Honda Civic Type R Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★★
4.7 / 5
94% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Performance

  • Practicality

  • Reliability

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Honda Civic Type R - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Honda Civic Type R

Honda Civic Type R
Honda Civic Type R

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Super ep3 type R”

Written on: 22/09/2013 by Leonharvey85 (1 review written)

The ep3 civic type R is amazing! I've owed one now for 8 years, never let me down and drives the best ever. I have done so many mods to it now, it flys past evos etc. I would love honda to bring a four wheel drive type R out, it would be insane! Supercharging the ep3 is the best mod you could add to the car, but hay I could not stop there, I've spent £20000 plus on the car now. The looks you get when you launch off from a still start is like what the hell! Even bikes can't keep up. Deffo buy one you wnt be disappointed.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“fast little car”

Written on: 14/06/2013

great at low speeds in six gear/but fast on take off if u need it.uses very little full if u don't trash it & very comfortable.i don't have kids so 3 doors is plenty.i brought this one cause I like the style might just buy another one when I treat myself. there is nothing I don't like about it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Wish they still made this model”

Written on: 22/05/2012

Have owned a 05 ep3 type r since new. Without a doubt, the best car I have ever owned. The engine and gear change are super smooth. Handles excellent. It is quick below 6000rpm and absolutely flies above. Were going to change it when it reached 85000 miles, however couldn't bear to. It is now on 115000 miles and still does not miss a beat. With the exception of a sticky caliper, has not needed anything other than tires, disks etc (and the odd drop link!). Our other car is a brand new astra vxr, however with both keys to choose from, I ALWAYS go for the ctr as it is simply a joy to drive. Never had bad service from my Honda dealer. If you are wanting a quick car, give one a go! The ony downside I have ever noticed is that due to the lack of sound proofing, road noise can be tiresome, however the engine noise is sublime! If they still made this model, I would be ordering one now!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“52 Plate EP3 Type R”

Written on: 28/04/2012

Having spent 13 years driving 80's Vauxhalls mainly, this has proven to be a breath of fresh air! I've been a die hard GTE 16v fan for as long as I can remember. Bowled over by how good this Honda is from the factory. The engine is so smooth. Nearly but not quite on a par with a BMW straight 6 in my experiance. My only niggles are the headlights aren't great and the trim, especially the seat bolsters, aren't up to long term wear and tear. Other than that the car is an absolute dream. Just a shame Vauxhall went down the turbo route and pushed me this way really. Everything a newer version of the GTE could have been and more! If you are thinking of buying one BUY ONE. Just make sure it's been serviced on the button and it'll do you proud...........even high milers.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“In the words of Ron Burgandy...Fantastic, super dooper!”

Written on: 03/04/2012 by ands (1 review written)

Bought this car (milano red 51 plate) a couple of weeks ago with the usual comments about the car..boy racer, mid life crisis, hairdressers car etc etc. but have got to say i'm blown away by this car..why you ask? Well here's a few reasons to go ahead and buy! 1st off it's nimble and holds the road incrediably. it's ultra quick, sounds like you wouldn't beleive when pushed but also excellently refined when driven sensibly. Loads of room, big boot space, comfy rear passenger seats, excellent type r front seats that hold you in tightly when cornering (however Honda Type R make not recaro seats) got to say i do rate this car highly. however here are a couple of things to consider when purchasing! 1. stiff suspension when riding on normal around town roads 2. if you put your foot down petrol will run out quickly 3. insurance is going to be about mid range price 4. parts will be relatively expensive 5. cabin noise will be quite loud on motorway 6. putting up with stupid comments from idiots about car being a boy racer car! 7. is only a 4 seater despite having enough room for 5? despite this, id say go for it. How can you fault a Honda? brillaint!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Honda Civic Type R 2002”

Written on: 30/03/2012 by civicfreak (1 review written)

I bought this car when it was 2 years old and had 30k on the clock. As an oap I have had many cars but this one has been outstanding. It now has 105k on the clock and I still get nearly 40 mpg. OK I am not a boy racer! However it took a family of 5 to Nice,many camp sites in south of France, toured Scotland, wales and most of England. We live on the South coast over looking the sea so salt is no problem either. My old mate Len takes delivery of the car once a year, does goodness knows what and hands it back at the end of the day with a new mot. I am thinking of Portugal next so until then keep on driving.......

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I have a honda civic type r in black with red trim....”

Written on: 17/05/2011

I have a honda civic type r in black with red trim. Omg!!! Fantastic car....but jst recently its stopped boosting after 6000 rpm???? Does any1 no wot this cud b? As I'm reli concerned. Please msg me at [email protected] all msgs welcome and thnk u people

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 02/09/2011

That sounds like you need too top up your oil i-vtec wont kick in if oil is to low or low on petrol give it a check

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“I've just bought one recently (march 2011) and before...”

Written on: 24/03/2011

I've just bought one recently (march 2011) and before i bought it i was worried about some of the common symptoms such as chain failure, 2nd gear problems, valve clearances if they had been done or not etc. I put all of those behind me and i went and bought a 2002/52 plate one with 105k miles, fsh and most of all HPI CLEAR!! I would advise a induction as a must do mod and a aftermarket exhaust or if you can't afford the exhaust just get chop the silencer off and weld straight pipes on it and just listen to it roar as it climbs up the revs past 5.5k hitting VTEC! Only down side is when your sometimes building up you revs to hit VTEC , pedestrians or people who are not inside the car will be thinking why on earth are you ragging the bullocks of it but dont worry that would be covered by the smile on your face from the immense vtec sound!

ONE MORE IMPORTANT THING WHICH I SHOULD HAVE PUT FIRST(HENCE IN CAPS) ALWAYS AND I MEAN ALWAYS KEEP A EYE ON THE OIL LEVEL! NEVER LET IT DROP AS THESE CARS HA! THEY CONSUME OIL LIKE ITS PETROL!! AND IF YOU VTEC IT ALOT, REMEMBER OIL CHECK IS A MUST FOR ME EVERYDAY! ..ALSO IF YOUR BUYING FROM A PRIVATE, BEFORE YOU ACTUALLY START THE CAR, TURN THE KEY SO ALL THE LIGHTS ARE ON THE DASH AND NONE OF THEM HAVE THE BULB MISSING I.E ENGINE MANAGEMENT!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Ive had my type r for aprox 2months now....i had...”

Written on: 06/12/2010

Ive had my type r for aprox 2months now....i had doubts before i test drove it, thinking im expecting too much as i read lots of reviews on how good thay were....when i test drove it the car blew me away and i was sold on it instantly!

its very quick for a small car and does very well aginst most of the arragont bmw/merc/jag drivers.
Also its rival the st170 likes to hair up the side of ya :)but the civic pulls away nicely.

However it is juicy!..the first week i had it i put 48pnd in and that filled it...i got 245miles to that.On long motorway you can expect 300 to the tank.

I have to children 1 age 6 and 1 is 3 months and we all get in and out fine.with room in the boot for push chair.

im 24 and the insurance isnt too bad but dear enough to put people off. 130 a month with 3 years no claims. 0 points. But like me if you really want one you will pay it.

The v-tech is brilliant and it really is a race car but keep it under 5000rpm and its a normal 2.0

OVERALL......EXELLENT

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“i would recomend one of these cars to anybody, i...”

Written on: 21/02/2010

i would recomend one of these cars to anybody, i bought mine with 70000 on the clock, fairly tidy a few scuffs chips and rattles and in need of a good clean and full service for 6000 which to me felt like more than it was worth but once i had been driving it for a week i fell in love with the car. it never fails to put a smile on your face the sheer grip in corners and acceleration is incredible. It can be a Practical car with plenty of room for passengers or luggage. until you want a bit of fun when it turns into a raging beast.

one piece of advice to someone buying this car is make sure it has full service history and check tyres for wear on the inside edge as mine were down to the thread!although this is common on CTR's due to the way the camber arms are setup, you need to be aware to avoid a nasty blowout. i managed to get a brand new set for free from the seller :)
also listen out for any creaking/clunking/knockin from the steering rack!

by far the best car for 6k

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I brought my civic type r just over a year ago now and...”

Written on: 14/02/2010

I brought my civic type r just over a year ago now and absolutly love it to bits. Ive had lots of fast hot hatch backs and this is the best of the bunch fantastic gearbox with a lovely short throw and a nice mechanical feel to it makes it feel like a proper little racing car gear change. The engine is an absolute screamer when you are driving along at normal speeds it very smooth and refined with perfect fuelling and a nice bit of low down pull thanks to its low speed cam!! but when you get it round to 6000rpm the cam profile changes in the engine {VTEC) and the thing just goes beserk all the way round to 8250rpm red line. And the noise is awesome its like a 2 stroke motor bike on four wheels the engine spins up so fast and freely it makes me smile everytime i zip it down the road. Its a very quick car but does need to be driven above 6000rpm when driving it hard to get the most out of it ive heard alot of people knocking the performance of these cars but i honestly think they dont know how to drive them properly. Im yet to be shown a clean pair of heels by anything yet down a country road on a dry day the type r really is that good when driven properly. Ive had no reliability problems wotsoever upto now. And it always gets admiring looks wherever i drive it its still a great looking motor after all these years. So to anyone looking at buying one of these do in my opinion there still the best allround hot hatch on the road bar none.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Honda Civic Type-R, EP3 2002. ”

Written on: 07/02/2010 by Cleggsta (1 review written)

Honda Civic Type-R, EP3 2002.

I own a 2002 Civic Type R (EP3). The car ha a naturally aspirated 2 litre engine, with the I-Vtec system. It produces as near as damn it 200 bhp, with a 0-60 time of 6 and a half seconds. The car I bought is 8 years old, and has passed the 100k miles mark. When I considered this car, the mileage really did put me off but I test drove it anyway, and within minutes had agreed to buy the car. Even though its 8 years old, it drives so nicely that you would think it was a quarter of its age. Ive been driving a 1 year old Mercedes C class lately, and the Type R feels as tight and as new inside as that!
The engine uses cam chain instead of cambelt, and these need to be replaced after around 120k miles. The car is really quick, and puts you back in your seat under hard acceleration. At around 7000 revs the engine produces its peak power, and at 6500rpm approx the V-tec boost of power kicks in. The quiet and sensible sound of the engine turns into an insane rally car style roar during V-tec, and the power increase even at 7000rpm and above is really noticable. The engine tops out around 9000rpm.
The car is very well put together. In an 8 year old car I expected small knocks and rattles to be part of the deal, but the cabin and trim are very secure and sturdy, and there are not rattles or odd sounds from the car at all.
Inside is well designed, with the mid-centre console mounted gearstick interesting, but very easy to get used to. Infact, I dont see why all cars dont have the stick there! The front and rear passengers have plenty of space inside the airy cabin, and storage is not a problem with small cubby holes all over the place. A fair sized sliding cupboard exists where you would normally find the gear stick, it is nice and deep and could easily hold quite a few double cds in cases. There is also the option to slide forward a double cup holder, which tucks away out of sight in the same small space. The seats and dash compliment each other well I think, with black being the main theme inside my car, with bits of red trim here and there to set it off. At night, the instruments are illuminated orange, making them easy to read, without blinding you. As I say the interior is very well made, and very sturdy. The front bucket seats are firm, and support you very well without being uncomfortable - they really hold you in place during adventurous cornering and they look wonderful. The rear is trimmed to match the front, and it all looks really good.

The car is quick, very quick. The standard brakes I find to be very good, and they can stop this machine very well. The car handles superbly I would say - body roll is not really something you have to worry in this car, as there is virtually none of it! It without the best handling car I have ever had the pleasure of driving. Where it comes short of some of the competition in terms of electrical goodies and equipment (such as brake assistance and stability control gadgets), it certainly makes up for it in the speed and handlings department! It handles that well, that I dont see any reason for you to require ESP in this car anyway!
The car is very good looking, very smooth and slick. The lines of the car look good from all angles (other than square on from the front where it isnt so pretty)and the side skirts, rear spoiler and standard rims look just right. Im honestly shell shocked at how well an 8 year old 100000+ mile car looks and drives!

When buying one, dont worry about the mileage of the car SO LONG as the car has full stamped service history, and receipts with it. Im told that with the right care, these things run forever! For a 120,000 mile car at 8 years old, still expect to pay between 4500 - 5000 for a good example. If theyve been well looked after, theyre worth every single penny, believe me! Im writing this review, as I was sceptical about a high mileage Honda Civic Type R being any good, and I almost didnt go to look at it. Im so glad I did, Ive driven a lot of cars over the years, but without doubt this is the best machine I have ever driven!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I am 21 and i don't think i could ever have a better...”

Written on: 15/07/2009

I am 21 and i don't think i could ever have a better car for my age!

Bit of an improvement from my 1999 Peugeot 206 1.4 :)

This car is awesome! Drives amazing! blows most cars away, looks fantastic and is all in all an outstanding car!!

Only problem i have had is a bad knocking noise from the front when i touch any bump in the road. I had the car looked at and they couldnt determine where the noise is from as the suspension and all surrounding of the wheels were spot on! Honda then assured me it was the steering rack and my options were either £700+ for a new one, or £150 for them to modify it themselves, which doesn't really seem to have worked :S

However, this has not changed my views on this vehicle at all! Everyone that sees or goes in my car absolutely loves it!

I would definatley recommend a honda civic if you are looking for something which looks nice, drives amazing, really fast and can be good on fuel depending on how you drive it (like most cars)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Tezza85's Comment

Written on: 03/03/2010

i have the same problem on my car. and i have been in other ep3's and they do the same. i think it could be the anti roll bar. it may need some new bushs. or it is generally the damper working overtime on the poor maintained british rds. but i have been asured from my dealership it isnt nothing to worry about

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“i got a 53 plate Honda Civic Type-R the other day 7k...”

Written on: 03/05/2009

i got a 53 plate Honda Civic Type-R the other day 7k on the clock and got it for £3000 i am very lucky it is the fastest car i have had its amazin

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Have owned one of these cars for 2 years now has 59000...”

Written on: 16/11/2008 by crazychris69 (1 review written)

Have owned one of these cars for 2 years now has 59000 miles on the clock, never had a thing go wrong with it just changed the front disks and pads all round.
Its fast fun reliable, will catch out a lot of cars if driven properly BMW's (not the M's though)
Recommend fitting an after market exhaust, bit more power but really makes it sing at the top of the rev range! Sounds like a motorbike at 8k rpm!
To the post 2 down if you have gone through 2 gearboxes and clutches in such a short period I suggest you learn how two drive. Maybe an auto.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I read every review going and went ahead and bought...”

Written on: 11/11/2008 by lester123 (1 review written)

I read every review going and went ahead and bought one. WOW what a car. Fast, reliable, amazing handling, relitivley cheap to run and looks great too. Bought an 03 model with just 30,000 miles on the clock. It was a bargain so couldn't refuse. Have owned S60 T5 and Impreza and although the type r is much lower spec the fun factor makes up for it and it would easily keep up with them in the real world. now stop reading reviews and go and buy one and see for yourself! Oh yeah, dont buy the new one, go old skool.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Had the Honda Civic Type R for 6 months had 2...”

Written on: 10/06/2008

Had the Honda Civic Type R for 6 months had 2 gearboxes 2 clutches 2 flywheels broke down 5 times. None of this was repaired on warranty they said it was not covered the car cost £16000 and I paid up to £10000 on repairs. Avoid this car because if it goes wrong it wont be fixed on warranty.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I have had my Honda Civic Type R new since 2002 it has...”

Written on: 05/05/2008 by bryank67 (3 reviews written)

I have had my Honda Civic Type R new since 2002 it has done 42k miles and not let me down yet, it still turns head and will show lesser Porsche boxsters a clean pair of heels and I can seat five people with a decent boot top that. The dash board mounted close ratio six speed box is a drivers dream 200 BHP under the bonnet is less horse power than some of its rivals but being lighter than nearly all of them power to weight ratio either matches or betters them. 6.5 seconds to 60MPH and top speed of 146mph is decent enough and sensible driving returns economical milage.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Overall a great car to drive, not the fastest hot...”

Written on: 29/02/2008 by darren westwood (1 review written)

Overall a great car to drive, not the fastest hot hatch but it is the most exciting to drive out of them all.
You actually feel connected to the car when you drive it and it still gives me a buzz after 12 months of ownership, think it will be a couple of years yet before I get fed up with this one and a couple of years before another car manufactory can match the overall driving experience that you get when behind the wheel.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Read the road tests they are all true. Its a pocket...”

Written on: 22/01/2008

Read the road tests they are all true. Its a pocket rocket which handles like a go cart, the feed back is excellent, this is a car that you really can drive by the seat of your pants & the engine sound is superb when the VTEC kicks in. I've driven the new Type R & although it's a good car I can't help feel it's lost it bit of its soul. The original is still the best...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview