Specialized Allez Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★★
4.6 / 5
95% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Specialized Allez - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Specialized Allez

Specialized Allez
Specialized Allez
Specialized Allez
Specialized Allez
Specialized Allez

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“totally fab bike ”

Written on: 05/10/2014 by 1973Boyd (1 review written)

being a very newbe road biker it was a bit daunting thinking about spending about a £1000 on a bike...but hey,what a bike,been out today and have thoroughly enjoyed the bike,looking forward to putting a lot of miles on it..it was a very comfortable ride no saddle issues. The gears were smooth and felt good,

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Specialized Allez sport 2013”

Written on: 05/06/2013 by xvxfrozenxvx (2 reviews written)

I have never been into road cycling until last year when I done the London to Brighton bike ride for the British heart foundation. I did my journey on a Specialised Sirrus and although this is a great Hybrid it just was not as fast as a full on racer. This year I'm deciding to do same journey on the Allez. So what can I say about the bike, well is around 10kg in weight and is a comfortable ride. It's Shimano Sora components are decent unless you have used 105 range. The wheels unfortunately are the downfall. UPGRADE?? The one good thing is that the frame is Excellent and if you wish to spend money then rest assured that this frame deserves it. The bike market is very competitive nowadays and the Allez may seam over priced but when you have a frame as good as this I disagree. As always you need to test ride the bike before making your decision but in my opinion this is a great bike.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Expensive but worth it”

Written on: 10/10/2012 by jamessloman (7 reviews written)

This bike is expensive, but i ride it four times a week to work, and over the long distance its really worth it. I was using much heavier bike before and this lighter faster one really makes a big difference!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Brilliant!!!”

Written on: 28/08/2011 by Greg Mann (3 reviews written)

I have not ridden a bike in several years but have always tried to maintain a level of fitness. When the bike arrived I had a big smile on my face because it just looks superb. I took it for a spin with my wife on her hybrid and found I was frustrated as the bike is begging to speed off but had to keep it slow to maintain wifey speed :( As a smoker (bad I know)I thought I would realy struggle to start with but after my first 8.8 mile ride, I felt great. My second ride, (on my own) I smiled the whole time. It just eats up the miles with ease and I completed a 16.8 mile ride in just over one hour. I got off the bike with slightly jelly legs but after a shower and a cuppa I wanted to go again :) Trust me when I say this bike is worth every penny. I have tried friends bikes out but this is deffo the bike for me. Don't wait......buy it now :) by the way mine is the Allez sport 18

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Bought this bike to provide a contrast to my heavy...”

Written on: 24/01/2011

Bought this bike to provide a contrast to my heavy tourer and initially I was a bit anxious about the combination of 23mm tyres and carbon fork, but after about 400 carefree miles I'm well and truly hooked. The bike is comfortable and fast and very stable. I even find the supplied saddle comfortable. I thought it would be twitchy and hard to control but quite the opposite. A bit more buzz thru the bars than my tourer, but that's to be expected. I can even throw on a saddlebag and contemplate some light touring.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Specialized Allez Sport Triple 2010 ”

Written on: 10/09/2010 by frazerjames1979 (1 review written)

Specialized Allez Sport Triple 2010

Bought from Hargroves Cycles in Farham Hampshire


GOOD POINTS

- Very well priced

- Excellent Groupset / gear set (full Sora with Tiagra rear mech works vey well)

- Ergonomic handle bars. (very comfortable)



BAD POINTS

- Very cheap plastic pedals with toe clips (need to upgrade to SPD-SL straight away)

- Saddle was uncomfortable for me. (Specialized have a Body Geometry saddle fitting tool to find the perfect saddle for you )

- Seat post difficult to adjust. (the saddle has plenty of adjustment but once its fitted its perfect, just a lot of messing around to get it spot on)

- Slick Tyres (Great in the summer and dry days, but in my opinion, idealy for safety reasons the bike should leave the shop with all weather tyres)


GENERAL COMMENTS

The bike is fantastic for the money and is very smooth and responsive. The Ergonomic handle bars are fantastic and so comfortable, just be carefull when setting off because you can catch your knees on the wide drops.

The pedals are shockingly bad quality, but i suppose all stock pedals are, the first thing to buy is a good set of SPD-SL pedals and some good stiff shoes

Paintwork is Excellent. the specialized logo is painted on and not cheap decals that will peel off over time.

Overall i dont think there is a better bike for the money.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I bought brand new 2010 Allez Sport Double April 2010....”

Written on: 15/08/2010

I bought brand new 2010 Allez Sport Double April 2010. Today is August 2010. So far I ride about 300 km on it and it is awesome bike. It is so comfortable that I always regret when my ride is finished. I am a beginner for road bikes albeit have been biking all my life. This bike is just fantastic to ride, fast, great looking and extremely comfortable. The weight of my bike (56 frame) is 9-9.5 kg according to my home scale.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I have just bought the Specialized Allez Sport Double...”

Written on: 05/08/2010

I have just bought the Specialized Allez Sport Double 2010 Road Bike. I had been commuting 20 miles a day on my Specialized Rockhopper mountain bike for a year. I thought it was time to get a racing bike and all I can say is 'WOW'!!! I love this bike. It is fast, responsive and really stable on the bumpy London roads. The only part I need to change is the seat! I recommend this bike ten times over to anyone wanting to try a racer. Also I bought it from Evans Cycles who were really helpful.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“just got this beauty, after looking at many other...”

Written on: 24/05/2010 by voodoo2421 (1 review written)

just got this beauty, after looking at many other makes. GLAD i did!! wow is this thing quick & responsive, the only prob i had was the chain ring shifter locked solid, but the shop sorted it asap for me. the only thing u might find with this bike is that people will keep stareing at the big smile on your face when you are on it!! if you are after a bike thats a pleasure to ride, and is quick- then this baby should be at the top of your list... ENJOY :-)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great bit of kit; I thrash mine around the poorly...”

Written on: 20/05/2010

Great bit of kit; I thrash mine around the poorly surfaced roads in Shanghai everyday and train medium distance ~140km at weekends. All round best in class for the price and Specialised here in SH give a great service to go with it. Only problems that have already been mentioned in this article are the crappy wheel sets and the hardarse seat. One other thing that should be considered is a change of drivetrain bearings as I have heard form a number of sources that they are notoriously poor in the Allez. I have replaced mine with ABEC-7 SKF bearings.

If your thinking of buying a 1st road bike or a cheaper than carbon training bike that is going to see a lot of hard use then look no further.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ben Adam's Comment

Written on: 23/06/2010

I found this review very helpful because... i am looking at a variety of bikes, me and my mates are setting up a 5 times around the island over 5 days for cancer research and im looking for a bike to do that and i will also be using it all the time i already have a trek 1000 SL from 08 so i am almost certainly going to buy this bike

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“I have the brand new 2010 Allez Sport Double. Being...”

Written on: 10/10/2009

I have the brand new 2010 Allez Sport Double. Being new to road cycling but having been on a bike all my life, from mountain bikes, to racing bmx to street and vert bikes I've ridden them all. This by far is one of the best bikes I've owned and enjoyed. Bought the bike august of this year and already have rideen over a 100 miles. Great bike for your buck!! Would recomend to anyone.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Mines an 2008 allez triple .Fantastic bike really...”

Written on: 17/05/2009

Mines an 2008 allez triple .Fantastic bike really impressed . Purchased on cycle scheme through work .Let down by the poor standard wheels three trips to supplying dealer's BRIAN ROUKES at Stoke to sort out several broken and loose spokes . Very Disappointed by ROUKES aftersales who tried initially to charge me when I had only ridden around 200 Miles , Bike 1 month old . They only seemed interested when selling the bike and seem to be unable/uninterested to carry out warranty work. After third time I contacted specialised direct who sent a set of Shimano Replacement wheels to ROUKES to fit . ROUKES could have done this !! SPECIALISED after sales were extremely helpful . Could be a problem with the wheels on the allez model .

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The Specialized Allez bike is awesome. I have already...”

Written on: 05/05/2009

The Specialized Allez bike is awesome. I have already done several long distance charity rides (two over 100 miles) and it's so comfortable and it's fast. I had tried about 6 other bikes (all recommended) in this price range and this is a mile ahead of the competition!

The sports edition (with 27 gears) makes a big difference when doing long distances and especially up hills, I always use to struggle on hills but now I think it's because my previous bike was crap (which wasn't a cheapo from Hal**rds!)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“As a new starter to cycling (charity ride), I learned...”

Written on: 14/04/2009 by millsia (1 review written)

As a new starter to cycling (charity ride), I learned very quickly that its not just a case of hop on a bike and whizz off to Paris. Having initially trained on a Raleigh Air Lite 100 and upgrading to the Specialized Allez 27, it was like a Fiesta to a Ferrari upgrade. I didnt think a bike could be "responsive". The middle chain ring is a godsend, Cyclist I know were saying "high cadence and not low gears which I didnt understand until i had this bike. The 27 gives you the best of both worlds pedal quickly without a lot of effort or the pedal slower bu with more effort for greater speeds.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Fast, VERY responsive - like a sports car - but be...”

Written on: 09/03/2009 by ljgbjgrpgmpg (1 review written)

Fast, VERY responsive - like a sports car - but be careful - almost twitchy and your shoes CAN hit the front wheel on a relatively sharp turn because of the short wheelbase. However, difficulty fitting - stem does not adjust. Uncomfortable stock seat - need gel seat. WOW - I had only ridden 30 year old Schwinn Continentals - big bikes, long wheelbase. The Specialized Allez bike is SUCH a blast to ride - and I am 61! So much more responsive and FAST - see 30 regularly. Good ride and responds to your input so quickly - like an extension of yourself.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“ I bought my Allez this January and it has served me...”

Written on: 25/01/2009

I bought my Allez this January and it has served me very well
Brilliant bike
*****
10/10

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I bought this road bike in the sales to replace my old...”

Written on: 17/10/2008

I bought this road bike in the sales to replace my old carrera. It's a much better bike lighter, stronger, and faster. The first thing I noticed is how comfortable it is, its much better than my old bike and I can ride for hours in comfort.
The biggest problem is the wheelset. Seriously poor. After two rides I had to take the front wheel back to the shop as the spokes were so loose. I used to work in a bike shop and this is not the quality I expect from specialized! The bike shop managed to snap two spokes trying to fix the problem and I had to wait for replacement spokes. I am going to get a quality set of mavics on there A.S.A.P.
DON'T be put off though by the wheelset, the rest of this bike is quality.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Fantastic Handling, especially when attacking. Could...”

Written on: 18/04/2008

Fantastic Handling, especially when attacking. Could be lghter. Great first bike

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“It's no point commenting on things like tyres or...”

Written on: 11/04/2008

It's no point commenting on things like tyres or handlebar tape as these are easily replaced. The frame and wheels are what you need to look at. The aluminum frame is stiff due to well designed tubing shape. I commute 140 miles a week and I haven't had any problems with it. It is a fast reliable bike. Perfect for general riding and training. I have upgraded the wheels since I bought it two years ago.
Aluminum has a fatigue life of around 5 years depending on how much you use it. Steel is good but heavy and prone to rust. My old Raleigh frame broke within one year. Carbon fibre is good but expensive and useless if you crash it.
In all, this is a good bike.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I have to agree with the other reviewer about the...”

Written on: 05/02/2008

I have to agree with the other reviewer about the spokes on my front wheel. After only 200km on the bike the front spokes became very loose to a point where I had to head straight to a cycly shop to get it fixed. Best advice would be to ask for them to be manually checked/trued before you leave the shop.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview