Vax Carpet Cleaner Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.8 / 5
24% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Vax Carpet Cleaner - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Vax Carpet Cleaner

Vax Carpet Cleaner
Vax Carpet Cleaner
Vax Carpet Cleaner
Vax Carpet Cleaner

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“Washer perished”

Written on: 04/12/2020 by ReviewercalledLes (1 review written)

I have owned a Vax carpet cleaner for several years and it always worked well. Whilst recently cleaning carpets, the cleaner lost suction. I found that the washer in the upper part of the waste water container (where the hand held cleaner utensil can be inserted as required) had perished. AIr was being sucked in to the waste compartment and the machine was not sucking up the dirty water. I tried all the usual spare parts retailers for a replacement washer without success. I emailed Vax and they responded saying they no longer supplied washers for my model. During a recent trip to Wilco, I found a pack of hair bobbles £1 for 24. I measured them against the size of the required washer and it looked a match. I have tried a bobble in situ in the Tax and Hey Wilko! It works perfectly.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Very Poor Carpet Cleaner”

Written on: 22/01/2017 by Larsonag1964 (1 review written)

My wife bought one of these a while ago and we rarely ever use it. It is very poor at cleaning carpets and it gets blocked frequently. When blocked it is almost impossible to clear the blockage. I use a bent paperclip to clear the blockage, which is invariably a small amount of fluff from the carpet- just not good enough. This is a rubbish product, I don't know what made Vax put their name to it. It is simply not good enough for the purpose intended. I would have liked to have seen the thing used in a proper test run, showing it cleaning a carpet with a pile and not getting blocked, and also seeing it cleaned ou ready for the next time. This product is not fit for purpose and should not be bought by anyone thinking of using it for cleaning carpets. I would have given it a 0 star rating if there was such a rating. Do not buy one, it's a complete waste of money time and effort.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★☆

“VAX W86-DD-B Dual Power (Reconditioned)”

Written on: 28/05/2015 by blackwaterman (36 reviews written)

Bought a reconditioned model online via E-Bay for £60, and was delivered quickly, and looked new so may just have been a return rather than a repair. Very simple to fill and use. We used it with recommended Vax carpet cleaning solution also available from same site at a good price for 1.5 litre bottle. So far the light beige carpets here have been very effectively cleaned by this machine. The dual containers are very effective, easy to fill with clean (warm) water, adding the solution later. All controls are marked, with labels about what each one does. We didn't get, (or need), any instructions with a reconditioned item. It's surprising how black the water appears in the "dirty' tank! The roller brushes make a big difference in cleaning effectiveness, but they do need a little attention after use to remove any lint, hairs etc. We vacuumed a few days prior to actual washing, but there's always something to pick up. Carpets were, of course a bit damp afterwards, but not excessively so, and soon dried without problem overnight. Some gruesome-looking stains seemed to disappear immediately. We've used the smaller VAX 'Rapide' carpet cleaner, which seemed decent enough at the time, but had no roller brushes. This model was bigger so needed less filling etc, and cleaned a wider swathe of carpet of course. Motor noise didn't seem unreasonable. There was an upholstery attachment and associated flexible hose, smaller diameter than the usual vacuum cleaner hosepipe. We haven't tried this yet, but foresee it being useful for car seats in due course. I didn't believe, and certainly would never have paid, the RRP quoted as £299 for such an item, but at £60 + fluid costs, it seems reasonable enough value to look after a fair expanse of fitted carpet. Let's see how long it lasts! That's the reason for withholding the final star.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Blackwaterman's Response to blackwaterman's Review

Written on: 05/12/2016

One year later. Very hard to keep clean of carpet fluff, thread etc. Clear plastic parts look good when new, but impossible to clean and underneath are too flimsy resulting in breakage. The mouldings are just too detailed, with crevices which retain dust and dirt.
It's ESSENTIAL to vacuum carpets before washing with this.
Vax support seems very poor, with essentia spare parts unavailable/ not listed.
Overall... a good idea, but design needs beefing up for domestic use.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“DROPS EVERYTHING IT MANAGES TO PICK UP!”

Written on: 06/04/2015 by AylaArcher (1 review written)

This worked quite well the first two or three times I used it, then it started to refuse to pick stuff up. Now it's gone a step further ... if by chance it manages to pick something up, it drops it somewhere else. By no stretch of the imagination can it be called a carpet cleaner.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“VAX SPRING CLEAN CARPET CLEANER AND VAX W86-DP-B DUAL...”

Written on: 26/11/2014 by Sheehanuq256 (1 review written)

I bought this machine because a month ago I had ordered the VAX Dual Power W86-DP-B. After using the Dual Power for the first time, it cleaned my thick piled carpets very well and I found it easy to use. After about a total of five hours use, stopping every 5-6 minutes to let it cool down, the next time I used it the belt which rotates the brushes snapped. Unacceptable. Due to the fact that I had moved all the furniture out of the lounge and dining room so as to clean the carpets and being unable to find belts for the Dual Power since I live in Cyprus and this model is not brought here, I had to go out and buy another machine. I bought the Spring Clean which has cross action brushes. DON'T BUY IT. It is totally useless. The only thing it does is make a hell of a noise, it is very heavy compared to the Dual Power and my Bissell and does not clean anything but the surface of the carpets. It is not suitable for thick pile and I have regretted spending so much money on VAX products. When I called VAX customer services about the belt, they told me they don't ship spares abroad and that the broken belt was "MY PROBLEM!!!!!" I find this totally unacceptable. I will never again buy anything from VAX. Thank God for Amazon who said they will replace the Dual Power when I told them about the belt. We shall wait and see how that performs. I hope the belt doesn't snap on the replacement machine also.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Waste of money”

Written on: 30/09/2014

Nothing but problems since it was purchased. Overheats badly, filter cover falls off every time you so much as touch it and the power head only works when it feels like it (wiring problem?). The worst thing of all is that it needs just about as much time cleaning it as it does using it. Seriously. You really need to use another vacuum cleaner just to clean this one - or the performance drops off to nothing. Returning it to Godfreys is just yet another waste of time and money - it, eventually, comes back just the same. It is less than a year old and is going to the tip. Buy a decent machine.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Vax MA+CH Rapide Power. do not buy!”

Written on: 07/09/2014 by gadge51 (1 review written)

this machine has a design fault that very quickly makes it useless as it is a sealed unit and cannot be cleaned. Company refuse to take responsibility.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“terrible brushes spread smell around room”

Written on: 02/08/2014

I would not recommend this product my daughter got sick on carpet and I clean up the sick wit a bowl of water and scrubber brush I then used vax power max cleaner to freshen and dry carpet but it was useless the vax brushes made it worse and the bristle on brush smell causing the clean parts of my carpet to smell the same as the sick area so now my carpet in whole room smells musty with a hint of a smell of the sick on all areas of carpet cos the vax brushes spread it yuk

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Reneged on Warranty”

Written on: 13/05/2014 by Phil-Turnbull (1 review written)

I bought a VAX V-020 new online less than a year ago and registered it on the VAX website immediately. To register the warranty I had to give details of all the usual things including the serial number and the place I bought it from. VAX issued a warranty confirmation number by email which I filed. After only a couple of uses the main suction system stopped working so I got in touch with VAX. After several days of e-mails claiming they could not match the Model No. and Serial No., which was only resolved by me sending a photograph of the manufacturers label, they announced that they wouldn't support the warranty because the dealer I bought it from also sells used VAX equipment. Talk about cheats! They had accepted the all the original details to issue a warranty and the moment the device becomes faulty they find an excuse. DON'T TOUCH VAX EQUIPMENT PS .. not forgetting that the cleaner failed after only a few uses!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★☆☆☆

“DO NOT BUY!!”

Written on: 21/08/2013

I used the "Match" machine 3 times, and it was fine, but on the fourth occasion it would not spray the solution. Unfortunately, the guarantee had run out, and every shop that repairs such machines refused to touch it having in the past to wait four months for parts. The firm told me it would cost £60 to repair as it needed a new valve, plus p @ p!! No way. A waste of money - I could have hired a more powerful one for less.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Always have, always will...”

Written on: 17/07/2013 by Cassandwitch (1 review written)

Powermax VRS15W I recently purchased this carpet cleaner and I have never looked back. Bought it because of the kids and I now use it for everything! We have chickens so the entry to the back door gets grubby, 15 mins and it looks nearly new. Spills and after baby meals, not a problem. Moved the sofa and someone had spilt a drink and missed underneath, sprayed a bit of the cleaner on it, waited 15, effortless. I've even used it on a bed mattress and it came up trumps. Its east to clean, easy you put together and take apart an to say we live in toms thumbs house with no storage space I forget its there when I need it it's that compact. Every well ueed home should have one. I didn't need to know anything about this product before I purchased it, vax reputation for being a good supplier of carpet care speaks for itself.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“vax powermax vrs7w”

Written on: 30/06/2013 by johnburnett (1 review written)

don't buy it just throws out water and not enough suction to get it back up.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“VAX SPRING CLEAN CLEANER”

Written on: 29/06/2013 by jcs100 (1 review written)

Bought a VAX Spring Clean Carpet Cleaner yesterday, even after reading bad reviews, I went ahead and purchased one anyway. Easy to put together, nice and light.. But I'm so dissapointed.. 10 mins into it, no water was coming out of the cleaner, then 5 mins later leaked massive amounts of water all over carpet. There is no way near enough power to suck up the water, and my carpets are really wet, didn't even take off 'light' muddy paw prints, I used vax shampoo, and followed the instructions to the letter! Don't purchase this thinking its a 'carpet cleaner' its not! it's just not powerful enough, and only really cleans the surface lightly. Saying that its lightweight, and simple to use. But i didnt get the results i'd hoped for. One min no water, next min leaking, not powerful to suck up water, and didnt get down into the pile for a nice clean.. Sorry VAX .. Save your money, and pay attention too the bad reviews, i wish i had!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“NEVER BUY VAX Useless Vacuum, shocking customer service!”

Written on: 05/05/2013

Lock and open (for dust cylinder) nibs clogs with dust, impossible to open and empty and needs emptying every time you use otherwise red light always on and loses suction because it is sold as a pet vacuum it clogs easily with pet hair. V-e-r-y heavy machine. Not suitable elderly, infirm. Customer service is shocking. NEVER BUY VAX 0/5

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“vax cleaners”

Written on: 15/04/2013 by joandenham (1 review written)

If YOU ARE THINKING OF BUYING A VAX CLEANER PLEASE THINK AGAIN. I HAVE BEEN TOLD BY CUSTOMER SERVICE THAT THEY ARE VERY HIGH MAINTENANCE.THERE ARE ALSO NO CALL OUT PEOPLE.ALL YOU GET IS A HIGH COST PHONE CALL WITH NO JOY AT THE END. I WOULD GIVE THEM A MINUS RATING. BEWARE BEWARE.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★☆

“Vax Powermax”

Written on: 01/02/2013 by DingleLoopy (1 review written)

Brilliant. Simple to put together. Easy to clean, and tackled and cleared some serious stains. £65. Far cheaper than paying for carpet cleaner or hire.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

John131142's Response to DingleLoopy's Review

Written on: 19/03/2013

cleans carpet pretty good BUT does not suck up the water after

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“vax vacuum ”

Written on: 21/10/2012

worst customer service ever. Hose connection came apart in first month. They sent replacement. When it cam apart again in approx six weeks they were not interested. Guarantee now run out. been sat in corner for over nine months. Unless scrap. They not interested. Don't ever buy a vax.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Geebrooks9's Comment

Written on: 06/04/2013

Thanks, saved me buying a waste of space, really pleased I read your review.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Wate of my £399”

Written on: 29/09/2012

I recently bought a VAX Rapide V-027. It broke just before I tried to use it for the second time. It would not suck any water in. Called their customer care and said as I do not have the receipt anymore I am not entitled for a free fix!!! Vax recommends you should clean your carpet every 6-12 months but what they mean is make sure you loose your receipt within that time limit. VAX IF YOU ARE READING THIS YOU SHOULD KNOW THAT YOU CAN COPY FROM DYSON BUT CAN NEVER BE RELIABLE LIKE THEM! All I am left it with water all over my room and the customer care was happy to say sorry and then hung up! Brilliant! Ohh Ohh they also offered a £50 charge for it to be fixed after they took my £399. In one sentence: DO NOT BUY VAX.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“NOT FIT FOR JOB”

Written on: 19/09/2012

Cleaned half a carpet and started to smell burning rang customer service going to send me a belt( how do thay know it a belt)still not got belt. I then tried to get a new machine and went on the customer service web site for a return form for a new machine guess what no form i am in my 28 day period and still cannot get any help! guess the next route is legal

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Suehere4U's Comment

Written on: 21/09/2012

take it back to shop with receipt and get a refund, the goods have to be able to do the job they are sold for, you can even get a refund without a receipt for faulty goods, dont mess about with repairs its obviously not fit for the purpose it was sold, dont let them fob you off and say they will send it back for repairs demand a refund

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“vax ultra 2 rapide cleaner”

Written on: 05/09/2012 by rhondathompson (1 review written)

Just bought this machine after months of reviewing all on the market. It has cleaned my carpets very well, did the car upholstery and sofa as well. It cleans efficiently, carpets dried quickly, and the containers for the water and used water is very easy to use. A lot of other brands are actually a difficult set up. Already probably paid for itself doing all the jobs. Have to say early days but very impressed. Can't think of anything I don't like about it honestly.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview