Pioneer PDR-609 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.8 / 5
73% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Sound Quality

  • Features

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Pioneer PDR-609 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Pioneer PDR-609

Pioneer PDR-609
Pioneer PDR-609
Pioneer PDR-609
Pioneer PDR-609

Specification for Pioneer PDR-609


Features:
  • Plays and records CD-R and CD-RW media
  • 24-bit analog-to-digital converter
  • CD text input and display
  • Digital Source Synchro Recording
  • Digital recording control lets you adjust recording level
  • Refine your search

    • Average Rating Over Time
    • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
    • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
    • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

    Latest Reviews

    ★★★★★

    “Pioneer PDR 609”

    Written on: 24/05/2019 by Landloper (1 review written)

    I've found the PDR 609 to be easy to use and capable of producing great copies. It is also a decent as a stand-alone player and as a transport feeding a DAC. Perhaps nowadays, with computers and audio-capture software, these kind of machines are no longer needed, but I still have two of them and prefer to use a PDR 609 for capturing vinyl to CDR. The 609 has a headphone out - useful when recording to avoid any chance of the turntable being adversly affected by the sound from the speakers. One criticism I have is that the layout of the remote is a little cluttered, so entering track data before finalizing is made harder than it need have been. A shame there is no connection for a keyboard - a simple measure that would considerably enhance the user experience. Overall this is a super machine. I bought my first one over 10 years ago and it is still working as perfectly as the first time i used it.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 3 0
    ★★★★★

    “I've had the deck for several years, and am still very...”

    Written on: 01/10/2010

    I've had the deck for several years, and am still very satisfied with it. Pristine audio capture, pretty good features, and a good set of I/O (Coax Digital, Optical Digital, and RCA Analog). CD-Text capability is quite useful, but not simple to set up on the deck itself. If you're looking for a classy, high-end audio capture unit, this is THE deck you want. Only kvetch: It uses slightly-more-expensive CD-Digital-Audio disks, but overall, it sounds great.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★☆

    “Answer to below and others with blank media issues is...”

    Written on: 20/10/2009

    Answer to below and others with blank media issues is that the 609 will only use audio cdrs or audio cdrws, and not the pc ones found everywhere these days. The audio blanks are more expensive and not sold at the supermarket! Type in 'audio cdrw' on ebay is your best bet. As far as the 609 goes, it is good value for money with a good sound quality; a recommended piece of kit.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    Tk_Versatile's Comment

    Written on: 01/08/2013

    (Pioneer PDR-609)
    Hi, Once recording is complete then proceeding to finalize & play, the recorder refuses to complete its process hence loosing all that`s been done; despite having no problem whatsoever for almost 2yrs. Please advise. Thanks

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    Read 1 Comment
    ★☆☆☆☆

    “I am in a similiar position where my old cdrw's have...”

    Written on: 20/10/2009

    I am in a similiar position where my old cdrw's have stopped working as I reused them for yonks. Soon as I tried some brand new cdrw's (several brands) it comes up 'pro disc'. Same with cdr's incidentally, which means I can no longer use it as a recorder. Does anyone know what the issue is with media? Until I can find an answer I do not recommend anyone buys this product. Any help is appreciated.
    Ian

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    Guest's Comment

    Written on: 10/09/2011

    Only use tdk 74=minute discs, very fussy about discs

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    Read 1 Comment
    ★★★★☆

    “For me, it does what it says on the tin. Pioneer...”

    Written on: 08/03/2009 by Ljeff13 (1 review written)

    For me, it does what it says on the tin. Pioneer PDR-609 makes CD copies from pretty well any source, and as long as you read the instruction booklet you get excellent results: copying via coaxial from CD to CD-R or CD-RW gives you a copy which is to my ears (and through a very analytical system) identical to the original. Ditto if you want to record from a high-quality analogue front-end - your CD copy will contain exactly what is on your source, and you know it will play on any machine. As a CD player, it sounds OK for most purposes, but I would always prefer to listen through a quality dedicated player. I found it a bit fiddly to use, not quite as user-friendly from analogue source as it could be. The analogue recording facility only works automatically if the source is very clean (i.e. if breaks between tracks are v quiet), so if you are not critical about quality and want more convenience you may prefer one of the cheap turntable/USB units which link to your computer. That will presumably be OK for iPod and download sound quality. Also the Pioneer copies in real time, so it's much slower than a computer-based copy arrangement. CD-RW works fine but erasing from them is fiddly. Depends what you want. For top quality recording, and if you're prepared to accept the fiddly bits as above, I found it does the job really well.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 2 0
    ★★★★★

    “Pioneer PDR-609.This is a beautiful bit of kit. Even...”

    Written on: 19/01/2008

    Pioneer PDR-609.This is a beautiful bit of kit. Even though it's been around a couple of years, it's still a top of the range cd recorder and player. Great looks and easy to use, for the amateur or professional.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★★

    “After more than 3 years my analog input doesn't work...”

    Written on: 09/11/2007 by DOURIK (1 review written)

    After more than 3 years my analog input doesn't work any longer.

    Does anyone have the remedy.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★★

    “I don't understand the folks having issues with...”

    Written on: 19/01/2007 by tangman01 (1 review written)

    I don't understand the folks having issues with recording media. I assume they are not using CDs designed for Digital Audio - this recorder REQUIRES that you use CD-R and CD-RW which say Digital Audio on them.

    Really simple method for duplicating CDs, using optical digital input. The 609 will copy and finalize with the push of a couple of buttons.

    The Pioneer PDR609 makes nice recordings from vinyl as well, although please forget any ideas you have that much of the process is automated; the track-sensing software in this (and I bet almost all others) recorder really can't do a good job of dividing one song from another by itself. Therefore you have to sit with it and tell it (via front plate or remote) to 'start a new track now.'

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 1 0
    ★★★★★

    “I have had this recorder for about 2 years, and I have...”

    Written on: 22/10/2006 by Electrojedi (1 review written)

    I have had this recorder for about 2 years, and I have found it to be superb for recording off Vinyl, CD and Tapes. It is superb at recording from both Digital and Analogue inputs.

    I have recorded off my LP12 and found them to be very warm sounding, and it has kept the warmth and detail of the Sondek.

    Tapes are also a very good transfer, but this depends on the tape decks ability to play the cassette accurately.

    CD to CD - there is no difference in quality from the original. If there is I have not heard any. As long as you use the digital Output from the player you use. It is much better than the computer sound you get when you record CD's.

    I use the CD-RW's by Maxell, and they work with no problems, but ensure they have audio on them and not data. Anyway, you should have got one in the box with the Pioneer PDR609 CD player.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★☆☆☆

    “I have exactly the same problem with my Pioneer PDR609...”

    Written on: 25/11/2005 by 328itim (1 review written)

    I have exactly the same problem with my Pioneer PDR609 DC player. I've just spent £30 on a variety of packets or RW disc, and every single one comes up as a Pro disc! It clearly says in the manual that the discs I have bought have been checked for compatibility with this unit. This isn't the case, I haven't managed to find a disc to use yet.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    333277_Kernowdrewsta's Response to 218443_328itim's Review

    Written on: 24/12/2007

    I have just come up with the problem with the protected disc hence why I am on the forum. the original discs that i have used are from JVC. they are actually called pure digital sound, cd-r80. bit of a red front with a brownish triangle on the front cover. i had never had a problem with the machine until i started using other discs. to my knowledge these are the only ones that work. you would think in this day and age that every recordable disc would work, or maybe we should all buy better models!!

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    Read 1 Comment
    ★★★☆☆

    “Why can't the Pioneer PDR 609 use RW discs ? ”

    Written on: 04/10/2005 by Sean B (1 review written)

    Why can't the Pioneer PDR 609 use RW discs ?
    I record onto minidisc -(which can be edited ) -
    If I could then transfer from minidisc to RW discs - and then to data discs via computer, this would soleve an obvious problem. So why won't it accept RW discs ???
    Please answer my query

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    239920_Corky252's Response to 212583_Sean B's Review

    Written on: 24/04/2006

    I use TEAC CD-RW Audio discs in this unit with no problem. But they have to be labelled Audio.

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    Read 1 Comment

    Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

    Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

    Thanks for asking a question.

    Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

    We will email you when the question is on the site

    overview