Sony Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.6 / 5
46% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

Summary

Read and write reviews of Sony Television Sets. This includes Sony Plasma, LCD, Rear Projection, Widescreen, Combi and Tube televisions. We also provide reviews of individual models of Sony TVs and home cinema equipment in their respective categories.
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Sony - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Sony

Sony

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★★☆☆☆

“Very poor design and at the price!!”

Written on: 26/09/2022 by NickD65 (1 review written)

Just a 'heads up' if you are looking to buy a top of the range (and possibly lower) Sony OLED TV or possibly other tv types from their range, please be aware that the onboard media player is absolute garbage. We bought an A90J (£2500.00) last Christmas and it was all dire, eventually we got Sony to take some action and their third party repairers discovered that the 'motherboard' needed replacing this seems to have cleared most, if not all the problems we had (too many to list here) but the media player was just as poor as it was prior to the 'fix' so if you're looking to play videos from (e.g.) a nasdrive be prepared for a less than adequate performance. The player will show the listed files (but no 'thumbnails' and even play a video (in my case music video clips), if you then leave that clip and go back to the start the player will shuffle the clips like a poor poker player into all sorts of listings, anything but actual alphabetical and will keep doing this until eventually just crashing out all together. At Sony's request we provided two video clips of all this taking place for their tech guys to look at, the final result from Sony's customer services centre was that they did not know why it was acting like this and did not know how to fix it!!! An eight year old tv that we had upto getting the Sony (a different brand) played them fine and was able to sort them alphabetically and play as many as we liked, all evening if we wanted! In the 21st century I think this is unbelievable from a 'so called' tech giant to supply such awful grade software in the first place, but to then admit that they don't know what is causing the issue, and admit that they don't know how to fix it is unforgivable, regardless of how much you pay for a tv set!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★☆

“Zero maintenance. Amazing performance”

Written on: 16/06/2021 by SophiaDSilva (4 reviews written)

I am using this sony TV from so many years now and it's working completely fine with zero maintenance. Amazing performance and provides great user experience. High display quality and HD audio or sound effects. Perfect deal at such reasonable price range.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“As of this date I have never had problems with a Sony...”

Written on: 08/06/2021 by seriomatrine (2 reviews written)

As of this date I have never had problems with a Sony TV. I’ve used Sony products for many years and they are the absolute best in my opinion. Sony has been around for a long time and they stand behind their products.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Expensive and easily damaged”

Written on: 25/01/2021 by jaimedavidson28 (12 reviews written)

I bought a Sony Bravia 65 inches television and after 2 years it suddenly tripped off. Brought it to their service and I was told the entire screen area needs fixing and the total was almost the price of the TV when i bought it. 2 years for a very pricey TV and this is all i get!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Sony TVs have a good handling of motion and great...”

Written on: 30/11/2020 by FumioNorway (7 reviews written)

Sony TVs have a good handling of motion and great upscaling. However, Android OS isn't as smooth as LG's WebOS. Samsung comes the closest to Sony, especially in the higher range, while Sony TVs do better in terms of picture quality when compared to LG, even though the latter is at an advantage being more cost-effective.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“do not buy the KD-55XH9505BU”

Written on: 18/11/2020 by Gillespieno457 (1 review written)

The worst TV I have ever brought, grainy, blared not matter what your settings. Its like looking at a bad graphic from Photoshop. At least my half the price old Samsung is watchable.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“"Amazing"”

Written on: 10/09/2020 by Bradshaw498 (1 review written)

Compared to other brands, I think sony is pretty good because it has strong motion management, nice upscaling, design. It's pretty nice and good all in all but a little pricey.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Qauality Preoducts”

Written on: 21/07/2020 by Salisubalarebe (1 review written)

I have yet to purchase a Sonty products that has not been high quality

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Perfect design mixed with perfect power”

Written on: 31/08/2018 by Giorgius (0 reviews written)

I had many Sony laptops, starting from dual core up to latest generation i7 and I can say that they do know how to make laptops, touchscreen, backlit keyboard, sharpest LED display with perfect colors, long battery life and Aluminium case and low weight is just perfect plus it looks luxurious. I think I will stick with Sony not only with laptops, but all other stuff as well. You are just perfect guys. Keep on!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“TERRIBLE PRODUCT & APPALLING SUPPORT. AVOID LIKE THE...”

Written on: 01/04/2016 by NancyMcPherson69 (1 review written)

Absolutely terrible product and appalling customer support. Do not be tempted to buy a Sony product just because they are a global brand - that's what they rely upon but it means nothing. Believe me, if it goes wrong you are on your own with no means of redress. Just look at all the other negative reviews on Trust Pilot about Sony and take that as a warning. Hardly anyone has anything positive to say about them. I bought a new Sony TV from Amazon for £370.00 and it conked out 12 months later. They sent some jokers round - a subcontractor repair company who gave a repair estimate of £580.00? Hold on, £580.00 to repair when I could buy a new one for £370.00? Anyway, Sony refused to pay for either the repair or to provide a replacement. After much wrangling, hours spent on the phone and numerous emails, they eventually agreed to meet 40% of the cost of a replacement which they quoted as being £239.30 plus VAT and asked me to get in touch with another Sony department to arrange payment. Hardly satisfactory but it looked as though I was at least getting somewhere. I called the number they gave, engaged. I spent nearly all day calling... always engaged. Days later I eventually got through and quoted the case number. Surprise, surprise, they had no record of it. Back to square one. In short, I have now given up as I do not have the time to waste on trying to resolve this any longer. This company has no conscience whatsoever and treats it's customers with utter contempt. Do yourself a favour and avoid falling for the same kind of treatment. After this experience I will never consider buying another Sony product again. Shame on you Sony.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Good Quality ”

Written on: 09/01/2016 by Kristysd (2 reviews written)

picture quality was great and sound was perfect.we like to watch anything on it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Good sound and Great picture quality but price is low”

Written on: 06/01/2016 by Martin08 (2 reviews written)

Good sound and Great picture quality but price is low

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Customer Service, now that must be a joke.”

Written on: 13/05/2015 by uoBrowne326 (1 review written)

I bought a Sony branded sd card in Sept 2014 which has now died a death. This card had been in my water and dust proof Sony phone from day one. It has had music synced to it using Sonys 'Bridge for Mac' but not much else. It was purchased online, the vendor was very matter of fact when I emailed in about the fault, contact sony.co.uk via email was the sum of their response. I did, that's where the real fun began. Wrong department, ring this 0870 number (expensive for me to call and Sony get a kick back for my costly call too) was the initial reply. I did and got 'no sorry, you've come through to the wrong department, ring this number', blah blah blah. Person on the phone second attempt, 'You've come through to the wrong department', after me explaining I then got 'your original email was actually to the correct department according to the internal directory so email them again'. Email sent again with further explanation, response? Yes, you guessed it, 'no you've got the wrong department'. Personally I can't be bothered faffing around like this, the money isn't important really, not in the grand scheme of things, I'm more interested in the principal, you give a warranty (5 year in this instance), honour it! Seems more attractive a proposition to annoy customers by wasting their time and money getting them to sort out which department does what during phone calls. Is it cynical of me to wonder if this style of service is designed to get you chasing your own tail in the hope that you will get frustrated, bored or whatever else and give up? Worked this time if so. That's one customer Sony have lost for all future purchases.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“the only one I trust”

Written on: 05/05/2015 by Edo78 (3 reviews written)

If you should buy a TV, it MUST be Sony. I use them for a long time, and they never let me down. The display, the colors, the sound, everything is perfect. Currently I use Sony KDL-32W700B 32" BRAVIA Multi System Full HD, it is awesome, Recommend Sony to all!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Sony receiver false advertising video playback STR-DN850”

Written on: 21/01/2015 by jaderivan (3 reviews written)

I have bought one STR-DN850 because Sony website says: " easily connect a smartphone and enjoy video clips, music, and more on the big screen complete with big sound" It does not play any video!!! Just the audio from the devices. Sony support does not answer how to solve this. Do not waste your money! Sony international support does not exist! $ 500 to the garbage. They sell this product as HEADSET! And it does not work as headset in a computer! It is not possible to activate the microphone! Another false advertising! Stay away from Sony.. they just want your money!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Inability to receive BBC I Player on Sony Smart TV”

Written on: 18/06/2014 by ChrisMcI (6 reviews written)

I own a Sony KDL-40EX713 TV. It is directly linked to the Internet, which includes transmission of the BBC IPlayer. Over the last three months receipt of this particular application has been intermittent and earlier this month (June 2014) the link failed altogether. This has been reported to Sony who have acknowledged the issue. However, the most annoying fact is that they are unable to provide any indication of when the problem will be solved. I am most disatisfied to have purchased a high specification TV, which has not for the last two weeks and continues not to provide all the advertised features. I would advise anyone considering purchasing a Sony TV to bear this lack of backup problem solving ability in mind.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgusting customer service”

Written on: 22/05/2014 by Manil (1 review written)

My Sony Vaio Tap 11 developed several faults within a few months of purchase, which are not due to wear and tear or misuse. After more than 3.5 hours on the phone to Sony's premium rate number, 4 x resets to factory settings, 1 x failed repair attempt and a second stint in the repair centre (currently at 4 weeks and counting), I still have no working laptop. Sony are refusing to replace/refund the product which is still in warranty. The support staff have not listened to any of the problems described despite nearly 4 hours on the phone to them. They have not updated me with progress at all despite assurances of a "VIP" service. Their complaints department's final offer is no more than a £50 gift voucher as "good will" for selling me a faulty product for which I paid £1,105 that they have kept in their possession for over 4 weeks and which I have wasted nearly 4 hours DURING WORKING HOURS on the phone to them. In addition, I sent in the stylus pen for the first repair ( I watched the courier put in the box and seal it in). Sony say they never received it and management are refusing to provide a replacement. A new one costs £42 but even though it was lost by their chosen courier en route or in their repair centre, it's my problem to solve! A £50 gift voucher is not adequate redress for all these problems - the amount of time spent on the phone, the time without a laptop which may or may not be fixed and an accessory worth £42 that they or a designated agent of theirs has lost. This is a truly appalling way to treat a customer who has been patient for 2 months with literally less than nothing to show for it. AVOID SONY COMPUTERS - it will cost you dearly! The lesson I've learned is buy a Mac as this would not happen at Apple!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Its not whats in the box,but whats not [INSTRUCTIONS]”

Written on: 18/12/2013 by adrianlightfoot (9 reviews written)

Bought a Sony experia L smart phone, opened box No instructions. Goes to Sony web site there are downloadable instructions 128 pages I pay for these at a cost of £12.80. I asked Sony why I should have to pay for something that should be with the phone from day one i.e phone rang and I did not know how to answer it. There answers are There on the web site We do not refund your costs You could have asked us for a copy [mind reader] So beware hidden costs I'm 51 and remember when Sony was ACE a really caring and reliable company Now SO-SO reliability and customer services that are blaggers have every reason why its your fault and you should have known better. Well now I do and I will never buy another of your products. yours miffed

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Buy Sony, not after my latest purchase problem”

Written on: 29/04/2013 by poppey (23 reviews written)

If Japan wonders why its electronics industry is failing, perhaps it should read the following. I recently purchased a Sony TV. I made a point to the salesman at JLP that it would have to be affixed to my current wall bracket. I was informed that would not be a problem. I completed the purchase; went home to assemble the Sony TV onto the bracket. No screws! I telephoned JLP, who informed me that Sony do not supply screws with their TVs: They prefer people to purchase Sony's own wall bracket. No mention of this was made when I purchased the TV. And, looking at Sony's own website, the only products I could find listed were TV stands; no wall brackets. Since then, both JLP and myself have tried to find screws that fit the Sony TV. JLP gave up; Sony would not reply to them. I gave it a go and, guess what, Sony really do not wish anyone to contact them on any subject pertaining to their goods. After visiting their website I can state that if their website is any indication of their electronics expertise, they have real problems. After being given the runaround on their site, I filled in the registration form. They couldn't accept it. I tried Q&A. They couldn't find any question relating to my query either. I then visited their page to find out about the Sony wall brackets. No. Not a one in sight. I also visited their franchised dealer. And, No, they couldn't supply any screws as Sony didn't supply any screws to them. What a wonderful worldwide network Sony has created! Then I received not one, but two emails from Sony welcoming me and asking me to visit their website. I tried; boy did I try. According to Sony, they didn't recognise my email address, even though they had sent me two emails. I tried to re-register. Yes, you got, their website wasn't working. My message to Sony: I will have one more go at obtaining screws to fit the not inexpensive 22" TV to my wall bracket, after which if I cannot purchase any my Sony TV will be returned to JLP as not fit for purpose. As for Sony? Perhaps they think they are now too big to worry about such minor matters. What they seem to have forgotten is if people experience hassle after purchasing a product of theirs, they will not return to purchase another, and that comment applies to me.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Correymallen's Response to poppey's Review

Written on: 05/08/2013

When it comes to small time problems, they do not really care

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Wowzer's Response to poppey's Review

Written on: 03/10/2013

Probably a problem with the person fitting the TV...

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“SONY KDL32CX520”

Written on: 20/02/2013

1 bought a sony 32cx520 tv and after 15 months it stuck in software upgrade mode, their tv engineer who turned up was wearing samsung overalls, i have been informed that the cost to repair it is 210 pounds because the main board needs replacing, after contacting SONY customer services they said they could offer no help, they even said that the main board should not have failed but still offered no help, so if you are thinking of buying a SONY think carefully, there are much cheaper TV,s out there who will probably last twice as long

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview