Yamaha AX396 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★★
4.6 / 5
86% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Sound Quality

  • Features

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Yamaha AX396 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Yamaha AX396

Yamaha AX396
Yamaha AX396
Yamaha AX396
Yamaha AX396

Specification for Yamaha AX396

Main characteristics
Remote Control: With Remote Control
Performance
Audio SNR: 110 dB
Frequency Response: 20 Hz - 20 kHz
RMS Power at 8 Ohms: 60 W
THD (Total Harmonic Distortion): 0.019 %
No. of Speaker Outputs: 4 Speakers
Other
Height: 15.1 cm
Width: 43.5 cm
Depth: 39.1 cm
Weight: 8.7 kg
Warranty: 2 Years

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Thinking about an update... No point! ”

written by Supergoat on 09/01/2022

I really cannot remember when I bought my Yamaha AX 396 but it must be at least 20 years. It was fabulous then and still is, all that has happen is the sources have been replace over time. With two Cambridge Audio floor mounted speakers... A Bluetooth receiver, Google chromecast audio,TV and CD player it does everything I want it to do with my new tech and superb sound quality... I don't need a sound bar, and a new amp, I will pass thanks. When it blows up then I will be in the market, till then I am good

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Niravpateljoin's Response to Supergoat's Review

Written on: 10/01/2023

very Nice Product

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“This amp is truly amazing”

written by JDW1234 on 14/06/2014

This amp is fantastic for everything, i listen to a range of music, from soft rock to electronic music, from classical to metal, and the clarity is amazing. It doesn't matter what you're listening to through it, you'll hear intricacies that are lost with many other amplifiers. As the amp is completely analogue, the sound doesn't sound digital and there is very little, if any distortion. I'm currently using it with a pair of wharfedale Valdus 400 speakers, which are a perfect match for this amp, with power, impedance and frequency range matching.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Gillram's Response to JDW1234's Review

Written on: 15/08/2014

ive just own one but really its a good amp .any kind of music its ok.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 6 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“I have owned my Yamaha AX-396 for nearly 3 years now &...”

written by on 22/02/2011

I have owned my Yamaha AX-396 for nearly 3 years now & it has been trouble free! I run x2 Kef Q15's & x2 Musical Fidelity MC4's and it works wonders, sounds lovely (speakers probably have an awful lot to do with it) I had a Technics Amp before this (unsure of spec) and the Yamaha out does it...by miles! Alot warmer sound, and alot more clout when turned up. Overall for the money (I paid £70 for mine) The Yamaha AX-396 is an excellent unit, with excellent sound quality. Doesn't do anything flash, but hasn't gone wrong in all the time I have had it, and my friend had it before me since new, and he went on to buy an even better Yamaha Amp!!...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Quality can only be fully appreciated with suitable...”

written by on 07/10/2008

Quality can only be fully appreciated with suitable input from CD, phono or tuner - and of course good speakers. My Rogers LS20a's have never sounded better !

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great sound for pound rating on the Yamaha AX396, one...”

written by on 11/06/2008

Great sound for pound rating on the Yamaha AX396, one of the best amps for the price EVER

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“After 2 years of great listening to the Yamaha AX-396...”

written by ampmaestro on 01/06/2005

After 2 years of great listening to the Yamaha AX-396 I can honestly give this unit the "thumbs up" for its ability to give beautiful audio reproduction. It has never faultered once and no matter what audio track you listen to, it sounds just perfect. It has enough bass to make the glass in my windows shudder and yet still reproduce those real low notes wihout distorting and the mid-range to high end audio (sometimes where it really counts) can compliment lots of speaker systems and make ever poor ones sound great. You can use the very best headphones on this amp too and appreciate just what can be reproduced into them and into your ears. This amp, I would refer to as "neutral", both in its ability to be be used with many other components and with its abilty to faithfully reproduce the signal going into it. Because of its neutrality, I have found that a quality Graphic EQ can be nicely matched to this amp to compliment its output to the 'enth degree. No matter which way you use it, you can rest assured that you can sit back and enjoy the resultant output.

With its clean lines, it looks mean, just like the neighbourhood bully and yet is surprisingly charming to listen to. Whoever designed this amp from head to toe, did a wonderful job. Whichever way you choose to describe its looks, the AX-396 does what it is designed to do, superbly. No bones about it, it is a champion in its class and would certainly take some beating. Apart from its bigger brother, the AX-596, I would say this is the best amp I have ever owned.

10 out of 10...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★★★★★

“I was really surprised by the Yamaha AX-396, before...”

written by tploom on 27/05/2005

I was really surprised by the Yamaha AX-396, before this I had a Yamaha reciever and I got to say the differents was night & day....
The reciver uses complicated digital processing technology that enables to listen the music in 5 or 6.. channels but increases the sound distortion making the music or movie sound like electrical.
When I bought the AX-396 I compared it with the reciever and the difference was big. AX-396 was able to produce the sound with so much clarity & purity that the vocals and the harmony of the play could be felt in the room, like i was at the front row :)
With the AX-396, ex. listening instrumental sounds like Dire Straits/Mark Knopfler, Eric Clapton or John Mellencamp, it leaves very good rythm and treble was soft and clear.
The AX-396 can be used with the reciever also, (for the mains), but that depends on the listeners taste I think.
for speakers i would suggest Audes-speakers (jazz, blues, 037.1) - it has what they say "profeSsional sound".

If harmony & natural sound is important to you, then I would suggest Yamaha's amplifier: AX-396 or higher. (it has Total Harmonic distortion in CD/DVD: only 0,008%) - can you imagine that :)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Ajibijobay on 6th November 2019 Report this content
Is the 396 good for listening to a turntable with mm cartridge?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview