Cadenabbia, Hotel Britannia Excelsior Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Cadenabbia,  Hotel Britannia Excelsior
★★★★☆
3.8
82.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Cadenabbia, Hotel Britannia Excelsior - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Cadenabbia, Hotel Britannia Excelsior

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Stress free stay”

★★★★☆

written by on 30/07/2012

We found the hotel to be very good value for money. The location was ideal for visits in the area and we had a fabulous view of the lake and Bellagio. The staff were helpful and had to cope with a large population of visitors on coach trips. The menu was simple and satisfied guests when we were there. The lido and sun terrace were great the bar a little old fashioned so we didn't go in there.it was clean our room wasade luxe and we could watch the opening ceremony live in our room . It was a lovely holiday. Don't be put off by negative comments some people seem to enjoy complaining,

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I stayed at the Britannia Excelsior Hotel in August...”

★★★★★

written by Owen Dignan on 20/03/2011

I stayed at the Britannia Excelsior Hotel in August 2010 as part of a Shearings Package.The hotel has recently been refurbished and my single roomon the first floor was excellent.It was full board and the choice of food was excellent for every meal ranging from Italian to English to a range of salads,Although a buffet, the waiters brought a carafe of red or white wine or a beer to your table at lunchtime or evening and if you went out for the day you could order a packed lunch.The staff were friendly, efficient and courtious.The only disappointment was the hotel bar which looked like a student union bar.However, all drinks were free.There is an open air swimming pool with bar, again all drinks free, and changing rooms for hotel guests.There was entertainment in the evenings of modest quality.Cadanabbia is a pretty village on the shores of Lake Como with beautiful views and plenty of places to visit.However, there is no nightlife in Cadanabbia.

I would certainly recommend the hotel - especially the food and the friendly staff - and I certainly hope to return there.It would suit a more mature holiday maker.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Hotel Brittania Excelsior, Cadenabbia, Italy, The...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 15/03/2011

Hotel Brittania Excelsior, Cadenabbia, Italy, The staff, especially the blond woman and the desk, was dreadful. All of the staff were very cold and unfriendly. The food was dreadful. We took a look at it each evening and walked out because of the smell. some nights they a a buffet that looked like dog food.
if you are under 70 yrs. there is absolutly nothing to do. in the basement, yes basement, some evenings Harry with a portable organ and a harmonica plays as a one man band and the old timers dance with their All Inclusive bands around their wrists. bad experience......not located near anything. one good reataurant about a mile away,"Isole". Stay away - hotel for old
Englih and German people. obtw - although the rooms were clean we found 2 big bugs crawling on our bath towels and when we brought the bugs down wrapped in a towel to show them the blonde woman flew into a rage and said we have an exterminator contract - so what - here are your bugs and we need another room. bugs were big and brown with weird front legs. the experience in this hotel ruined our lake como vacation

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

“The hotel was very nice, and staff were good, but the...”

★★★★☆

written by on 30/11/2010

The hotel was very nice, and staff were good, but the food lets it down!I lived on bread mainly, and was bloated by the end of the holiday.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Just back from Hotel Britannia Excelsior...”

★★★★★

written by jackie Hemming on 30/09/2010

Just back from Hotel Britannia Excelsior Cadenabbia,Sept 2010..Great value for money hotel.I cannot rate this hotel highly enough.Just fantastic.Staff,food,rooms,free bar(we went all inclusive) and the overall service was first class.Beautiful places to visit round lake. We loved Menaggio,Bellagio and Como.All easy to get to places whither by boat,bus or their little train! Looking forward to going back.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Just returned from a weeks'break here to the Britannia...”

★★★☆☆

written by on 28/04/2010

Just returned from a weeks'break here to the Britannia Excelsior.We were actually glad that we hadn't paid extra for front facing/balcony room as we had a lovely refurbed room on top floor overlooking mountain/village.(Was a wee bit surprised that if new towels or linen was required,there was a price to be paid.Unusual.)Apart from that,many of the "desirable"front rooms seemed to be allocated to mostly Italian schoolkids who took every opportunity to smoke,shout & generally make pests of themselves long into the evening!Same kids also ran riot through dining room at breakfast!Thank goodness they were more "contained"at dinner!And don't get me started on the reception area when 5/6 coachloads of them descended at once!Where were their teachers?Nightmare!
In saying that, ,we did enjoy our stay & met some good folk - mostly in the Bar in the evening,thankfully,a kid-free zone!
Food was generally fine but the breakfast was a big disappointment,too haphazard.And why were the tables not cleaned & food replenished more efficiently,sp.in the morning?
There isn't much to do in the village itself better to use it as a base & visit other places instead.Bellagio,Menaggio,Como,Lugano for example.All easy to get to on your own.No need for tours to these places.
All in all,a reasonably priced holiday.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Great value, the staff are excellent cannot do enough...”

★★★★★

written by on 16/11/2009

Great value, the staff are excellent cannot do enough to help.The food is very good,buffet style with a good selection at breakfast,lunch and dinner.The bar staff are good serving a good range of drinks which were all FREE from 8-30am till midnight.Rooms are clean and comfortable recently refurbished all fitted with air con.The hot water is hot.All in we could not fault this hotel. week Nov 7-14 2009 tour operator Shearings Coaches all in GREAT value.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“very bad hotel, a lot of rooms are not painted well,...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 10/11/2009

very bad hotel, a lot of rooms are not painted well, and a couple of rooms haves green walls above the shower, i think u can guese what that will be. recepcion speaks bad english the girl thats working in the night dont speaks any language at all, and that with 90% off brittisch guests, the other 2 girls are unfriendly, and the german girl is dressed sometimes to naked, sometimes is like there.... are fallin out of the blouse.

the bar gives very good service, the stuff and drinks are excelent.

cleaning ladys are doing there work.

food is just horrible, even my dog gets better food then they serve you there

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Tafia35Uk's Comment

Written on: 25/03/2010

How can this half-wit comment on the language skills of the staff at this hotel when he is unable to write in his own native tongue.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dustypuss's Comment

Written on: 27/07/2012

The girl on the "recepcion" might not speak good English but I bet she can spell better than you!!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“My wife and I had a really great holiday at the Hotel...”

★★★★★

written by on 27/09/2009

My wife and I had a really great holiday at the Hotel Britannia Excelsior last May. If you love Italian food as we do, you will will be pleasantly surprised. Plenty of choice, and some of it is cooked while you wait. Having nothing to pay for the drinks (we were on an all inclusive package),meant that we had no concerns about the Euro exchange rate. The rooms were clean and comfortable.The staff were very friendly and the lounges had plenty of space as you could always find a place to sit and enjoy the fantastic views across the lake.We could not find one thing to grumble about,(which is not always the case in the U.K.),but if you are really very fussy there are one or two little niggles that I will not even mention here.The one caveat I will mention is crossing the road outside the hotel.The Italian drivers tend to drive a little too fast, but isn't that the case everywhere nowadays? There you are, I'm starting to moan already.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Our first time with Shearings All Inclusive-Hotel...”

★★★★☆

written by on 20/07/2009

Our first time with Shearings All Inclusive-Hotel Brittania Caddenabia-absolutely lovely lakeside panorama, the weathr was superb-too hot-in 80's the whole week - our first visit to the Italian Lakes. The hotel was being refurbished with some areas still to be completed, but the main public areas were fine. Our bedroom had 2 single beds pushed together(we asked for a double) but room cleaned daily . Food was plentiful and choice excellent(I am vegetarian and I managed fine).
Not just hotel for "oldies" family hotel although thankfully very few children.The bar was in basement which was not very good, had to carry drinks up flights of stairs, or sit in basement bar all night.Company rep not too great, did not get local map/seemed only interested in selling excursions.If you want a lovely relaxing holiday with beautiful surroundings this is the one for you-We had a tremendous week and have raved about it ever since we came back home. We will certainly return.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“After reading unfavourable reviews on Hotel Britannia...”

★★★★☆

written by on 17/07/2009

After reading unfavourable reviews on Hotel Britannia Excelsior, we were more than pleasantly surprised with a newly renovated room on the 6th floor. Self service food, but good food. Friendly staff. Swimming pool over the road, nice pool, all inclusive still applies at pool side. You must wear a bathing cap to go in the pool. Clean changing rooms. Holiday overall was excellent value for money. Busy road in front of the hotel, but there are crossings nearby.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“You couldn't complain about value for money as we were...”

★★★★★

written by royandlol on 04/10/2008

You couldn't complain about value for money as we were on a Shearings All-inclusive deal which was very good. Yes we know that it was really full of the older persons but then we are one of them anyway it did not make any difference to our holiday and elderly people are usually more polite and friendly! The area is beautiful and scenic and getting about is easy and not too expensive.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The all inclusive package is excellent value for...”

★★★★★

written by on 28/09/2008

The all inclusive package is excellent value for money. We went at a time of a local bank holiday Aug 15th. It was a shame that the hotel didn't let its guest know of the local festival held up in the village. We had been here to the hotel this was our 4th visit so we were aware that on a Friday there were musical concerts at the Villa Carlotta well worth the 10 euro, a stunning setting for an evening concert. Also concerts at the St Georgio church over at Bellagio entry was free. Also one Saturday a concert over at villa Melzi Bellagio, Menaggio had a massive firework display the Saturday over the bank hol weekend. If you go read the local posters to find out about these events.
If you are up to walking the hotel gives you a map of local walks all graded as to how hard. San martino church is a hike up a steep donkey path but well worth it. The best place I have hiked to is Capelli Alpini (alpine chaple) the alpine meadow with its butterflies and flowers and a view like no other, then Varenna has Villa Ciprisi and Vila Monestero beautiful gardens and Varenna also has a small castle called Castello Vesio its a hike up a mountain path the castle is small but its worth it for the view up there. Villa Balbionelo down at Lenno is also a beautiful place. If you walk back to Cadenabbia you can go on the green path its about 5 km but takes you a lovely safe route back, I stress safe as it takes you away from the busy lake side road. If you want a lovely souvenier of your holiday pop up into the village behind the hotel, its like going back in time. Just across the village pub is a shop that sells art work done by the local artist he sells the small oil paintings for 10 euros they are stunning and the artist sells them to you himself. He is usually working in his shop in the mornings but if the shop is shut just go across to the pub his sons run the pub. If you want to bring back a scarf as a souvenir the little shop next to the hotel is the cheapest place and she had some lovely scarfs there. I bought back about 5, they worked out at 7 euro each but they were fab.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The Hotel is a very very very good 3 star in a...”

★★★★★

written by on 15/09/2008

The Hotel is a very very very good 3 star in a beautiful location. The staff is unbelievably helpful, especially at reception. There is the possibility of the all inclusive, and it is worth every penny! Do book a balcony and lake view room to have the stunning views over to bellgio nothing like it anywhere else!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“This will be our 4th return to the Hotel Britannia...”

★★★★★

written by on 02/08/2008

This will be our 4th return to the Hotel Britannia Excelsior with Shearings. I am 50 and my husband is 54. We went all inclusive and every lunch time we had a packed lunch made for us at the hotel and every day of our 2 weeks at the resort we had a picnic in a different magnificent setting every day. It was like being in heaven. there are lots of places to visit and stunning villas and gardens.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I would not recommend this hotel the Hotel Britannia...”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 28/07/2008

I would not recommend this hotel the Hotel Britannia Excelsior to others. Good location but downside the food and some staff could be friendlier and more helpful

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Very clean and friendly, Food good, view terrific....”

★★★★★

written by on 12/07/2008

Very clean and friendly, Food good, view terrific. Good location for buses and ferries. Staff very efficient
On the whole very good value

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“We could not fault the hotel, our only complaint was...”

★★★★★

written by jackathome on 26/06/2008

We could not fault the hotel, our only complaint was with the British pensioners who seemed to complain about anything and everything,
i.e from a cooked breakfast being available only from 8-9am( breakfast was from 7-10am).
No waiter service at meal times,it was help yourself with hot food served by staff.
One chap even complained he got water on his bathroom floor when he had a shower!
A group sat on the easy chairs in reception and then complained it was cold with the doors open.
Some people complained that the lift was not quick enough and they had to walk a flight of stairs with difficulty, then they were seen twisting and jiving on the dance floor.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I found the staff offhand, incompetent and unhelpful.”

☆☆☆☆☆

written by on 17/06/2008

I found the staff offhand, incompetent and unhelpful.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“This was our first visit to Lake Como with Shearings...”

★★★★★

written by on 13/05/2008

This was our first visit to Lake Como with Shearings Holidays leaving on 26 April 2008 and returning 4 May 2008. Although we had a delay of 3 hours in one of the mountain tunnels because of a traffic accident, this did not hamper the start of our holiday and the sight of the Lake and the Hotel when we arrived more than compensated as the sun was still shining and it was all breathtaking.
We were slightly alarmed at some of the comments we had read on this site before we embarked on our holiday but things must have changed at the Brittania Excelsior because we found it to be a place we would gladly return to. People have mentioned the coffee - when we were there the coffee was dispensed from superb machines which gave wonderful cups of various types of drinks, all free. We had a choice every evening of a salad bar, antipasta bar, soup, pasta dish, and a choice of about 4 English type meats/fish with a vegetable dish of the day and a potato dish, all of which tasted superb and what is more you could have had any amount of the salad, plus antipasta, plus soup, plus main dish if your stomach could take that amount (!) and in addition a choice of sweets, again as much as you would like. Brilliant holiday, whole-heartedly recommended!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview