Skipton Building Society Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Skipton Building Society
★★☆☆☆
1.8
23.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Telephone Banking

  • Internet Banking

  • Local Branch

  • Cash Point Facility

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Skipton Building Society - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Skipton Building Society

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Yesterday I contacted Skipton B.S. by telephone, to...”

★★★★★

written by GaryGGary on 24/04/2024

Yesterday I contacted Skipton B.S. by telephone, to make several enquiries about my own account and another account I have Power of Attorney for. I had many questions to ask, I must say the girl who took the call was extremely helpful and very patient. I have not have that level of excellent customer service and satisfaction for a long time. A totally satisfied customer. Thank you.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Tried to avoid fraudulent activity l. No help!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Mrfullmarx on 23/04/2024

Received a letter from them on 16/4 saying that someone may be impersonating me. The letter asked me to email documents so I was suspicious. I called their fraud line and gave the reference on the letter, my correct name and date of birth and, to the question "what's your account balance?" I honestly said that, as far as I was aware,I didn't have an account. On that information. I was asked to call back. I asked what I should say if I did so as I had told them all the relevant information? She didn't have an answer. Massive formal complaint coming up

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Cash payment for mortgage ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Descallum on 09/04/2024

Absolutely terrible experience at the St Albans branch, staff certainly need to be more competent at there job. After speaking to the mortgage department at head office and informing them that I had sold a work van for cash, I asked if I could pay my mortgage for that month in cash as I was working near to the branch in St albans, all was agreed and my monthly direct debit was put on hold for that month. I tried to pay my mortgage in cash but the worker was making all kind of excuses as she simply didn't want to take the cash, they were short staffed apparently and needed 2 people to count the money, she then found what i had agreed with the mortgage department on her system, she then goes absent for 30 minutes, coming back saying I need proof of where the cash come from (1 hour after entering the bank) made to feel like a criminal for trying to pay my mortgage, in the end I paid the cash into by bank around the corner, returned and paid by debit card. Absolutely terrible experience

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Cannot open a 18 month fixed Cash Isa”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Vernonpj on 21/11/2023

I first went to the Bolton branch but no appointments Opened on telephone and given an account by Skipton Told I would be sent a code by post on 17/11/23 Never received and it is deadline day tomorrow so my account will be closed; absolute shambles Phone calls from my bank at Nationwide to the new 18 month fixed cash is account at Skipton have been a waste of time because neither bank will take responsibility for the situation. Nationwide thinksI have transferred 15K today and blocked me…..the money was returned from Skipton BS. I have spent hours on phone to both BS’S .

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Awful customer service ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Serranoig128 on 21/07/2023

Tried to get an appointment at the Edinburgh branch but no one answers the phone. Spoke to someone on chat who kept asking the same questions I had already answered. When I said I wanted to complain she said she would do it for me and still did not answer my question or acknowledge that someone should be picking up the phone (I tried all week to get through) finally got through on Friday after 20 mins after 3:30pm and after giving the person my number the line went dead and she hasn't called back.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Waste Of Time”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Donaldson377 on 06/03/2023

Tried to open Triple Saver 6 account online on Jan 9th as website said I could. I could not. When I phoned I was told they would conduct background checks on myself and my wife. Then I had a letter informing me that they could find no record of my wife, despite the fact she is on the electoral roll. So I sent off three original documents as proof of identity and proof of address, that were acknowledged and returned on Feb 9th. On March 6th, having heard nothing I phoned again and was told they had no record of an account and the Triple Saver 6 account had been withdrawn, but if I hung on the phone they would try and fond out. After 22 minutes of silence I gave up and decided to invest my £5000 elsewhere. What a way to run a business!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Terrible to contact”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ScottCochran451 on 04/05/2022

This Society is terrible to contact. They don'#t answer their phones or web chat. They just want your money without any effort.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Disgraceful...Skipton won't let you withdraw your own...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by AudreyPeters on 12/10/2021

If you ever need to withdraw your entire funds from a savings account at Skipton to buy a house, you'll go through hell and high water to get YOUR money out, even from a flexible savings account. They will drag it out 4 weeks or so and many many calls of absolute misinformation. First they tell you it is being processed one week. Two weeks later someone will tell you they need a letter from your solicitor to authorise a withdrawal of YOUR funds. Unbelievable! Their customer service is appalling with one person telling you it is being processed and then another putting a stop on the transfer to YOUR bank account and this will likely go on for 4-6 weeks. If you happen to be managing funds for someone with a legitimate legally recognised and registered Power of Attorney (with the Office of Public Guardian), well they refuse to recognise it even though months prior, they acknowledged it. They can't tell you what law they use to refuse withdrawal of funds, because clearly they are acting illegally. They will tell you that THEY will decide if purchasing a house by the account holder in the account holder's name is the right thing for that account holder. Really! Since when did the consumer entrust their purchasing power and freedom to a building society? Since when did we hand over that freedom? I don't recall they had the right to manage funds over and above the Lasting Power of Attorney. Stay away from this horrible organisation who think the consumer account is their money. There are plenty of other reputable financial institutions to choose from who operate more ethically and morally. Customer service and my review would be negative 10 (-10) if I could give such a rating here.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 9 2

“Dreadful invest elsewhere”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Joel197 on 15/09/2021

Absolutely awful experience trying get my money out. Still ongoing I am very concerned that that want to see my bank statement (personal data) which will show my incomings and outgoings before transferring my money to me.I would be interested to know if this is breaking GDPR.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Dreadful, Disgraceful. Avoid”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Emilior469 on 18/06/2019

Please Avoid this company as they are useless and time wasters. One rep will decide one something ably for the next phone call to decide against that decision. Unskilled and poorly trained staff. Do Not contact this mortgage company as they are old and not competitive. Decisions in principle will be denied and argued against by their own staff and you will be left waiting way too long for any decisions to eventually be made in writing.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 5 1

“Worst in every way best avoided”

★☆☆☆☆

written by AgustinHackett378 on 16/06/2019

We were talked into "can we interest you into our will service" paid £180 I kept updated added my son for £24 instead NO WILL was done day after his death told to get a solicitor refer to ombudsman who reiterated a fabricated untrue story when FSO don't deal with unregulated firms Redstone Wills Manager confirmed no Will was ever completed Skiptons through their solicitors Clarions claimed 1000's for my loss also Vincents Sltrs claimed 1000's I never received fee paid for failure to do Will. The hard sell tactics are well known by locals who would be best to avoid ever going in there as not to be trusted when were fully aware had not done a will they knew I lost everything but still sent false claims to the ombudsman its the worst deceit I have ever endured such dumbfounding stories please beware don't trust Skiptons Building Society

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 1

“New Mortgage: Dissappointed at customer service times”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 22/11/2017

I was really pleased my mortgage offer which came through very quick within 5 days, the survey was carried out about 5 days later and all was going well. I'd had my offer through but realised it had also gone through to the wrong solicitor. Now, I admit this was my fault as I'd changed solicitors and forgot to update my FA, but 5 WEEKS later and weekly phone calls to follow it up and I still haven't got an offer! Initially I telephoned to advise the change and I was told they'd send a form to me. I received nothing, so a week later I phoned and requested the paperwork - a change of solicitor form - to be emailed to me. The email arrived which I duly completed and returned the same day (by email) with a request to expedite things. I'd assumed everything was now in hand but when I asked my solicitor if they'd had the mortgage offer I drew a blank. So I phoned Skipton and discovered it had taken them 5 days before they'd even LOOKED at the email, I was told it was now in the system but they generally take 5 working days to take action. The action required was to request a certificate from my new solicitor. Another week passed but the solicitor received nothing so I phoned Skipton again. They didn't know why it hadn't been received but agreed to email the request to the solicitor. My solicitor responded by email the same day. Another week later, still no offer, so I phoned to be told the 'emailed certificate hadn't been received'. I asked the solicitor to resend it the same day, I left it a few days before I followed up again, initially to be told it must have been lost in the ether. At this point I showed my disgust and fortunately with a bit more digging Skipton miraculously the email with attachment and I was told would be dealt with that afternoon or the following day at the latest. Guess what 3 days later and I still haven't got the offer. My biggest concern is this is New business, so how are they going to respond when I'm an existing client. To be fair I'm seriously wondering if I'm doing the right thing taking this mortgage with them at all. If I had I any idea it would have taken this long - 5 weeks!!!! when the mortgage had already been approved - I would have jumped ship and gone to another mortgage provider long ago. Lets hope the last person I spoke with can redeem the situation and I hope the mortgage will be issued and run smoothly from here in. Please don't let me down.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 6 0

“Waste of time”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Pennington1987 on 03/06/2017

I had a large lump sum to invest and having many years experience of investing in the stock market I knew what I wanted to do with this particular pot of money. I had decided to put it in cash ISA and Skipton BS had the best rate. I would have had no problem transferring this money as it was currently in a share ISA. I made an appointment with Skipton BS and told them my plans but they were not interested they wanted me to see someone else re a different way of investing my money. I subsequently attended another appointment with a so called expert - complete waste of time, I knew a lot more than her and she was so condescending as if she was talking to an idiot. Would not recommend this place they are total amateurs.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Not able to top up my isa”

★★★☆☆

written by Becks2001 on 31/01/2017

Although the ISA rate is good, I have only been allowed to deposit £2500 into my account this year, they have not let me deposit any more money, waste of time wish I'd gone elsewhere to enable me to save the full yearly allowance, disappointed

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Efficient ISA Service”

★★★★★

written by GeoffNT on 20/10/2016

I have used my local Skipton Building Society on two different occasions to open ISA accounts. Confidentiality and service were excellent on both occasions. I was not hurried and everything clearly explained. Transfers in from other Societies quick and easy. I was given the feeling of being a valued customer, same day appointment, not feeling hurried, private room, refreshments all helped. The adviser I met with did offer their free initial financial planning consultation - however, no pressure to take this up. Good to be made aware of such things.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

“Do not get a mortgage from them avoid at all costs”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 268Upton on 07/10/2016

Had the DIP agreed,and paid the deposit on our new home. The survey was done pretty quickly ,however they kept telling different stories when I called to find out how things were going and after two weeks of waiting they declined our full application.They made assumptions as part of their explanation why they decided to decline our application and didn't look at the bigger picture. Both my partner and I have excellent credit scores it seems this is not enough for them. Avoid at all costs.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 6 1

“The slowest building society ever”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 24/05/2016

We are trying to remortgage for a other house was going to transport it but thought i would borrow more and get my wife on the mortgage its taken over two months and only due to us phoning we would of not known that they needed even more stuff its not a good service good job the people in the house chain are understanding as they got there mortgages within a month. You cannot even go in and see them its over the phone not good will never use them again and its still not sorted out

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Excellent Service”

★★★★★

written by Rolando11 on 17/05/2016

I set up my savings account online really easily and once I had forwarded the relevant documents, it was all complete. Both times I have phoned the Building society they have called me back rather than leaving me waiting for ages for someone to answer which was great. The lady I spoke to was very helpful and her knowledge of what I needed saved me time and money.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

“MY ONLINE EXPERIENCE”

★★★★☆

written by on 14/04/2016

As a savings institution, Skipton have provided a good online service. I had no problems in setting up an account and they have responded promptly to enquiries. In these dire times of low interest returns, they are also providing a competitive rate of interest on savings bonds.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Slow, unhelpful, rigid dinosaurs facing extinction...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Leachyw326 on 09/03/2016

Skipton Building Society simply do not belong to the internet age. Slow to respond to requests and extremely rigid in their approach. I do not blame individual staff, who I am sure are working to a predefined script and set-in-stone company procedures, but this, I am afraid, is no longer sufficient in a digital era. It seems my experience is repeated among the vast majority of Skipton reviewers, without any indication that the Society is prepared to up their game, negatives being repeated continually over months and years. The Skipton approach to finance might have been successful in years gone by, but they will not last long if they are unable to adapt to a changing world.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview