Colchester Zoo Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★★
4.9 / 5
92% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Colchester Zoo - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“A great day out ”

Written on: 02/07/2022 by FinnCorbett236 (1 review written)

My wife and I visited yesterday, purchased gold cards we've been visiting for years it gets better everytime we like the idea we can feed the animals and walk around at our pace (slowly)the keepers are friendly and helpful however it's very hilly plenty of spaces to sit ,take a packed lunch,allow a full day to visit there's plenty to c going back in few weeks for our anniversary. Apart from hills my whole experience of the day was brilliant.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“beautiful animals”

Written on: 11/03/2021 by Wild-X (7 reviews written)

Visited last year before all this pandemic started. Such a beautiful place with beautiful animals. Got to see so many animals in a one day. Had a lot of fun.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Extra Ordinary Animal Experience”

Written on: 05/05/2019 by manners123 (1 review written)

I took my wife and three guest for a Extra Ordinary animal experience on the 4th of May and it was absolutely amazing. Our guide was so so knowledgably about all the animals. The breakfast and lunch was held in a private room, to which was fantastic. We were up close with loads of different animals and fed so many. I can truly say this was an amazing day for all of us and would recommend this experience to anyone. If you a planning a special occasion and what to make your friends smile from ear to ear, then try this amazing day out. Brilliant Brilliant Brilliant

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I love Colchester Zoo!!!”

Written on: 17/02/2014 by Emmapple (3 reviews written)

Just wanted to take a moment to say how amazing this place is. Great day out for families and 'kids' of all ages. I felt lie a kid here last summer and had a fantastic day out with friends. I think the staff are doing an amazing job and the place really looks great, it's looked after very well. I had an amazing experience seeing animals up close and being able to feed them, some of them i hadn't seen yet before, it's great to be that close to an elephant or a zebra and have them get food from your hands. I was truly impressed with the place and look forward to some sunshine in the next few months to pay it a visit again. Well done to everyone looking after the animals here!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Always had a good day out”

Written on: 13/10/2013 by dodgydan (3 reviews written)

Got a gold card for christmas last year and this allows us to free unlimited entrance for the year. We must have been around 10 times so far this year with our 2 year old kids and have always had a great day out. There is a huge variety of animals and you wont have time to see it all in one day. Never had any bad points at all to mention.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Best Zoo Ever!”

Written on: 10/10/2013 by janesmith1975 (36 reviews written)

I normally try and make a trip to the zoo every year and it is normally always to Colchester Zoo. In my opinion this is the best. Last weekend I took my annual trip to the zoo and was amazed at how much work had been done to make the zoo bigger and better. The animal enclosures are getting constant upgrades to make sure they give the animals the perfect environment. I love the Sea Lion Tunnel which allows you to watch them glide so effortlessly underwater. The enclosures you can walk through - rainforest (with monkeys), the wallaby and the farm animals - where the animals are not behind glass is fantastic. Although one little girl didn't think so when a couple of goats came to say hello! The zoo just seems so spacious and always very clean considering the car park is rammed with cars. Definitely a popular place for all ages and their events calendar includes special freak nights for Halloween and even Santa comes to visit. I will be looking forward to my visit next year and hope this time the weather is better and my camera doesn't run out of batteries. If you haven't been you won't be disappointed!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The best Zoo I've ever been to!”

Written on: 25/07/2012 by SindyBlonde (7 reviews written)

I was down in Essex visiting my brother and his family last week and to give the kids (4 in total) something to do we visited Colchester Zoo on the Sunday. None of us had ever been before so we really didn't know what to expect - I must admit I had doubts. However the Zoo was "BRILLIANT" and I don't say that lightly. The car park is huge (grass which was a bit odd) but with bags of room for everyone to get out and put up buggies etc. The entrance hall is big and undercover (not necessary on the day we went) and as you go through to arre confront with a life size model of a Giraffe in a multitude of colours. Behind that is a huge play park with slides and a shot that are about 3 stories high. The kids probably spent about an hour in there before we even considered looking at any animals (there's even giant musical instruments for the tiny kids - so everyone was happy and entertained. After that we stopped for some food in a KFC style place next door. OK the food wasn't spectacular, but it was similar fair to that which you'd get in other theme parks and the prices seemed considerably less. I still shocked by the £7 I paid for a hotdog at EuroDisney last year so this was a very pleasant surprise. We then undertook a whirlwind tour of the Zoo, but I doubt we saw half of it. We did get to see the Lions (Meerkats opposite), Rhinos, Giraffe and Elephants (which we fed!). The kids loved all the animals, but there were also additional play parks dotted about for them to burn of excess energy and excitement. Then on the way out (after taking a road train to see the Limas up close - ie. In their cage!) we saw Tiger (briefly), Wolves, Hunting Dogs, Komodo Dragons and more. All the animals seemed content and well cared for - not like the Zoo's I remember from my childhood. The way out is inevitably through the gift shop, but I actually didn't resent it this time. Everything in the zoo is so reasonably priced you don't feel like you're a cog in a giant money making machine. All in all we had a great day at Colchester Zoo and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone and we'll definitely be going back! (my brother's family are actually looking at annual ticket now - which also sound a bargain).

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Colchester zoo is Absaloutly brilliant, i love it soo...”

Written on: 02/01/2011 by butterflygurl (7 reviews written)

Colchester zoo is Absaloutly brilliant, i love it soo much £16 for adults, children less but cant remember exactky how much, you can also pay in tescos vouchers, please se the tescos rewards website, every little helps :-)All the staff are nice, very helpfull, its an all day thing so allow plenty of time, there are several places to eat and you can also take a picnic, loads of benches and so forth...has themed days like halloween christmas etc.... You wont be dissapointed, easily accesable by car and public transport, from eaither of colchesters train staion, you get off the train straight onto the bus (number 65 to stanway)and it takes you straight there.. It also has a gift shop that CONVIENTLY located on the entrance so you have to walk through it to exit the zoo, the stuff is lovely theres one shop that basically for children the other is for adults... Muticutraled aunmants form africa.... etc

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“This is the first time I have visited COLCHESTER ZOO...”

Written on: 15/08/2010

This is the first time I have visited COLCHESTER ZOO with my family (2 girls aged 11 and 8)we had a WONDERFUL day!! Such a pretty place! clean and tidy! we saw everything and the animals were beautifully cared for and the enclosures were lovely - this place knows what its doing!! the staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble!
Thank you so much Colchester!! for a wonderful family day out!!
cant wait to visit again!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Colchester is the best zoo I have ever been to and I...”

Written on: 25/04/2010 by Daphne Tore (2 reviews written)

Colchester is the best zoo I have ever been to and I have been to quite a few! The animals all look healthy and happy, there are hardly any cages to ruin photos (unlike some places), its all nice big glass windows, even with the lions!!! If I was forced to say something bad about it, then I would say its too good! We spent a whole day there and it still felt like we had missed stuff, really looking forward to going there again this August to see if anything has changed. They have a really wide selection of animals big and small to entertain most visitors. It is a lot of walking, so it might not be too great for those who are less mobile, but for most people I would highly recommend it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Lovely day out at an excellent zoo. They are...”

Written on: 04/06/2009 by kmlevy123 (4 reviews written)

Lovely day out at an excellent zoo. They are obviously bringing Colchester Zoo bang upto date with very few of the old enclosures remaining and those being replaced steadily. They are now very much focusing on conservation and education in a beautifully set out zoo that has lots of areas to take shelter in. We have now bought the annual gold ticket as we were so impressed.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Colchester Zoo Is A Fantastic Zoo, With Great Deals....”

Written on: 23/08/2008 by adssites1 (18 reviews written)

Colchester Zoo Is A Fantastic Zoo, With Great Deals. The Animals Are Great!!! Must Go! Good Price, Good Animals, Good Food, Good Price Deals.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview