Love Film www.lovefilm.com Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.5 / 5
18% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Love Film www.lovefilm.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Love Film www.lovefilm.com

Love Film www.lovefilm.com

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Remarkably efficient service”

Written on: 07/10/2015 by Oozoid (1 review written)

I have been with Lovefilm almost from its inception, and the service has always been impressive. I routinely get two postings (four DVDs) a week. Out of thousands of DVDs rented by me over the years, perhaps a dozen have not played properly - but a replacement is sent as soon as it is reported and arrives within a day or two. In certain respects the merged Lovefilm/Amazon website is less friendly (no facility to search for previously rented titles, for instance) but in other respects it is better (pop-ups showing film information, for example). Sometimes I feel that the availability of unusual titles has deteriorated since Amazon took over, but there is no way to prove that and anyway the selection is still incomparably better than Netflix (who won't tell you what they have available until you've signed up). I was disappointed to discover that the 'holiday' feature is no longer available, but when I am getting DVDs delivered to my door for less than 40p each, how can I complain? Those who do complain about Lovefilm service probably really are suffering under an inefficient local postal service. But who can blame them when they have to deliver and return DVDs for so little?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“What a joke”

Written on: 14/08/2015 by LamontMiles (1 review written)

I got a new 3D projector, Somebody said they have 3D filmh amazon LOVEFiLM so I added several 3D Blurays (There was hardly much choice), It was 30 day trail. the first films they have sent me are just normal DVDs which are absolutely useless to me as wanted to test my projector. I've cancelled on first day. Amazon have gone downhill so much lately.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“What a joke”

Written on: 12/08/2015 by dbinq (31 reviews written)

I got a new 3D projector, Somebody said they have 3D filmh amazon LOVEFiLM so I added several 3D Blurays (There was hardly much choice), It was 30 day trail. the first films they have sent me are just normal DVDs which are absolutely useless to me as wanted to test my projector. I've cancelled on first day. Amazon have gone downhill so much lately.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Amazon Lovefilm - Shoddy Service & Broken Promises”

Written on: 03/02/2015 by mjgibson71 (1 review written)

Since Amazon has taken over the turn around of the discs has slowed down to an almost standstill. The discs keep turning up damaged/unplayable and frequently I get 2-3 in a row like this. They keep breaking promises and no one seems to communicate with each other regarding these promises. All the correspondence is with foreigners who do not understand English to an acceptable level, so queries do not get answered or dealt with properly. Their Rental List always has errors on it which they refuse to fix. I also used to stream but I stopped using this service because they kept blocking me from completing the seasons watched to try and force me to finish them by switching to Prime at £80 a time. Who in the right mind would pay that? Not only that they have now doubled the monthly disc rental cost with no change in the appalling service. We will be cancelling our account to go with Netflix which seems to be way better, although with less choice. BE WARNED - Avoid this dishonest company like the plague!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“amazon madness ”

Written on: 28/12/2014 by Dunlap55 (1 review written)

How can Amazon loose sight of DVD postal customers over multi layered platform of consumerism. I just want to rent DVD's and discuss issues easily and simply, i can not even get information on price structure for postal info with registering, re-registering with Amazon etc etc. Every help format takes me to sales on previous purchases. Just cancelled all Amazon links and will look for provider who focuses on 1 business model and not insult costumer by mixings all sales under 1 home page. Sure Amazon only interested in your sales profile and note core if what you have actually joined up for.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Very slow service”

Written on: 28/11/2014 by KaydenceFoley190 (1 review written)

Since Amazon took Lovefilm over, the service has gone rapidly downhill. They take days now to send out a disc that is due, so you end up getting a few a month....waste of money. I have complained about the slow service....they advise that the discs have not yet returned....so, hey, maybe Royal Mail has gone downhill too... RUBBISH SLOW SERVICE

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“so far so good”

Written on: 04/09/2014

I recently joined up & in my free month so far the films & service have been good. Discs are in good condition & when I return them within 2 days my next ones are posted out.. So far with box sets in getting discs in order.. I still in my trial period & getting 2 discs at a time, I'm hoping this increases.. I don't have internet/ WiFi access so for me this service is fab.. Hope I stay happy with it! Time will tell.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“a really efficient disc by post service”

Written on: 11/05/2014 by Faith227 (1 review written)

Love film before Amazon was good , and I have found it even better since the takeover. Amazon have taken more effort to identify films with subtitles , which to someone with hearing problems is of the utmost importance . As long as your list is large- I have 100 titles in mine, I have found the turn around in discs is same day, and high priority titles have a very high chance of being selected. I have nothing but praise for the staff involved in this, some care is obviously being taken- and before anyone asks, I have no connection with the company, or friends who work there. If anyone is thinking of signing up for the postal rental service I cannot rate it highly enough- and as they offer a months free trial, what have you got to lose ?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Lovefilm: terrible service since Amazon took over”

Written on: 04/05/2014

The Lovefilm postal service used to be great, until Amazon got its grubby mitts on it. I think that they must be deliberately trying to kill the service off to get everyone subscribing to Prime. I have had countless scratched and unplayable discs over the last few months, and despite informing Amazon and returning the discs with a note on the envelope explaining that the discs are damaged, they are kept in circulation. After receiving Avatar several times in an unplayable condition, I started writing down the serial numbers of the discs, and it turned out they were sending me the same two broken discs out again and again! Beyond a joke. And I have now asked them SEVEN TIMES over the last two months to send me some return envelopes. None have arrived, in spite of customer service's assurance that they are on the way. I am so sick of settling down for the evening to watch a film, and then watching as a dirty disc sticks, jumps and genereally messes up my DVD player. I have now cancelled my subscription. It's a real shame. I will not be subscribing to Prime, or buying any DVDs in future from Amazon - it's completely shabby, the way they have run the service into the ground.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“hopeless mess”

Written on: 07/04/2014 by EliseMcIntyre (1 review written)

lovefilm used to be a fairly good service. now they have changed all that to a website unbelievably difficult to understand, they are obviously trying to get people to stream rather than rent dvd's so time to say bye bye to them!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Amazon have killed LoveFilm”

Written on: 14/03/2014 by Baird133 (1 review written)

I have been with LoveFilm for around 2 years. Subscribed to the 3 discs at home as well as the streaming. It was a superb service. Then Amazon took over. Now I struggle with the Amazon menu system. Often discs are offered that are not part of the subscription. This means for those not computer aware and used to the easy honest old LoveFilm system, now they will often find added costs to their bill. I tried to stay with the old system as long as possible but last month, Amazon forced me to swap to their system (Instant Prime and LoveFilm by Post) and I made the mistake of linking to my Amazon account. The new menus are awful and make everything difficult to find, often pushing you into their only sales section instead of just saying not available (an obvious sales move). They are loosing a loyal customer if this continues. In fact, I am likely to never use Amazon ever again for anything. A real pity, as LoveFilm was superb. The provision of actual DVDs is still good (the odd faulty one). The Amazon menus however are devious and non-intuitive. For now, I suggest you avoid it. (03/2014)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“dreadful since amazon took it over”

Written on: 11/03/2014 by DwayneHolloway (1 review written)

Had no films through for 2 weeks. Customer service dreadful.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“bad, but got worse.....”

Written on: 10/03/2014 by StopFraudulentTrading (1 review written)

Have only given 1 star as its required for this review. Avoid lovefilm like the plague - they were poor before they joined amazon in that you rarely got what you wanted sent to you (this despite their impressive catalogue which was the only thing that kept me hanging on with them), but since joining with Amazon they've gone completely to pot- although my account with them is supposedly current, I haven't received any new discs for over a fortnight! Here's hoping they go bust like blockbuster! They can't keep ripping off people like us who want a reliable, dependable service for their hard-earned!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“This used to be great but is now awful”

Written on: 04/03/2014 by gallowglass (1 review written)

I have had lovefilm almost since it started with unlimited rentals with 2 disks at home at any one time. In that time we have seen hundreds of movies and apart from a few delays the service was great. Now that Amazon have taken over its all want to hell and now they want to charge for movies we've already subscribed to see. They appear to be deliberately killing off the postal titles to force you to use the streaming which has serious buffering issues. I will be cancelling my subscription asap and recommending to all and sundry to never go near lovefilm.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great service”

Written on: 03/03/2014 by MoriahHollis340 (1 review written)

I didn't know whether to join Netflix or Lovefilm - tried both and since Netflix don't do postal discs their selection is weak. Been with Lovefilm over a year, a typical week with no bank holiday's: I post back DVDs on Monday, new ones arrive Wednesday. I post back DVDs on Wednesday, new ones arrive Saturday. Only around 3 discs were unplayable after trying to clean them, no problem informed them and they sent out another asap. Never had any problems with the Instant side either, not a great selection, but they have it on disc.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DON'T SIGN UP!”

Written on: 08/02/2014

I would strongly recommend you don't sign up to Lovefilm! The condition of the DVD's is appalling; either grubby or damaged and unplayable. They don't bother contacting you to add more titles to your rental list, they just stop sending you anything. They also have issues of films not streaming properly on Talk Talk broadband. But worst of all, is when you try to cancel with them, they just carry on taking money from your account. I've now opted for a streaming only account with NETFLIX and it seems okay.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“lovefilm no thanks”

Written on: 05/02/2014 by redroulette (1 review written)

the instants package is far to limited what is on offer are at best cheap made for dvd films, the dvd the blue ray package had the films i wanted to watch but at 7.95 for one film a month is over priced one of the films i was interested could be purchased for a couple of pounds more and its mine, sorry lovefilm is poor i had to give it 1 star to write this review i also tried netflix and they was in the same league the 4th division, these two will be taking the blockbuster route if they dont wise up

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Very poor customer service”

Written on: 19/11/2013

Avoid avoid avoid - rang customer services to activate my account as i could not access it online was told i would have to ring back as i could not answer security questions and would have to get them online!!! Well thats why im ringing because i cant get online - well we cant do anyting until you go online!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“worth it”

Written on: 18/11/2013

There are many films you cannot find elsewhere and they have always sent the dvds straight away. I have only had 1 damaged dvd after 1 1/2 years. The the steaming works perfectly and never spends time buffering like many other online services. I really cannot understand the problems many users seem to have trying to use lovefilm.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't!”

Written on: 25/10/2013 by Waltharp (1 review written)

What a waste of money! Love the idea but a poor choice and even with fibre the feed is always dropping out. Quite simply, do not pay for this!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview