Yorkshire Building Society Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Yorkshire Building Society
★★☆☆☆
1.6
17.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Telephone Banking

  • Internet Banking

  • Local Branch

  • Cash Point Facility

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Yorkshire Building Society - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Yorkshire Building Society

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Excellent service during a difficult time ”

★★★★★

written by HarryPruitt431 on 13/04/2024

After a bereavement YBS were excellent in sorting accounts and paying bills. Once probate was sorted and money transferred over staff at the Barnsley branch were fantastic sorting and transferring funds into ISA's and explaining everything to us. Much easier and helpful than another high street bank which held a current account.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Misled customer communication ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by TaniyahRodgers on 08/04/2024

I have a cash isa with ybs and attempted to have another for myself for 2925, transfer an existing for my wife and open a new isa for her. I made the payment for my new isa but told it will be returned in 3-5 days at visited to a branch office. I was told they were busy but they were able to waste time with me and without any solution. They obviously don't want 4 cash isa cash from me and have not returned the cash for my new isa of 20k pounds

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“absurd account opening process”

★☆☆☆☆

written by AmandaCunningham221 on 26/01/2024

To open an online a/c they want you to make a sort video of yourself together with photo ID. Ridiculous! Other online financial institutions don't do this. Who could be bothered? (lots of people online say that the process doesn't even work properly).

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Xenophobic or racist ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ngcd on 20/04/2023

I've been a British citizen for many years. I wanted to open a cash ISA and then to transfer part of my existing ISA as the interest rates were higher than my current ISA. Went through the ID checks conducted by external company and submitted my application. Was contacted by them asking lots of questions about my background (I was born in Russia and detailed this on my application). The questions were very strange but they advised this was part of their standard checks and when I asked if there was a problem they advised thrre wasn't but they would contact me if they had any further questions. I hadn't heard from them so recontacted them and they informed me they were still awaiting my ID check which was rubbish as everything had been done. I asked to speak to someone else, was kept waiting for a few minutes and then was cut off. I can't imagine that they are so incompetent and I'm sure their action is due to the fact I was born in Russia so I've now opened a new ISA elsewhere and neither I or my husband will be transferring our existing ISAs to this pathetic organisation.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Disgusting bank rude staff lazy ceo ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by cwSelf1954 on 16/11/2021

Disgusting bank bad staff rude and treat people bad hope they all close down

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“ACCORD hiding behind YBS”

★☆☆☆☆

written by KewDS on 23/04/2021

Honestly do yourself a favour and avoid accord mortgages. Staff provide inaccurate advice, they are rude, obnoxious and very unhelpful. Due to a miscommunication during a very challenging year 2020 it resulted in mortgage arrears being listed on my credit report. Accord then refused to remove it from my account causing big issues with lending and now all of a sudden when they were challenge on the matter “call recordings didn’t contain said conversations” ... very mysterious (predictable actually). Trust me, skip this provider and avoid. Try more reputable providers who know what they are doing, who offer better advice and talk to you and treat you like a human. Hope this helps everyone

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Beyond Appalling Customer Service . Cant believe its real”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Hugo73 on 01/05/2020

Absolutely savage staff and no responsibility taken for anything. I have never witnessed service like it in my life. Absolute waste of time Beware all dealings with them. I have been a client of Chealsea Building Society for 12 years. They now trade as YBS. There are no words to describe how low they have plummeted. Unprofessional. Untruthful. Target driven. Shambolic No Customer Loyalty.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Great building society. George Bailey would be proud. ”

★★★★★

written by SmiffySan on 23/06/2017

Some time ago, we (my wife and I) were experiencing some financial difficulties. I was an IT contractor and the market was very bad. The YBS were fantastic and very patient with us. We did run into arrears but kept them informed and eventually paid the arrears off. Today is our last mortgage payment so it's a bottle of fizzy tonight. The Yorkshire have been at times, our best friend. The Hutton manager (now sadly moved to Brentwood) was like a family member. All in all, I would have to say that the YBS are a humane caring great value building society. From the movie, It's a Wonderful Life, I think George Bailey from the good old 'Bailey Building and Loan, would be proud.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“WORSE EVER , TERRIBLE , UNACCEPTABLE SERVICE”

★☆☆☆☆

written by simonfox1 on 18/05/2017

I was in touch earlier with Yorkshire building society and was told come any day in between 10 am to 4 pm to open account and report at counter and it will be done in 15 minutes , no waiting time . I arrived Tuesday on 16 May 2017 around 12 noon , 3-4 counter staff were at desk but NO CUSTOMERS AT ALL , they were just talking and passing time each other , when I arrived I asked to open account to a staff with thin appearance sitting far right when facing to counter , light curl hairs but she refused to do this and asked me to take appointment and come next day , I said I did already so came here but she did not listen , I walked out , what kind of system they got , all just sitting , talking , taking company money for nothing and NOT working for customers . Yorkshire bs should not employ many like this at counter staff , MUST IMPROVE YOUR SERVICE AND ATTITUTES TOWARDS CUSTOMERS , worse even I found me , I walked out

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 5 1

“Easingwold Branch ”

★★★★★

written by on 06/04/2017

I have been with the Easingwold branch for a year and a half, after moving from the Northallerton branch. I would just like to say a huge thank you to both the Easingwold and Northallerton Branch, for being so kind, caring, understand and efficient whilst i was going through a very difficult time. I cannot thank you all enough! And look forward to being a loyal member of Yorkshire Building Society for many years to come.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Calling the Mortgage Customer helpline was the worst...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Kirab499 on 06/03/2017

Calling the Mortgage Customer helpline was the worst experience ever,total lack of empathy and understanding, after I lost my job there was no help available after they kept me on the phone for ages, just pointed me to the CAB, clearly reading from a scrip.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Disgusting customer service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Paulgamble on 27/01/2017

Threatened me and former partner with legal action after my former suffered major stroke. Unable to walk, read or write, severe memory and speech problems meant she needed assistance. Customer services refused to lusten and proceeded with legal action and repossesion even though my former partner was trying her best to sort things out.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Rubbish”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Fisherrr82 on 08/03/2016

If you make a big transaction you basicaly have to go into a branch with ID. Abosolutely useless waste of time. What if you're abroad? They don't listen to reason. Useless service, avoid. There are good banks out there, but not his one.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Really poor customer service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by QuintenStuart48 on 03/02/2016

Whilst all staff were perfectly nice, this organisation really struggles to provide anything like the customer experience most other financial providers can deliver. I was after a mortgage, and indeed was offered one by YBS but it was just such a paid to deal with them that I decided to go elsewhere (and spend a little more as a consequence). Firstly, the hours available to speak to someone are very limited - the people available after 6pm cannot really do anything. Even during core hours, it takes ages to get through and then you get passed around. The website did not work for me - did not allow me to log in. Everytime I called they struggled to find my details on their systems. I got cut off several times inbetween being passed around. I was promised call backs which did not happen. I would save your time and avoid, despite their v attractive rates!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“No better than pick pockets don't trust them”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Coyne437 on 28/12/2015

I had been a long term customer and when my ISA's matured they pesterd me to take a no risk putting all of my money into a capital bond run by Credit Suisse. I was told it was a four year plan and when I got my first statement it was five years. When I complained they said you should have read the terms and conditions, which they only gave me as I was leaving. Two years later I got a letter from Credit Suisse which said the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) had fined them and YBS for misleading customers in selling the policies. YBS got a four million pounds fine, we were never going to get the benefits they promised us. I notice they have the nerve to say in their TV adverts 150 years of trust I really don't think so after trying to tip off 73 thousand customers I wouldn't trust them,they are no better than pickpockets. I would have liked them just to be honest and I wouldn't have bought the policy, I would NEVER have dealings with them again as would most of the 73 thousand they tried to tip off.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Can't wait to leave”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 17/07/2015

I've been a mortgage customer of YBS for approx. 5 years and was very happy with them up until my recent mortgage application. They didn't take any action on it for the first few weeks and then lied to me as to the reason why and tried to blame me, processed my application wrong, requested documents I'd already provided and then lost them again, lied to me about the progress of my application, told me on numerous occasions I didn't actually have an application with them, finally (after 3 months) sent me a mortgage offer that was wrong, forgot to set up a linked account, took them a few weeks to admit they hadn't sent me a retention cheque despite insisting throughout that they had, mishandled my subsequent complaint and then refused to accept the Ombudsman's (impartial) recommendations to put things right. Literally don't have a positive thing to say about them and can't wait for my fixed rate period to end so I can leave. Avoid at all costs in my opinion, it's worth paying an extra few pound a month on your mortgage to go with a lender that treats its customers better.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“2nd class citizen”

★☆☆☆☆

written by kt1604 on 03/07/2015

I became a 'customer' of YBS when my ISA was transferred from Egg. From that day on I was treated like a 2nd class citizen and made to jump through hoops to get my money. In the first instance I could not get it because I had moved. To change my address I was given the option of paying to get confirmation of who I said I was so that the address change could be processed or going to a branch' so that I would be spending money because there is no branch where I live (not in the back of beyond but Brighton!). I ultimately lodged a complaint which was clearly not captured correctly and the upshot was that they found that the way in which they treated me was acceptable. What a surprise. In summary do not touch this company with a barge pole.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Longterm Customer - leaving ASAP”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Hastingsbs472 on 24/06/2015

I have been a longterm customer of YBS and, until recently, was reasonably satisfied with them. Over the last few months, however, I have experienced nothing but incompetence and shocking customer service from them. They are astonishingly clueless when it comes to basic customer care and are completely unwilling to even acknowledge customer complaints, let alone to address them. I will be removing my mortgage and savings from YBS ASAP. This is absolutely not an organisation I have any further wish to do business with. If you value good and competent customer service, YBS is definitely best avoided.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Very impressed”

★★★★★

written by KendalDuncan on 12/03/2015

We have recently taken an offset mortgage with YBS and I was at first a bit sceptical about them given the reviews here, however, the mortgage product was the best deal I could find (and actually better than anything our mortgage adviser could find!) with all the flexibility we were looking for so we went for it. The mortgage application was very easy to make online and was processed very quickly, there were some questions raised by YBS which we responded to straight away and we received the offer in 7 days which in my view was incredibly quick. The only issue we had was with the insurance form as we were taking our own insurance and we sent the form off twice but apparently both times were apparently not received by YBS. In the end they accepted a scan by email but this didn't cause any hold up or problems with the purchase which went very smoothly. The online account management service is very good and it is easy to transfer funds online into the offset savings account by faster payments transfer or debit card. I did have to phone up to get the online access sorted which was very quick and easy. Alternatively, you can pay in at the branch or through one of the LINK machines. This is much better than our previous mortgage lender which didn't offer any online mortgage account management. Overall, I have been very impressed with YBS so far.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Appalling customer service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by sean5302 on 03/03/2015

I opened a couple of 5-year bonds with this abysmal organisation in December 2009. They matured and I wrote where I wanted the money repaid to and asked for it to be done by bank transfer. They refused, saying they would do it over 5 days at the rate of £5000 per day, unless I paid £23.50 for a CHAPS payment. After arguing they agreed to waive the £23.50 fee but then required me to attend the Selby branch, with my passport so they could photocopy it and do the payment. No such terms and conditions were agreed to at the start of the investment. The terms are printed on the bond and there are no such restrictions. After wasting hours arguing on the phone I've now issued a county court summons against them. Loathsome, horrible company. Go anywhere else. I guarantee you'll be better off.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview