Liverpool John Lennon Airport Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.3 / 5
6% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer service

  • Overall cleanliness

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Liverpool John Lennon Airport - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Liverpool John Lennon Airport

Liverpool John Lennon Airport

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“1 pound to pass through please ”

Written on: 23/12/2019 by Mikemes (1 review written)

I am travelling a lot since I am not originally from UK. Always used Manchester or London for travelling but this time ticket prices limit my options to Liverpool John Lennon airport. Long story short i refused to give one pound to buy the mandatory plastic bag for my liquids because it is totally against my rights as a customer. If it’s mandatory why don’t you provide it then??? Of course as other people mentioned it the security was rude and totally unprofessional. The point when I was furious with him is when he opened my bag and was very professionally commenting on my underwear while other people were around their. So professional! Of course I am never going to LJN airport again and ofcourse I reported that rude guy. However I don’t think they will do anything to him.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Aggressive and Hostile Security Staff - Called an A ...”

Written on: 14/06/2019 by freedom3 (1 review written)

I dread flying from this airport. It is a miserable and stressful experience. The airport itself is cold and usually empty of passengers which is a good thing in some ways. The word must be out. Sure enough the security staff on this trip we as usual bossy, aggressive and nasty people who seem to be on a power trip to vent off their feelings of powerlessness and inadequacy on the customers. They have no interpersonal skills and treat passengers like naughty school kids. The random full body scans get me and I hate them. My partner asked why he needed one when the first scanner had not 'beeped'. He was ordered to the scanner with the words ' I have an a hole here. (the review won't let me write the full word but I am sure you know what I mean,)' I explained to him that some people don't like having a full body scan to which he continued ' he's an a hole' pointing at my partner. When I tried to explain that the body scanner was optional since 2016 he shouted me down and repeated to his mate 'He's an a hole. I always get'em.' We reported it straight away and made a complaint to so called 'customer services'. They failed to follow their own Customer Charter and passed it over to WILSON JAMES whom they employ to run security. Since I have been reading other reviews of this place I see I am not alone in my experience of Liverpool Airport. I have also been got by the plastic bag like many others because the one I had was too big! Something need to be done as this is the first impression tourists and business people have of the city. Perhaps it is the correct one.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“One to avoid”

Written on: 07/10/2018 by ebCassidy268 (1 review written)

Not for the first I have experienced the unnecessarily aggressive and intrusive conduct of security staff at Liverpool airport. I thought it must be me. But then I looked and there are so many similarly negative reviews from others on the internet I begin to feel relieved that it isn't just me! To feel that way, though, is, of course, ridiculous. Wouldn't it be better if security staff at the airport did their work with a smile on their face and not a look of malevolent intent that translates into what is really just institutional bullying. Security at other airports manage to avoid this behaviour so it doesn't have to be this way, Liverpool. Not that security are alone. I was served by a woman in Boots who has forgotten how to engage in human contact.It was 6.15 in the morning but even so. Fortunately, WH Smith's and Joe's came to the rescue with some friendly and efficient customer service. So it wasn't all bad. The trouble is I, like most customers I suspect, dwell on the negative experiences and then vow never to return. And, after giving Liverpool their second chance, that is what I have now decided to do.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“avoid at all cost , ”

Written on: 15/07/2017 by JavonReid (1 review written)

As a well travelled customer. , with plenty of experience. I have to say. I was shocked. As to the shambles of an experience I. Had , never I had experianced such. Pathetic levels of service as to what is john Lennon airport , hold your head in shame , how do you expect to rub shoulders with Manchester , Leeds Doncaster, with a second. - third rate attitude to.your customers. , the people.who put money across your counters , you don't deserve to be in business , I am small change to your money making machine. , but every penny spent elsewhere is a blow to your business , I would.never entertain your custom ever again , and I am very understanding of how a business works. , no customers. , no business. , happy to see you fold sooner rather than layer , and anybody who takes their custom elsewhere will not be disappointed or inconvienceneced , Steve

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Liverpool You Should be Ashamed of your Airport”

Written on: 08/05/2016 by Dayanarab438 (1 review written)

I'm sure John Lennon would want his name removed from this ghastly airport. I gave it one star because I wouldn't have been allowed to write this review without doing that, I've travelled a lot of the world for many years and this is simply the worst airport I've ever encountered. Dirty, severely neglected environment, grubby seats, the sort of building you might have expected of an airport behind the Iron Curtain - but, 30 years ago. No decent eateries or interesting shops. Talk about 'abandon hope all yee who enter here'!!! Very few places to sit, certainly nowhere decent, and certainly not for a whole aircraft full, particularly when your flight is delayed. Surly people - though not all of them - but those who aren't must be very embarrassed by their colleagues' behaviour. Only around 6 seats near the gate and just left to stand there for over an hour, [young and elderly alike] with no one bothering to ensure that those who happened to be first in the queue, actually got through first, just letting people remove barriers and walk to the front of the queue as they pleased, and unchallenged. We then a long walk in the cold and rain to the plane - again, young and elderly alike. This a great city in so many ways - I'm a southerner and I love it, but this really is a blot on your copybook Liverpool. I could argue that Liverpool City Council must be naively oblivious of all the negative revues of their city's airport. However, I really don't think they can actually care, because if they did, they would ensure something was done about this disasterous scab on their backside. Get real Liverpool and DO SOMETHING.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst airport I have used.”

Written on: 19/10/2015 by Dowd99 (1 review written)

My experience of Liverpool airport is one of total misery. On arrival I was greeted with a long slow moving queue for the check in desk. After an agonisingly long wait to check in I proceeded to security. Here things got worse with an even longer queue in a shabby poorly maintained hall with exposed pipes etc. hanging down. When I finally arrived at the security gate the security officer I could only describe as the ruddest most agressive person I have had the displeasure to encounter for a long time. Carrying out aggresive and embarassing searches in full view of the public. At one time accusing me; most agressively of carrying a knife. Did he not trust the metal detector; or was he just working out some personal frustration on me. I agree that security is neccessary but an aggressive manor coupled with pointless intrusive interrogation is inexscussable. After this trauma I fortunately had little time to appreciate the joys of the surroundings. what I did see in my hurry to catch my flight was a dirty badly maintained building. The departure area was nothing but a wooden lean-to. I will never use this airport again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Rude is the most polite word I can use to describe...”

Written on: 28/09/2015 by AliviaShepherd (1 review written)

It appears that to be employed in security at this airport , it is a requirement to have an iq of less than 10 ,be rude , arrogant and generally happy to be as obstructive as possible.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Most unwelcome arrival back into ones own country.”

Written on: 25/06/2015 by sally397 (1 review written)

Arrived from EZY7254 Wednesday afternoon on June 24th, on leaving the aircraft all passengers had to wait OUTSIDE the terminal for 35 minutes before entering the passport control, no reason given, passengers from another flight were also having to wait outside prior to entering passport control. It wasn't raining, just as well as we would all have been drenched. My companion and I could see out luggage merrily moving along the carousel while we were left standing around without any explanation as to what was happening. Eventually we slowly, very slowly entered the passport control section. I took 55 minutes from leaving the aircraft to being cleared through passport control. I had a taxi waiting, my companion went to collect the baggage while I went off to locate the taxi as I knew that the driver would be charged for parking. One of our cases was not one the carousel but had been dumped on the floor. Our taxi driver was charged £8 for parking. Local Liverpool rank taxi drivers do not pay. How unfair on taxi drivers from outside the Liverpool area. Why the discrimination? I would not use Liverpool airport again, as a passenger I do expect a better standard of service than that received on June 24th. I will be using Manchester airport from now on, I have never ever had to stand outside the terminal at Manchester as passengers go straight through to baggage claim and then through passport control. Previous to this incident I had only used Liverpool airport once before and assumed that it would be as efficient as Manchester airport but not so. Not at all impressed, enough said.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“XENOPHOBIC AND PIG IGNORANT”

Written on: 27/05/2015 by DOCDOC58 (1 review written)

yesterday my family including two small children and a man who is registered blind had the misfortune to have to use john lennon airport, they had been on a short break to blackpool and had enjoyed themselves - enter jl airport to ruin this- they had went through initial check in without problem and then had to line up for security, this was taking an unusually long time and their flight had been called, my daughter asked if they,in these circumstances, could be dealt with quicker, a rather portly man in a brusque and unsympathetic manner told her more or less to get lost,as she walked away she overheard the same man make a derogatory comment about her being irish ,unfortunately some people are like this however it is unusal to encounter them is a position of responsibility. they eventually got dealt with- i use the term dealt with advisedly,as what then happened was worse than the prior, for some reason they where told to open all their bags which contained nothing more sinister then the usual souvenirs associated with a short break,EXCEPTION was then taken to,believeit or not,sticks of blackpool rock,and for several minuets a exchange between these security people went on re these sticks of rock,their concerns where not explained. eventually they where allowed to proceed, alls well you may think, enter easy jet,whowould not allow them to board because the final check in had closed 30 seconds - yes 30 seconds - this had been done despite the fact that the easy jet staff where aware that my family where in the immediate vicinity - indeed less than 1 minute earlier they had seen another passenger being allowed to board the plane, despite the fact that he did not have his boarding pass - two of his friends who where also denied boarding - had the mobile phone with his and their pass on it,sohe was allowed to board without any documentation- the same guy told his friends that the plane was nearly empty, easy jet then refused to transfer the tickets to the next flight insisting that 4 new tickets had to be bought,this is profiteering at its worst it boarders of a c o n the upshot was that my family had to outlay nearly £400 more just to get home the english tourist board is continually trying to encourage tourist to holiday in England- this is the perfect example of why tourists should go anywhere other than england we will be making official complaints to jl airport to easy jet although given the above experience the complaints will probably be either ignored or given some type of political ie we endeavor to do our best yada yada yada we will also be advising the relevant authorities re the illegal embarkation this complaint will if necessary be brought to court to be redressed

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgraceful and total rip of”

Written on: 12/03/2015

Liverpool airport has to be the worst airport I have the misfortune to visit Arrived at 19.00 going through security was dreadful and had a frozen wand that was a present for my granddaughter confiscated as it had water in it the present was obviously unopened I was told I could have someone collect it but it would cost £4 to avail of this facility not to mention the cost to park ... Then to add insult all the food outlets where closed Realy considering could Liverpool airport do a bit more to be customer friendly would prefer to go by boat in future

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Airport passenger transit security”

Written on: 04/03/2015 by bfLewis-Alt453 (1 review written)

The security regulations in force of course have to be maintained in the current global terrorist issues and activities HOWEVER!!! The petty nonsense of the size of a 'sealed bag' to contain 100ml fluids etc have reached farcical levels at Liverpool!! I went through with two reasonable sized see through bags, only to be informed in a deplorable manner by a male member of the security staff that they were the wrong size (terrorist please be aware of this!!) I was then told to purchase the correct sized bags from a machine adjacent to the check-point, I subsequently re-loaded my bags (4 bags) and again went through the check-point, only to be told again I could only have 1 bag per person - again I had to re-pack the items, I had wasted some 10 minutes by this time, and had to re-queue three times - an held up other passengers behind me - absolutely ridiculous!!! get it sorted Liverpool a very poor show, which urgent attention!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Lack of Facilities”

Written on: 25/02/2015 by Vogel1977 (1 review written)

The main concourse is a huge, mainly empty space, and much more could be made of this. There only seemed to be one set of toilets (with only 4 or 5 Ladies' cubicles)in the main concourse, so quite a walk especially when carrying luggage. Long trek from the concourse up 2 lots of stairs to security. Then a lot of fuss because we had liquids in 2 small plastic bags (which were deemed too small) and 1 which was deemed too big! These were scanned through on another belt at the back without issue, so we didn't understand what that was all about. No space to reload bags and get fully dressed again after going through security. It was then another 5 mins walk to the departure gate, plus a long walk through partially covered tunnels outside to get on the plane. I always find it a joke that so much is made of "security", then we have to go outside! On the flight back, we had to wait about 10 mins on the plane as apparently an internal flight from Dublin had also arrived and Passport Control couldn't cope with an overseas flight at the same time. There weren't too many on our flight, but we still had to walk a considerable extra distance through the "snake lanes" to get to Passport Control desks. Overall, you need to be fit and allow plenty of time for walking.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“No staff Ruins your trip”

Written on: 29/01/2015 by Lordbootle (0 reviews written)

We arrived on time after a long weekend away. Sat on plane for 20mins as no buses to take us to the building. Queued for 20 mins (back of the queue in the rain) to get through passport as only 1 person working! Lots of posters saying how great Liverpool is as a city, shame our airport is embarrassing. Will go from Manchester next time

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The Worst Arrival Experience I Have Ever Had”

Written on: 25/11/2014 by Newtonbb301 (1 review written)

Having arrived back from Portugal (Faro) on 21 November, we got off the plane and had to stand outside on the tarmac in the dark, cold and rain for approximately 30 minutes! It transpired that 5 planes had landed within minutes of each other and the immigration set-up clearly couldn't cope with the number of people. It beggars belief that in this day and age an airport that claims to be 'international' can't provide basic facilities such as an adequate indoor reception area for arriving passengers. As the airport is presumably aware that a number of planes are scheduled to land at given times, is it not also reasonable to expect that appropriate provision is made to clear passengers through immigration? When we finally got to the entrance door to the arrivals building a large sign up on the wall proudly declared 'Welcome to Liverpool International Airport" - obviously installed by a scouser with a great sense of humour! I would recommend that anyone planning an arrival at Liverpool's John Lennon International Airport in the winter months takes plenty of provisions such as warm blankets or bacofoil, a supply of chocolate, a hot flask and a tent!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Poor experience”

Written on: 11/07/2014 by Briannac466 (1 review written)

Landed at 23.40 on Tuesday evening, bundled onto a bus to be met with a 1 hour long queue at immigration. There was an an announcement to advise that they were sorry but a lot of flights had landed at the same time - all of them were on schedule - so no surprises, just poor planning. Also really loud house(?) music blasting us whilst we waited in a shabby corridor. To say its such a small airport the queue to get through was ridiculous. There seems to be only budget airlines operating from Liverpool now. Will this affect the level of investment that's clearly needed to make this airport work well? To me it appears that they spent all the money on bars and shops and had nothing left to improve the passenger experience unless you want to shop or booze.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“disgusting ripp off”

Written on: 26/06/2014 by basilgracie (2 reviews written)

Great start pulled up for 1 minute because we wernt sure were to go and got fined 100 pounds the airport should be ashamed . Wont ever use this place ever again . Manchester will get my custom in future .

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

English2's Response to basilgracie's Review

Written on: 06/02/2017

I couldn't agree more with this £100 'no-stopping' ban. Yes, of course it's clearly indicated upon entry that motorists must not stop in the marked area. But what the public doesn't know is that LJL airport in collusion with the camera vans - run by a particularly unpleasant company called Vehicle Control Services of Sheffield - are actively ticketing cars for slowing down to walking pace in this no-stop area. Is this just sour-grapes from me who might have been ticketed? No, far from it - I work in security there and have full disclosures from drivers that this is what has occurred. Many of these drivers are students, pensioners and low-income families. You're right here, basilgracie -these people at JL airport should be ashamed.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“REALLY ROUGH”

Written on: 25/04/2014 by frequentusers (1 review written)

We use Liverpool Airport for our frequent trips to Alicante. It is without doubt the tattiest, smelliest airport we have ever used. All the toilets are well overdue for refurb. Washbasins are worn & grubby, floor tiles worn & stained. Arrivals are herded through narrow corridors with stinking old carpets celebrating Liverpool in 2008. For an international airport it is a disgrace. Do we really want overseas visitors to have this sub-3rd world standard to be their first taste of Britain? Get a grip LPL. This is not acceptable.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“no seating at departure gates”

Written on: 24/03/2014 by AmaniMunn272 (1 review written)

On a recent Easyjet flight from Liverpool passengers were made to wait for about 20 minutes on a draughty staircase - there was no room at the gate and no seating whatsoever. It was quite disgraceful and potentially dangerous for the many elderly people and children who were subjected to this torture.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“poor customer relations and poor car friendlyness”

Written on: 19/02/2014

security staff very poorly trained in their duties, eating places lack cleanliness of tables,poor access to board planes having to walk in bad weather outside. Transport to connect to airport terminal very poor. The train station is a couple of miles away and not into the terminal. And if you pick up or drop off be careful not to stop on the approaches as you will end up with a hefty fine through the post. This airport needs go ahead management and a council with go ahead ideas or it will die. Liverpool take a page out of Manchester airport go ahead ideas you might learn something worthwhile. If I am booking flights now I would put Liverpool last on my list, its a shame the airport has not come up to its futuristic standards as it is not the fault of the customers its the fault of the personnel who run it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Embarrassing Moment for UK Border”

Written on: 01/01/2014

I witnessed a female UK Border employee rudely accusing a man and his family of something but ended up admitting him into the country any way. I recommend sensitivity training for people working the the pubic servant industry.She was totally out of order and I hope she gets what's coming to her!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview