PC World Reviews - www.pcworld.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
PC World www.pcworld.co.uk
★★★☆☆
3.0
54% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

Summary

Compare reviews of PC World's online store with alternative online computer shop sites to find out which is the best one. Our reviews are written by unbiased consumers making them a great source of advice.

If you prefer bricks and mortar and would like to use their high street computer shop, read our PC World reviews.


? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
PC World www.pcworld.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for PC World www.pcworld.co.uk

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Rubbish Customer Service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 396Pratt on 29/12/2016

Wanted some advice on Netbooks as needed one for a course. The guy came over and told us he was too tired to tell us about the products. He was sweating profusely and looked hungover. We picked 2 netbooks and neither was in stock. He then informed us he 'could not be arsed' to go backwards and forwards and he would just check which one he could find in the stock room. Needless to say we left as didn't want to put him out of his way. Got excellent service and product in Tesco instead.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Disgusting service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by TaliaFitzsimmons on 18/08/2016

I recently purchased a lap top and on turning the machine on discovered the inbuilt mouse and keyboard did not work ,the following day I returned the lap top and it was confirmed to be a fault, however no new replacement was available for 5/10 days, as I was going away the main purpose of the purchace was to take the lap top with me, so it was suggested that the only available quick option was the display model which would require display software removed CLEANED and fully tested ,I was offered a generous discount of £20.00 after some bartering for what is in effect is a second hand appliance.I was told to expect a phone call as soon as the machine was ready ,as no phone call was recieved I called into the store to join the que of other dissatisfied customers, eventually I was handed a lap top that looked like it had just survived a dust storm covered in fingerprints ,no battery,no box ,no instructions ...after Calmly explaining my dissatisfaction at the offered lap top and refusing to accept it in this condition no further assistance was offered , at this point having now spent an hour in the store I demanded my money be returned and I would shop elsewhere . In conclusion the service I recieved on a scale from 1- 10 would still stay in minus and I can Assure PC WORLD that any future requirements for personnel or business would not be at there stores

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“pc world has to be the worse shop in the world. ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by JJC2013 on 22/02/2016

I live in hull where there are 6 pc world yet I had to travel to Doncaster to get a surface pro 4 and the sgear 2. But if that wasn't bad enough, when I got there they had just sold the last one apparently. Which is funny as the staff at hull rang them and said I was coming down. anyway I ended up getting it delivered. I paid online and paid extra for next day delivery. Only to receive an email at 8:58 saying if I dont ring them before 9:00, they would cancel my order. Well it was closer to to 10 when I noticed my email.so my order was cancelled. In the morning I rang them only to be old they was just checking I was using my own card. Well as you can imagine I wasn't happy. But once I confirmed everything I was told I would receive my order the next day. So its almost now a week before I got to look at my new smart watch and tablet. But it didn't end there. After spending hours trying to set up my smart watch to receive call and looking on the internet, k find out that my smart watch wasn't able to make phone calls, even though pc worlds website said it so now tomorrow I have to take that back. And that's not the only thing going back. My surface pro 4 is also going back. As the touch screen keeps freezing. First I thought it was crashing but I plugged in a mouse and it worked fine so it must have just been the touch screen. Ive spoke to them about it but they haven't got a clue. All I know is pc world has gone down hill. No wonder when I was in last week for oven 2 hours. I was the only customer.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Abysmal Customer Service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Sterling102 on 08/01/2016

Having sent my All-in-)ne PC for repair, together with the recovery disks, I received it back without the recovery disks. I spoke to their 'customer service' several times & eventually got to speak to the Knowhow desk at my local PCWorld. They spoke to the repair dept & I was told the disks had been lost!! They promised that they would arrange for new disks to be sent. This did not happen and after another several times of trying to get my disks back, I eventually wrote to the customer service Director on 24 Nov 2015. I then wrote to the CEO,  to further my complaint on the 7th Dec., This elicited a response from their head office CS, someone called Yasser, who said that they could not get replacements & that I should buy a replacement & bill PCWorld. I was amazed that they expected me to purchase the disks myself! I again wrote to the CEO on the 12th Dec., but have yet to have the courtesy of a reply.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Appalling delivery service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 416Weeks on 29/10/2015

After placing an online order for a desktop pc and monitor, pc world made sure I would never shop with them again. I paid extra for next day delivery and the order was delivered, well half of it, the monitor arrived but the PC tower was lost in transit and the Delivery service tried to get me to sign for a delivery label only. After days of phone calls to customer service at PC world they then informed me that their policy is that no refund or another PC tower would be sent to me until they find what happened to the one that was lost by the delivery company. A phone call the following day informed me that this investigation could take up to a week before another product would be sent out, I'm writing this review to warn any potential buyer from PC world, they are not a good choice and their customer service is awfull, shop elsewhere because if they loose your item before it's even been delivered you won't be getting another one sent to you for a long time.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“New laptop wih faulty hard drive 3 times,still won't...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by bohc on 23/10/2015

Bought a Toshiba laptop sept 2014. By Nov 2014 it wouldn't work. Repaired under warranty by pc world - faulty hard drive. Asked for replacement, as 'not fit for purpose' when sold. Declined. April 2015 broke again. Again replaced hard drive. Couldn't give a new laptop as that would be Toshiba's decision. Stopped working again Oct 2015, just out of warrenty....apparently I now have to pay to determine the problem, and dependent on outcome, I may, may, get money off or repair. PC Worlds customer service in store is unhelpful and uncaring. My laptop was only fit for purpose for 2 months and since then has not worked properly. A replacement would surely be the most positive move to maintain my faith in them, and their customer care. I will never recommend and will pass my story on whenever possible. For a massive conglomurate, there is no evidence that you put the customer first.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Discussing”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Cowan201 on 18/10/2015

Today I received the worst costumer service I have ever had..... I went into PC world Hull store at 1030 this morning, I purchased a HP laptop, along with antivirus program. I paid to have PC world install this for me, was told to return to store around 130-2pm to pick up the laptop. When I returned it was not ready. I waited patiently for an hour, for it still not to be done! When I said I wanted a refund I was told I COULD have by two members of staff.... When my partner returned with card we purchased the laptop with, was then told no we could not have refund. One member of staff denied ever saying 'yes, okay' to me. I was made to leave store with the laptop, with the antivirus software NOT installed. I was spoken to in a manor nobody should be spoken to and treated with so much disrespect. I have to now finish installing the software myself, seek legal advice, and wait for complaints department to phone me back! I will never again use PC world.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Samsung smartthings is far from smart ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 454Evans on 04/10/2015

Thought I would take an early plunge into fully integrated home. Purchased the starter kit from PC World Coventry. The installation was not without problems and I had to hard boot 3 of the sensors. The unique code to register is not where the instructions say it is. Well in the end managed to connect and then add both my Sonos and Philips Hue systems. Now find that the operating software is so full of bugs the supplied app keeps crashing. Samsung help says that they are aware and they hope to fix but can't say when. My advice is to stay clear of this until Samsung sort out the issues with the software and can give customer support. Waste of time and money at this time. PC World staff can offer no support.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Reserve, confirm, travel 60 miles - no stock”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Angel161 on 06/09/2015

PC not available locally, store said stock at store 30+ miles away. Came home & reserved yesterday. Confirmed order, no other contact (they had phone & email numbers) so we went out to collect....got there to find no stock available. Person said they had 2 in store, but both on display & cannot sell, no other stock. Spoke to manager who said this is a known failing with the reservation system & it happens frequently! Wasted morning, wasted fuel, & pathetic customer service. Why would anyone trust a PC & software retailer who cannot even manage it's own stock control system? How simple does it need to be.....you have it on display & can't sell it, well hello, it's not available stock then is it?? Oh, and don't even try customer service...you can't get through even after 10 attempts.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“After asking one of the so called expert advisors at...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Wiley416 on 09/06/2015

After asking one of the so called expert advisors at PCs world in Halifax branch for the best thing to suit me as in tablet, iPad etc. I was told to get the dearest iPad and Microsoft office. This I gullibly did. Getting home and trying to put my invoicing on it I was told by a computer repair specialist that for my use I would have been better with a laptop and the sales staff should have known this with what I've described to them. Instead it meant more to the staff to take as much money as possible so I now have what is little more to me than a Facebook screen. The manager on my return and complaint admitted yes I've been sold the wrong item but wouldn't change it even though it was on the advice of the muppet working there. I would never give them another penny as they are are just predatory. I look forward to the day DSG group go bankrupt and lay off all their useless staff and throw them on the scrap heap where they deserve to be. 

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“i went in to my local store in Brighton and the...”

★★☆☆☆

written by rnMcMahon55 on 08/03/2015

i went in to my local store in Brighton and the customer service was shocking. im not one to normally complain but i wasn't treated with the care i was needed. my laptop was fairly new, bought in December just after Christmas and my laptop had decided to freeze on me. i took it into my local store in January and they sent me away to take it back to factory settings. I did so and shortly returned again for them repeat the same process and take it back to factory setting. i asked if they could do it for me in store as i couldn't do it at home. i knew there was a charge so i was happy to pay this charge.i inquired if they could put on my security anti-virus back onto my computer, not knowing there was a charge as the colleague serving me failed to tell me i asked to put the software onto my laptop when i came in to pick it up in-store but was informed i would have to pay. i went away again and my laptop started working. after a few days it was doing the same thing. i then returned once again to the store to ask if they would do anything to fix my laptop. absolutely furious that its taking this long for PC world to help me fix my laptop but finally its fixed. better customer care would have been nice as i felt like no one cared at all

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Over the moon ( or shouild I say Cloud)”

★★★★★

written by originalgrumps on 03/03/2015

Having experienced dubious advice / shop service in the past from Currys / PC World, I approached their ‘Knowhow’ cloud storage service with a degree of apprehension, and for peace of mind before commitment, I opted for their 30 day free trial. I was pleasantly surprised to find that even after day two of the trial, I was pretty much convinced to buy a ‘Knowhow Cloud’ plan,( I reckon the 5 year, 5 device, 2 TB plan, to be a bargain). Before finding ‘Knowhow Cloud’, I looked at using the well known ‘Just cloud’. However, I only ever got near their headline price after clicking to leave their website several times and was only then, auto offered a series of so called special introductory discounts. If I want tricks I will book a magician and if I want to haggle down from a disingenuous start price ( Egyptian style), then I will visit a bazaar. Therefore, I felt wholly unable to trust them not to try to shaft me on price further on ( maybe at renewal time ?), So an early goal for ‘just cloud’, because of their slippery salesmanship. My main thumbs up for ’Knowhow Cloud’, are quite simply , : Reliability, Simplicity and Price. Maybe corporate / multi professional users may need additional syncing features, but as a personal user with some sharing needs, this more than ticks all the boxes for me, as an affordable means of Secondary, Off Site back up, (in addition to the local external hard drives I use). I noted some poor reviews of ‘Knowhow Cloud’, in the main, relating to very slow initial back up times and mine is taking an eternity too. However, a quick ‘Google’, showed this to be normal across most if not all cloud storage providers, and is a result of MY slow line speed. This is totally out of the control of knowhow ( so do be fair with the criticism). Once the initial full backup is complete, future incremental backups should / will be very quick indeed. Simple. I like the simplicity & clarity of the control panel, the easy tick box tree structure to select which folders / files to back up, and that once set up, it will auto run in the background, either on demand, or at set intervals. It auto runs on PC start up. So basically set it up and forget it, end of. I like the facility to recover / revert back to up to 20 previous versions of any particular backed up file and that any backed up files that are inadvertently deleted, are retained in the cloud for a further 30 day period to enable simple recovery of same. I tried to confuse the system, by changing some of my account details mid way through a very large upload, but it simply paused the upload and continued where it had left off after I had entered the new amended account details. I also whipped out the router power cable midway through an upload and sure enough it notified me of the blip, and then carried on where it had left off. So no worries at all here about unexpected power outages / interruptions etc. The ability to share files via a cloud briefcase facility will be handy for me now and then, and may be of even more use to others with greater file sharing needs. My chosen plan allows for backup of up to 5 devices within 1 account. with one master password controlling it all. I am sharing the account with / across 3 family member’s PCs, and I really want them to be responsible for their own backups. However I am fearful that with access to the one and only master password, they could inadvertently alter of delete my files ( work related etc). So, the ability to set sub passwords for access to each backed up PC / device would greatly allay my fears in this area. If you read this review Mr Knowhow, can you please add a sub password feature, but no big deal I guess if you can’t / don’t. Final verdict : I think you could pay a whole lot more for this kind of service elsewhere, so GO FOR IT.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Originalgrumps's Response to originalgrumps's Review

Written on: 08/03/2015

Review Update
The positives extolled in this ( my)review remain.
However, when it comes to actually buying a plan after the free trial, the process becomes a complete nonsense.

Only two 1 year plans appear to be available to ‘click to buy’, from within the trial / account screen. with none of the 5 year plans being offered , at all.

As I wanted to buy a 2TB 5 year plan, I queried the matter via email to their support centre who initially failed to respond.
I then had occasion to speak by telephone to their support staff on another matter and took the opportunity to raise the issue of upgrading from free to a 5 year plan directly with them.

Even though the chap seemed quite knowledgeable, he put me on hold for a while, while he checked things out with his collegues.
Outcome I was categorically assured that I could indeed seamlessly upgrade from the free trial plan to a paid 5 year plan with, no change of account details and no loss of data already uploaded to that account.
Great ( just what I wanted to hear).

Low and behold later the same day the support team finally decided to respond to my initial email enquiry about the 5 year plan.

However, the information clearly stated that was not possible to upgrade the free plan into a paid for 5 year plan.
Furthermore, I would have to start out from scratch all over again and lose all the data that I had already uploaded into my free trial account.

What a sorry bunch of misfits.

I have fired off a reply email to point out the dire conflict in the information given by the same company, and I await what I hope is a definitive ( truthful) reply. ( But I am not holding my breath)

This is absolutely bonkers, nuts and a complete let down, as it means I have completely wasted my time in backing up so much stuff during the trial period.

Knowhow Cloud, have now turned this happy little fluffy white cloud, into a Dark, Raging thunderstorm or put another way, I have gone from being on Cloud 9 to Cloud Nein.

Do Sort this absurdity out, Knowhow. You are just shooting yourself in the foot if you don’t, and if I could figure out how to do so, I would knock a couple of stars off my intial review, which I now feel is overated,

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Poor customer skills”

★★☆☆☆

written by Arsenaultkg353 on 24/01/2015

After my laptop broke i was in desperate need to replace it, fast. I went into PC World after reviewing several different laptops online. I waited patiently for a sales rep but after quite sometime still no help. After finding someone from a different sector they put me into the queue of people waiting. Eventually it was my turn!! This male sales rep approached, i explained what i was looking for, what i would be using the laptop for etc. Now i had already said about the laptop i was interested in but no he dismissed this immediately and told me i needed the Mac book air. I told him i didnt want a Mac and i surely didnt want the price tag. To which i was met with a distained look and told that it was the best. That may be but i again told him i did not want a Mac it was silly for what i would be using it for. So before i could be told again, this is what i needed, i asked about 2 laptops to which he was totally disinterested in and when i asked questions he replied in as few words as possible. Due to this i left the store and searched online for the same laptop i had chosen but not purchased, to see if i could get it else where, but damn it no! So the following day i returned to the same store and informed the PC floor manager i wanted to purchase a laptop and i knew which one i wanted, so he told me he would get a sales rep over straight away. Who should i see walk towards me but the same rep as the day before. Not detered i thought, well all he has to do is get the laptop and take the money. How wrong was I. He spent the next 10 minutes trying to sell me every extra he could think of plus some. I explained i already had internet security and Micrsoft Office. He then (all i can say is) interrogated me as to which product i had how much did it cost i explained it cost me nothing as 1 the security would be 1 of 3 licenses used by my mother, and 2 the office package was office professional which i already had. This was not recieved well but he huffed off to get the laptop. In the mean time my partner was deciding whether we needed a new tv, so when the Rep returned i explained to him i was looking at TVs with my partner and i would come and find him when i was ready. 5minutes later (if that)he was hovering asking when i would be paying and by what method i told him i was still looking at TVs but he said I could carry on doing that once i had purchased the laptop. I was gobsmacked but thought to shut him up just pay for it now and get rid of him. He then proceeded to put some laptop cover on the bill which i told him i did not want so he said he needed a manager to discount it. So it now figures, i have laptop cover free for a month with a rolling contract if not cancelled!! How many times do I need to say NO NO NO!! I was so angry. I can truely say I will not be using that store again and if I can help it I would not use the company either.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Misselling security software”

★★☆☆☆

written by Pooradvice on 23/01/2015

Bought a laptop, very pleased with it. Sales assistant offered me mcaffi security software. Told him I had Norton on an old computer I was scrapping and would be transferring licence. Told me this could not be done as people could then buy a licence and give to friends. Bought a licence, checked when I got home and found (you guessed!) licence can be transferred. Returned software to PC World and had a refund where again I was told by another assistant it could not be done. Have successfully transferred remaining 146 days of licence.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Went to currys with intentions to buy a birthday...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Terry255555 on 22/01/2015

Went to currys with intentions to buy a birthday present cash me and my wife. Sales Assistant managed to change mind because he said they is manager offer that day. Everything sound so good to be true. In God name just find out 3 days ago after 2 yrs. I tried calling the and emailing to make a complaint. shame to currys some of us work for a living. I have to spend more than twice the price and I end up with no iPad. This is not right they need to think about it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“HP SPLIT X 2”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 315Brown on 22/11/2014

What a company Bought a HP HP Split x 2 Laptop 3 Months back first had a electrical problem (FIRE) with the keyboard attachment REPLACED with another NOT FIT FOR PURPOSE product dispute reputed attempts to change the product was replaced with the same product the SECOND developed a SCREEN BURN of course the touch screen laptop was then ineffective ALONG WITH MISS SELLING for commission TWICE even after a PC SPECIALIST deemed the item as NOT FIT FOR PURPOSE PC World still non refund non replacement non co operational ended up with COURT PROCEEDINGS For £599-00 JOY!!!! be warned HP SPLIT x 2 DO NOT PURCHASE AND MAKE SURE ANY ISSUES ARE DEALT WITH WITHIN 30 DAYS OF PURCHASE SEE YOU IN COURT.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Good ”

★★★★☆

written by GodsofTanks on 21/11/2014

The shop provides good customer service but prices for computers could be lower.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“laptop repair awful”

★☆☆☆☆

written by lizlimond on 03/11/2014

sent repair man to wrong place so took 18days for week repair couldn't even say sorry battery not in right when returned so told me it was dead would need new one it just needed taken out and put back in correctly still waiting reply staff attitude rude, insulting never use again

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Shoddiest company I've ever had to deal with”

★☆☆☆☆

written by fedupwithpcworld on 09/10/2014

The company isn't worth too much of my time going into great lengths about how rubbish they are. All I can say is please don't waste your time, money or energy in this company. The level of service is diabolical, they must pay peanuts, as they have a bunch of monkeys working in there. I appreciate that is an insult to monkeys, and is by no means intended in that way. Perhaps they should get some real monkeys in, it can only improve things. Pants. Pants. Pants. Nuff said.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“cooker”

★★★☆☆

written by 1983Maloney on 02/09/2014

I had a new gas cooker delivered and fitted but could not fit the electric lead to the socked has the lead was to short, the fitter told me you got to do it yourself which I have but should that have been in the fitting which cost me £80

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview