Mesa Boogie Mark IV Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★★
4.8 / 5
100% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Sound Quality

  • Appearance

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Mesa Boogie Mark IV - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Mesa Boogie Mark IV

Mesa Boogie Mark IV
Mesa Boogie Mark IV

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Mesa boogie mk4”

Written on: 09/11/2015 by Annaliseq195 (1 review written)

I own a few amps,marshall tsl 122,jvm410 c,fender deville,peavey,trace elliot ect?I have been using a twin set up with the fender for rythm + one of the marshalls for lead.I had a lot of problems with the balance of the marshalls effect loop !!! Was offered a mk4 on the the cheap ,and was a bit dubious having owned a mk2 and a studio 22 in the past .Got it home and hey presto everything matched up great .Amazingly versatile,I play a wide variety of music ,and for solo,s it goes from jazz (clean)through hendrix( crunch) to eric johnson ( lead). But take practically any tone and you will find it !!!! Mine is a very early one,when I got it the lead channel pull bright pot and rhythm 2 pot was broken.I emailed mesa and within a couple of hours I recieved an email from the agent in this country( glasgow) .couple of days later the pots and knobs arrived !!!! Great service,highly recommended.Pretty sure I won,t be needing another amp .P.S. The first thing I did on getting the amp ,was replace all the valves with boogie,s ,because the amp is biased for them ,and I wanted a base line to work from

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“"OL" Fart still using the Mark IV”

Written on: 05/12/2014 by Warrenlq496 (1 review written)

Hey,I'm 57 years old and still play every weekend. I bought the Mesa Boggie mark IV 22 years ago and I am still using it today. This thing has never let me down. I didn't replace the tubes in it until last year..21 years latter. I play Country, Classic rock, Motown, and Jazz. Every sound is sweet to my ears. Of course a PRS Custom 24 ten top, 71 Strat, and 72 Telle make things sound nice also. Guys,it's all in the tone, and how you use it. P.S. It is starting to become heavy in my latter years though !

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Best amp ever.”

Written on: 26/03/2014 by nickcruz (1 review written)

I tried this amp as a teen but could not afford the 3000.00 Plus price tag. I found one used in wood and wicker last year and have found my youth again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“seek and ye shall find”

Written on: 08/06/2012

i will start off by telling you that i have owned 2 mark 3 boogie combos in the past and for the last few years till now have been using the boogie triaxis.........then i decided to get the mark 4 compact combo.....i had never seen or heard one before so it was a blind buy.......it turns up and i looked at it ...thinking it looked like a toy compared to the mk3...........then turned it on,,,,and was instantly dissapointed thinking it also sounds like a toy.......then....i started fiddling about with the switches tone knobs and settings....and got the most unbelievable sounds ever....the key is ....dont turn any of the tone knobs above 5....use the graphic........and as for the record out....well that just blew me away...its the best sound i ever heard.....my conclusion is that this amp is actually better than the mark 3 and triaxis....not just because of the sounds and highly usable channel 2 crunch mode ..and mind blowing record out......but because its so versatile.........it takes a little time to find the tones...but the whole spectrum is there waiting to be found...............if your looking at getting one make sure it has the 200w evm speaker in it and not the crappy celestions............

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“This is a superb amplifier with no problems in over...”

Written on: 02/10/2009

This is a superb amplifier with no problems in over five years

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great amp , brilliant in every department , some might...”

Written on: 10/04/2008

Great amp , brilliant in every department , some might say its too much money, but once you here this amp you will never want another amp

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Mesa Boogie Mark IV has a great amp. Lots of tonal...”

Written on: 17/12/2007

Mesa Boogie Mark IV has a great amp. Lots of tonal choices with all the different push/pull buttons. Great tones, I think the clean is good and the crunch is extra crunchy! LOUD! Why doesn't the foot controller have the reverb built into it? You have to buy an on/off switch separately to turn on the built in reverb.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I used one of the earlier Mesa Boogie about 4 years or...”

Written on: 09/04/2005 by tony mckenzie (2 reviews written)

I used one of the earlier Mesa Boogie about 4 years or more - use one with a JP Les Paul and you will have THE sound everyone wants. The tubes were very expensive to replace especially in the UK. The amp is now over £2000 in the UK and its a complete rip off by the distributor. The amp has huge power thought and remains one of the best sounding products in the world.

The recording out is great - you can turn off the speaker while recording direct and the sound is excellent.

I also found the pull swithces very useful to shape the sounds I wanted and overall, these were the secret to the Mark IV - spend some time on this aspect of the amp.

Tony McKenzie

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Mesa Boogie Mark IV - Just buy one! This is the best...”

Written on: 04/10/2004 by markbuffyfan (2 reviews written)

Mesa Boogie Mark IV - Just buy one! This is the best amp in the world, period. Ofcially 85 watts, but it sound more like 200 and Mesa know it. It has a 200watt EV driver in it. Heard the old models, pre-'95, had problems with overheating and noisy fans. Not so the new one.

Never had so many compliments on my sound as when using this three channel amp. Try to avoid the tendancy to use graphic all the time so you can kick it in for a mega boost.

I understand the same circuit as the triaxis preamp but with no midi capbility.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview