Yamaha Virago 1000 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Yamaha Virago 1000
★★★★★
4.7
91.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Build quality

  • Reliability

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Yamaha Virago 1000 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Yamaha Virago 1000

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Ttme travel bike, takes you back 25 years.”

★★★★☆

written by on 24/02/2016

My 87 is such a joy to ride. It's kept for the warm sunny days and now my weather forcast revolves are yes or no not wet or dry. I can just go and sit on it to feel good. I have never ridden a sports bike and probably never will. I remember collecting my brand new SR125 when I was knee high. There was. Xv750 on a plinth in the showroom and my buddies and I stood in awe, one day Rodney was appropriate. Well like the famous nautical watch the day has come.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Used Motorcycle? This is the one!”

★★★★★

written by ReubenRay on 06/08/2015

If you want a powerful but light bike, and enjoy cruiser's over sports bikes than this is the bike for you! I bought my Virago for $1000 dollars, and put another $900 into fixing it up (including the Achilles's heel of these motorcycles, the infuriating starter). Not worth it you say? Well my friends are all jealous of me and open about it. Let me tell you why. They have bought $8000 to $16000 dollar motorcycles, including everything from Harley's to the Victory Judge to the ridiculously fast Yamaha R1... and my bike can not only keep up with them but out perform some of them in many ways. They have replaced things, done tune ups, added additional performance packages, and still my bike can rule the road with the best of them. Here's a story to illustrate that price tag doesn't always buy you quality. Going for a ride one day with my friend on his brand new Harley Sportster (He paid $11,000), we decided to stop at a dive and get some food. Then rides up a bunch of guys on Harley's, about 8 of them. They sit in the booth next to us. We strike up a conversation as my friend proceeds to brag about his new prized possession (Can't say I blame him, they are gorgeous bikes and fun). Eventually one of them asks who the Virago belongs to. Thinking I am going to get ridiculed as a none Harley rider I reluctantly answer. He asks me the year. 1984 xv1000 I tell him. He tells me that was his first bike (Instant bromance moment). Then he asks me if I had the starter fixed so the engine engages better. I tell him it's the first thing I did. Then he proceeds to tell me to never sell it because it will be the most reliable and fun bike I will ever own. He said he regrets selling his. That story should tell you everything you need to know about these bikes. Find a good one, get her in running fashion. Baby it and then hold on to it because you my friend have found a find in the crazy world of used motorcycles. Best of luck to you and ride safe.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 7 0

“My Lady”

★★★★★

written by on 14/03/2012

I bought the bike for $250.00 at a police auction. Took it home and rebuilt it. It has a single carb setup. I love the Lady. I have probabaly ridden almost everything on two wheels in my life. The Virago beats everything hands down. I dropped it two inches in the real chopper style. It has Jardine Shotguns on it and has a ton of pleasure when ridden. There can never be said enough about the lady. I have it built as a bagger/cruiser which suits me well. It has been to Sturgis and I have gotten compliments from Harley riders. It is what it is and worht every minute.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Great Bike, no kidding”

★★★★★

written by on 15/04/2010

Great Bike, no kidding

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Phil's always gives top quality service. I've never...”

★★★★★

written by on 08/02/2010

Phil's always gives top quality service. I've never had a problem with the products I've bought and if I have any quiries they are always very helpful.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“all in all this Yamaha Virago 1000 bike is very...”

★★★★☆

written by chopperdad on 02/05/2009

all in all this Yamaha Virago 1000 bike is very comfortable,easy to handle, great for beginners,I,ve just bought las month a second hand virago 1000 1984=so this is a vantage

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I've owned mine since 1986 and still love to drive it. ”

★★★★★

written by on 23/09/2008

I've owned mine since 1986 and still love to drive it.
Great cruiser, well balanced so it handles very well at low speeds, very quick off the line. Overall this has been one of the most fun motorcycles I've ever ridden.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Personally I like the shaft drive effect, this is a...”

★★★★★

written by on 09/02/2008

Personally I like the shaft drive effect, this is a perfect size bike for my 5'10'' 170 pound frame. Bike can lean into turns quite well for its weight. Just like most other v-twins this bike doesn't like the cold!! I couldn't be happier.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“At highway speeds I wish the rpm were running a little...”

★★★★★

written by on 21/01/2008

At highway speeds I wish the rpm were running a little lower, but it's not a problem, just hums along. Passes easy, fast off the line, low seat. The Yamaha Virago 1000 is a nice bike for a cheap price.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“I've owned the Yamaha Virago 1000 for almost ten years...”

★★★★★

written by Calabrio on 04/08/2005

I've owned the Yamaha Virago 1000 for almost ten years now and it has never failed me. If you change the oil, this engine will definitely reach 100k miles without a rebuild.

It's also one of the fastest cruisers on the road, with the exception of a couple bikes like the Valkyre and the V-max.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Stephano's Response to 204922_Calabrio's Review

Written on: 29/07/2007

I couldn't agree with your more with your comment Calabrio. My brother bought the 750 Virago & after riding that I went out & bought the 1000 Virago. My 1340 Harley "Lowrider" finds itself spending more & more time parked in the garage. I love the Harley when I'm out cruising 2up with the g/f but when I'm out on the Virago alone with a couple other guys on their bikes we just go nuts & its like heaven!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The Yamaha Virago 1000 is ann allround good cruiser, a...”

★★★★★

written by cbrown on 07/01/2005

The Yamaha Virago 1000 is ann allround good cruiser, a pleasure to ride.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ejweb's Response to 181192_cbrown's Review

Written on: 20/07/2009

I found this review very helpful because...I agree that it is a beautifully made bike which handles very well and is extremely comfy.... contrary to what others have told me. I have had one for almost three years and am very pleased by the purchase. It has the necesary power for overtaking and looks good when polished and shiny. They may be old bikes but they still turn heads and bring people over for a chat.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview