Minolta Dynax 700si Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★★
5 / 5
100% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Photograph Quality

  • Features

  • Ease of Use

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Minolta Dynax 700si - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Minolta Dynax 700si

Minolta Dynax 700si
Minolta Dynax 700si

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Superb 35mm film SLR”

Written on: 26/08/2021 by gohunter (1 review written)

I have owned several Minolta 700si and 800si cameras since the 1990's. Overall, I prefer the 700si as the 800si is a little more bulky. The autofocus, although primitive by todays standards is fast and accurate and the exposure via the 14 segment metering is also accurate. As a keen amateur photographer since the 70s and now semi-professional, I have used a wide range of cameras from Nikon, Canon, Olympus, Pentax, etc The 700si is IMHO one of the very best film cameras in terms of handling, performance and ease of use. If you are simply doing some casual snaps, then you can simply choose the P (Program) setting and know that it will give you great results. It will even analyse the subject using the focus sensors and decide whether it is a landscape, portrait, etc. and use the appropriate aperture, shutter speed, focus point, etc. With a top shutter speed of 1/8000, at which it can also sync flash with the correct flashgun, it is an amazing piece of kit for its time. The 5400HS flash gives you the high speed sync and is powerful. Of course, for more serious photography, you can have full control using aperture priority, shutter priority or full manual. There is also a Program shift option to use the program mode, but vary the shutter or aperture as needed. These days, I don't use my 700si anywhere near as often as I should. The same goes for my OM4Ti, as I mostly use my digital kit, but I really must make the effort and use them more often.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“I bought the 700si whilst living and working in...”

Written on: 29/05/2010 by charlieT (5 reviews written)

I bought the 700si whilst living and working in Canada, I shot a lot of weddings at weekends and found the 700si to be a great tool. The addition of the 5400HS flash gives a wide creative creative spectrum and flash synch at all shutter speeds.A wide range of creative expansions cards may added to the camera, this is another bonus. I am an avid camera collector and use full frame digital, along with every other film format, however the 700si is used often for B&W shots, with the right lens it simply blows digital into the weeds for quality of image. Make no mistake this is a real gem !

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★★

“I have owned many Minolta Maxxums I collect them as a...”

Written on: 17/09/2009

I have owned many Minolta Maxxums I collect them as a hobby. But the Minolta Dynax 700si is an awesome camera. I bought all the toys that go with that camera model the VC-7 Verticel control grip the 5400HS flash and all genuine minolta maxxum lenses for that model. I love the lay out in the view finder. It is a large view finder all the info is on the bottom rather than on the side like my other models. That's one of the best things is the very large view finder. Another awesome thing is the ceative expanion cards that it takes. I have had my maxxum 700si since 1994 maybe a year after that but iv always kept the lens attached and I film tested almost all my film cameras that iv had the lenses attached since I bought them brand new becuase someone I know sells Minolta cameras and he said that Minoltas have a bad feature the aperiture base plate will break if you leave your lenses attached I only had this problem with 1 point and shoot model but that was the only camera with the problem and I bought it used. I had it repaired. And my otherone I did buy brand new I need to test because I am going back to mostly all film again. I love film and the pictures I get with film I forgot just how really good they are till I film tested my most important film cameras beginning with my 700si that I really love.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I have owned the current 700si body since the mid...”

Written on: 30/08/2009

I have owned the current 700si body since the mid 90's. I used 2 of these for for wedding photography, coupled to a few vivitar hmv285 flashes and the Minolta dedicated flash. Brilliant 35mmm slr, quick and reliable with a great feel. The amount of customisation possible is awesome. I have since used the Sony Alpha 100 and A700, and find the Sony offerings nothing like as innovative as Minolta used to be.

These bodies are now frequently on Ebay and sell cheaply.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I am a avid photographer Nikon FM2N manual camera ....”

Written on: 03/02/2008 by humberto2000 (1 review written)

I am a avid photographer Nikon FM2N manual camera . Autofocus Minolta Dynax 700si.
And digital Sony Alpha D100. These cameras are the best value around.
Dynax700si is so understated try it with fuji velvia

FM2N is "the" camera if your a manual junky and it will out live you.

Sony Alpha D100 is value !! 10.2 mega pixels marvel .

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The Minolta Dynax 700si was my first "real" camera. I...”

Written on: 28/01/2008 by vizavis (1 review written)

The Minolta Dynax 700si was my first "real" camera. I purchased it new when i went back to school. i always thought I would be a painter but after photography well, nothing else would do. I used this camera almost every day for 6 years. I don't cry over "things" but the day this camera broke, I sat down and wept.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“I have used Minolta cameras for quite a few years now...”

Written on: 26/10/2003 by andyuk51 (3 reviews written)

I have used Minolta cameras for quite a few years now and this Minolta Dynax 700si is by far the best yet. Before I go on I must recommend you buy the Hove publication manual for this camera. It tells you how to use the cameras features easily and then you will realise what an absolute amazing machine you own.
I have found the metering system to be accurate, focusing is spot on and the features are endless. One feature in particular that is so simple yet so useful, its called "Eye Start". On the grip of the camera are two sensors and another sensor just below the view finder on the back of the camera. Providing you are holding the two strips on the grip and your face, or anything else for that matter, is against the sensors of the view finder the camera will automatically focus and meter ready to take the shot without needing to depress the trigger button. If that doesn't appeal to you then, and how about this for a cool feature, you just switch it off. In fact with all the available options on this camera you can turn them all off and use it as a fully manual camera! What more can I say but again get that book by Hove Publications for the Minolta 700si

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★★★★★

“this is the first auto focusing slr i have ever bought ”

Written on: 04/08/2002 by martin. (1 review written)

this is the first auto focusing slr i have ever bought
i dont know a lot about them but the specs looked good. as to the film - why not try using fuji sensia 400 its a good film and it speeds youre camera up four fold. what's your reason for not doing this? i tried this 400 asa slide film and found it good in my camera. im using a minolta x300 1.7 50mm lens. i would like to know how good the 35 to 80 mm lens is - can anyone tell me ? is it supposed to come whith a date back ?
can anyone tell me more about this camera please
martin

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I have owned this camera for three years and am still...”

Written on: 27/08/2001 by Peter Hunt. (1 review written)

I have owned this camera for three years and am still amazed by its reliability and good feel. The 14 segment metering is accurate to the point that my hand held meter agrees with the suggested camera settings. This can only be a sign of a well developed system camera. The back up of lenses and other accessories is superb wether opting for the budget range of lenses or the more expensive professional models. I would highly recommend this camera to anyone who wants full automation with manual override facilities.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Frank Myers's Response to Peter Hunt.'s Review

Written on: 26/08/2008

I own a 700si, also the 9000--7000 (2) 7000i (2)--800si--500i--5xi, and in my opinion, Peter is correct with his comments about these cameras. Thank you Peter Hunt, I enjoy all your reviews. Frank Myers.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 9 0
Read 1 Comment

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview