Connells Estate Agents Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Connells Estate Agents
★☆☆☆☆
1.4
10.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Connells Estate Agents - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Connells Estate Agents

Latest Reviews

“Property management”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Websteryn166 on 04/06/2024

Very poor experience of Canterbury letting department after Connells took over from Touchstone who were excellent. Very poor communication, frequently no response at all. We have had enough.in our opinion the management needs to be changed.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Excellent service Connells East Grinstead”

★★★★★

written by Sworders on 01/05/2024

Thank you, once again, for your excellent service in finding us such a great tenant for our property. Due to your professionalism, our property was empty for only a couple of weeks. We would definitely recommend you to others and look forward to doing business with you in the future.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Avoid like the plague”

★☆☆☆☆

written by TrentMuir375 on 21/03/2024

The most horrific experience of my life dealing with Connells. Terrible communication, rude, never apologise, they are currently withholding my money and won’t tell me when I can expect to receive it. This is renting with them in Manchester. If you see a property ran by them, please avoid unless you want to be miserable.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Unprofessional”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Karengarry on 18/03/2024

Very disappointed with connels at St budeaux office. My offer was accepted by the seller than was told the buyer has gone with a higher offer and first time buyer. Which I accept but what I do not accept is being ignored by the office which I sent several emails to and I copied in the manager which I appreciate he was on holiday.. explained my mobile would not let me ring them. So hence sending emails I was going to put a higher bid in on the property but my emails was ignored. All you had to do was answer my email and say the seller is not accepting any higher bids on the property. Also was told I was not a cash buyer but I could be wrong. I thought if I sold my house and the sale from the house goes into my bank and I pay for the house out of the money. This classes you as a cash buyer. Very disappointed customer. Hence why you receive a bad review.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Disappointing Experience with Connells Estate Agency”

★☆☆☆☆

written by sxDuffy214 on 08/02/2024

Unfortunately there is no option to leave no stars. Our experience with Connells Estate Agency has been disappointing and frustrating. Despite choosing to seel our house with them due to their familiarity, we encountered poor communication and unprofessionalism throughout the process. From inaccurate advice provided by their mortgage advisor which led to delays and unnecessary stress and wasting money on our part, to feeling pressured to accept offers from investors, it became clear that our interests as clients were not prioritised. Despite assurances, the agency failed to address our concerns effectively, leaving us with a lack of confidence in their reliability and credibility. Overall, if you want to have a stress free, professional sale DO NOT choose Connells to present your home to the market!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Awful Lettings Wolverhampton branch”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Griffiths7 on 29/10/2023

These agents are simply awful, the lettings agent us so bad it's untrue. Terrible from start to finish and they will fleece you. Inventory checkout is £100 plus vat, went to the company direct and was £55. Avoid this branch and company at all costs

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Couldnt care less about their customers and very...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 270Melton on 14/11/2022

Had our house listed with connells a few weeks ago...MASSIVE MISTAKE...items of huge sentimental value were taken after they entered the property. They couldn't give a monkeys about it after we confronted them, didnt even speak to the member of staff that went in to the property at the time of the items being taken. Absolutely horrendous experience with company DONT BOTHER AVOID 

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Dreadful! ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ColtEwing on 29/07/2022

A month after having someone round for a valuation from the Cannock office - we have had nothing in writing. Two local estate agents who came the following day emailed us back within hours and the valuations from both were much more professional and thorough. We have chased Connells via their website and phoned the local office and have heard nothing - no one seems to have any customer service skills. If they can’t get the basics right - I certainly wouldn’t trust them to sell my house.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“WARNING..”

★☆☆☆☆

written by G.MASON on 01/04/2022

The PUBLIC SHOULD BE AWARE HOW CONNELLS OPERATE. EG.PROPERTY COMES FOR SALE ON THE WEBSITE .WITHIN A FEW HOURS YOU CALL TO MAKE A APPOINTMENT FOR VIEWING.DETAILS ARE TAKEN EMAILS .CONTACT NUMBERS SEVERAL OF THEM.THEY MAKE A EXCUSS THAT THEY HAVE TO ORGANISE WITH THE SELLER TO ARRANGE A VIEWING.FOR SALE BOARD GOES UP 4/5 DAYS AFTER IT PLACED ON LINE AS FOR SALE...NO ONE GETS TO VIEW THE PROPERTY...SURPRISINGLY. AFTER 2DAYS OF THE FOR SALE SIGN GOES UP> ITS SOLD>>> NOW THE GENUINE SELLER IS MISSING OUT ON GENUINE BUYERS.. NOT ACHIEVING THE THE BEST PRICE FOR THE CUSTOMER...ALL ARRANGED IN HOUSE.. I will be passing this info on to trading standards hopefully to protect the public.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“All the 1 star ratings can't be wrong......”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 21/10/2021

- Saw a property and 2 days later (Monday) made an offer only £1000 below advertised price, with the understanding that if it was declined they would come back and we'd review. - On making the offer I was told that I needed to speak to someone about whether I could afford the offer. I explained that I had plans in place and a broker who was acting on my behalf and I wouldn't be using their services therefore, it wouldn't be beneficial. I am aware that I have no issue with obtaining a mortgage. However, they like to people to speak to someone "about whether they can afford the offer they are making". - No news about my offer and what the vendor had said that day. - Next day call for appt with someone about affording my offer. I explained that I wouldn't be needing their services. Was advised that he was a mortgage advisor and what my broker had told me wasn't true about a decision in principle affecting my credit score. Wanted the name of my broker. Also wanted some information as other people making offers had provided information so their offers may be accepted above mine. I refused to give any information as I didn't want or need their services and wasn't going to open up to them saying they were acting on behalf and charging me. I also wondered why a mortgage advisor who wasn't acting for me would be liaising with the vendor when my offer was to the agent. - Next day (Wednesday) no information received regarding offer. Called office. They said they hadn't heard back from vendor as she was viewing offers - however, without me saying my name or details they knew the price of my offer and who I was - surprising when they had so many offers. They did say, however, that the vendor has asked them to get final offers and if I wished to increase (even though my original offer hadn't been declined). Suffice to say I didn't increase it. - As I felt there was something not quite right with what I was being told, and I'd met the neighbour at the property, On Thursday, I posted a note through his door asking if he was still in contact with the vendor to pass my number on so I could ascertain if the offer had been put forward and that I was receiving the correct feedback from the agent. As you can see I was very keen to progress with the sale of this property. - Unfortunately vendor passed my note onto the agent. I did question in the note whether my offer was put forward. No contact from Vendor, just a telephone message from the branch on Saturday to say that they were in receipt of my letter to the vendor and they had passed on my offer on Monday as they have to, by law, within 24 hours. However, the vendor had now accepted another offer, but should they need to contact me again they would. Even though I'd asked them to liaise with me regarding my offer was declined and whether I would want to increase, at that point. - It is now the following Thursday and the house is still being advertised for sale at the same price. After reading all the other reviews about this company, it appears that my situation isn't a one off and my hunches about things not being quite right were true and still are. Unfortunately the vendor chose to put the agent in charge of liaising with me about my note. The vendor could have been heading towards a completed sale now as I was very keen to buy the property and have nothing stopping me doing so apart from the barriers put up by the agent. A very unfortunate situation and unnecessarily stressful. Think before you use them - read all the reviews and then decide.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 3

“Avoid Avoid Avoid”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Holtmn432 on 29/06/2021

Horrendous service from the Newton Abbot branch from start to finish….only interested in one thing…££££. Cannot believe I paid nearly £1400 for the minimal amount of work from them! Avoid at all costs and I urge you to look elsewhere! Dodged calls from me, misinformed me with regards to buyers financial position and overall rubbish customer service. I have given them ample opportunities to rectify all issues but once they had their commission they were not interested in the slightest. Try other local estate agents such as Taylors, Williams Hedge or basically any other estate agent as Connells will 100% leave you dissatisfied!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“They did next to nothing!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Mr.DJP on 21/01/2020

I recently sold my house through Connells in Kingswood and did most of the work myself. They consistently failed to provide any feedback of viewings unless I went to their office. This was especially irritating, as I was also viewing other properties and being chased by other estate agents requesting my own feedback. Emails and phone calls were ignore. Even when they (eventually) sold it, I found myself having to liaise directly with the buyer to ensure the sell proceeded smoothly. A clear case of money for nothing! Avoid them at all costs.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“22years nothing changed!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by davidpatrick81 on 26/02/2019

Myself and my wife had a VERY VERY bad experience with connells just over 22years ago with the sale of our first home and tonight 22years on seems like nothing has changed! My daughter and son in-law went to view a property as first time buyers, booked a viewing on saturday for tuesday evening as that was the earliest available, they both had to leave work early and turned up on time. No answer at the property so we waited and 15mins later we rang the dudley branch only to be told sorry the property has been sold! whilst we were on the phone the owner of the property turned up looking very worried why there were strangers standing on his drive! so very embarrassed we made our apologies and left, absolutely fuming and no sign of remorse from the agent! so what has another 20plus years shown us about Connells estate agents ...........well....nothing really nothing has changed they are still unprofessional, have no communication internally and they care for nothing and no one except to make money from people!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 1

“Efficient and fast letting service!”

★★★★★

written by Jm21111 on 11/02/2019

A big thank you to Connells for finding us tenants in just 1 week! Very good service and friendly staff from the Cannock branch, nothing too much trouble to help you. Would definitely recommend them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 2

“Avoid !!!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Skylat310 on 29/01/2019

In the 30 years I have been buying, selling and renting property, I have never come across an estate agent as bad as Connells in Kingswood, Bristol. If you have a choice, avoid these guys at all costs. Issues have included: Failing to pass information between buyer and seller; Failing to reply to calls and emails (in fact they have never replied to any of my emails); Mortgage advice is free, but you need to join Thier "club" at £500 to get this - a complete waste of money in my opinion. If you HAVE to use them, put everything in writing and keep copies. Keep a diary of events, conversations, names of individuals etc. If you can talk direct with the seller or buyer, do it, it was save you a lot of time and money. And most of all, don't let them pressurise you into doing anything you don't want to. They are signed up to the Property Ombudsman Organisation, where you can complain and seek compensation free of charge. I'm starting my complaint today.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 1

“The worst lettings agent I've ever dealt with”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Galloway18 on 02/11/2018

Despite paying Full Management fees, I ended up doing more work than the agents. They failed to fulfil the most basic obligations, like finding a tenant, cancelling end of tenancy service providers etc. I had to do it for them! They are incompetent, unprofessional and dishonest. The worst part was they never owned up to their mistakes or admitted their failings, instead they kept covering up for each other and making out that I was in the wrong. Stay well away from them, they will extract money from you whilst doing none of the work. Lazy and dishonest - toddlers would have done a better job!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Terrible Service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by xgThomson82 on 09/10/2018

As far as letting agents go these people could be right up there with their terrible service and inexperienced staff. The simply have no clue about the level of service expect. They make you want to pull your hair out. You’re passed around with your queries. Feels like talking to a call centre. Would not recommend Connells as a letting agent.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Shocking service Connells Estate agents ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Angelinaf352 on 05/10/2018

Rented a property from Connells ended My tenancy agreement after 18 months didnt sign a new agreement to stay in the flat give one notice that I was leaving now they have said that must pay until the New tenant moves in change me arrears as well and have said that I will not get my depost back as well The property has now been re-let and a new tenant will taking up their tenancy on the 11th October meaning my rent liability will cease on the 10th October. We are unable to release the deposit to yourself unless a mutual agreement has been met between you and your landlord. If a mutual agreement cannot be met, you will have to raise a case with the TDS (Tenancy Deposit Scheme). If want a flat or House go someware else you have been warned.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Do you really want to sell your house?”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Lockhartbp305 on 16/07/2018

If you are serious about selling your house, do not put it on with Connells. They will tie you into a 6 month contract and charge you for photographs. They will suggest an open house day usually a Saturday but unless you contact them on the Friday they will not let you know that they have not arranged as single person to view. On giving them a key for viewings to take place on two occasions they forgot to lock the back door. I have bought and sold many properties in my life and as yet for incompetence Connells beat them all, my last call from them just as the contract was about to expire they ask if I still wanted people to view my house – really!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“excellent”

★★★★★

written by keithwattis on 01/06/2018

Connells weren't the first estate agent I visited about selling our house but they were the one that took notice & gave us the information we needed . From the time the person I dealt with visited to explain the process to us & start the sale , things ran smoothly from our side, constantly being updated & advised by the other person I dealt with. I can't thank the team at Cannock branch enough for making the whole process of selling so painless , 11 out of 10 , Would recommend them highly .

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Bugross on 17th November 2018 Report this content
We wanted to sell our property, we had 3 agents all valuations were almost identical connells convinced us they already had a list of buyers desperate for a 4 bed semi. They sent the contract via email We signed returned it by email we were never shown or told about their terms of business, they have had our property for 16 weeks and they have not fulfilled any of their promises.   At least half the viewings we have had to do ourselves and they are very economic with the truth, they put themselves forward for a six week challenge on the contract form that is they ticked the box and according to that I can give notice in line with terms which I obviously don’t have if they fail this challenge at 6 weeks, so please if anyone knows how we can do this please give me the answer? I have read some advice about this contract and have been told as they didn’t give us the terms as fact and only emailed the cover page without the content it would be in principal only which means the contract is not binding but I really want to be sure before I use this approach, reading all the reviews, they don’t have a lot of principals and it might be better to avoid. We really feel we have been duped and now realise that our signature gives sole rights for 26 weeks. I am seriously considering just giving up, take it off the market and wait for the next 14 weeks to pass. If I do this do I have to give some sort of notice? If anyone can offer some advice on any of these points I would be most grateful.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by khalid50 on 17th June 2015 Report this content
They promised us a £1000 pound discount if we let them put a sold board on our property, now renege on their promise, anybody else have had such experience?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by jkr1981 on 13th February 2014 Report this content
What sort of costs are Connells Estate Agents quoting to people? They want £2k plus VAT to sell a mid terrace worth £100K approx. Is this reasonable?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (4)
Report this content Selina231 Written on: 14/02/2014
Hi, Unfortunately, I cannot remember exactly how much I paid on my purchase but I did obtain a mortgage where an element of the estate agents fees were paid. Personally, on a sale of £100,000 I do think that £2,000 is expensive as this relates to 2% of the sale price so perhaps the member might be wise to shop around. I will say that I did find Connells to be very helpful once the property was purchased and they made sure our mortgage application went through smoothly. Sorry I can't be of more help.
Report this content Shiptoshore Written on: 15/02/2014
I bought through them as opposed to being a vendor. I would not use them again for either service I am afraid if I could avoid it
Report this content BigChap Written on: 17/02/2014
Personally, I wouldn't ever use or recommend Connells Estate Agents. They sold my last house. We went away for the weekend and left them a set of keys, came home after having 2 nights away to find they had left my rear doors unlocked and all of the lights on downstairs. Luckily we didn't have any opportune burglars and nothing was taken. I spoke to the Branch Manager of Rugby in Warwickshire and he really wasn't interested in my complaint. The arrogance of the man was incredible. I would recommend you use an independent Estate Agent as you will receive much better service and personal attention and don't leave your house keys with anyone!
Report this content 101seagulls Written on: 18/02/2014
No this is not reasonable. Usually EA would charge about 1.25 to 1.50% which would be £1500 to £1800 inc VAT. However I recommend you steer well clear of them. In my personal experience I found then to be totally incompetent and unprofessional. That was a polite statement as I could not possibly state my true feelings about this company. Check out myhouseadvert which I came across recently and I will probably consider for the future and save a lot of money.
See All Answers
overview