Sundown Adventureland Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.3 / 5
86% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

Summary

Sundown Adventureland in Nottinghamshire is a theme park designed exclusively for the under 10's. Featuring the UK's first Angry Birds actvity park plus the Robin Hood ride, Rocky Mountain Railroad, Witches Kitchen and more.
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Sundown Adventureland - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Definitely be returning again and again.”

Written on: 26/07/2018 by Mirian66 (4 reviews written)

You can't beat sundown for a cracking family day out with the younger children, great value, including the refreshments which are often overpriced elsewhere , we will definitely be returning again and again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Nice place to spent to weekends.”

Written on: 26/06/2018 by Oliver36 (3 reviews written)

My wife and I have just spent a very nice family day out with our 2.5yr old grandaughter at Sundown Adventure land in Retford.this is definately a place to put on your visit list. Myself and partner also enjoyed this place.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Misleading Information Causing Problems”

Written on: 06/05/2018 by palvin (1 review written)

My 4 year old tried to go together with myself on an ostrich ride, which was okay according to rules board as it was saying that kids over 10 (she is exactly 10) can go alone, but dont have to. 

However after waiting around 30 minutes in the queue we have been told that she has to go alone and she did not want to as she is scared. So they did not let us go together and the woman at the gate wasn't even trying to understand what the board was saying. Dissapointed.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
★★★★☆

“Not bad, but could be better.”

Written on: 28/07/2014 by Kaylieh359 (1 review written)

Took my 5 year old and my 7 month old daughters to this place yesterday. Firstly, I would advise anyone who prebooks their tickets online on the same day they are going to visit to expect complications on the system when checking in. Surprisingly, with modern technology and internet it still doesn't update or doesn't seem to have a clue who you are, even with your reference number. despite this hicup, we were allowed in and the staff seemed pleasant enough (although the ladies in the cafe seemed shy/clueless) once in, i couldn't help but feel the place could do with a little clean up and refurbishing, but this isn't about my experience at all. this place is designed for kids and on that level alone, it is perfect. Its basically one extra large player area. There were so many different parks, jungle gyms, set pieces and play areas to wander about and my eldest daughter had a wonderful time exploring everywhere and playing. the rides were nothing special and (again) specifically designed for children - some of which my 7 month old was allowed on and obviously a few she was not, but even at her age, she seemed to enjoy the place. Overall, i would have given it 3 stars, but it has earned an extra star purely for the fact that my kids enjoyed it so much. To anyone from advertureland reading this, if you want my advice, i would say you need to make some of the set peices a little more interactive, rather than just being able to walk through and press a few buttons here and there.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Great Easter Day Out!”

Written on: 16/04/2014 by TuckerSimmons (1 review written)

I took my 4 year old and Grandma here on 9th April'14 and had a great day. No queues at entrance or for any rides, yet there were plenty of people there to give it an atmosphere. My son loved the Angry Birds play area, and the indoor play area too. We went on all the rides at least twice, and had a great laugh on the water ride when Grandma got soaked! We took our own picnic food, but the food in the Crash Landings play area looked really good value. The staff were happy to chat with us, and the place was very clean. We were lucky to have a sunny day without April showers, but I would recommend a visit if you have young children. If I had to suggest an area to improve it would be the monkeys, as some of the buttons didn't work, but that is all I can think of!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Truly a diamond in the rough in the UK.”

Written on: 18/03/2014 by CanUKFilms (1 review written)

Our family's trip to Sundown Adventureland (March 16th, 2014) A place you ABSOLUTELY NEED to take the family for the day. Truly a diamond in the rough in the UK. A seriously good place for your kids to let off some steam. Highly recommend. There is plenty of places to eat your own food, BUT they don't gouge you with the cost of food either. $16 for a family of 4 to eat lunch. We loved it so much we bought an annual pass.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Amazing! I remember going as a kid its always been a...”

Written on: 24/11/2013 by karraleanne (1 review written)

Amazing! I remember going as a kid its always been a magical place and still is! I now take my children who absolutely love it! HIGHLY RECOMMEND :D ★★★★★

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Its ok”

Written on: 03/08/2013 by Naomi2404 (1 review written)

Bad points I think the map makes it seem bigger then it is and I don't think the cafe have much choice for healthy options. Some of the manikins are peeling and could do with a dust. I think some of staff seem depressed and are very rude. The ice cream is full of ice. And it's very over priced. I think the gate entry is a bit expensive. Good points. Good day out makes my kids happy. Not sure if I would choose this place often

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“20 years of fun!!”

Written on: 26/05/2013 by Sherridan100 (1 review written)

I've been taking my children to sundown since the early nineties obviously they're grown up now but we've been today for my three year olds birthday and although not much has changed the place is still absolutely magical , my boy loved every minute of it and to be honest so did I , you can't beat sundown for a cracking family day out with the younger children, great value, including the refreshments which are often overpriced elsewhere , we will definitely be returning again and again ,lovely happy place to be..

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“WASTE OF TIME!”

Written on: 15/03/2013 by Macdoooo (1 review written)

I specifically went to this place as I thought it allowed babies on rides. I went for my 2 year olds birthday with family and friends....nothing interesting there. Absolute rubbish and overpriced for what it is. I'm originally from Edinburgh and we have things like this on offer for FREE. Staff were very rude and refused to get me the manager and also REFUSED TO REFUND despite us only being there 30 mins... HOW DARE THEY NOT REFUND WHEN WE DIDN'T EVEN GO ON ANYTHING!! Ended up trying to make the best of it, will never be going again and I will be warning all my friends and family and spreading the word on Facebook to avoid this place. Save your money and go to white post farm, I think its brilliant for all age groups and quite near there. Much more reasonable as well. Ideal for my sons 3rd birthday party next year...So disappointed in this place it's unreal.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Fantastic”

Written on: 24/08/2011

Absolutely brilliant! Tidy, clean and well kept. The rides are great and there are lots of interactive things to do, and everything works!! There's an exciting discovery around every corner. Great value for money, worth every penny. We stayed from 10am til 6pm but could have easily stayed longer. By far THE BEST in the area.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Review of Sundown Adventureland”

Written on: 13/06/2011 by monstermunch1982 (1 review written)

The kids had a good day despite the changeble weather, we took our son aged 4 and nephew ages 3. We had not been aware of Sundown Adventureland until passing on the A1 a few weeks before On arrival we paid the money which was of reasonable value for the number of rides etc... Boozy Barrel Ride - Great fun Robin Hood ride, Train ride and tractor ride was very much the same and just ok Christmas ride only opens at christmas The park map made out the park was much bigger than it actually was and I thought there would have been more rides for the money The staff operating the rides were very friendly and helpful. The park was very clean, no litter and nice toilets too. But never saw any staff litter picking etc... so not sure how they do it but they do. Food is not that great at all, over priced, unhealthy and what you got wasnt great. As time ticked towards closing time of 5pm, at 4.45pm we headed over to the shotgun city area to find a drink for everyone before the 2 hour drive home. Nowhere was open apart from the gift shop, which did not sell drinks, on asking the manager I was told that the only drinks where located outside in vending machines. One was out of order and the other only sold ribena, now I cant drink this and to be honest wouldnt have quenched my thirst. Plus I didnt want to fill the kids up with sugar either. All I wanted was a bottle of water, but the manager just laughed at me and said the park was closed, the toilets are open for tap water if we had a container (we didnt) All in all it was a very poor, unprofesional end to a otherwise enjoyable day

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“We had a lovely day despite the cold weather, we took...”

Written on: 12/12/2010

We had a lovely day despite the cold weather, we took our children aged 9 and 4. We had not been aware of Sundown Adventureland until the evening before we visited but it certainly has a "magical" Christmas feel to it - there is quite obviously a big Christmas fan behind the planning!! The details of the sliegh ride & the night before Christmas ride were amazing!! A quality gift from Santa too. The staff were very friendly and helpful, our little boy is in a wheelchair but nothing was too much trouble. The park is very clean, no litter and nice toilets too. Food is not that great, but Ok for a quick snack & a drink. A great place to visit with young children!! We would travel there again - almost 300 mile round trip!! We have previously visited other Christmas attractions and paid much more than Sundown Adventure land - excellent value for money.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Absolutely fantastic. The adults enjoyed it as much as...”

Written on: 14/11/2010 by julie johnson75 (1 review written)

Absolutely fantastic. The adults enjoyed it as much as the children. Lots to do and great fun. A well recommended day out and well worh the entrance fees.there was nothing we disliked. A fun packed day from start to finish

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“This is the best day of my life (this was what I heard...”

Written on: 14/11/2010

This is the best day of my life (this was what I heard from a child coming out of the new santa sleigh ride) and this is exactly what my 8 year old son said to me when he first visited Sundown in september. We promised him we would revisit the park in november and his thoughts have not changed one bit! He loved the new sleigh ride and the gorgeous christmas tree and lights which really do look fabulous. The sunny and hunny bear show was great and really kept the children entertained and the real snow was a brilliant touch!!! It really was a great day out and pre booking the tickets on line meant that we avoided the queues going in although you may have to wait for about 15 minutes to get into the new sleigh ride but it isnt long and is really worth the wait. 2 hrs and 15 minutes to get to Sundown for our family but we will be doing the journey again next year for sure, thanks again to staff of Sundown who are all very friendly and helpful including the staff on line.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“We have just returned from a day out at sundown...”

Written on: 14/09/2010

We have just returned from a day out at sundown adventureland where we took our 8yr old son for his birthday. What a wonderful place this is with so much to look at we hardly had time to see everything so visitors be warned it is a good idea to get there early. (5 hours just wasn't enough). The staff were very friendly and the park itself was very clean. The entrance fee was very reasonable for what was on offer, I would have paid twice the amount for the joy it gave to my young son and his pal, they haven't stopped talking about it ever since and nor have we!!! We plan to come and see the new attraction opening in november santas workshop,sleigh ride and grotto!! If the night before christmas sleigh ride is anything to go by then this will be fabulous our family can't wait!! Thank you to whoever created such a wonderful place.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT GO! DO NOT GO! DO NOT GO to Sundown Adventure...”

Written on: 05/09/2010 by Deborah 71 (1 review written)

DO NOT GO! DO NOT GO! DO NOT GO to Sundown Adventure Land EVER! This is without doubt the strangest dirtiest and out and out waste of time and money you will ever experience. I took my four year old today for his birthday and will never go again even though I live only 15 minutes away. After desperately trying to have a good time for 2 hours we decided to complain and got to see the owner. She not only refused to acknowledge any of our complaint or give us a refund but when I said I would right a bad review she merely said 'well at least we will get publicity'!!!!

The rides are rubbish the mannequins are peeling and dirty and the other attractions are outdated and grubby. You would be better off taking your family to a free park than wasting your petrol even driving to this place.

DO NOT GO!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Deborah 71's Response to Deborah 71's Review

Written on: 27/09/2010

Since writing this review Sundown Adventure Land have asked that it be removed. It is unfortunate that they weren't so zealous about customer service as they obviously are about removing bad reviews!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 2
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“we had a fantastic day at sundown, the rides are spot...”

Written on: 27/07/2010

we had a fantastic day at sundown, the rides are spot on for younger children, the park was very clean (even the toilets) well thought out and themed, the staff polite and friendly, we stayed all day and took a picnic, the kids met sunny and honey bear in the market place, and had pictures took with them, i will be booking a place on the new Christmas ride opening this year, great day, great memories, the kids love it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I am amazed that anyone rates this place. Firstly I...”

Written on: 26/07/2010

I am amazed that anyone rates this place. Firstly I expect these places to be expensive but they charge the same price for children as for adults (albeit under 2s go free); so for 2 adults a 2 and 3 yr old, it was £40 just to walk in the door. Set in the shadow of power station cooling towers on the left overs from some farmers field - stunning this place is not! The are a couple of ride, all very similar: tractor through a faux-farm, horse carriage through short medieval scene. After 30 minutes we gave up queuing, such crumby rides just aren't worth it even for a 3 yr old. There are good, if a bit tired, play areas and a good indoor climbing area - but this is all stuff you can find elsewhere for fifth of the price. Avoid this place - Belton Woods is just down the road and a lot more fun and better value!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jovigirl's Comment

Written on: 09/08/2010

I found this review very helpful because it confirmed what I thought from looking at the website. Looks like it could be a very expensive trip to a playground or indoor soft play, which is basically what this place appears to be.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Scott5's Comment

Written on: 13/08/2010

I read this review while planning a visit with my Granddaughters aged 2 and 4.
<br/>I think the person who wrote it must have only visited the car park.
<br/>We entered at 10:30 and left at 17:45 but only after a struggle getting the children to agree it was time to go.
<br/>The two children + Mum, Dad, Grandmother and myself all thoroughly enjoyed the day. We will definitely be taking our other grandchildren at the first opportunity.
<br/>We had visited Flamingo Land the previous week which cost a lot more and had long queues of sometime boisterous teenagers and many rides would not allow the small children on.
<br/>So if you have under 10 year old children go to Sundown it will not disappoint them.
<br/>A wonderful day out and well worth the money to see the children's faces.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Anzababes's Comment

Written on: 11/08/2010

Well I completely disagree. My children are now 10 and 7 and still beg to go here every year and I have to admit - I think I enjoy it more than them!!! I think for the price (&pound;9.95 each) you get a full day of things to do and we always find something we didn't discover in a previous visit. The new play area is great and the kids are entertained the whole day!!!! I honestly don't see what is not to like about the place - it is extremely good value for a fantastic day out - much cheaper than what we have paid for Alton Towers tickets and probably just as much fun.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 3 Comments
★★★★★

“Brilliant day out. Value for money. You don't need...”

Written on: 06/07/2010

Brilliant day out. Value for money. You don't need to buy food there but it's not too badly priced. A new indoor play area means it doesn't matter if it rains. We have a 2 and a 3 year old and visit a least twice a year. Helps if your little ones can walk.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview