GT Avalanche Reviews

Click here if this is your business
GT Avalanche
★★★★☆
4.3
82.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
GT Avalanche - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for GT Avalanche

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“gt avalanche”

★★☆☆☆

written by ubBrooks351 on 27/04/2018

Bought one for my son. 900 Australian dollars. Today the derailleur hanger broke. No wonder! The fool who designed the hanger placed one of the securing screw holes right through the point of most mechanical stress. No wonder it broke. I then had to spend an hour on the net trying to find a replacement (ever seen how many different derailleur hangers there are - ridiculous) Other than this rubbish part the rest seems Ok quality, but the best bike in the world is of little use with a derailleur broken off and swinging in the breeze.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“This is a rip off”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 17/11/2011

This bike is a disaster; I have had a gt 3 2012 for 4 months now I had to have it serviced nearly every 4 weeks and even had a breakdown whilst cycling on the road the rear derailleur just folded into it self the best part of all this they would not replace there part nor would they return it so that I may attach a photo of their failed product. Changing gears is a nightmare it will work for a day or two after you had it serviced then its back to its normal jumping. Don’t even think about putting the bike on a proper dirt trail as I don’t think it will you will come back on it. The services are not cheap either. By the next services I would have spend more on maintenance cost then the cost of the cycle, I have been using the cycle for training for the 94.7 road race and the only off road cycling I have done was on northern farm defiantly not heavy off-road conditions. In short this is my first mountain bike and my first race and the lesson learned is buying cheap and you get despicable quality

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“i am riding the same gt avalanche for the last 14...”

★★★★★

written by on 10/11/2010

i am riding the same gt avalanche for the last 14 years and it is great, very light, never let me down, great control for downhill in the woods, but would prefer bigger wheels for the road.
great bike for this price!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Great looking bike for a start, and a great range of...”

★★★★☆

written by on 18/09/2010

Great looking bike for a start, and a great range of colours.

I brought a GT agressor 1 second hand off ebay, for around £300. The ride was a bit of a slog going uphill and on road. However, as soon as it pointed downhill, it really was a beautiful ride. I found it flowed really well, was very forgiving, and had a great ride position. Also, due to the incredibly small weight, it was very easy to hop, and use on jumps.

The only real problems i found was that the rear deralier snapped off twice, and the front cogs got chewed up very easily. I spent about £100 on repairing the thing in the firrst 6 months, but wether that is the fault of GT or mine, i dont know.

A great bike for someone starting out in off-road biking, but dont take it anywhere to extreme. hope this was helpful!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Been riding one of these for the past two months,...”

★★★★★

written by on 11/05/2010

Been riding one of these for the past two months, solidly built and very easy to control. Gear change is smooth and precise, mine came with hydraulic brakes and not the cable ones mentioned in product spec. Lock out front forks are great when it comes to uphill sections.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“It is an excellent bike for its price range - very...”

★★★★☆

written by on 09/05/2010

It is an excellent bike for its price range - very good performance indeed!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“excellent bike, execellent value of money”

★★★★★

written by on 27/02/2010

excellent bike, execellent value of money

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The GT Avalanche is a great great bike, I've had mine...”

★★★★★

written by on 25/06/2009

The GT Avalanche is a great great bike, I've had mine for about 2 years and not a single problem, a must buy. Cheap, good quality, durable, looks great, 10 out of 10.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Bought 2 today, one for my daughter, one for me. ...”

★★★★☆

written by on 19/02/2009

Bought 2 today, one for my daughter, one for me. Looking for 75% road 25% trail entry level bikes.

Great value, but far from perfect. I am having a tough time keeping front disc brake wheel rub from occuring on each of our bikes. It seems the builders just cocked the front wheel before locking it, to preclude the rub, but solid construction. Shifters worked well on first ride. Comfortable ride. Looks good. Purchased on close out for $360.00 each.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“This was my 1st bike with (disc brakes) and love it....”

★★★★★

written by Marmite4u on 20/01/2009

This was my 1st bike with (disc brakes) and love it. Smooth gear change,-crank no faults. Saddle positioning was at 1st a little awkward but that was the only problem after i did a full circle with the saddle stem. Great bike -great design- great buy.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The front suspension fork of the GT Avalanche mountain...”

★★★★★

written by Dom Dom on 20/11/2008

The front suspension fork of the GT Avalanche mountain bike is brilliant and the lock
The gears still work after a crash into a car
the frame is superbly made and really light. Its a good bike for a good price.
but don't get it u dont do biking that much because it can be difficult to ride

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Gr8 All around bike i use them more than a year with...”

★★★★★

written by on 07/10/2008

Gr8 All around bike i use them more than a year with 2,500 km and not even thinking to change to FS. The frame, brakes and LX components are all really good but the forkl and the crank arent so good.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“If your looking for a great bike at a great price,...”

★★★★★

written by gazza17 on 13/08/2008

If your looking for a great bike at a great price, this is the bike to buy. Also i found it hard to find a white bike at under £800.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The best bike for this price. The GT Avalanche is in...”

★★★★★

written by on 18/06/2008

The best bike for this price. The GT Avalanche is in my opinion one of the best mountain bikes ever made. It looks cool, for the price its great, it light enough but strong. I just love everything about this one. Im a big Gt fan but the Avalanche is a great all round bike, it cannot be faulted.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Overall best buy. Best bike for the price I found....”

★★★★★

written by on 16/05/2008

Overall best buy. Best bike for the price I found. Perfect mix if you go 75% road and 25% off. Shocks a bit suspect to damage when locked

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“This bike is great for long rides as you can sit back...”

★★★★★

written by james92 on 23/02/2008

This bike is great for long rides as you can sit back and cruise quiet easily as the suspension is great and can handle the occasional jump as i said before jump great bike i recommend.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Although heavier tham my daughters Giant Rock, GT...”

★★★★★

written by mistral55 on 11/09/2005

Although heavier tham my daughters Giant Rock, GT Avalanche is a far better propostion for a bike that will be used as much on road as on the rough stuff. having said that. I chose to scare myself silly by going down Rivington Pike in a fit of bravado, (15 years ago I chickened out of attempting this on my old Raleigh & watched my mates career down on assorted Orange, Kona, Cannondales etc). The GT coasted the run with absolute aplomb & instilled a sense of security, welcome to this TOG. Doesnt HALF impress the local hoodies to, so get a decent security lock.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ramtin's Response to 209803_mistral55's Review

Written on: 31/03/2006

I couldn't have put it better myself on all points. I've had an Avalanche 1.0 for over 2 years now, and apart from the odd niggle (e.g. your comment on paint) it's been a sturdy steed.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview