The Olive Branch, Thorpe-le-Soken Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.3
50.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
The Olive Branch, Thorpe-le-Soken - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Absolutely beautiful food with plenty of choice and...”

★★★★★

written by lulu white 76 on 14/03/2008

Absolutely beautiful food with plenty of choice and some flexibility should you require it, classy, modern interior, lovely for a nice girls night, business dinner or romantic evening. The desserts are heavenly and there is no rush to eat and leave. One of my top places around the entire tendering area and strongly recommended.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Our sad account of the Olive Branch in...”

☆☆☆☆☆

written by milleare on 16/01/2005

Our sad account of the Olive Branch in Thorpe-le-soken, Essex started a few weeks back when we booked our engagement meal.

The manager on shift at the time was very friendly and helpful towards us, that is, until we had paid our deposit. After this he became very unhelpful when we asked simple questions about trivial things such as the menu for the evening.

This should have been an indication as to what we were about to endure, but unfortunately we continued with the booking (we had already paid our deposit afterall).

The evening finally came and we gathered our families together for the first time to mark this special occasion. We were seated at two individual tables (party of 19), which we figured was just due to the lack of space within this very small restaurant.

When our starters finally came out of the kitchen, table 1 was served first and the guests duly tucked into their food. Sadly, it was 20 minutes after table 1 had FINISHED that table 2 finally received their starters, 5 minutes AFTER table 1 had been brought their main course!!

Table 1 finished their main course as table 2 had bearly started and thus set the mood for the evening. Guests on table 1 were even starting to leave before table 2 (including the bride and groom to be) had even finished their main course.

This, to us, is totally unreasonable behaviour from a brasserie which claims to have such a high reputation (one which the previous owners had built up with exceptional service).

It was at this point we felt the need to complain, only to be confronted by one of the joint-owners IN THE MIDDLE OF THE SEATING AREA!

To avoid a spectacle (including being called names by the owners!) we paid the bill, minus the service charge of course, and departed the premises.

A bad night was had by all, and this was to mark the engagement of two very special people :-(

Avoid at all costs!!

(this was the second time we have eaten there, and the second time we have been dissapointed!)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview