HSBC Child Trust Fund Reviews

Click here if this is your business
HSBC Child Trust Fund
★★☆☆☆
1.9
14.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Ease of Use

  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
HSBC Child Trust Fund - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for HSBC Child Trust Fund

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Negative returns over a 12 year investment period”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Wadeyq68 on 10/11/2022

Disgusted with HSBC CTF. We chose the "cautious" risk level, preferring stability over growth. Paid more than £30,000 into it over 10 years, the current level is £26K, so factoring in inflation we have lost about a third of our money over 12 years. Absolute mismanagement. I know that investments can go down as well as up but over the last 12 years all the other funds have shown returns or at least break even! Asleep at the wheel.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 5 0

“Negative Returns”

★☆☆☆☆

written by BWH43 on 30/08/2019

Having always banked with HSBC i was happy to hand over my daughters CTF voucher with them and open an account in her name. What a mistake. After making regular payments for the first few years i stopped having seen no increase in the funds overall value. The total has been falling away ever since, i would estimate that i have lost approx. £500 through this fund. Its as though nobody from HSBC is managing their CTF portfolio. A poor show from an otherwise trustworthy bank. I appreciate this is a long term investment (18 years) however you soon lose confidence when initial performance is so poor.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Poor service/poor performance”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 03/03/2013

No recognition/acceptance of poor performance.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“HSBC CTF very poor performance”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Miels on 11/11/2011

Extremely poor performance over last 3 years, has lost £600 in value compared to what I put in. I realise there is a global recession, however none of our other investments (ISAs, business shares, standard savings accounts, pension funds) can match this for percentage of investment lost (in fact everything else has grown or at the very least stayed the same). Our independent financial advisor was appalled, as are we.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bwh43's Response to Miels's Review

Written on: 30/08/2019

We have experienced the same issue. Have also lost in excess of £500 value over the course of the last 8 years. Almost as though HSBC have nobody managing this fund from their end. Poor show from an otherwise trustworthy bank.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“This is an investment over the long term. You cannot...”

★★★☆☆

written by on 18/04/2010

This is an investment over the long term. You cannot expect it to
guarantee a return. Perfomance has been much better
over the last 12 months - I am staying with it for now

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The overall service offered by HSBC Child Trust Fund...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 09/01/2009

The overall service offered by HSBC Child Trust Fund is OK. Worth significantly less money than initially put in. Would mind if it at least broke even - we're aware that funds can go down as well as up.
Switching out of HSBC

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“I would question if there are any benefits in saving...”

★★★★★

written by on 25/09/2008

I would question if there are any benefits in saving money for children this way. No return. It is better to put the money into company pension scheme.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview