to the horses and take time to explain anything you are not sure of. The yard is well run, everyone is helpful and the horses and ponies are well cared for.. I have read a few negative comments about the owners on here but I can only say that they have been nothing but polite and friendly ..As for pricing - they may be bit more expensive than other places but you get what you pay for - quality instruction - well run- well cared for horses

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“my daughter has been to most of the riding schools on...”

Written on: 07/05/2011

my daughter has been to most of the riding schools on the wirral.Barnstion is by far the BEST riding school.all the staff are wonderful ,couldnt ask for my daughter to be at a happyer riding school.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I rode at Barnston for 2 years!At pony club there was...”

Written on: 03/04/2011

I rode at Barnston for 2 years!At pony club there was a private lesson with half the barn and we had 16 horses with the other half.It was at christmas.All the horses were getting ready to go to sleep all warmed up with there rugs on.Then we open there stable doors and tack them up!I was on lucy.My mum was helping with Saxon.When i took Lucy in i turned her by Jodie.Then Alfie wanted to get past.So being kind I turned Lucy round to let him throw.Thats when it all went wrong.Lucy reared up!Some how i dont know how but pinched Jodie which Jodie reared up me and the girl on Jodie made a run for it.Jodie kicked Misty!Misty was not happy.So she bit Jodie.So every one made a run for it.Jodie kicked Misty bit Danny!Then all the horses went crazy!So we ran into a corner.Then the horses charged at us.So then they opened the gate we ran out of the gate.Thankfully no one was hurt.The stable hands grabbed the horses.We got called in one at a time.We still had half the barn with 16 horses.When we got on we were all shaking with fear.We started to walk around.John was yelling horses distance.How can we have horses distance with 16 horses and half the barn?Finally the privet lesson finished.We got split into 2 groups.About 5 minis later Sasha bucked.The girl on Sasha fell off head first!So we went back to one big ride.John put out cones we had to trot throw them.Every horse was Perfect , but when it came to me and Lucy she shot off at a gallop!At 1 point Misty went then before John told us to go Lucy shot off!When we caught up with Misty he started to gallop.The person on Misty was very scared as was i.I was glad when the lesson finished.I didnt want to un-saddle her so my mum did it.We took the tack back to the tack room.On the way out we met Michaela.My mum told her we didnt put her rug on because we didnt know how.She told us she would do it for us.When we got in the car i was very shaken up.After that scary ride.Barnston use to be a great stables.Over the years it as changed.I am not as keen on it as i was when i first started.Let me warn you beware of Misty who bites and Lucy who went crazy with me.I now ride at wirral riing school.All the ponies are nice.


If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 14/06/2011

All of the horses and ponies at Barnston are nice but they are exactly that, horses and ponies and as for all animals are unpredictable. It is not ideal to have that many ponies in half of the school and I hope a lesson has been learned.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“I love it at barnston the lessons are good and your...”

Written on: 07/03/2011

I love it at barnston the lessons are good and your always on the move. i have ridden at many riding school and by far barnston is the best. The staff are all friendly and willing to help you out. There is a grate variety for horses. Even tho the lessons are never on time you do always get a good hour. I would recommend barnston to other riders x

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I did my work experience here, every Friday for around...”

Written on: 02/03/2011

I did my work experience here, every Friday for around 3 months. I ABSOLOUTLY loved it there, the yard staff are lovely and VERY hard working, and I have seen both Keith and John instruct and they both do their jobs well. All of the horses and ponies are very well looked after and each have their own personality and are very special. I would recommend it to everyone as the horses and ponies are amazing, the staff are friendly and lovely and it is such a nice place to be!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 20/06/2011

I couldn't agree more. Barnston is the best, the horses and ponies are great, they all have their individual qualities. The first riding school I went to was awful for beginners, the best thing I did was change to Barnston through recommendation. Keith is a fab teacher and Jane is so nice, helpful and lovely with the horses.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't do it the people that own it are so wrong and...”

Written on: 28/02/2011

Don't do it the people that own it are so wrong and not from this world. The two sons are on drugs

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 23/06/2011

The owners are rarely on the yard and what they get up to behind closed doors has nothing to do with how the riding school is ...

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“I have been riding at Barnston for the last year...”

Written on: 25/02/2011

I have been riding at Barnston for the last year usually three times a week. I have helped lead in the lead rein classes myself and have never seen anything as described by the previous reviwer. I have always found all the staff to be extremely professional helpful and friendly. I took my own niece there for lead rein lessons which I would not have done if I thought there were any issues with safety. I myself within a year have gone from a complete an nervous beginner to now starting to jump on the yards largest horse. I cannot praise Barnston enough and especially John who has taught me for the last year. I would highly reccomend Barnston Riding School.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“My 7 year old Daughter began her lessons at Barnston...”

Written on: 26/01/2011

My 7 year old Daughter began her lessons at Barnston Riding center in September 2010. BIG MISTAKE!! The lessons started off okay in the indoor arena with approx 6 horses to a lesson and 1 teacher. I thought this seemed acceptable. I was charged £14 for the lesson and told if i was not going to lead the horse myself I would have to pay an extra £3 for one of the young stable hands to do it!
My Daughter had fortnightly lessons and after the first one, each lesson became more and more of a debarcle!! The amount of horses seemed to increase in each lesson - approx 9 horsess, Then the following week 10 horses and so on. When we arrived at the start of each lesson i would go to the office to book her in and request a lead rein. (I have a disability, I was unable to jog round the arena holding the horse for half an hour.) Then we would walk over to the arena to get her horse and find her lead rein. There was Apsolutely no communication whatsoever from the office to the poor teacher who didnt have a clue who had paid for a lead rein, if there was even enough young staff to do the lead reining and just looked completely stressed out not knowing what was going on! Each week you were always made to feel bad if you asked for a lead rein becoause they clearly didnt have enough staff for the demand of lead reins. I was even told by John (the owner/manger) one week "All the parents think they can just turn up and watch without doing anything and they need to start doing a bit of leading themselves!" I was astounded!! He then went on to say "so from next week it will be £6 for a leader not £3" Then on our last visit there (the final straw - so to speak!) when the lesson finally got underway about 20 minutes late ( as it often was because of the disorganisation) i was disgusted to see how many horses were crammed into that arena! The arena had been split in HALF to allow for TWO seperate lessons to take place and then they owners decided to book two lots of pupils from 2 lesson groups onto 1 half hour lesson to take place in the other half of the arena!! So in effect they had 2 teachers taking THREE lesson groups in ONE half hour time slot all crammed into the same arena!!!! I counted NINETEEN horses in that arena - four at the front of the areana in one lesson and FIFTEEN in the other HALF of the arena all just walking around in the circle waiting for a turn of trotting - you could hardly call it a lesson as there was not enough space for each pupil to get any individual trotting time. It was an apsolute joke!! Needless to say my Daughter promptly moved schools and is now settled at another fabulous riding school paying half the price (£10 with a leader) and lerning twice as much with plenty of one on one attention as there is only ever a maximum of 8 horses. Apsolute nightmare DO NOT BOOK HERE!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jaymc's Comment

Written on: 30/11/2014

Hi there would it be possible to tell me other school you took your daughter to please

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“i have been to the riding school for a couple of years...”

Written on: 21/12/2010

i have been to the riding school for a couple of years now and my instructor is john. what a great instuctor he is and soooo funny. He is great with the kids and teaches all the basics to a really good manner. I believe he works on the yard too so he must be very didicated to the riding school, and jane his the best, between them two the place runs so well the owners whoever they are should relly be proud that they have 2 members of staff working for them, If i had a riding school they would be my first choice

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I went to Barnston for a couple of months and quickly...”

Written on: 27/10/2010

I went to Barnston for a couple of months and quickly learnt how to canter but then i felt like a change so I moved to a different riding school but when I was there I realised that I missed the friendly atmosphere at Barnston Riding Centre, the staff and especially the horses and soon enough i had booked a lesson at barnston and I can't wait to see the yard again!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Very unprofessional manners towards the staff from...”

Written on: 24/10/2010

Very unprofessional manners towards the staff from owner. I've always loved Barnston but the owners NEED TO VANISH!!! These faults will not stop me going though due to the exellent riding instructors. Jnae is a lovely, lovely woman. She SHOULD BE THE OWNER! Very committed woman and wouldn't be the same without her....

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“i have been a client at barnston for many years now! i...”

Written on: 06/09/2010

i have been a client at barnston for many years now! i can strongly say the horses are very well looked after by a team of great yard staff. The horses are all very well schooled from plods for the begginer to horses that can work at a more advanced level to cater for the more experienced rider.
There have been a lot of changes since brenda ran the place and some seem to be good although i recently took my daughter for her first riding lesson in the lead rein class a girl called Megan took the class to begin i thought she looked very young yet took the lesson with great confidence and the whole lesson seemed to improve greatly with both their position and control by the end of the lesson. She taught the riders how to respect their pony and took great respect when taking the horses back and engaging with the parents. however after the lesson we stayed for a while to show my daughter around the horses and i was appalled in which the manner both Megan and another girl were spoken to on the yard. The owner spoke to them with such little respect whilst they were in the office area with other clients that i felt embarrassed for them.shortly after this the other owner steve shouted commands at very young girls then changed his mind and shouted another command at them.After i had been shown what a lovely respectable place this was by the yard staff, my opinion went down hill as i found this behavious very unprofessional. Overall the place in fantastic and it is a great place to learn to ride. yet the management need to have a re think of how their actions influence potential clients view on the place. x

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview