British Gas Electricity Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
0.9 / 5
5% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

Summary

Compare reviews of British Gas at Review Centre or search out the top Electricity providers available. Your experience can help yourself and others to make savings on their utility bills. Write a review and let us know your views on this provider. Alternatively, utilities are up for an electric discussion in the Utility Company Forums, especially after British Gas announced they are putting gas prices up by 35% and electricity prices by 9%! So voice your opinions and tackle those burning issues, whatever your looking for, find the best or help others find the best right here.
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
British Gas Electricity - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for British Gas Electricity

British Gas Electricity
British Gas Electricity
British Gas Electricity
British Gas Electricity

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“British Gas Deny Receipt of my Credit From My Last...”

Written on: 11/08/2022 by exchefdiner7311 (11 reviews written)

I have been in dispute with British Gas virtually non stop since they took over my Gas and Electric when my previous supplier went bust last year. I have tried to use Resolver to get British Gas to rectify things, but they have stopped responding to my Resolver Case. Most of the problems have been over grossly exaggerated Direct Debits. I have lived in the same house for over 20 years with very consistent usage! Most recent problems are that British Gas have deleted and replaced the bills that were generated since they took over my accounts. Previous to doing this, my Gas account was considerably in credit and on course to reach zero by the end of the account year. - Overnight, when the bills were replaced, my Gas account went into significant debt and I cannot access the deleted bills. British Gas now deny receiving a Credit of £147.68 from my previous supplier, despite that I have an email from British Gas stating that they had this credit! This would have shown on the deleted bills, which of course I cannot access. The deletion of this credit would also explain why my Gas account went from being considerably in credit, to considerable debt overnight! I have sent British Gas a copy of their own email confirming receipt of my credit from my previous supplier, and they haven't had the common courtesy or manners to acknowledge my email. - I am tearing my hair out with them, and to say that I am angry is an understatement. I would give British Gas zero stars if it were an option!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“British Gas and Electric are a mess of a company!”

Written on: 18/08/2018 by charlj81 (1 review written)

British Gas are a mess of a company. I have spent hours on the phone to them this year, being told contradictory information, have been charged over and above what we have used, been told our DD would be dropped down to 50.99 pounds per month with no action required, only to then be told in July that we are over 400 pounds in debt and our DD payments will now need to be 140 pounds. The manager told me that the numbers don't relate to each individual home and are automated. So what is the point in being economical and sending in meter readings if this is not taken into account. The manager herself said that there must have been a "glitch." I phoned on the 27th July and am still waiting for a response, in the meantime I am now 140 pounds short. I have just been on the phone again about our gas appliance check and told 3 different pieces of information from different sales advisors. When asked if i could have our confirmation sent by email as evidence of what had been said, i was told it is not possible. I have also lots of issues with HIVE this year. AVOID this company!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Disaster from start to on goin issue”

Written on: 04/11/2015 by Reenski (1 review written)

They called regarding the new smart meters asked if I wanted to get them installed at my property. Pitched all the benefits NO MENTION OF PROBLEMS THEY HAVE WHICH THEY ARE AWARE OF. Fitted it fine and that's where the problems started. I went to top up electric at the paypoint came home no electric tried to call through 20 mins on hold hung up called again another 15 mins before getting through. Getting told to enter a code manually which then turned out didn't work. Was told will need to send an engineer out as it's not working.I went 3 hours with no electric that time. I then went to top up again a week later and the same thing happened no registered the credit. So this time I called and told them I want my old meters installed today not tomorrow or nxt week. They got someone out who installed my old meters again and guess what It's then happend again today where currently I am still without electric from 9am this morning. I have already lodged a complaint but this Will be going as far as possible. Unacceptable when I have a 66 year old in the property and a 10 year old.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Accounts and Service”

Written on: 01/01/2015 by KristianDixon1948 (1 review written)

I was moving house and contacted British Gas to advise them that the final payment of the account would need to wait one and a half months after our departure due to the cost of the moving. This was agreed using the telephone. I then cancelled the DD as I had moved 3 months previously where I still retained the DD link and British Gas took nearly £800 from my account because they believed that was how much I owed. I subsequently proved that this was erroneous and eventually I received the refund and a poor apology. You can understand my reason for cancelling the DD link. However, immediately the link was severed British Gas had debt collectors chasing me. This was annoying but as I knew I had made an agreement I was not too concerned. In view of British Gas's attitude I delayed payment to them for another 2 months. Prior to me paying I received no apologies and they were insistent upon continuing with the debt collectors. Hence my actions. I would never use British Gas again. Another problem was I gave them a telephone number just so that an engineer could pay a visit and they said that they would not retain the number this was only for this one purpose. Naturally they gave this number to the debt collectors. Illegal! Even the CEO was very unhelpful.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“You have to be careful ”

Written on: 26/08/2014 by saffy90 (5 reviews written)

They tried to increase our direct debit from 150 to 450 a month. I called them to find out why and they gave me the standard... we read your meter and it was higher then previous estimates. Ok you cant argue with that, or can you? As we take both gas and elec from them, I asked them for the readings 12 months ago and then I read the meters today. I calculated given the pence per kwh for all the readings and worked out that we should pay about 130 a month, not 450 a month. They keep trotting out this real vs estimate sentence. Anyhow I then compared todays readings with the ones they took 3 weeks ago. They do not put these on the bill anymore. It turned out their reader had made an error inputted the wrong reading, so the bill for elec was 700 not 2000 as they had calculated. So if I was an old person, I would have just said ok, you read the meter, you must be right, I will find another 300 pounds a month. Unluckily for them I am not that old, have a science degree and am no stranger to electricity or KWH. To be fair the poor guy on the phone did his best and was nothing but polite, as was I. So be careful if you get any stupid bills and just question them in detail until its sorted.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Saffy90's Response to saffy90's Review

Written on: 16/05/2017

even better they did it again this year, our standing order was 650 pounds a month up from 200. they took it out for two months before I realised, they then said they would review it in July, by they then would have taken out 2500 pounds from me in four months!Rang up again, and said oh yes it should be 200 a month, we will reset it . Oh and by the way you are 1000 pounds in credit.... This is crazy, we own a normal house not a factory, how can they get it so wrong so often. If I was 1000 pounds in debt, they would be sending the bailiffs around, but if they are in credit, they dont bother.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Horrendous 1 hour customer hotline waiting time & £5 owed”

Written on: 17/08/2014 by Karmangel (3 reviews written)

I purchased dual fuel from British Gas. Honestly, with the competitive prices offered by other energy companies and the more active role government is playing in monitoring fuel prices, the main thing I look for now is customer service. Problem 1: When my prepayment meter also British Gas in a new property was changed to monthly meter there was an extra £5 left in the prepaid card which British Gas failed to reimburse despite making repeated promises. In the end as each call took so long, my boyfriend said forget it. Imagine them owing £5/customer of 1million customers. Hmm easy profits eh? Problem 2: Calling British Gas on their 0800 number takes on average 45 to 60 minutes. And then you would have to talk to someone new repeat everything and chances are nothing resolved. **Tip for mobile phone users, use British Gas's overseas number so you are not charged a premium which they profit from, and put the call on speaker phone while kept on hold so you can actually get on with your life.** Since my boyfriend has relinquished overseeing the utilities to me, the first thing I did was give British Gas the sack. My new supplier answers my phonecall under 5 minutes, does not sound tired like the droids at British Gas and very clearly offers an 0800 number for landlines and 0330 number for mobile users on their website.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“How did they work that out?”

Written on: 08/05/2014

I lived in a STUDIO flat for 9 months, the last 3 months of my tenancy i had to pay for my bills. The 1st month Feb 2014, my bill was £90, and i thought that was high. Which made me re-think my energy usage: switching off all plugs, the hot water when not needed and not even putting on my electric heaters as i had in the past. My final bill is £561 for just 2 MONTHS, in a STUDIO property. How has my bill increased that much? That is £381 more than i had expected, which is MORE than 3 times the expected amount. I had even hoped for a lesser bill due to being more efficient with my usage. Time to look into some court action. DAYLIGHT ROBBERY!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Manchester59's Comment

Written on: 30/08/2014

You will have a fight with BG and their legal team, they go over the same thing time and time again, the CEO is the biggest waste of space in British Economics. Go to somewhere like OVO, my monthly cost has dropped from £111 with BG to £47 with OVO

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Crooks”

Written on: 28/02/2014 by Clarke306 (1 review written)

I switched electricity/ gas supplier some years ago. I received paper bill from British Gas which was £500-00+ in credit! the final bill from British Gas I received debited the £500+ leaving me with zero. Never did get it back.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“some thing dodgy behind this company”

Written on: 17/08/2013

this is the worst customer service and most expensive company ever. I use to be with british gas on energy supplier, at first the first 12 months bill look ok and normal but still very expensive, after that 12 months the british gas send me a letter and saying there have been under estimate me and telling me to extra £7,000, this was crazy I phone them up, the british gas people keep on passing me to another department and another department and constanly talk to difference person to person at the end I got to talk to the final person and he said to me, yes everything is accurate I own them £7,000. I was thinking why after 1 years send me a bill £7,000 just 2 words said under estimate and there have scam you, my English is not too good or well spoken so don't know what to do the weird thing they have stop sending me statement to track my usage, there just send me a total invoice every month how much I use and added on the top of the £7,000, I phone them up again asking them why don't I get statement, there keep saying we have send them out to me and is been 6 months not receive statement only keep sending a invoice that only said the sub total I own them now, cause I don't have the money to pay the one off £7,000 I only can paid little bit at a month and plus on top how much I use that month. I was so tied down with british gas for 2 years contract can't wait to leave this company but I still need to pay them off before there will let you switch to another energy supplier. one day I received a letter is another invoice saying I am £9,000 in credit, this is so weird I call them up same thing again keep on passing me to person to person to speak to me and I told them about this invoice and that person said to me o is a mistake is not right you are not in credit you still own british gas a out standing balance, so I said ok so I leave it and hang up and after couple month same thing happening again sending me a separate invoice saying i'm in credit of £9,000 but there still sending me invoice every months saying how much I own then. now I have pass this case to a advisory to help me out on this.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“switching away from British gas!!”

Written on: 15/05/2013 by Zwestoby (1 review written)

I decided to leave British gas as price went up before Christmas November 2012 time and again in march 2013 ... I've had hardest time ever switching and they said my final gas bill was £203 but they need to refund me £60 from my electric bill as we had duel fuel ... I had explained that bothe were on same account and why can't they send me a giro of £143 instead of refunding me 60 and still me paying £203 saves time and easier for me to pay off.. I spoke to 3 customer service guys who all said they owed me £60 and the last call I made to them I had the guy tell me over the phone they owe me £60 I got him to calculate it and tell me the difference as I was flustered ( my 3and4yr old are not best pleased if I'm on the phone and they keep u online for ages about 50mins a call) today I received the bill of £203 I've rang and told the lady I don't owe all that and she said the last call had been logged explaining I would have a final bill of that amount... What? The guy told me and calculated the difference I'm fuming!! I've tol her to contact the manager and the phone call I had needs to be listened to as he was not the only who told me they owed me £60 ...3 diffetent guys had , their communication and customer service is not good at all I feel stressed from this and fed up with it now am waiting a call bk from them although doubt they will refund me anything! I've only switched once before and had no problems! British gas make it hard for u to leave and will try to clamp u down and make u stay but be warned if u fee leave them they will try to squeeze money out of you!! Even at htostmas I was £150 in credit on both accounts yet struggled to get a refund in always gave readings and all way been in credit after Christmas and ask for it bk but leave £50 on each to keep me safe and use the money I was owed towards my boys birthdays which is end dec and beginning f January... At the end of the day if u pay to much u shoul get it no bit that was hard I had to convince them I'm a good custome and I need bk what uv paid over although kept some on each account!! Painfull company!!!!!! Wish me luck and I started my switch 2monts ago and it's still ongoing!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Incompetent customer services”

Written on: 03/04/2013

From Nov 12 to date (April 13) I have had to ring numerous times re my direct debit payments. Initially I just wanted a refund as I was overpaying on my gas bill ( I have duel fuel with them). Constantly had to keep ringing as never done and each person I spoke with said they have the notes but "for some reason" the job was not processed, but they will sort it "today". It was not sorted for 4 months by 6 different staff, so I cancelled my DD's and paid each month on line. I eventually reset up DD's at a lesser amount in March 2012, (£205pm for both)and today, on my bank statement, they have taken the old amount of £270 for both. I give up. Absolutely useless. Do not use. I did put in a complaint, which they advised I do, but have heard nothing. What a bunch of idiots.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Painful”

Written on: 04/12/2012 by famous50 (1 review written)

It's not a difficult task. Supply electric, collect payment, one would think it would be ABC. After 6 months they still can't spell my name properly. Lie about readings they have taken and the prices are ridiculous. Good bye BG, hello EDF. Just as useless I'm sure but a least it's cheaper!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Beware of BG ”

Written on: 03/09/2012 by Johnrow (1 review written)

After contacting BG because my monthly bills where excessive I was told that we where paying too much. I was offered £450 as a refund although Had to ring back on a week day to allow the computer to submit a refund. When I rang them back on the Monday, I was informed that it was a Mistake and that I actually owed them £148. Totally disappointed as they could only offer me £70 compensation If I stayed with them for 9 months! I am currently waiting for a reply after refusing the offer.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“British Gas will not refund account credit”

Written on: 04/05/2012 by Mctaf (3 reviews written)

I have been with British Gas for 3 years by Direct Debit. Last time I looked at my account I was £260 in credit. I asked for it back and have been given 4 different excuses as to why it's going to take longer than the stated 5 days, up to 25 days . In the end I had to switch to another supplier, I still haven't received my credit! Do not use British gas!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to Mctaf's Review

Written on: 14/05/2012

They make it so hard for customers to work out their bills, so that way they can charge them whatever they want. I have been trying to sort out my bill with them for the last two months and I'm getting nowhere with them.
I'm prepared to go to court and see if the judge can understand them better:-)

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Firebyrd's Response to Mctaf's Review

Written on: 15/06/2013

you should have stopped paying your direct debit and told them to take it from what they owe you. its your money so what could they do.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Incompetent and problematic”

Written on: 14/02/2012 by winchester1001 (6 reviews written)

Avoid British Gas at all costs! For a simple electricity contract I have had constant time consuming hassles from them. For example they have given highly over-estimated bills despite having taken readings which they then ignored, have failed to turn up for appointments for meter readings, and have been unapologetic and unconcerned where they have repeatedly failed to meet reasonable standards of service. I will never do business with British Gas or one of their associated companies again. Do yourself a favour and use an alternative.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“poor service astronomical price avoid at all cost”

Written on: 21/01/2012 by terilou87 (13 reviews written)

i was having problems paying a large sum of money each month and very idiotically asked to be switched to pre pay meter. big mistake they switched my payment method by their computers so i physically could not make a payment and took two months putting a meter in resulting in a large outstanding debt. they then told me this will be taken off the meter £6 pw till all paid off -20 quid good will as it was their mistake, problem solved i imagined. wrong again i called up to see when the debt was paid as gas was costing 15 pw in summer? advised the debt was not put on the meter. then advised was doing it now and advised amount including the 20 which i should of had taken off. very unhappy now. gas price again seemed to go up paying around 20pw tried to change and refused due to outstanding on meter. called again and was told "it has dropped off the meter" again applied another 6 months in middle of winter and paying 40 pw for gas changed over suppliers to receive a letter saying outstanding i then called and was told it had dropped off again. but it hadnt because i had been checking the charge i told the girl to put me onto a manager she replied oh no your right it is just 20 that had not been put on the meter. i am sure i had been charged twice for the debt but no way of proving it. **************************avoid this company****************************

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL”

Written on: 20/06/2011 by wigangee (1 review written)

I am a business user and BG suckered me in to a contract,saying i would pay 10.5p per unit and no standing charge. 12 months later,they increased my rate to 14.5p per unit and said that they had rolled me into another contract as i hadn't replied to their end of contract notification letter!WHAT LETTER!!!!!! They said i had to wait 2 years to get out of it.I have still got 7 months left on my contract,and received a bill this morning,showing my quarterly bill has gone from approx £250 to £380,they say i now have to pay a standing charge of 45p per day as i didnt reply to their letter once again!! If this review stops just one more person being ripped off by BG it will have been worth it.STAY AWAY!!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to wigangee's Review

Written on: 21/06/2011

being a business customer shouldnt you have checked the terms and conditions before signing?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Rubytula's reply to Guest's Comment

Written on: 14/02/2013

te terms and conditions we signed for were drastcally changed after our 1st year and i am sure tha tepresen sitation of he legal asect of t ryng to make it legal for companies to tie you into a contract when one has run out, we should all be given a choice when a contract has ended.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Rubytula's Response to wigangee's Review

Written on: 14/02/2013

i am also a bg ustomer of this company my monthly bit gone rom 450 a month to 650 a month we only run a small newsagents and these bills are cripliling we were never sent an end of contract notification but ae being given no choice but to have to with stand the hefty costs because we dont have a choice

WARNING DO NOT BECOME A BRITISH GAS BUSINESS CUSTOMER

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“my deal came to end at eon and british gas caught me...”

Written on: 06/04/2011

my deal came to end at eon and british gas caught me in january 2011 ,they did not send out contract or prices ,so in mid feb i e-mailed them to put transfer on hold ,british gas ignored this .So at the beginging of march i complained and was told tough transfer has taken place ,and it will take us 6 weeks to sort out. Avoid like the plague worst customer service ever

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 21/06/2011

the change of supply process cant be put "on hold" once registration has started. maybe you should be aware of what your existing contract says before agreeing a new one... not their fault but yours if you didnt remember the cooling off period which would have been explained to you

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“as a business user beware if you do not renew your...”

Written on: 15/03/2011

as a business user beware if you do not renew your contract they roll it over and charge you 50 percent above there normal rates and there atitude stinks and they tie u in for 12 months more they are as bad as the worst loan sharks if loan sharks did this they would be stopped i would like to approach a member of parliament about this it is abuse of power have u had this problem? www.dappaboutique.com please contact paul

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Never, never, never use BG. Look at their adverts, all...”

Written on: 14/03/2011 by jo35 (1 review written)

Never, never, never use BG. Look at their adverts, all smiley, cartoon simple, happy world... wait, and it won't be if you have a problem, you will have problems. The worst company I have ever had to deal with. Don't be taken in, an absolute pit of vipers

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview