Scottish Power Electric Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Scottish Power Electric
★☆☆☆☆
1.2
5.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

Summary

Compare reviews of Scottish Power at Review Centre or search out the top Electricity providers available. Your experience can help yourself and others to make savings on utility bills. Write a review and let us know your views on this provider.
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Scottish Power Electric - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Scottish Power Electric

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Terrible customer service, my meter don’t work.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Sarahlnv on 09/02/2024

Worst company! Don’t use them! If you ever have an issue it is so difficult to get it fixed. No one you call is helping and keeps passing it around saying there is nothing they can do. My meters haven’t been communicating with their system since 15/12/23, it is now 9/2/24 and they have only just fix my electric meter, I have to wait another month for them to fix my gas meter. It’s beyond ridiculous, I never got any notification that my meter weren’t working, and I came home after Christmas to my electrics off and everything in my freezer defrosted and inedible.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“NO way to get a response”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Bobtheknob on 31/01/2023

I'm on a fixed deal until Dec 2023, fixed rate is supposed to be 15p per kWh but it's magically risen to 34p. My DD rose from £72 to £121. However can these highwaymen get away with this crime?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Dreadful company ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jackkey21 on 01/03/2022

Dreadful company. Didn't contact me to settle a balance then have issued a Default notice with no warning. After being on hold for half an hour to speak to a person they said there is nothing they can do to remove it, though it shouldn't have been registered, then put the phone down on me when I wanted to escalate the matter. Avoid them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Just don't ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ChrisGarner on 17/08/2021

Here is my experience with Scottish Power. Please do your research before even thinking of joining 1. They consistently overcharge me 2. The customer service team relies on ignoring me for as long as possible 3. They attempt to take money from my bank account without permission when iam no longer a customer until i made my Bank class them as dangerous 4. Refund - months 5. Using the Ombudsman they attempted to delay, every single time 6. They then ignored the rulings of the Ombudsman and stalled for time by making 'errors' 7. They attempted to stop me changing suppliers by saying I was in debt until I proved otherwise I had written evidence on EVERYTHING. I never thought they would call me back which they never did I got ready for a long fight In researching Scottish Power and their workforce I was shocked and disgusted I am still waiting for them to adhere to the Ombudsman’s ruling. I have been waiting for them to settle the complaint since the beginning of February its now nearing the last week of July UPDATE: After taking Scottish Power to Civil Court and winning, they continue to ignore the issue, I will continue to take legal action

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Can`t get my address right. Stopping me switching.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Drone1969 on 10/05/2021

I had the misfortune of moving into a new build with these clowns as the energy company. At first because my address was not on their database the person who setup my account entered an address that was not mine, not even in the same town. After supposedly getting this put right i could not access my online account. They had given me the wrong account number. When they got that right I still could not access my account because it said I was already registered. I tried to get a password reset link sent to my email address but nothing was sent. After several phone calls, which due to me having severe breathing difficulties were not easy to make, as well as several complaints I finally got access to my account. It had only taken 2 months for them to give me access. When I finally get access to my account I find out they still have my address wrong, they did have my postcode right this time though. So I`ve tried phoning them again and complaining yet again but still can not get my details corrected so that I can switch to a more competent company. THESE PEOPLE ARE INCOMPETENT AND ARE STOPPING ME SWITCHING TO A BETTER COMPANY. They are an absolute joke, but worst of all i did not choose them myself I was lumbered with them. AVOID THEM.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Totally decimated my credit rating and life.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by NIMSAT on 19/09/2019

Literally no idea where to start. I was switched to Scottish Power by OFGEM after the collapse of Extra Energy. I immediately switched to EDF with a DD amount of £89. So was with Scottish Power for 33 days during the switch, for which they sent me a bill for £224. Which is literally double the cost of our gas/electric any other given month that we have been in this property (4 years) and well over double our DD since with EDF and and we are currently £167 in credit with EDF. So I have written to Scottish Power by recorded delivery letter 6 times, the only ever response being another copy of a bill with wrong start and finishing meter readings, and impossible thing for them to have gauged, given they never approached the property for a reading after the collapse of Extra Energy and have never been on the property EVER. Now, after ignoring all my letters they have not only set a debt collector on me, they have also put the first ever Default marker on my Experian report, dropping my report 467 points, instantly taking my credit rating from "perfect", to "very poor". I am 47 year old very successful individual who can well afford the £224, but principles do not allow me to pay unjustified extortionate bills, seemingly plucked out of mid air. I have NEVER missed any payment for anything . Yet these people have literally decimated my credit rating over night. If I lived in Scotland, I would be at their head office door until this got sorted, although to be honest, I may take the trip anyway.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“overcharged”

★☆☆☆☆

written by neets1973 on 03/06/2019

I would never use Scottish power, the put me on a variable rate and have refused to help me with a huge bill that they have given me. NEVER AGAIN!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“WONT GIVE ME MY REFUND THE OWE”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Parkerse56 on 28/05/2019

HAD MY FINAL BILL, I WAS IN CREDIT, THEY GAVE ME A SMALL PARTIAL REFUND, THEN FOBBED ME OFF, THEIR FAMOUS WORD IS, WE WILL (INVESTIGATE) AND LET YOU KNOW THE OUTCOME, AVOID AT ALL COST

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“WHAT CUSTOMER SERVICE????”

★☆☆☆☆

written by TobyCarlson on 26/04/2019

Waited 50.04 minutes for Customer Service to answer! I was give a bill of £587 for 3 months energy use when I moved to my new house! I have been a low energy user for the past 40 years, and had no heating on during the winter months so was absolutely frozen. I went through the Hardship Fund Service who halved this bill which was a great help and I offered to pay £15.00 a month, 'sorry we can't accept this, the lowest amount must be £32 a month!' I have had to pay this now but I know I have not used this amount of energy but who can argue with a Smart Meter reading?????

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Incredibly bad service and lack of communication”

★☆☆☆☆

written by pyCarter130 on 06/03/2019

Does this company care about its customers at all? I want to give them a zero rating but one is the minimum here. I have been waiting for a new electricity meter for over 3 months since I moved into the house. I have had 2 jobs which were supposedly booked cancelled. This was after numerous web chats to get someone to understand the meter was broken in the first place, the call centre just doesn't seem to have the training to cope with things which are out of the ordinary. The system they provide is full of bugs, you can't update your preferences, you can't save web chats - you have to ask for the script in an email, the list of messages against my account shows errors and I have had an email logged in there which was for another customer. It sent me an email to say I hadn't responded to a request for information which I never received. I was told the engineers were working on that one to fix a known issue. My complaint was escalated 2 weeks ago after I copied in the CEO on an email. Since then I have had one empty promise of another job being booked then they have not responded to emails, their communication is appalling. I was told if I went to the Ombudsman this would delay resolving the complaint. I am having to spend over an hour a week trying to get this sorted out. I am now looking to get a solicitor. This company should not be operating. Do not use them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Utterly useless!!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 118Whalen on 01/03/2019

Arranged on 19 Jan 19 to have a repair done to meter and they said earliest was 8 Feb 19. That was bad enough as we had no heating but they canceled it and it was left to us to phone back and rebook. On rebooking, we were given the earliest 8 March 19 for a repair. I have just received a letter( 1 March 19) telling me they have canceled again and I have to phone them to rebook!!!!!!!!! I am writing this while waiting on the phone and so far it has been 33 minutes of waiting. Finally got an answer at 55 mins. Rebooked for 18 March 19. No heating for 41 days so far.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“This company are the most shambolic and diabolical...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by mariatierneygarneys on 29/01/2019

This company have caused nothing but problem after problem have been trying to resolve a outstanding balance that we did not even owe down to them not even registering the correct meter serial numbers and meter readings and being told diffrent things from diffrent collegues of there's they hadn't even set up the correct contract for are tariff or even taken the direct debit and even when they did they sent us wrong dates for the direct debit to come out they are now saying it's going to take another month to resolve this matter the company are a absolute bloddy joke they never tell u the truth and we worked this out from evidence prevoulsly given over the phone from diffrent departments what ever u do don't ever sighn up with these people trust me the worst decision i have ever made fuming is a understatement.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Not the worst, but could be better”

★★★☆☆

written by mommybearjulie13 on 09/01/2019

Very mixed review here. Ok so.... Bad: They owe me money! There is nearly £50 in an old account which I've asked to be put towards my bills or refunded to me. Asked multiple times and they haven't sent a cheque or moved it! My old account is still in credit. Good: Website is fun and easy to use. They're helpful to customers who are in debt. They run a hardship fund. I think there's still a warm home discount but I'm not sure. Changed my meters from token to credit meters for free and customer service isn't too bad (in my experience). Would I recccommend to a friend? Possibly, if they dropped the prices a little.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Poor and disgraceful ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Ads009 on 04/10/2018

Absolutely poor service and even worse when are contract was up and we left with a outstanding bill which they said they couldn’t take payment for yet we set a direct debit for 3 times on the phone which was every phone call was unprofessional and rude wouldn’t recommend this company to a single sole I’d rather pay the extra and actually have great service stay well clear

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Mostly useless ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 1945Harvey on 27/09/2018

Every time I call I get a different person and they all contradict each other. Pretty sure they make up amounts of arrears on accounts that are paid by direct debit . Most of the staff are very patronising.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Abysmal”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Tobermoray on 25/09/2018

I have tried without success to obtain a final bill for two months. The meter readings have been provided via the internet, over the phone and by email to no avail. SP's debt collection team continue to hound me for they're estimated amount irrespective. Every contact I have had with SP has proved a complete waste of my time.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Avoid boiler care”

★☆☆☆☆

written by eqPalmer329 on 05/09/2018

Avoid boiler care. They have reneged on our agreement. Getting British gas in to sort out our boiler instead. Use company called Rightio to inspect boiler. Not communicated correctly back to Scottish power. They condemned our four year old boiler. Scottish power cancelled our account and took nearly £20 from our account the same day. No hot water or heating at moment. Total nightmare. Avoid.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Avoid at all costs unless you want to lose your sanity”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 07/08/2018

I just read a few reviews about Scottish power and couldn't have put it better myself. Moved into a new build 9 months ago and had the misfortune to be put with Scottish Power. Firstly they managed to register our electricity meter to our neighbours. After months of trying to get them to believe that it was our meter they finally put it right. Turns out the meter was actually faulty anyway so they replaced it 2 months ago but are too incompetent to be able to register it. They are still trying to get meter readings from a meter they removed. Every time you email them someone different answers and asks the same questions that you've already answered. A formal letter of complaint managed to give us a dedicated complaints person but lo and behold she can't grasp anything either and two months later we are still going round in circles. All in all a totally incompetent company with appalling customer service. If you value your sanity, don't go near them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“CONNED INTO SMART METER”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 05/07/2018

I needed my Economy 7 meter changed to a normal one,It took a lot of trouble to sort out each time I said I do not want a SMART METER they said it wouldn't be,So in April the man came to change it ,I was assured by him a few times that he had fitted a normal meter HE even said he wouldnt have one either ,Great I thought as he only put a meter in no gadget to go with it So I stupidly trusted him,,,.Well today I tried to put my meter readings in, GUESS WHAT THEY HAD PUT A SMART METER IN.I am so angry ,WHO CAN WE TRUST.DO NOT GET TREATED LIKE ME,,You have been warned It is a disgraceful company

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Extremely awful ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Raffaello18 on 04/07/2018

Scottish Power is an awful company to deal with, they must have the worst trained customer service centre of any power company. In August 2017 I went to France and as I was not sure how long I’d be out of the UK, so contacted Scottish Power to advise them that I’d be out of my property for a considerable time. I did not want to continue my Direct Debit of £49.00 a month, for something I was not using as my account was continually in credit. I asked whether it could be reduced to £5/10 a month, but it seemed to be beyond the intelligence of the people employed by Scottish Power to grasp what asking them. Each I responded to an email, I had to explain my request again as none of the emails was answered by the same person. Eventually one person told me to give a meter reading the day before leaving, and was it was registered and the account was upto date cancel my Direct Debit until I returned. So that is exactly what I did, and my account was in credit when I left. The next month I received a default demand for £54.00, telling me as my Direct Debit had been cancelled I was now in default, and I’d got 28 days to pay or the credit reference agencies would contacted. Considering my ScottishPower account was in credit, I was naturally quite furious with that company. I informed them of their error and asked why hadn’t they checked my records and communications with them over the preceding 5 months. I decided to make an official complaint, that was in September 2017 and this complaint has not been resolved, apart from an email in January 2018 telling me it had been passed to the escalation department. Now almost 10 months later I am told I owe £512.25 for electricity, which is impossible as I’ve not used that amount due to not being in the property. They have given me 28 days to pay as they say I’m once again in default, and if not paid they will contact the credit reference agencies which will be on record for 6 years. I would like to know why according to USwitch, they are energy company of the year for 2018? Have they paid USwitch to receive that recommendation? According to Which they are one of the worst suppliers, with a dismal customer service department...which is something I can definitely relate to.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by 8a7bb1e on 4th April 2014 Report this content
Scottish power changed my prepay meter as I am disabled and I am suppose to be paying direct debit. They haven't even told what tariff I will be on, they said they don't know yet. Why? It has been 6 weeks, getting worried.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content tracey2010 Written on: 07/04/2014
There should be no reason why they can't tell you what tariff you are on. I honestly wouldn't trust them. Go on Uswitch and find a tariff that suits you. I'm with EDF and can't fault them. Will never use SP again.
Report this content oggie1 Written on: 10/04/2014
If they are supposed to be getting in touch with you via e-mail don't hold your breath. My advice is to ring them and don't take any excuses from them otherwise they will put you on a tariff and may not even tell you what that tariff is. Good grief if they don't know what tariff you should be on there's not but chance for the rest of us. Just keep badgering them that seems to be the only way. Good Luck
overview