Ford Fiesta XR2i Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.9 / 5
87% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Performance

  • Practicality

  • Reliability

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Ford Fiesta XR2i - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Ford Fiesta XR2i

Ford Fiesta XR2i
Ford Fiesta XR2i

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★☆☆☆

“I had one of these back in 1992 it was a white 1990 H...”

Written on: 03/03/2011

I had one of these back in 1992 it was a white 1990 H reg with 24k on the clock which i bought from Ford at Laidlaw in Brentwood for £5995. Thought it was great at the time & fairly nippy with the 1.6i CVH - we owned a 1.1 fiesta before, so anything seemed real rapid. Paid for a warranty, at the time £ 150, which i was not happy with - but glad i did. Needed a new battery straight away - bit peculiar after 2 years - paid for that . Next was the fuel pump falling off in the tank after about a year. Fortunately the recovery and fix was under warranty - would have cost hundreds. Then the EDIS (ignition) module failed at 36k meant it just turned over and over - covered under warranty. next we couldnt undo the petrol cap, then we had the tailgate replaced under the anti corrossion warranty. Next the LCD failed on the radio & the water temp sensor fell off!!, Also the heated sreen made the engine stall if the wipers and lights were on at the same time (at low speeds) - just to finish the car mysteriously started wandering over the road at speeds over say 70. had it checked an all within tolerance .Sold it on in 1994 with 49k on it for £3,950 - was glad to get shot...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“the Ford Fiesta XR2i 1.6 8v is very nippy and tunes up...”

Written on: 07/07/2009 by woolway3107 (1 review written)

the Ford Fiesta XR2i 1.6 8v is very nippy and tunes up really easy

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I like the car very smart indeed I had 1 exactly the...”

Written on: 11/07/2008

I like the car very smart indeed I had 1 exactly the same a silver one. Unfortunatly I've had to scrap it cause it needed loads of work doing to it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I love my Ford Fiesta Xr2i I never want anything else,...”

Written on: 29/05/2008 by turrantula (1 review written)

I love my Ford Fiesta Xr2i I never want anything else, she has done me proud I'd do anything to keep it on the road! I pay eought just for it to be on the road!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
☆☆☆☆☆

“think the Ford Fiesta XR2i is a very nice car at the...”

Written on: 30/04/2008

think the Ford Fiesta XR2i is a very nice car at the moment mines off the road it got smashed up gonna cost me at least 2000 to fix up.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I absolutely love my Ford Fiesta XR2i. It's hard not...”

Written on: 25/10/2007 by doojiwooji (1 review written)

I absolutely love my Ford Fiesta XR2i. It's hard not to as I have spent so much of my time (and some money) caring for it. One of my favourite things about the car is the availability of aftermarket performance products. Stick a Piper exhaust on it and you'll turn heads everywhere you go (despite the rust). One last thing, if your exhaust is coughing up blue smoke try changing the valve stem seals. It's a simple job and doing it yourself will give you plenty of time to bond with your car not to mention the savings.

This is a great car for someone who likes spending time fixing their own car. Yes things go wrong but the parts are so cheap and easy to find that within no time at all the car is back on the road and you're on tenterhooks waiting for the next surprise.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The Ford Fiesta XR2i is an amazing car! They are cheap...”

Written on: 23/06/2006 by Craigxr2i (1 review written)

The Ford Fiesta XR2i is an amazing car! They are cheap and cheerful, and very fast!! Yes the turbo is faster, but the insurance on the turbo is criminal!!

The rust on this car is the worst bit about it. The main part, as you will probably know is the petrol cap panel, and also the sills and the wings.

Overall, the car is a good buy, and you can pick up a mint one on eBay for peanuts!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“My Ford Fiesta XR2i is a litle tuned 1.6 EFI 8v, and...”

Written on: 01/06/2006 by krxzi (1 review written)

My Ford Fiesta XR2i is a litle tuned 1.6 EFI 8v, and now it has a lightened flywheel, modified gear box, sport seats, sport steering wheel. 9cm!! Lowered sports suspension, racing exhaust system, engine tuning, incuding chip tuning and lowering the head and porting the inlet and putlet. :)
And not to forget about the music.. 2kw sub woofers and all in all 1kw other speakers.
TO sum up.... it is a monster even without a turbo engine... :)) and fuel economy is fantastic if having such a rubber-burning first three gears.. :)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Turrantula's Response to krxzi's Review

Written on: 29/05/2008

I love my Ford Fiesta XR2i, she is my baby (i bet you think im mad), she is of the road at the mo as the bolt that holds the driveshaft and wish bone sheered off and the wheel nearly came off, i have had so many people tell me to just sell it but I cant.
<br/>No-one has managed to rain on her parade and im not gonna let it!
<br/>She is tunned up with a power boost valve, 4" ashley, the best air system you can get! you can really hear it! performance cam shaft and tappetts, the best sound system you can buy! Its not as tunned as krxzi's - your sounds wicked by the way but for FIRST car! I dont think im doing to badly!
<br/>So thanks for reading and enjoy your XR2i's!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Granted I have only had my Ford Fiesta XR2i a short...”

Written on: 22/05/2006 by gribble (1 review written)

Granted I have only had my Ford Fiesta XR2i a short while but I thinks a real GEM of a car!

A XR2i in good condition is rare now but I bought mine for £1850 and was in perfect condition (shop around). It was owned by a woman and kept up together, unlike most XR2i's I have seen. This one doesn't have a boot as such instead has one huge sound system worth £1,000 which was great.
Handling isn't as good as a modern car as it has no power steering, ABS or any of the fancy stuff!
But as my dad tells me and I agree it's what a car should be like no messing around just great fun.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I've owned two Ford Fiesta XR2i's and both times my...”

Written on: 14/12/2005 by rchoward (1 review written)

I've owned two Ford Fiesta XR2i's and both times my experience has been good cheap to buy cheap to fix only to be let down by rust.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Ive owned a Ford Focus 2.0 Zetec and a BMW 325i coupe...”

Written on: 05/11/2005 by jamiegoscote (1 review written)

Ive owned a Ford Focus 2.0 Zetec and a BMW 325i coupe and I have gotta say the Ford Fiesta XR2i 8V wins hands down! I picked up a mint 92 8V standard and I love it to bits. Ok so it's not the fastest car in the world but it's probably one of the most fun to drive. No ABS, traction control, air con, power steering, etc, etc to weigh it down so it drives like a go-kart. This is how a car should be. Nothing to get in the way of the driving experience. Forget all those £16,000 watered down hot hatches that do everything for you bar open the door. Get one of these for £1,000 and find out what a real car should feel like!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I have owned a grey Ford Fiesta XR2i and currently...”

Written on: 04/11/2005 by bill jenkins (1 review written)

I have owned a grey Ford Fiesta XR2i and currently have a black XR2i 1.6 cvh and I love them. The off the line is a bit slow to start off with but then it rockets up to sixty in a shade under 9 secs.On motorways even in fifth you can still feel the pull of the engine and it copes well in the city, country roads or motorways. It loves to be thrashed and if treated with respect brings endless fun. It can surprise many younger hto hatches with its acceleration, overtaking and handling capabilities.The main gripe I have is the bodies are prone to rust though the engines seem indestructible. The gearboxes are made of chocolate and bad gear changes (ie: crunching sounds) kill them quickly fuel consumption is fairly good until you put your foot down but due to the spirit of the car you wont ever want to lift it off. Parts are cheap if something does go wrong and the 1.6 engines are gems with masses of tuning potential. Always buy the best you can afford. My grey one was a heap body wise but the performance gave me a smile all day long. My current one was owned by an older woman who had it since new and only did 80000 miles on it, the body needed some repair work but I have never regretted buying it. The 16v is not easy to tune but has more luxury inside and doesn't rust as badly. But my heart belongs to the cvh.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I've had my Ford Fiesta XR2i for almost a year now and...”

Written on: 17/09/2005 by mathieu26 (1 review written)

I've had my Ford Fiesta XR2i for almost a year now and I think it's a great car. I live in Italy and I find it's a fairly rare car there. It is somewhat difficult to find after market mods for but with a little research and work it can become a very nice little show car. Mine has all the basic mods, B.M.C carbon dynamic airbox, splitfire sparkplugs, apex lowering springs, POWERFUL exhaust, spoiler, and ULTRA lexus tail lights. Other mods include an undercar L.E.D kit, 16" alloys, custom interior, and 2500 watt stereo system. I'm currently looking for a bodykit and a turbo conversion kit if such a thing exists for this car. Any suggestions would be appreciated!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I've had my red Ford Fiesta XR2i now for about half a...”

Written on: 14/09/2005 by mattxr2i (1 review written)

I've had my red Ford Fiesta XR2i now for about half a year, since then my mods have been:
Lowered on G max suspension 40 mm
Ford 3 spoke alloys( they look sick!! )
Full magnex exhaust system ( well loud )
Bad boy bonnet
Momo stearing wheel
Roll cage ( no back seats )
Pipercross induction kit

I strongly recomend all these products if your looking to do up your Fiesta but it does cost you, so look for the best prices and take your time.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The XR2i is a very quick car and is often a very good...”

Written on: 16/07/2005 by glyn3034 (1 review written)

The XR2i is a very quick car and is often a very good runner if looked after you may find your tires going bald quite alot but remeber that's your fault! the car can be adjusted a lot with body kits can be lowered andhave things put all over it and they can often look the dogs. My XR2i is lowered to max with 5 spoke Ford alloys and has all the must have Ford a XR2i like the airfilter,exhaust,spoiler and much more My overall of this car is it a very fun car just take care of it and it will take care of you!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I have recently bought a Ford Fiesta XR2i J reg car in...”

Written on: 22/06/2005 by Steve11710 (1 review written)

I have recently bought a Ford Fiesta XR2i J reg car in a lovely 'resprayed' brilliant white.

The interior was much better than my old f reg XR2 and the electric windows were more modern,

First impressions were it was an eye catching car in very good nick considering I payed £500 for it!

But as soon as I drove it away after paying for it I realized it was not as nippy off the mark or at top speed as my previous 'XR2', i'm not sure if its because of the weight difference or is it just not tuned in properly?

Any suggestions would be appreciated!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The Ford Fiesta XR2i is a very unreliable car with...”

Written on: 15/06/2005 by davsterravster1 (3 reviews written)

The Ford Fiesta XR2i is a very unreliable car with major mechanical problems. It burns more oil than any other car I have had. Parts are very cheap but are also very unreliable-- you get what you pay for. A cheap car in every respect. Handling is OK for a 1990's car but is simply not up to todays standards of safety or handling.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Ive had 2 Ford Fiesta XR2i's, 1 1800 zetec, and my...”

Written on: 03/04/2004 by xr2iecosse (1 review written)

Ive had 2 Ford Fiesta XR2i's, 1 1800 zetec, and my present 1600 cvh. in my opinon the cvh is far better.
Its a really fun car to drive my mods are full bilstein sprintline 35mm kit, full ashley exhaust, green air filter, omp strut brace, 15" mondeo zetec alloys. I love my 2i aye its got its bad points but as soon as I hit a back road I just totally forget about them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

164001_Rache108's Response to xr2iecosse's Review

Written on: 28/07/2004

I owned and loved a 1800 2i for 4 years but sold it last December. I have since decided to buy another and have found a lovely CVH 2i which I pick up this week. When I drove it I was surprised as I'd thought it would be loads slower than the zetec but it wasn't. The more I read the more it seems like I've picked the right car.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“The Ford Fiesta XR2i Is a quick low car(lowered...”

Written on: 17/02/2004 by petedean1977 (1 review written)

The Ford Fiesta XR2i Is a quick low car(lowered 60mm)janspeed system its sounds great totally standard apart from the that. Good fast little cars mine is real. very reliable and shiney

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Petedean1977's Response to petedean1977's Review

Written on: 30/04/2004

I think Petes car is great I want one just like it.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“I've had my 2i now for about a year it's been nothing...”

Written on: 11/02/2004 by MR XR2I (1 review written)

I've had my 2i now for about a year it's been nothing but fun, sliding round corners on my 15's trying to loose the back end. I have tsw venom's lowered 60 mm (not decked). Full stainless through with mongoose back box 3" end pipe(sounds phat) got a good sound system that sounds so wicked within the small space.the best thing about the fiesta mk3 you don't need to do much to it to make it look the dog's dangly's.next mission "kent/piper cam any idea's??????????????".

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview