West Midlands Safari Park Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.1 / 5
61% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
West Midlands Safari Park - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★☆☆☆

“When great food is being served by bad waiters...”

Written on: 29/05/2018 by 467Hicks (1 review written)

This attraction has everything for a great day out. Beautiful setting, animals ( if you are lucky enough to see them all), fun rides within the adventure theme park area...Of course you must pay for all these fun quite a bit. Being there for the sixth times, I still believed it is a good value for money-until today. For the first time I have experienced a huge fall in the quality of staff. I gave up on politeness after being in the park for about an hour, but by the end of the day I was absolutely furious. We have met rude, poorly prepared even arrogant staff too many times within about 5 hors. It is obvious: the training they have received did not exceed the minimum required level. When prices are going up everywhere, we, the costumers could expect at least some qualities. My conclusion at the end of the day was: Because of the nature of the attraction, we can ironicly state, that there are two group of staff in here: animals and humans. To me today the animals were the winners.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Thought it was poor value for what we paid .not enough...”

Written on: 29/05/2016

Thought it was poor value for what we paid .not enough animals .rides were expensive .wouldnt go again

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not enter drive through or buy feed for animal”

Written on: 08/08/2015 by dianepartington19700 (1 review written)

We just came back today on 8 Aug 2015. Its busy as you expected on a sat. We got a leaflet suggest go through the drive through after 3pm. So we decided to follow the advise and walk around the park first. Its all ok in the park but the sea lion show at 1.30pm were so full that we couldnt find a seat. the next show is 3.30pm. as far as i could tell the show lasted 15-20mins. We then proceed to do the drive through at 2pm. We sat in car for 1.5hr and we saw 2 rhinos, some deers, 1 white tiger and 1 female lion. Let me say it again we were in there for 1.5hr. We reckon we saw more gates than animals. After one hr, one car waved down a park ranger and see if they could get out. Very quickly a convoy of cars to get out using the short cut was formed.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“dont bother! ... ever!”

Written on: 09/06/2014 by Linaz40 (1 review written)

basically i am writing this as they haven't had the decency to contact me regarding the written complaint i put in at the end of the visit. i can only assume that the people who rate this place highly have never been to a safari park before. there are so many gates to get through which are totally unnecessary as the animals are kept in cages or behind electric fences (i'm presuming there were animals as the grass was so long we could only see the tips of their ears). when we finally got to the car park the toilets were awful and nothing showed us where the rest of the park was located. after asking someone we finally found our way in. my daughter is in a wheelchair and this park is most definitely NOT wheelchair friendly, she is an active user and good at pushing herself but the slope in and out of the main area is so steep it took her pushing herself and her dad pushing the back of the chair to finally get to the top. the paths are all broken or loose stones so really dangerous. the whole park is very tired looking and any staff we spoke to were short and unhelpful. the animals in the lemur forest where cowering in the corner and the goats were very depressed looking and didn't want to come near anyone or eat the food and i have never met a goat that doesn't want to eat. all in all a very upsetting experience and a total waste of money

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst rides ever!!!!!”

Written on: 15/05/2014 by nzMiller94 (1 review written)

The rides were so short and my mates down the west end would not like them as they like the big ones like at Thorpe park so if you want rides go down Thomas land.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Fantastic day out!”

Written on: 20/10/2013

My mum and I went for my birthday and had the best day. It was horrible weather but the staff were super friendly and helpful. Staff really went out of their way to make it a special day, thoroughly impressed! Also, must say the staff  in the entrance shops for being an absolute star!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Diabolical dozy staff ruined my daughters birthday!”

Written on: 16/04/2013 by SayNOtoWestMidsSafariPark (1 review written)

The park itself for a kids 8th birthday get together is ok but the staff completely ruined her day with their lack of knowledge and compassion. Got to the park, misled by stewards trying to sell programes THEN misled AGAIN to go through the safari where all we saw was loads of grass, trees and a few (very few) tranquilised animals. I HAD MY WINDOW DOWN IN THE LIONS PART LOOKING FOR THE LIONS! The only lion we saw was the one that was chisled in the rockface lol. Came out of safari early (cut out a chunk of it) to try and head for the sea lions as my daughter was supposed to feed them. Was told 'the safari will take 30-45 mins' in fact it took 2 HOURS and this misinformation resulted in her missing the sealions slot COMPLETELY and they tried to compensate by showcasing a ROACH, MINI HEDGEHOG and a ALBINO SNAKE?! She fed nothing and got 2 shoddy unprofessional quick snaps. On seeing what she was supposed to do in the sealion show, she was very upset. I was absolutely fuming, kids were cheesed off saying it was rubbish and they wanted to leave and to top it off the rain resulted in no rides with the wristbands we had paid for. Food for kids was bad so glad i told the adults to bring their own. Complained via their procedures which were ignored completely, still trying to get some money back to give to the 15 kids and 8 adults that attended. Complete waste of time and money, NEVER AGAIN! DO NOT GO TO WEST MIDLANDS SAFARI PARK!!! And i think they have killed off some of the animals as a lot were not to be seen at all. Never ever again, never.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★☆☆

“I was bored after 3 hours ”

Written on: 10/12/2012 by ClaireRhino (1 review written)

I attended the Santa Safari in December. I live two hours away from West Midlands Safari Park but I thought why not, it would be a nice day out! We did our drive-through tour around the animals which was lovely but it's such a shame that some of the animals were inside, like the giraffes and the wolves etc. We then went to spend the rest of our day at the discovery trail and the African Village! I thoroughly enjoyed everything there from the bats to the goats, but there isn't much there at all. I saw the sea lion show which lasted 15 mins, the lemur talk which was 10 minutes and fed the penguins which was about 10 minutes. None of the attractions were open and you couldn't go see the hippos. I wasn't interested in seeing Santa (as I have no children) but my friend did and spend approx 1.5 hours queueing just to see him! So after doing everything (except Santa) we were ready to go home by 2pm (3hours after we arrived)It's a shame really! It would be really nice if they could have more things to do and see to fill time. Nevertheless, it's a lovely place and I'd visit if I lived closer but not again now.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DATED, TATTY OVERPRICED”

Written on: 22/10/2012

As we live locally we in the past have visited the safari park many times. In the past we may have been a few times in one year and so as you can see we are regular visitors. However I have to be honest and say that the park is getting very old a tatty and really needs some money spent on it to bring it more up to date. Most of the rides were there 20 years ago when I was young! No locks on toilet doors and doors coming off paint peeling etc Overall just generally a bit tatty. Food is pretty terrible and overpriced; I would always recommend you take a pack lunch! The free return ticket is a Joke, in the past we have used ours after school on nice evenings perhaps for a drive round the safari or a quick go on the rides before they close however they have stopped you doing this as you cannot use it after 3pm. I would have thought that if you are open surely you want to get people in the door; I understand that you might not want people going in for free on special event nights but generally they do not start until 5.30! The main bonus of the park is that generally most times I have been it has been that quiet that the queue for the rides are not very long (probably due to it being expensive and generally tatty) generally the staff operating them are rude or miserable. I would imagine if it continues in this downward spiral it will be shut in a few years. Overall View Positives - Overall animal range good. Queue for rides short. Negatives - Expensive when buying entrance and wrist bands for what you get, generally very tatty, Food is bad, Staff rude, Free return ticket useless. No queue management around reserves can be stuck for hours Would recommend rides for ages 4 - 11 Would recommend Alton towers, Drayton manor, LongLeat, Lego land, pepper pig world Thorpe park, Black country museum before WMSP.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I took my son to West Mids Safari park for his...”

Written on: 27/03/2011 by lynda e (3 reviews written)

I took my son to West Mids Safari park for his birthday yesterday. What an utter disappointment!!
Firstly although it doesn't say on their website but if you have a convertable you cannot drive through the carnivorous animals areas, so basically we got to see a lot of deer!
Extortionally priced with entry price plus rides plus lots of fair ground games all around for £3 a go!
Catering facilities were abysmal, food was dreadful £2.99 for a bowl of cold chips!
Really do save your money do not go to this place go to Twin Lakes in Melton Mowbray instead, more for your money, better facilities, cheaper and the birds of prey display is brilliant.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to lynda e's Review

Written on: 25/06/2012

well next time drive through the lions in a convertible (note the spelling) and let them have a free munch on you

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Lynda E's reply to Guest's Comment

Written on: 06/05/2013

How terribly witty of you. I was merely pointing out that it isn'r not sufficiently noted on their website.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Selhursteagle's reply to Lynda E's Comment

Written on: 23/07/2013

It's common sense!!! What an absolute joke... Maybe if you brought a proper family car and not a selfish flash convertible your children might beneft from this. We thought the lions etc were amazing, got lots of brill photos and my daughter loved it!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Perhaps renaming the park to the " west midlands...”

Written on: 26/03/2011

Perhaps renaming the park to the " west midlands gateway to he'll park" would be a more suitable title. The animal park is absolutely hellish, during the drive round you encounter the best selection of utter tools that Kidderminster has to offer, people who block both lanes at the top of a hill So you sit there on a 45 degree incline while Barry and the rest of his shellsuit wearing family sit there in their clapped out ford grenada ghia, throwing sandwiches at the most depressed, mangy, flea bitten animals you have ever seen. When you finally get to move, you and 20 other cars have a game of hillstart roulette because the bell end behind you has parked half an inch from your rear bumper and the slightest roll back causes a multiple car sandwich. In addition, you get high from the cloud of exhaust fumes and smell of burning clutches as people with apparently no driving ability stop start and fail miserably to pull away. Frankly they should built an ATS clutch and gearbox centre half way round, they would make a killing. Then there's the total fist in his Toyota rav 4 who thinks he's ray mears and drives around the side of you So you can't see anything except his overfed kids gawping out of the window while his wobbling sweaty wife who looks like a pig wearing jewellery, pours a steady stream of chocolate into their mouths. To be honest, the 5 million quid you have to pay to get in is enough to make you want to shout at everyone else on the park just so your own kids see every blade of grass to make it worthwhile. I remember going there as a kid and it was £3:95, and the animals looked happy, it was exiting and the rides all worked. Moving on to the actual park itself; God almighty! Imagine sitting in your pants in a river on a January morning eating a lard sandwich, it's pretty much as exiting as that, rude, miserable staff, (except Beth who sells the balloons, she was lovely and made us laugh). There are two seals in a a tank about the size of a wheel barrow, a dark room that smells Like some kind of corpse which is apparently full of bats but they seem to have missed the fact that it's so dark you can't see the stinky little things, a seal show where the Chavily named "Callum" the seal waves his flipper while the trainer speaks So fast in such a mOnotone voice that you never really understand her and more stuffed penguin toys than you can shake a stick at. The wrist bands are about the closest thing to being mugged that you can get, £11! so your effectively paying £25 for entry and the privilege of going on one decent ride. Those rides for the record are the rustiest, shakiest death machines you could ever go on, coupled with the fact that nothing inside the main gate has seen a cleaning product for years, it ruins your day entirely. Also, if you aren't fond of loud, raucous gypsies, don't go, the place seemed to be full of fat skin heads wearing more cheap gold than mr T and vests with gravy down the front, With wives/sisters/cousins that have so much makeup and cheap jewellery on they look like a cross between a Thai lady boy and a collinder. Apparently that's just Kidderminster? To summarise, don't go, you will get home feeling like you have been sat in a 25 mile tailback on the M6 and spent the day walking round chav kingdom. If you really have to spend the day in the midlands worst towns, Go to Dudley zoo, the blackcountry museum or a nice natural trust place, don't waste your money on the safari park, it's total and utter rubbish, no matter how exiting the adverts look.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Angryman1's Comment

Written on: 27/03/2011

I found this review very helpful because...it is so tru!!
<br/>
<br/>very very funny account which frankly matched our own! never again.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Callumisntachavyname's Comment

Written on: 13/12/2013

Callum isn't a chavy name, d1ck head

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 04/07/2011

No. Shut up.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 3 Comments
★★★★★

“Thought the zoo was a bit limited and didn't go into...”

Written on: 13/03/2011 by RoyDad (2 reviews written)

Thought the zoo was a bit limited and didn't go into the rides area but the safari was absolutely superb and made the day a real success. Might be best to go around before and after the zoo area, we just went around at the end. Not too much traffic and you could stop without affecting others or overtake if you wanted to go faster. Definitely buy the food at the entrance as you can feed the deer type creatures. Lots of animals in decent sized plots. Our children feed the small deers, then three large deers the size of horses put their head in my daughters window who was trying to feed just one of them and gave her a fright but they were harmless. A cheetah starting running alongside the road and I kept pace with it at around 25mph - priceless.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“We visited West Midland Safari Park on the 19th of...”

Written on: 23/09/2010

We visited West Midland Safari Park on the 19th of September as an extended family (managed to get 4 generations in one trip!). Was quite worried in case gramps couldn't cope or the little ones would get bored, but we were pleasantly surprised by the range of activities that they had on offer.

The big animal drive through section had some amazing animals on view, all which looked more than happy living in their large paddocks. What a change to trying to see animals through the bars like the olden day zoos!
The whole family enjoyed how close the animals were - it is not everywhere where a giraffe looks in at you through the sunroof! The ability to choose a short cut was a great help too with the little ones already fed up of the car.

The walk through area had loads going on including a sea lion show that the kids loved, and talks and animal encounters galore. Our littlest, Charlie was really taken by a black chinchilla he got to see - (unfortunately for us though I think chinchilla is going to be the new in word on the x-mas list!)

We also stumbled across an animal phobia class, where visitors could meet an animal they were scared of. The teacher had a tarantula in her hand, and even my hubby who ended up holding it at the end. This was a lovely added touch, and surprisingly was free!

The amusement area had rides that were suitable for all the ages and nicely rounded the day off. I am just glad I decided to put on a coat before going on the white water rafting.

Overall, it was a lovely day and we look forward to going back soon. Staff were friendly and helpful, and the ability to borrow a wheelchair for gramps was much appreciated!

Hats off to West Midland Safari Park. It is not often nowadays that a whole family can enjoy a day out and be given a ticket to return again for free later in the year!

Looking forward to seeing what they have to offer when we go back before Christmas - hopefully Santa will be in town!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“I went with my wife, mother & daughter who is 3 years...”

Written on: 31/08/2010 by danceoftheshamen (1 review written)

I went with my wife, mother & daughter who is 3 years old to West Midlands Safari Park. We went on a bank holiday so expected it to be busy. Actually on this occasion there was no queue so it appears the attraction has lost some of it's popularity as compared to when i lived in the area several years ago although the animal tour half of the park was busy enough & we did have a pretty long 2 1/2 hour tour of the 4 mile animal section... due to delays caused by people blocking both lanes to either look at, take pics of or feed the animals. This was though the worst time of day to go round being 1pm & plenty of warnings are put up telling you how long the estimated journey time is & you do have the option to pull out BEFORE you enter if you need toilets etc..(This is not very well indicated however).
As for the animal section it was very good & our 3 year old really enjoyed it. Only annoying thing was the patrol vehicles which are there primarily to watch over & hurry along any vehicles blocking the traffic flow, were getting many people pretty irate. This was because in one section of the safari the Giraffe's are walking between the cars & of course everyone wants pics etc. This causes a snare up behind that section & it took us around an hour to get through during which you don't see a lot apart from the odd camel & deer. Obviously when you finally arrive at the Giraffe's you want to at least stop & have a look as it's the 1st real thing of interest you have seen for an hour but the wardens are just there preventing you from stopping. Bit annoying when you have paid nearly £50 to get in & you've seen nothing of note for so long!! The people in front of us had a right go at them & you can kind of understand the frustration.

All in all the animal section was very good although i would strongly recommend doing this later in the day AFTER you have been to the theme park!! This would avoid an awful lot of frustration & over heating cars of which there were several!!(Much quieter later on after about 3.30pm & you can still go through upto about 7pm)

THE THEME PARK SECTION!

Well this part was i am sad to say was ruined by staff with attitude & a very careless & down right unfriendly nature. Also poorly maintained & full of wasps. The sealion show was good though they need new microphones as you could hardly hear them! The rides were old though expensive. The staff though were poorly trained & didn't seem to care. In fact it was as though they would rather you were not there really? Our daughter (3 yr old) indicated she wanted to go on a small ride so i asked an attendant where to the nearest kiosk was to buy an arm band (As this was by far the cheapest way. Well he then directed me to the one end of the theme park which we went to only to find just a machine with great big OUT OF ORDER stickers all over it. So i had to leave my family "as my daughter was now getting rather upset" to go back to the other end of the park to the only kiosk where they sell wristbands. Well the girl who i spoke to said she could not issue me a wrist band without seeing my daughter as she needed to check her height? Well they have several posts around the park so you can measure the height & therefore see what colour band your child falls into & we had measured ours to be a yellow so i told the girl this but she basically refused to give me a band unless i went all the way back over to get my already distresssed daughter so she could measure her.(In other words she did not believe me?) This i found quite stupid. I did however go & get my family & then the girl got even more ridiculous by making us get her out of the pushchair to stand her up against one of the height columns & sure enough ..she was a yellow band..The girl then proceeded to try to force her to put the band on until eventually, now our daughter was crying her eyes out, she said it was ok for mum to wear it for her!!! Our daughter was by now screaming her head off & it upset her to the point where she would not go on any rides anyway!.. Well done WMSP.. great customer service that!!.. It was the girls attitude which stank though as not suprisingly i told her i thought it was a bit ridiculous so she then proceeded to just ignore me & shoved the change in my hand without even a thank you!! we then went straight to the old cinedome which has been closed down & had 2 bouncy castle type things put in it for the kids... well we were trying to get the attention of the assistant there & he basically just ignored us & it was left down to the punters to explain that it was a timed ride etc... Again grumpy couldn't give a damn staff which was becoming more commonplace as the day proceeded!!

Then we went on the penny falls & the change machine short changed us so i had to call for a guy to come over. He opened it & said "it sticks all the time".. We then went on a water spray game .. well at least i put the money in but nothing happened!! & the place was infested with wasps.. i mean for goodness sake get an exterminator in!! It was a really bad infestation & a lot of the stuff in that park didn't work or was badly maintained!

Sadly this is why i have had to give such a poor rating.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I went to west midlands with my two young cousines and...”

Written on: 22/08/2010 by kelsie500 (3 reviews written)

I went to west midlands with my two young cousines and nan and sister. We had a great time. In the theme park the rides where great fun the staff where helpful and it was good value for the money. I advice that if you go in the theme park to buy the ristbands so you get unlimited rides instead of buying tickets to go on the rides. The only bad bit of the park was the actual zoo part where you go round in your car it takes ages to go round and itts hard if you have young kids in the car etc etc.. but appart from that we had a very good time and it was open untul 9:00 as it was a summer night so we had a long time there I would definetly recomend this to friends and family hope this was helpful ...:)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“i would recommend the park to a friend if they are...”

Written on: 11/08/2010

i would recommend the park to a friend if they are rich, its ridiculous how you pay £44.00 to get in the park, then have to pay to get in the theme park. we didnt get our value for money as my parents wouldnt pay to get in the theme park so we went round the safari then walked to the theme park area and went on the train back to the car park. it would be good if the price you pay was for the safari and the theme park.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“WE WENT TODAY AUGUST THE 2ND,WHAT A GREAT PLACE,WE...”

Written on: 02/08/2010

WE WENT TODAY AUGUST THE 2ND,WHAT A GREAT PLACE,WE CHANGED £10 WORTH OF TESCO VOUCHERS,SO THATS ALL IT COST US TO GET IN,WE DID BUY FOOD FOR £3.WHICH WE REALLY ENJOYED FEEDING THE ANIMALS,MY DAUGHTER LOVED IT.WE ARRIVED AT TEN,IT WAS BUSY BUT NOT TO BAD.IT WAS JUST BRILLIANT,THE BEST DAY OUT WE HAVE HAD AS A FAMILY AND OUR FAUGHTER IS EIGHT THE NEXT DAY,WE THEN WENT TO THE PARK PART,WE BOUGHT A WRISTBAND FOR OUR DAUGHTER,WE WERE JUST HAPPY TO WATCH HER,SHE WENT ON LOADS,IT CAN BE PRICEY IFF YOU GOT 2 OR 3 KIDS BUT WE JUST GOT ONE,SHE GOT TO GO ON LOADS OF RIDES AND SOMETIMES SHE STAYED ON AND WENT ROUND AGAIN.THE ATTRACTIONS IN THE PARK WAS GOOD TO,THE SEA LION SHOW WAS GOOD AND THE BAT ENCLOSURE WAS SCARY.IFF YOU DIDNT WANT THE RIDES IT IS VERY REASONABLE,ESPECIALLY WITH A FREE RETURN VISIT,WHO GIVES YOU THAT THESE DAYS,THE ONLY DRAWBACK IS THE GIFT SHOP,THE PRICES WERE SO HIGH WHICH SPOILS THE END OF THE DAY A LITTLE,OTHERWISE 10 OUT OF 10

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I went here before when the children were younger and...”

Written on: 19/04/2010

I went here before when the children were younger and really enjoyed the safari park, I went on friday 16th april 2010 for the 2nd time and I will never go again, I took my family there for a day out it cost me £44.00 for two adults and two chilren to get in, which wasn't to bad, but after driving threw the safari which wasn't very good, we took are children inside to go to the theme park side, which they were really excited about, we then found out that we also had to pay for wrist bands so they could go on the rides which would cost for a family, another £43.00 I thought that it was a total rip off. I thought the £44.00 was for everything not just to see the animals which really there wasn't many. In the end I had to tell my children that I couldn't pay another £43.00 on top of the £44.00 I had already paid, my kids were gutted and I was angry that I had to let my children down. As far as I concerned this place is just a money maker scheme and its not good value for families.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Busymum2011's Comment

Written on: 13/09/2012

Totally agree. That was our overwhelming opinion too. My mother used the words 'rip off' for the first time in her life in that place. I have lived nearby and been many times during my life but will re-mortgage the house before we visit again. The young kids staffing the rides were also rude and unhelpful and wouldn't let kids on the rides if their curly hair was as much as a millimetre over/under the stated height line, causing much upset from younger siblings who wanted their brother/sister on with them. Ridiculous and not fun at all! Very angry and upset when we left. :(

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Had a VIP trip around the park. which was great fun....”

Written on: 20/02/2010

Had a VIP trip around the park. which was great fun. got to run with the white tiger and cheetahs, feed the giraffe, cheetahs and seal, pet a rhino and seal. It is well worth the money and a day il never forget.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“On arrival i got a sense that it was going to be mega...”

Written on: 28/10/2009

On arrival i got a sense that it was going to be mega busy. The safari section looked like the M25.....so we decided to do the park bit first. The rides are pretty old but good fun all the same and not bad value but i've only one child. Can't comment on the food places as took a packed lunch. The animal section is great, sea lions, bat cave, reptile house - probably the best bit of the park. So far i'd be on 4 stars as i was really surprised how good it was, i even thought the queues would have eased for the safari section. How wrong can a man be, there are not many times i have lost the will to live at a leisure attraction......i did today. I was very dismissive of a sign that said 'short cut' to avoid lions, wolfs, white lions etc why miss the highlights of the park. Now i know the reason for the sign.....oh my god, somebody shoot me.....2.5 hours to drive probably 1 mile, the problem was pure weight of traffic. An absolute joke, no escape either. The main issue is the traffic light gates that control the traffic, add to that a busy half term and you really want to kill yourself. All i was waiting for was my 8 year old to say he needed the bathroom.

The park is great, i have to say it, a real surprise. Feeding the animals from the car is great fun, you can't even say its badly priced. However, will i go again in the holidays/weekends......not on your nelly.....i'd sooner stick needles in my eyes - which means i'm not likely to visit. They need a different system as the current one clearly doesn't work. You can't even say lets get out of here i've had enough, you are as caged as the animals are.

A good effort of a park that is clearly poorly managed. Shame.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview