Anissaras, Galini Hotel Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.4 / 5
46% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Anissaras, Galini Hotel - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“hotel would be lucky if it was a two star rating . it...”

written by on 21/07/2010

hotel would be lucky if it was a two star rating . it was filthy dirty
guests were sticking to the reception floor.it looked like it had not been cleaned for months.cockoroches in our bedroom. holes in our sheets apart from giving us two single sheets for a double bed.the barman was the hight of ignorance.at least ten guests witnessed him screaming at younger trainee staff in front of young kids.the food was unedable left for long periods uncovered and flies landing on it.there was no entertainment what so ever.take my word for it.book somewhere else.believe me.
and by the way i forgot to mention the electric going of every day. falty towers.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Wont Go Back's Comment

Written on: 23/07/2010

Oooooooyou must of been there when we was there spot on with comments the reps was not very helpful what so ever it was a dumpin ground for allacation on arrivals

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“I stayed at this Hotel from 8th to 16th October 2009. ...”

written by on 23/10/2009

I stayed at this Hotel from 8th to 16th October 2009. The Hotel is described as 3 star, however, I would grade it minus 1 star. On arrival the only bedding on the beds was sheets. I asked at reception if we could please have some pillows and blankets, the response was "we are waiting for the laundry to be delivered". I had to continually request the male receptionist who did not make eye contact with me when I attempted to talk through the problems I was experiencing, he was engrossed in playing a computer game. He however, did tell me I would have to wait until tomorrow for the bedding because there was nothing he could do. I remained at the reception for over an hour until he got off him backside and went to the laundry room where he was able to conjure up the bedding. The towels have seen better days, they are a nice shade of grey with imprints of others peoples bodily floods ingrained on them. Our towels and sheets were not changed for five days, again it was problems with the laundry.
The rooms are akin to dungeons, dark and dingy, very depressing, the beds are concrete platforms, the mattresses are not very comfortable, the lighting in the dungeon was very bad, I am sure the bulbs were 15 watt, out of three lights only 2 worked. The odour from the sewage was something else.
No hot water in the morning which means you have to take a cold shower. The hot water trickles through at around 4pm. The food was absolutely atrocious, no further comment needed here.
I had 1 glass of local wine at the hotel, when I went to settle my bill at reception I was charged for a bottle of wine. I queried this with the receptionist and was informed I had indeed signed for a bottle. I was shown a receipt, which was written Greek, a language I neither read or understand and was informed I had signed for the wine. I protested and was informed by the receptionist she would have to get confirmation from the waiter. The receptionist later told me I had made a mistake and had given her the wrong information. I must say the receptionist smiled throughout our conversation, which I found very patronising.
The local town is walkable, its downhill all the way, coming back is a nightmare in the heat so we had to use the local taxis which cost 7 euro. The equivalent journey by minicab costs £4. There is a bus service to the capital city of the island which costs 3 Euros, the only snag is it departs at 9.15 from the laneway outside the hotel. The return bus leaves the city at 2pm.
I would strongly discourage anybody from going to this hotel. I can sincerely state it's the worse hotel I have ever stayed in, there are no amenities apart from a dirty looking pool, which I would not attempt to put my little toe into. No entertainment whatsoever. There is 1 television which is constantly tuned into a Greek channel or football. I wonder who the TV set was to facilitate, staff or guests?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Galini Hotel, Anissaras is quiet and relaxed with...”

written by on 17/09/2009

Galini Hotel, Anissaras is quiet and relaxed with beautiful surroundings. The staff couldn't do any more for you. The holiday was a hit for me and my girlfriend.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Rooms are a little compact & would benefit by having a...”

written by j leonard on 21/10/2008

Rooms are a little compact & would benefit by having a kettle & a mini fridge. Otherwise it is very adequate for a 3 star hotel, you get what you pay for, so don't expect the Ritz. Beaches are pretty much the same all over Crete, gritty & rocky coastlines all around but, the sea is lovely once you get in. We had a rental car so were not pestered by reps pushing coach trips etc, we just did our own thing in our own time, and it was the best way to see the island. Roads are typically Greek with potholes & lumps everywhere but the scenery is fantastic, especially in the mountains. Once back at the hotel, just chill & have a few beers, if you want to play bingo & watch tv, stay at home.!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Had a lovely relaxing time and met some great people....”

written by jacquiand ian on 05/08/2008

Had a lovely relaxing time and met some great people. I would not recomend taking teenagers as there is nothing for them to do. Although my 16 year old son is very sociable and got to know nearly everyone, He spent most of his time in the pool and did just get on with it. Games room is just a pool table and TV lounge is greek TV. If you want a rest this is a good place to go, but stuck in the middle of no where. The nearest beach is to rocky to use and quite a lot of litter. But a taxi to Hersonissis and all comes to life. I suggest hiring a car and getting out and about. We won the horse and carriage trip on the Bingo, it was brilliant and the best part of the holiday. 2 hour tour of old Hersonnisos and cantering through the Olive fields was brilliant.
I would say I was very disappointed with the Rep. He could not wait to get away and spent all his time at a nearby hotel and showed no interest in guests at Gallini. There were a couple of robberies (us included) he did not even bother to come and see us to offer any reassurance whatsoever. He turned up at 9am and was gone by 9.15 am.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“There was no tv, the piped radio in the bedroom had...”

written by percydraws on 22/07/2008

There was no tv, the piped radio in the bedroom had only one Greek station, there was no tv room. Due to the bad location we spent 20 euros a day on taxis to get to civilisation. The entertainment was bingo, choosing a numbered ball from a margarine tub. The returning bus drops you off on the main road leaving you to walk 40 minutes along country lanes back to the hotel. The rough shingle beach is 20 minute walk away and there are no amenities unless you walk 1/2 a mile along the coast road. The hotel is ideal for plane spotters as every plane into Crete flies directly over the hotel, wheels down low overhead.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Some staff were a bit rude. Drinks seemed very...”

written by Pebbles Star on 10/07/2008

Some staff were a bit rude. Drinks seemed very expensive. On our first night we were asked what we wanted to drink. We were there on a half board basis so we asked him if anything was included in this. He told us a drink each per meal. We went along all two weeks being brought our drinks over with nothing else said. On the last day we were presented with what they called a small bill. This bill was for 50 euro (I think this is about £40 at the moment)! This was on our last day so we had to scrap together what little money we had left, leaving us with nothing to buy water or food on the last day. After speaking to another member of staff we were told that the procedure for drinks was that the receipts were presented to guests with the drinks at every meal. The guest then either paid up front or signed the receipt to have it put on a tab. We were not given any receipt at any point during our holiday except at the end. This ruined our last day of the holiday. We brought this up with the rep. Wouldn't recommend anyone go to this hotel.
Hotel location seemed very remote so had to get taxis quite a lot. Small dirty (I got tar all over my towels and costume) beach at bottom of road about 10/15 minute walk from hotel. Not really suitable for spending time on. Also there are shops within a 5 minutes walking distance of the hotel but these are little 'supermarkets' that sell water, some food and small gifts. Not really good for proper shopping.
Couldn't wait to go home! This hotel is okay if you are paying very little for your holiday.
The brochure is accurate when it says where the nearest shop and beach is, however these are very small and as I said about the beach very dirty. The shops are just small general stores.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel unless you are willing to either hire a car or walk a lot each day. So long as you use it as a base for your holiday and don't really spend any time there you will be fine.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I enjoyed my stay at the hotel and would certainly go...”

written by on 08/06/2008

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel and would certainly go back again, like they say a holiday is what you make it! I would recommend Galini to anyone who wants a well remembered holiday and a nice tan!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“We would say Galini Hotel is a very basic hotel, but...”

written by Joanne Lucas on 17/10/2007

We would say Galini Hotel is a very basic hotel, but considering we paid the equivalent of £20 a day for a bed, some food (though of dubious standard) and as many soft drinks and pints of beer we could fit in, we could've done worse. Our overriding thought is that with a little more care, things like the food could be greatly improved and this would vastly improve the standard of the hotel. Though to the standard we have been told is usual for buffet style, was very dire. Unused food was noticebly 'recycled' e.g. meatballs which were presented 4 times over a period of 5 days (no-one touched them!) and sliced roasted meat reheated in sauce. Only hot food available at breakfast time was baked beans and the occasional bowlful of boiled eggs. Area also seemed to be very bad for mosquitos. My friend got about 30 bites in the time we were there and I got 15! Rooms were basic Cretan style which I guess is okay, but they varied greatly in standard between guests who had supposedly booked identical accomodation - we had no windows in our very small room but 3 working plug sockets, others had windows and large rooms but no plug sockets! The hotel had no lifts which again we were told is normal but there was no-one to help carry our cases to our room (try lugging 20kgs of suitcase up 3 flights of stairs!). We feel this was bad enough for us (being young, fit and healthy) after a long flight, but what were older guests (and there were quite a few there) or people with young kids supposed to do?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“A very good hotel it was the best holiday so far and...”

written by jimross on 26/09/2007

A very good hotel it was the best holiday so far and were going back next year!!!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“A very basic hotel in a fairly isolated location. The...”

written by ssidebottom on 13/08/2007

A very basic hotel in a fairly isolated location. The bar staff however are very friendly and make everyone feel welcome. The beach is a 15 minute walk away although worth the effort as the hotel pool is fairly small. Shops and a cash point are within walking distance, cutting across the path through the olive orchard.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“The Galini Hotel is a great hotel for families who...”

written by hayleyjackson on 19/06/2005

The Galini Hotel is a great hotel for families who hire a car however if you don't, the beach is about a 15min walk but there is only one supermarket within walking distance. Overall I enjoyed this holiday; it was very basic but very peaceful.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The staff at Galini Hotel are excellent, however the...”

written by tw on 22/09/2004

The staff at Galini Hotel are excellent, however the location of the hotel is terrible, don't consider it if you don't hire a car. The food is the same every night (and it's not very good). They hardly ever change the towels or bed linen. We also had cockroaches in our bed!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Paulasteve's Response to 171498_tw's Review

Written on: 23/06/2005

Hi
Which Galini Hotel are you talking about please??? Is it the one in Anissaras ???
Thanks
Paula & Steve

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview