William H Brown Estate Agents Reviews

Click here if this is your business
William H Brown Estate Agents
★☆☆☆☆
1.3
9.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
William H Brown Estate Agents - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for William H Brown Estate Agents

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Shocking Customer Service ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Hay70 on 14/05/2024

Absolutely shocking the way they treat customers. The initial meeting was good, but the minute you sign on the dotted line for them to sell your property, it all goes downhill from there. Three times I had to tell them I didn't want accompanied viewings (I worked in new homes for 14 years, so I think I know how to sell a house!) and someone would "be on their way"!!!! I felt that the staff were patronising, and couldn't really be bothered. In the end I changed agents to get a better service (of which I did) but in the end one of the original viewers made an offer, so we were reverted back to WHB. The sales chasing was hit and miss, even our solicitor said he didn't know who was representing us for the first few weeks!! The straw that broke the camels back was the email I received a week before we completed, to say that they had referred us to the debt collection part of WHB and they wanted us to pay ASAP! I rang and asked the member of staff to get her to ring me as we had not yet completed on the sale!!!! No one ever called, not to apologise for their mistake, but also to tell us we had completed! Discusting way to treat customers. AVOID AT ALL COSTS

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Terrible.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by baff57 on 12/09/2023

Not to be trusted if you are renting from them. I rented a bungalow from them, and they asked me if I could leave early as ​they had another tennant. I agreed I would do what I could and moved out 4 days early. Now refusing the refund. Also claiming £750 in damages claiming damages that were in place when i moved in and after i spent a considerable amount of time and money improving the property. Gutted !!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Alanah , thank you . You are great at your job!”

★★★★★

written by Saiqa73 on 04/08/2023

I would like to thank Alanah, for her amazing skills and warm welcoming Aura . Alanah was amazing. In showing us already the property at Kettering yesterday. Thank you Alanah

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Leicester City Halford street”

★★★★★

written by Gioandjudy on 04/05/2023

It took almost a year to sell our house because of people pulling our etc However the team never gave up and supported, reassured and advised us throughout The whole team were friendly and in particular a great shout out to the agent who was fantastic

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Over One Year for Nothing! First Time Buyer Be Careful!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Seamusc279 on 19/04/2023

Around one year ago, we were interested in a house and the seller A accepted our offer. Then after over half a year, almost all the procedures went through, the seller's solicitor stopped replying to our solicitor but reassured that they're sorting the last enquiry out. After one month, the estate agent contacted us that the seller declined to sell the house and the staff from the estate agent apologised quite sincerely. Someone senior from the estate agent gave some information of a similar property around the same area to us. We both found this house quite met our expectation so we expressed our interest and the house seller B accepted our offer within one week. As this house B is a no chain house, we expected the procedures can go through more quickly than last time. However, the enquiries have taken more than four months and there is still two outstanding enquiries. We did try to ask what the last two enquiries were but not getting any response. William H Brown is a liar as the house B suddenly becomes a chained property during the conveyancing process.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“No help for tenants at all”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Truthteller1 on 18/01/2023

We rent a house through William H Brown at Yarmouth, from the minute we took the property we had problems. We collected the keys went to the property and work was still going on so couldn't move in for 2 weeks, when we finally moved in we had no gas and no hot water for 3 months, they were no help, said it was down to us, we had leaks, problems with electrics which we had to keep chasing them to fix. We reported a severe rising damp problem in July and repeatedly till they finally came in December after getting environmental health involved. Due to this we have now after 8 months of hell have been served a section 21, we have always paid the rent even though really they owe us compensation now for the time we couldn't live here and the time with no hot water or gas which is a necessity. They just don't care and it now looks like we will be homeless as we used our savings to pay 6 months up front as it was the only way we could get a property as I'm disabled.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Never again after all these years.. ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by jmjmjmjm on 20/05/2022

I've been a "customer" of William H Brown now for almost 10 years. During which time I've purchased a house with them, attempted to sell one (unsuccessfully I would add) and remortgaged a couple of times. However, my latest endeavour with them will be my last. Apparently when a company waives a "lifetime" fee in 2013 and makes no mention of this during transactions in 2015 and 2021, they reserve the right to charge it in 2022. In short, I guess times are tough and making a commission from the mortgage provider and an admin fee isn't enough? So instead, despite our 10 year relationship clearly holding little worth (I'd have gone back to them in the future for remortgages and hopefully next year a house move), we will part ways and I'll have to consider it a lesson learnt.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Never again”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Halseyzq1947 on 27/12/2021

Let my flat out to them about 4 years ago. The first year or two they were very good with keeping me up to date with things such as annual boiler check and electrical check and informing me of any other repairs etc. Also did there regular spot checks every three months or so and reported back to myself on there findings. Earlier on they were great as I said earlier but things started to change even before covid 19. The regular checks literally stop to a point where I had to keep chasing them with what’s going on as I wasn’t directly involve with the tenants. It got to the point where the tenants got my number off my neighbour just to inform me that things there needed fixing and I wasn’t been made aware of from the agents even though they were telling them things needed doing which I don’t blame them for in that aspect. I felt that I had to get so involved in the running of the letting to the point where I said to them what was the point of paying you for full management of the place when I didn’t want the stress of it. This carried on for a number of months of me chasing the agents up on what’s going on with the place, leaving messages and NEVER get a call back from them regarding an issue. Even when it came up to eventually getting the tenants out by giving them three months notice and them not willing to leave William H brown were no help at all. It felt like they washed there hands of the situation and left it with my solicitors to deal with. I find there business as a whole was acted very unorganised with no help to me whatsoever and that I would NEVER use or recommend them for letting to anyone. It took exactly a whole year from August from the first initial letter of eviction to finally get the tenants out. Now with the tenants out this whole thing has costed me a lot of money and to even get the deposit back now is another issue. This is certainly a lesson learned and to be weary of estate agents such as William H brown by giving them full control of your property and given in to by there lies.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“House purchase disaster”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Graemeegg on 18/12/2021

Steer well clear , never again , awful experience , sold the house behind my back after offer was accepted by vendor

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“HUDDERSFIELD BRANCH”

★☆☆☆☆

written by huddsladk on 05/10/2021

Absolutely shocking how can you operate a business with all the terrible customer reviews disgusting not even hearda thing back from them for days left me in the lurch sent deposit and bond and got passed around call after call no replies on my emails jsut the same copied and pasted message from days ago absolutely avoid at all costs not given bond back no support no manager no point

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Norwich branch lettings”

★☆☆☆☆

written by OmariPike on 23/08/2021

This is about the Norwich branch. Unfortunately I have to agree with all the comments about them below. Highly unprofessional and aggressive with students. They do have a lot of properties and so you are forced to go with them and landlords don’t seem to care about this. Their contract is very one sided and they will not change one point. If you can find a property with another letting agent I would strongly suggest going with someone else or finding out from current tenants who their landlord is and dealing directly with them. We dealt directly with the landlord as this company was so incompetent and aggressive and even complained to the manager who couldn’t care less. The landlady agreed and we dealt with issues between us. Try to avoid

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Servive”

★★☆☆☆

written by 123owl on 21/04/2021

Aggressive staff. Poor service. Over priced

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Excellent ”

★★★★★

written by ajaykumar2010 on 14/11/2020

I am very happy with the Rental service provided by William H Brown,Ipswich.It was quick and smooth.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

“William H Brown St Albans”

★★★★☆

written by HMBass on 14/10/2020

We tried to sell our house with William H Brown and would like to say how helpful they were through the whole process. Always available for a conversation and always professional and helpful. Although we have decided to withdraw our house from the market again they were very helpful and i have no doubt i will use them again in the future if we decide to move again. would definitely recommend to a friend or family member. Many thanks Guys

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

“NEVER AGAIN”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Ralston418 on 29/01/2020

AVOID AT ALL COSTS!! This is so bad you probably won’t believe it. Never ever again will I consider using William H Brown!!!! Absolutely disgusted with the service and shocked how unprofessional the person was when it came to dealing with my complaint. 1. I was told by the salesman that the property would be sold through the Norwich branch, (I was particularly happy about this as it was explained to me that this branch had far more resources to sell at a higher price and much faster than the smaller branches which have only two staff to deal with this) yet it was transferred to the Hellesdon branch. 2. WHB Forgot to market the property for 3 weeks until I notified the Norwich branch. 3. To my amazement, somehow, they missed key benefits of the property and that it was to be sold as OIEO as discussed, taking three attempts to get it right via email before going live. Ultimately, I had to point out the important missing features on the marketing material, when in fact I should be the one being advised. 4. After completion the buyers spoke to me face to face, explaining they were never made aware of the garden to the right elevation of the property or to the left of the drive way and that the boundaries of the property were never pointed out on their viewings. If I had known this while in the negotiation stages, then obviously I could have come in with a counter offer or refuse the offer of £120,500 while at the same time explaining that they are not just getting the garden to the front elevation but also the garden to the right elevation, which can easily be used as a private garden if a fence it erected as there are no windows overlooking. This shows there was clearly scope for negotiating a considerably higher price than £120,500. 5. I then researched local estate agents for similar flats, this is when I found a 1 bed flat on Pyehurn Mews with exactly the same layout and a very similar sized rear garden that completed with KT Estate Agents for £135,000. Again, this shows there was clearly scope for negotiating a considerably higher price than £120,500. 6. When I called the Hellesdon branch and spoke with someone explaining. Before I had a chance to finish, she became aggressively defensive, denying my claims, insinuating that my mother was a liar (as she heard the same from the buyers) and immediately threatened me with debt recovery instructions. I was overwhelmed with this approach and the conversation soon ended with a debt collection threat. Like any other customer complaint to a business, I was expecting to be able to have a conversation about my experiences, then for the same person to at the very least say something to the effect of I will look into this before I pass comment and I will be in touch shortly”. Because this did not happen, there has not been any conversation to attempt to resolve my complaint, only legal threats. 7. The next working day I had a debt recovery company chasing me. 8. I have potentially lost a few thousand pounds for the incompetence of the Hellesdon branch.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 5 0

“Immensely helpful staff in Watton”

★★★★★

written by berge.balian on 28/01/2020

Immensely helpful staff in Watton, Thetford.. I was selling a relative’s house that was over 5 hours’ drive from where I live. They visited the property, which was vacant, to turn on the heating when the weather was cold, helped me to find a reputable company to do some repairs and clear the house, and liaised with the solicitors directly when a I was unable to do so. I couldn’t recommend them more highly. They sold the house within 4 days, and found another buyer within 1 week when the first purchase fell through.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Completely incompetent and unprofessional ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Cashl100 on 26/11/2019

The service received from William H Brown agents unprofessional and total lack of communication, appalling service . PLEASE NOTE THE ONLINE EXTRA PRO PLUS MARKETING PACKAGE IS A ABSOLUTE WASTE OF £300 pounds and is non- refundable unless you sell your property through them and use Sequence Home Conveyancing to complete the sale of your property through them . We had 5 viewings of which 3 I had to do the viewing through there lack of bad organisation and no staff available ! I paid for a service which I then had to do myself . I never received a weekly update during our marketing period with a call nor after any of the viewings. I had to call WH BROWN constantly for feedback .The staff turn around speaks loud volumes. I certainly would not recommend this company to sell your home. I uploaded this truthful review on Facebook and WH Brown have removed my review and blocked my account . Shows there true unprofessionalism.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“William H Brown Estate Agents. In my case, stating...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 414McCollum on 05/09/2019

William H Brown Estate Agents. In my case, stating that there is a phone line in the building you are about to rent and when you move in you discover that there are no phone cables at al............. you make your own conclusions. A place that leaves you with a blocked fire exit for over a month. Maybeeeee they will fix it after the visit of a Fire Officer. A place that recommends you to leave your rubbish rotten in a room in the building corridors for over a week, and that charges you if having some not "domestic" rubbish. It is not my case, but there are comments in the Sequence UK page about problems in getting the deposit back. More than one. I hope it won't be my case.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“William H Brown Agency, Bank Plain, Norwich”

★★★★★

written by Newreviewer2019 on 11/08/2019

The resident wizard at the Norwich branch of the William H Brown estate agency (Bank Plain) is undoubtedly Selene Foster. I recently purchased a house from the agency’s listings and she was exceptionally skilled in working as a liaison between the seller, the various solicitors and myself to resolve any problems. At one point there was a possibility that the transaction might fall through but, thanks to Selene and her colleagues, disaster was averted. I am now moved into the property and everything is great. For anyone buying in the Norwich area, whether leasehold or freehold, I recommend you start your property journey with William H Brown agency.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

“poorly trained, lazy and un-interested!!...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Alexish230 on 17/07/2019

Terrible.. William H browns lettings and property management arm is useless. for starters their fees are high,they try to charge for an inventory that is exactly the same as the previous one.. but with even more mistakes in it!... They are not aware of what their contractors are doing and when it comes to actually earning their cut and evicting someone, they are slow,ill informed and un-interested. The young girl in charge of lets at my local branch didnt have a clue!!!.. was slow to react and I often waited 3-4 days for a call back!!.. STAY CLEAR!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 5 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Sherry2000 on 5th January 2016 Report this content
I have had a property on the market since mid August but my circumstances have changed and I need to move into the property. Am I able to pull it off the market?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview