IBM Thinkpad R50e Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4 / 5
88% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Screen Quality

  • Battery Life

  • Ease of Use

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
IBM Thinkpad R50e - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for IBM Thinkpad R50e

IBM Thinkpad R50e
IBM Thinkpad R50e

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★☆☆

“Slowest lap top I ever owned”

written by on 10/06/2011

Agree with other comments that this is a very robust machine that carries good basic features and is easy to use. But it takes absolutely ages to open and operating speed is dire. I have timed the initial opening and access to email and this can take 5 minutes plus from the time of initial boot up. Switching from one window to another or one program to another is also very very slow. I have had it serviced twice in 4 years and it is no better than when I first started to use it. Is it just me?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Bought 3 of these laptops in 2005, two were for my...”

written by on 30/05/2010

Bought 3 of these laptops in 2005, two were for my kids. They are still working well even now. Even the most heavily used one is still going.
On this machine I replaced the keyboard (which was still working) but looked very tatty after a key was broken and food and dirt had become ingrained in the keyboard due to misuse and abuse. Otherwise there have been no other repairs. All the machines still look like new.

A basic model but very worth the money I paid and the spares are easily available. This is important because many other brands are not so easy to repair later on.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“IBM Thinkpad R50e is an excellent laptop. All features...”

written by nausherwan on 28/06/2009

IBM Thinkpad R50e is an excellent laptop. All features at an affordable price. I very much appreciate the joystick used as a mouse right between the g button and the h button, it is present.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“My IBM Thinkpad R50 is tough as anything. It is...”

written by on 16/04/2008

My IBM Thinkpad R50 is tough as anything. It is reliable has excellent built-in wireless, very good speed for general programs and internet and offers average-decent speed for video editing/playing. Overall, not very flashy, but a good workhorse laptop; but not suited for gaming. It can be a bit heavy, graphics card is not the best and has no bluetooth.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I have owned the computer for over 3 years. Since I...”

written by kiwishooter on 15/09/2006

I have owned the computer for over 3 years. Since I use it for working every day, it has never been repaired, so the quality is good. It is also easy to use and good value for money.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“The IBM Thinkpad R50e laptop has all the essential...”

written by anm05 on 19/12/2005

The IBM Thinkpad R50e laptop has all the essential features that you need at an affordable price.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The IBM Thinkpad R50e is a good, sturdy, basic laptop...”

written by mangizmo on 11/12/2005

The IBM Thinkpad R50e is a good, sturdy, basic laptop with Parallel port and PC card slot. Many expensive laptops are now supplied without either of these.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“It's a Basic Laptop especially for business use. The...”

written by nmir on 03/10/2005

It's a Basic Laptop especially for business use. The advantage is that the optical Drive is combo so can burn CD's and Read DVD's.

It only has a scroll button (many people are not used to this option), which means a missing touch pad. Also, there are only 2 USB ports, and in this tech hungry environment, they could have easily made one more USB port available.

No recovery disk was supplied in case the HDD fails, so basically it's stuffed. It also has a basic warranty of 1 year.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Nmir's Response to nmir's Review

Written on: 06/10/2005

This Does not have Windows Key as well

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview