Scaitcliffe Hall, Todmorden, Lancashire Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.9 / 5
75% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Location

  • Venue

  • Food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Scaitcliffe Hall, Todmorden, Lancashire - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Scaitcliffe Hall, Todmorden, Lancashire

Scaitcliffe Hall, Todmorden, Lancashire
Scaitcliffe Hall, Todmorden, Lancashire

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Our celebration was not a wedding but a birthday, my...”

written by on 13/12/2010

Our celebration was not a wedding but a birthday, my husbands 70th, the building is beautiful, however, extremely run down, carpets are threadbare. We had guests from London, Scotland, Yorkshire,Lancashire and South Manchester and 11 rooms were booked. The cost of the room and hot buffet was £1,200, we decorated the room ourselves, paid for our own DJ, the buffet was chicken curry, rice, jacket potatoes, cheese and coleslaw, beans and chilli, finger sandwiches. The finger sandwiches were cheap ready sliced baps, spread thinly with cheese and tomato and very thinly with (I am sure) was the cheapest egg mayo you could get. The mince in the chilli must have been the cheapest available, very greasy and it tasted off, the curry was tasteless. If the food had been good there would not have been enough for 70 people plus 7 children, at £15.95 per head it was an absolute disgrace. A guest came over with a jacket potato which was hard, as they all were, and uncooked, I told the bar staff who told whoever was cooking, she took the potatoes back and came back and put them back on the table, they looked like they had been on a bonfire, to be honest we just laughed. The food was taken away virtually untouched, the children, who were very hungry, would not eat it. Breakfast the following morning was appalling, I am sure they served the beans from the night before, the bacon was like rock and the sausages must have been the cheapest sausages available, and everything was cold. I must stress I am not a fussy eater, as long as food is reasonably good I am happy. Everyone felt awful telling me that the food was terrible, but no one liked it and all were afraid of being ill as they had tasted the chilli. The following morning we found out from another guest that it is run on a shoestring, the staff are jack of all trades, and the girl behind the bar that night had not served behind a bar for 10 years, the cook was not a cook, but just did everything that needed to be done, plus gardening, cleaning, bar work, as did all of the few staff they employ. It is such a shame because the building is beautiful. It is up for sale but whoever buys it will really struggle to build the reputation of this magnificent place up again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mothermother's Comment

Written on: 15/06/2015

won't bother going there then !!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“Although i rate this place as a wedding venue the way...”

written by on 03/10/2009

Although i rate this place as a wedding venue the way it is run leaves a lot to be desired. The decor is old and tired and the carpets are thread bare. Scaitcliffe needs a serious cash injection to make it the premier wedding venue it claims to be. Our wedding was lovely and we had a fantastic day but that was not entirely down to the staff at Scaitcliffe. There is no communication between the staff and the wedding file they have on you doesn't seem to be read thoroughly by anyone as we found that a lot of the things we had discussed with the wedding planner had not been organised and other staff were oblivious. We were ignored on the day of our wedding, not offered anything to drink and no-one came to see us at all until 20 minutes before we were due to get married. Certainly not treated like a Princess like the reviewer below! Scaitcliffe Hall is a wonderful building with lovely grounds offering a lot of lovely photograph opportunities. The food is great and the Crosslegh suite is a lovely place for your wedding breakfast/evening celebrations and i would recommend it as a potential venue for your wedding but not until it has decent management and staff who communicate and work together to fullfill your wishes on your special day. The last thing you want to be doing on your wedding day is chasing up stuff because it hasn't been done as per your instruction.(like i had to) One thing i would say is excellent about Scaitcliffe is the fact that they are not out to fleece you. Mention the word wedding and most places double the cost of everything but at Scaitcliffe they offer a range of menus/drinks options which fit all budgets. All in all i think Scaitcliffe is a good wedding venue and with a little more attention to detail,some refurbishment along with better management it would become the premier venue it claims to be.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Scaitcliffe Hall, Todmorden, Lancashire, is a...”

written by on 12/02/2009

Scaitcliffe Hall, Todmorden, Lancashire, is a beautiful building.
Quite attractive but plain gardens - altough it was winter when we visited. Still, it could be made more of for wedding photos. Needs information about the bedroom accommodation which isn't included in your ratings chart. Drab reception area needs life bringing into it.
The carpeting in main reception/stairway is threadbare and poorly fitted, in need of replacing. If this is the standard in the public area what might be surmised of the accommodation?
No images of standard bedrooms (other than the bridal suite, which we found to be well kempt when we visited) on the website which implies there might be something to hide.
Overall it looks like an injection of money is needed to raise it from the tired feeling it projects, as it doesn't match up to the "premier wedding venue" status it has been given. This issue is important when assessing the venue for wedding guests who wish to stay overnight.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“My daughter had her wedding reception at Scaitcliffe...”

written by on 02/08/2008

My daughter had her wedding reception at Scaitcliffe Hall on July 4th 2008. It was perfect in every way. Beautiful setting, good food and the staff were wonderful. Just perfect!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Fantastic, if your looking for a venue that will make...”

written by sam234 on 01/02/2008

Fantastic, if your looking for a venue that will make you feel at ease and turn all your plans into a dream, then this is the one.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The staff are amazing. They will do absolutely...”

written by suzytaylor on 15/09/2007

The staff are amazing. They will do absolutely anything too please. The venue is stunning. Even if it rains there are plenty of photo opportunities (it rained at ours).
The rooms are all glorious, especially the coach house for your reception. Cannot recommend this place enough.
Book your wedding here.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“All I can say is that the hotel and staff at...”

written by Plipsicle on 29/08/2004

All I can say is that the hotel and staff at Scaitcliffe Hall can not be faulted. My wedding day was perfect, the planning of the day was fantastic from my inital appointment at the hotel to the final arrangment of the day. The staff were fantastic in giving a detailed description of how my day could be and was. We were made to feel so welcome and nothing was to much trouble and we were always greated with a smile and A friendly face. The relaxed and personal approach from the wedding team always managed to put my mind at rest and calm us all down when the nerves got the better of us.

The grounds were stunning and a perfect setting for all photos of our day. Every visit took out breath away. Due to great weather our guests strolled around drinking champagne, and taking in the whole atmosphere with there every need taken care of.

The food at the wedding breakfast was amazing and the compliments from all guests proved it. The standard of serves was the best we had seen and carried on throughout the day right through to the eveing buffet and beyond. Once again compliment sto the Cheff and his team

It was the best day of our lives and our thanks go out to all at the hotel that made it so perfect

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I was made to fell like a princess at Scaitcliffe Hall...”

written by mrsb on 30/07/2004

I was made to fell like a princess at Scaitcliffe Hall the moment I arrived in the grounds. The service and the food were excellent! As far as our wedding is concerned it was perfect. We have also attended another wedding at this hotel and the standard was at the same high level. The receptions of both mine and my friends wedding took place in the Lancashire suite (the larger of the two rooms). This room could not be faulted in the slightest. On a sunny day (fingers crossed you too may get one of these) the patio doors swing wide open and the party spills out onto the patio and the immaculate lawns....... ahh...if only I could do it all again, time passes so quickly when you are having fun...

As far as mine and my friends weddings are concerned there were no 'bad points.' However alas, the hotel has two function rooms and hence hosts two weddings on Saturdays. I could not help but feel on both of the mentioned occasions that the wedding in the other suite (the Crossleigh suite) got a bit of a rough deal. Due to the nice weather everyone wanted to make the most of the stunning grouds, however beacause of the position of the doors to both these suites, the 'Lancashire suite wedding' has the monopoly over the grounds. The 'Crosleigh suite' wedding gets a shadey bit of courtyard around the back. This is not I assume a problem if the weather is not to good. If you are hoping for a sunny day and picture yourself wandering around the grounds then I would take this into account. All in all, I ended up feeling rather sorry for the other bride.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview