The Post Office Phone Service Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.2 / 5
6% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Reception

  • Customer Service

  • Reliability

  • Extra Features

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
The Post Office Phone Service - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for The Post Office Phone Service

The Post Office Phone Service
The Post Office Phone Service

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★☆☆

“Phone not working broadband drops off”

Written on: 12/12/2020

I have PO phone and broadband since January 2020 acceptable service until December when phone stopped working broadband drops off every other day. I reported the fault when they tested the line it was OK but then I was cut off I called again and the engineer said there is a fault and it would take 3 days to put right after 6 days since reporting still not working every time I call it cuts me off after 12 minutes what can I do if I cant talk to them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★☆

“Fault sorted very quickly”

Written on: 30/08/2018 by GeofD (23 reviews written)

I know there are some terrible reviews on P/O Telecom, but I have always found them fine. Phone line developed a fault this week, within 3 days engineer arrived and sorted it. Had the service for around 5 years, priced economically (but you have to haggle a little).... for phone and broadband, and always been OK

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgusting”

Written on: 19/11/2017 by SUEKNIGHT (1 review written)

My Mother used this service and was in a nursing home. She sadly passed away on 18 August 2017 and I rang to cancel her contract on 22nd August. Spoke to a man who assured me the line would close within 24 hrs, and I also paid her outstanding bill. At the end of October ,when I had sorted Mum's finances, I rang to check there was nothing outstanding, and was told there was no notification of my Mum's account being closed and the line was still open, but also that she would check the recorded conversation and ring me back.......I heard nothing.the line would have to be closed on Nov 17th, which I couldn't understand, as this was 3 months after my Mum had died.. I was assured no further payment due, and that a closing statement would be sent to this effect. On 18 Nov I received a bill - addressed to my Mother, but at my address, for £75.This included rental paid in advance from Nov to Feb! Understandably very distressed, I rang again, but received no understanding or compassion for my distress , and was made to feel that I was rude and unreasonable! After my husband intervened, I am now waiting for a refund, as apparently rental had been paid in advance from Aug to Nov with the bill I paid on 22 Aug ...the man hadn't told me that. The service is unbelievably bad, totally incompetent, and useless. Also no customer care or understanding, and definitely no sympathy for anyone who has to deal with the aftermath of a death in the family.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Could not care less about customer service.”

Written on: 09/09/2017

I phoned to check about services for my very elderly mother. Despite being on the Telephone Preference Service, she's constantly getting nuisance calls, some quite abusive, some silent and menacing. She struggles to answer the phone and is upset by them. The Post Office were only interested in selling her 2 more packages increasing her monthly bill by about £8 and would not budge on price, a lot to her. B.T and Talk Talk provide a good level of "nuisance protection" for nothing.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Hopeless!”

Written on: 31/03/2017 by Purnell929 (1 review written)

Started off fine, ordered online no problems. Problems started when my phone line developed a fault. Their 'customer service' is non existent. They checked my line and said that there was a fault with the network and that the fault would be rectified within 3 working days. Five working days passed and still no line. Phoned them up and unbelievably they were trying to call me on the faulty line!!! The phone doesn't ring it's faulty! Said to them why were they trying to contact me on a faulty line that's not very clever and they said 'yeah suppose so'. No hope for these guys. Said I want to cancel my phone line I've had enough. Ended the call whilst on hold again so hung up. Useless bunch!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Bad Customer Service”

Written on: 17/02/2017 by xuHolland466 (1 review written)

Today is just another problem with the Post Office. Months ago we were having problems with our phone line and the repair person came out to fix it. The repair lasted only a few days before we had to phone them again. This was on the weekend. We were told they do not do repairs on weekends. So we thought, OK we'll just have to wait a few days. Early Sunday morning the doorbell went and it was the repairman! He said they normally don't come up on weekends but he was in the neighbour hood and was driving by anyway, so he decided to stop and repair our line. How thoughtful, so we thought! He spent awhile at our house and we were told that the previous repairman didn't do the repair correctly and has crossed some wire which made the line short out. The previous repairman also put a wrong part on it! So the repairman fixed the problem, and said he wasn't going to report the previous guy because he didn't want to get them in trouble. He said not to worry as there wouldn't be a charge for the repair work he did. Well, today we received our phone bill and was charged £120.00!!! I phone the phone company and after passing their security and telling them the problem they pass me over to the technical dept saying I needed to speak to them since my query was regarding a technical service charge. Once again, after passing the security questions again (because the person who transfered the call didn't tell the next person I passed the security!) I was told that that dept couldn't help that I needed the dept I spoke to first, so they passed me back again. OK, so now I'm told they couldn't do anything that I needed Customer Service! Customer Service couldn't help and said they had to pass the problem on to someone else to look out and that it would be 3 - 5 working days before I heard anything. Why!? When I owe them they want the payment today, so why is it so difficult for them to use some common sense and work out their own problems! I'm now looking for a new phone provider and in no circumstance would I refer the Post Office. Fortunately, we've already stopped our Broadband service with them. But that's another story.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“disgraceful postoffice”

Written on: 04/02/2017 by Piperu415 (1 review written)

appalling, shocking treatment of clients. I have never been treated so harshly. I have a fault with my phone line yet I came off the phone after speaking to them animals like I was at fault. they were not at all helpful in any way what so ever,so rude. Iam so dishearted with the lack of respect, these people where ........

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Attitude & Rubbish Customer Service”

Written on: 27/01/2017 by lindagibbs (1 review written)

post office phone company :-( totally annoyed with them. elderly ill aunts phone has got a fault, I rang them from my mobile while with her on Saturday to report it, I rang them Tuesday to ask what the status was, they said they had found the fault and were arranging for it to be fixed. PM Phone man arrives at aunts house, does his checks, says its in the road, does more tests and goes back and tells her its in the underground cabling and they need to dig up the road.6- 8 weeks for them to sort out. I ring Post Office customer care and ask them to get BT to put a divert on the line to her mobile, get told they cant do that as the guy I spoke to Saturday didn't put an ok to talk to me on their system, I said that's ridiculous you have rung me on my mobile to update me on the fault. Adamant as data protection wont put a divert on her number to her mobile on my say so! I asked him to please ring her, to add insult to injury he told me 'We cant ring her on her mobile to get the okay from her to put a divert on because we have no outgoing lines?' My reply ' You've just rung me' No that was a different department! When I asked to speak to a manager, he disappeared offline for 5 minutes and came back and said 'Manager said no there was no point him speaking to me because he wont do anything!!!!!' Really! Disgusting customer service Post Office

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely dreadful ”

Written on: 02/12/2016 by Unhappywithpostofficetelephone (1 review written)

Trying to solve an issue for my 83 year old mother who lives on her own and now thanks to post office telephone has no way of communicating with anyone. This is the third time I have been kept waiting on the phone for over an hour. The phone has now been off for over a week. All they say is that open reach have fixed the fault on the line . Let me tell you no they haven't. No apology of offer to ring me back . Dreadful customer service I am appalled. My advice to other customers move to another supplier

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★★☆☆☆

“Not interested in calls to customers”

Written on: 04/11/2016 by Eliza888 (1 review written)

I was recently called by a guy who said he was from PO Phone Services and wanted to ask me questions about my a/c. I told him I didn't know who he was and i wasn't going to answer any questions. He then directed me to the Post office Customer Services Dept (0345 number) and said he would leave a note on my a/c about why he called. I did ring through to Customer Services and they said they had no knowledge of this and there was nothing on my a/c. I told them that this must have been a non-genuine call and they weren't a bit bothered.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Post Office uncaring towards Cancer Patient”

Written on: 01/11/2016

Absolute disgrace..!! Phoned up to cancel my mum’s account after she had been in hospital for 5 months following a brain cancer operation. Supervisor I spoke to wouldn’t make any changes to the £37 a month account (that hasn’t been used for 5 months) until he spoke to a cancer doctor at the hospital.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Richardmilton's Comment

Written on: 27/09/2021

I am in a similar situation. My brother has been in psychiatric hospital for over a year. I cancelled his payments abd rang to let them know that the account needs to be closed. They wanted a letter from his doctor explaining the situation. This didn't arrive, maybe the doctors are rather busy during a world covid pandemic!
They have now sent the owing balance of £59.98 to debt collectors and closed the account. Utterly ridiculous. I've sent a letter to the CEO. Despicable behaviour.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful Customer Service & Technical Team”

Written on: 07/07/2016 by Lilacs (2 reviews written)

I have been with Post Office Home Phones since the beginning, over the last 4 months I have had problems with my phone which affected my broadband.Could not use the phone because of the crackling noises, broadband kept dropping out. Rang the techies who told me to go through a series of procedures which I did several times, one of these was to get on my hands & Knees & unscrew the box to plug another phone in. Well being 71 this was difficult but managed it. I was advised to put new filters on everything & I also bought new phones. They tested the line several times & said there was no fault there side & said they would send an engineer out but if the fault was inside the home I would have to pay £144, I agreed to this because I was so fed up with the problems. They arranged for an engineer to call & sent me a text saying that I had to stay in between 8AM to 1PM on a particular date although he may not knock the door. This I did & no one called or rang. I rang EE yet again & they said there was no record of the visit so I read the text out to them, they replied sometimes these messages are sent out randomly. They arranged for another engineer to call the following week when in fact he called on the Saturday without an appointment. I was so glad to see him. Within 30 mins he had found a broken cable which was EE's responsibility. I rang up to complain about all the aggro I had had & they offered me £5 compensation which I declined they then upped it to £10 I told them what to do with there £10 & said goodbye take 15 days notice. Avoid at all costs. The Tech team all read from the same script.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“useless bullies”

Written on: 05/07/2016 by Kaydencev280 (1 review written)

Today is the 5th of July but I have been pestered by them on my mobile as apparently my bill is overdue. My next bill is to be paid on the 13th of July, in 8 days!!! They have been pestering me because I've decided to leave them as they left me in the lurch when I moved flat and I was left without a phone line for 2 weeks. I decided to switch because they wouldn't give me the same contract with the same service when I moved. I had to loose a lot of service for the same price. Although I told them I needed to be in touch with my elderly parents, they just didn't care. They refused to give me a sync code for my internet provider. When I insisted the lady was rude and tried to hang up on me. They pretended they didn't know what a sync code was!!! My internet provider was shoked and explained to me that they were lazy and that the sync code was basic stuff! For 2 weeks I had no phone and no internet. They were rude and are now pestering me although I have 8 days to pay my final bill. They are pestering me every couple of hours for a bill that is due in 8 days!! This company is amoral!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Post Office Telephone Terrible Company ”

Written on: 01/06/2016 by MarleyOliver (1 review written)

Date : 01.06.2016 Dear All, Ref: Post Office Telephone Terrible Company - Do Not Sign Up With Post Office : My Complaint With The Post Office As Been Going On From Start Of February 2016. They Are Responding To Me Via E-Mails. When You Call Their Numbers You Will Be Awaiting In A Long Queue Costing You Time And Money! This To-Date Is Still On-Going. I Have A Complaint Logged With Them And Ofcom Both Equally Incompetent With Addressing The Complaint Or Taking Ownership Of The Problems. The Complaint Is About The Following Areas: * Telephone Service Not Working. * Monthly Bills - They Changed Their Billing System Last Year And Put All Customers On Monthly Billing To State This Helps Customers With Their Finances. It Only Fills There Accounts With Our Hard Earned Cash. No Letters Sent To Customers To Inform Them. * Customer Agents Not Providing Full Names. * Engineer Charges Of £141.00 For B.T Open Reach Engineer To Come Out. * Poor Customer Services. I Am Still Awaiting For Something To Happen From Post Office. Please Do Not Sign Up With This Terrible Company. They Are All Useless And Do Not Think For Themselves They Are All Pigs!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Unhelpful in the extreme”

Written on: 02/03/2016 by Delaney1972 (1 review written)

My mother died and I needed to get the line disconnected. Was told it would take 15 days - why. Bill arrived and was paid. A final bill arrived which should have been for 2 days but was for another month. Rang was told not to pay the bill and another one was in the post. No bill arrived - rang again. Told to pay the bill this time and that they would credit me with the overpayment. The credit has now arrived but they will not cash it at the post office without Grant of Probate - despite the fact the bills were paid from my account not my mothers. The customer service is awful and have been cut off twice whilst "being transferred". Thank God I am with BT.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“appalling customer service”

Written on: 19/02/2016 by 493Timmons (1 review written)

complained about my bill when the price went up and I was billed an extra £15 which was not explained, no one at the post offic could explain it, then I wrote to their HQ in Stirling and no reply 3.5 weeks later, emailed and no reply though told would get a reply in 5 days, emailed again and told that i would get a reply in 5 days- nothing.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I have been a Post Office Home Phone and Broadband...”

Written on: 17/05/2015 by euMartinez241 (1 review written)

I have been a Post Office Home Phone and Broadband customer for 5 years - the broadband has been unbelievably slow but we put up with it because it was cheap. We recently lost all phone service so we called them - they said they'd send out an engineer (which they did) but neglected mention how much it would cost!!!! I was informed by the engineer that if they tried to charge me to complain. Sure enough on my next bill was a charge for £144!!!! When I raised the query they said I had been informed of the cost when I called, which I hadn't because if they had told me it was going to cost that much I'd have cancelled the phone line as it was never used and we only had it out of habit! As I said we have been with them for 5 years never been late with a payment always abided by the term and conditions, and this is how they treat a good customer - by lying and ripping us off! STAY AWAY (sorry for the shouting but I wanted to make sure you heard me! The way they treat their customers stinks ans the way they talk to you on the phone is shameful - their customer 'service' providers are rude and the information they give you is incorrect (and sometimes downright lies!). I don't care how cheap they are that level of service is not worth any financial saving.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Spectacularly Unhelpful”

Written on: 30/03/2015 by Kyle328 (1 review written)

My mum is 90. She has a panic alarm system which is dependent on a working telephone line. Her line has been out of use for 5 days now. When I logged the fault I told them this, yet when I chased them again two days later they denied all knowledge. They also said that the engineers decide what to treat as priority! I get the distinct feeling they lie through their teeth. I have been assured today that fault would be fixed by midnight but I have serious doubts. If you're reading this with a view to having the Post Office as your supplier I would advise you not to. But then again, it depends how bad your existing supplier is I suppose. If the PO keep this up I will move my Mum's account back to BT. At least they own the line so the chain of command should be shorter...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Carer2's Comment

Written on: 21/04/2015

Attitude towards protecting their most vulnerable customers is an absolute disgrace. They certainly do not exhibit any decency, duty of care or interest in the safety and welfare of their most vulnerable customers. This company should look at its attitude and the quality of its 'customer care' team!

I have tried to deal with them today on behalf of an elderly relative who is 'poorly' (hospital speak) in hospital and all they would say is that they can't speak with me unless she phones them herself (is this how the Data Protection Act was meant to be used?) Awful customer service!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“worse company ever”

Written on: 14/01/2015 by 132Garner (1 review written)

My Dad is 90 & looks after my Mother who has Dementia. She has fallen several times and a landline is essential. Twice last year the line was not working. Spent loads of time and money ringing customer services. We were told loads of lies as to when service would be restored. Second time they even charged them £144 because they came inside the house when the fault was found outside. If you think you will save money changing to them think twice service is abysmal and they treat the elderly terribly

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Lynus's Comment

Written on: 07/03/2015

I'm having the same trouble with my 88 year old mums phone even down to the £144 charge.Did you pay it or how did you get it quashed

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Just don't bother”

Written on: 12/01/2015 by IsabellKent267 (1 review written)

My phone line has been dead for 9 days and I have rung the 'customer care' team everyday. No phone line means no internet ! They have never rung me back even though they say they will. They cannot tell me what is holding up the 'fix'. They cannot tell me when it may be resolved. I have spent a lot of time calling them via my mobile. I have to go to a friends house to use the internet. The call handlers appear only to be a human messaging system and they do not have knowledge of progress of issue nor do they have the ability to escalate cases. I have written a formal complaint. As my contract is up in February I have already opted to change provider. My suggestion is - just don't bother using the Post Office as a Line Rental provider.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
overview