Harley Davidson Sportster 1200 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.1 / 5
86% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Build quality

  • Reliability

  • Value For Money

Summary

Harley Davidson Sportster 1200 motorcycles are powered by a V-twin engine. The Sportster line has been produced by Harley-Davidson since 1957.
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Harley Davidson Sportster 1200 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Harley Davidson Sportster 1200

Harley Davidson Sportster 1200
Harley Davidson Sportster 1200
Harley Davidson Sportster 1200

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“"Great Performance and Styling"”

Written on: 03/11/2020 by Curran307 (1 review written)

The styling is exceptional. Nice pickup, very stylish and great results.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Solid and dependable with only small flaws”

Written on: 03/01/2016 by Harleywallbanger (1 review written)

No bike is perfect, and the Sportster has two weak points, easily corrected. First, pull out the stock fork springs and install Progressives; then trash the rear shocks for a intermediate range Progressives. Second, replace the seat with a thicker, more-densely padded one (I chose Mustang, but there are many fine ones). Now you have a comfortable roadster, that, with proper maintenance, will last you 90-100,000 miles. If you like to personalize your bike, there are literally thousands of Harley and after-market accessories available for the Sportster. Looking at the bike itself, it is definitely retro in design but with amazing, modern-quality paint and chrome, superb seat-peg-handlebar triangulation, and the fuel injection provides terrific fuel economy, steady idling, and crisp throttle response. Little items such as self-canceling turn indicators are nice touches. The rubber-mounted Evo engines are vibration-free on the road, and while at a stop light, the bike throbs delightfully.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★★★★★

“GSXR600 to Sportster 1200CA”

Written on: 02/03/2015 by sarnng (1 review written)

Came from a sporty, crouch down, corner hugging Suzuki GSXR600 to a ride carefully, hear me roar, wake up in the morning and wanna ride to work Sportster 1200CA 2014 model. The sound coming from the Vance and Hines pipes are incredibly throaty and give a great rumble to the ride. Tried the Iron 883 at the time and yes, power was sadly lacking. The 1200 though, has plenty of torque at pickup and doesn't struggle on the highway. Sure, you can't put your knee down and hug corners like a sports bike, but I'm getting a little too wise for that anyway. You can still have fun in the twisties - just need to go a little slower to protect those pipes! It's a very comfortable ride with seat and foot positioning at an upright position. Fuel economy is good at 16km/L. Overall, couldn't be happier with the bike and I just want to get and ride her whenever I can.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Does anybody know if any 1983 CHC is 1200 cc?”

Written on: 01/10/2013 by pudly (1 review written)

It has been a surprisingly dependable bike with a larger, non-sportster-looking gas tank, but it would be nice to know for sure what the engine size is. Can you let me know at [email protected]?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Great Commuter Bike ( forget about a Prius ) ”

Written on: 14/07/2013 by Jonathonsdaddy (1 review written)

I ride 50 miles a day to work and back. I ride in the HOV lane and occasionally split lanes. I never really pay much attention to fuel economy. Then I took a 500 + mile trip and averaged over 50 mpg. 4 of these bikes take the space of 1 Prius Car. That means a bike like this is 4 times more eviromentally friendly and it does Not Have ALL THOSE BATTERIES to be recycled. I think the USA needs to wake up and give Motorcycle riders more credit for risking their lives every day to help the enviroment! I would buy another Sportster when this one stops working and keep up the Tradition of BUYING IN THE USA !!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★☆☆☆

“Washed it, now I have problems.”

Written on: 14/07/2013

I've had my 07 sportster 1200 for about a month. Washed it the third time and the speedo quit working, the turn sigs won't cancel and it stalls at every stop. It has less than 7k miles and always stored at the dealership during the winter. I got it from my Dad who took excellent care of it. This is my 5th motorcycle, my 1st Harley. I'm not impressed in the least. Looks beautiful sitting out front of the house although I'm unable to ride it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“2013 1200 Sportster Custom.”

Written on: 23/11/2012 by SteveGroves1951 (3 reviews written)

Grim brakes, grim seat, grim handling, grim cornering; but love it. Don't ask why but bought new 1200 sportster a few weeks ago and can't wait for 'summer 2013'. Pulls like a tractor and overtakes cars like they never existed! My Honda does everything wonderfully but alas no soul. The harley does everything dreadfully but just love it. If you have never ridden one, try it. It will be an experience if nothing else. Even my wife stands in the garage admiring it; and she is not keen on bikes!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ckivenl's Response to SteveGroves1951's Review

Written on: 12/02/2013

I purchased a 2012 Sporster 1200 custom and have a mysterious metallic hammering coming from the engineHarley mechanics do not appear to be able to find a reason but have declined to take the engine down saying the engine is alright has anyone else had this problem.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Stevegroves1951's reply to Ckivenl's Comment

Written on: 13/02/2013

Hi fellow rider, I have been riding Harley's for years and they can make some strange noises, generally nothing to worry about. Big and small end bearings are wonderfully tough and engines will go on for ever if oil changed frequently. Gearboxes horrifically clunky from time to time but generally sound. If the noise sounds out of the ordinary and it is bothering you, take it to an independent or good bike mechanic and let him/her have a listen. Sticky hydralic tappet? Rare but does happen. Anyway, Harley's can sound awful but don't let anyone pull the wool over your eyes; get a second/third opinion! Good luck. Steve.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★★☆

“Sportser XL1200L”

Written on: 31/08/2012 by Quadcab (1 review written)

Bought my Harley out the box late 2008. Great looking bike with 2 tone paintwork. My first bike having taken the direct access course. Amazing bike, everything I thought it would be with only one caveat. I recently decided. as my wife won't get on it, that I'd put a solo seat on. On removing the dual seat I found rust bubbles around the rear mounting hole for the single seat. Started to look closely and found rust in several other places as well. Now for those who say I haven't looked after it......It is kept in a dry, well aired, garage and covered with a breathable cover, and clenaed every time it returns from a ride out. It has done 2.2k miles from new and the real deal, has never ever seen a wet road!! Great bike but the paint is wafer thin rubbish. Luckily I run a custom paint business so will be getting a real good going over through the winter. This is why it only gets 4 stars. Tip ; Check for rust if buying secondhand!! Still puts a smile on my face when I start it up though!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“OMG”

Written on: 22/07/2011 by ljji (1 review written)

Bought this 2007 1200 roadster with 3500 miles Vance and Hines exhaust drag bars custom grips progressive shocks and more. OMG I love this bike, looks great,sounds great, handles great, fast as hell. Can't wait to take it on a road trip.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Second harley I owned”

Written on: 05/07/2011

The XL1200L was my second Harley I owned. My first Harley was a 2002 Dyna Wide Glide (1450cc). I never rode a cycle in my life and always wanted to. Took riders class and passed. Saw an ad for the Wide Glide and got it. Very nice bike however; the stretch to the forward controls was a killer on my lower back. So I sold it and got my 2008 Sportster. Love the

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“This is my first HD. I have rode other various...”

Written on: 17/02/2011

This is my first HD. I have rode other various Japanese cruiser bikes and some other sport and commuter ones. I've also rode a buel. I have not rode a BMW, Im sure the engineering is second to none. Frankly though, I love this bikes torque. I like the loud pipes, cause I no longer get pulled out in front of or cut off. People back off much more when splitting lanes. On my previous bike, ppl wanted to be a-holes while I split lanes (probably from jealousy or road rage idk). That does not happen with the 1200 Sporty. It has some really good pick up speed. It is loud as hell. The fella I bought it from babied it, put screaming eagles on it, rejected the carb, put the wiring through the handle bars, and chrome plated the brake cables. This bike looks great. I am very satisfied with the 4.5 gallon tank. I wouldn't what the peanut 2 gal tank on the 880 models. So I can go about 200 miles per tank. I can also just unscrew my oil filter or reach whatever I want to work on without anything in the way. It also is a metal bike, no plastic and that is how I like to roll y'all. Highly recommended.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“this is biggest cc engine bike i have had. I started...”

Written on: 22/11/2009

this is biggest cc engine bike i have had. I started with a 1980 honda 450. Then bought a suzuki 2004 volusia 805cc. Now i have the HD 1200 sportster low model. The stock seat sucked. Got a mustang seat with backrest, windshield and 7" riser's for the handlebars and Rush mufflers. I love it. The great thing about a HD is the raw power they have. It gets great milage on the highway and city but i like to get down on that throttle around town and that just does not do justice for the fuel economy. Overall, the bike is powerful, nimbul in the turns, sounds great and is fun to ride. I would recommend it to anyone. The only downside is it bottoms out on bumpy roads and is not passenger friendly because of this. The best thing I like about this bike is the power and sound. It gets alot of head turning when I ride it in the city.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I bought my Harley Davidson Sportster 1200C 3 years...”

Written on: 03/09/2009

I bought my Harley Davidson Sportster 1200C 3 years ago with 11k miles on it. I love every second on it. I use it for a daily driver and for long trips and its great for both! Only real problem I've had is fixing what the previous owners broke! If you are looking for after market pipes, check out Samson Exhaust, I've got a set of the Street Sweepers and they sound awesome, but don't kill you while cruising. I'm never getting rid of this great machine, just looking for the next bit to customize (AME chopper kit is on the list)!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I have ridden all my life. At 41 I was looking for...”

Written on: 04/08/2009

I have ridden all my life. At 41 I was looking for something that I could ride across country, but I HATE touring bikes. I settled for a 1200C Sporty, and it is perfect.
Stage one bolt ons take it up a notch. With a windshield 130Mph is easy to reach and hold. Not the 210 my Suzuki did, but I can get to 100 a lot quicker. Without the shield, I can cruise her at 80 with no issues at all. The rubber mounted engine makes it comfortable, no numb hands. The stock seat sucks big ones, but adding a gell insert fixed that.
Only real problem has been speeding tickets.
This bike is not for beginners or light people. It is top heavy and will dump/kill you quick. The Nightster is the same bike, so don't let the trimmed fenser and cool paint fool you.
If you ride to look good, get a 'busa or maybe a Rocker. If you ride to ride, get a Harley Davidson Sporty and tell the loosers to go to hell.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ravenman4's Comment

Written on: 14/12/2009

I am also 41 years old and have ridin since i was 19. I have owned sevral bikes starting with an '88 Ninja 600R. That thing was a fun and fast bike. I then due to loosing my license a couple of times sold it. Had a V-45 Honda Magna ('83) and although fun was no where near as fast. I then after several years sold it and bought my dream bike from my teen years.........a 1985 Kawasaki zl900 Eliminator. I absolutely loved that ride but was not to practical for carrying a passenger nor long rides as i had to stop to fuel up way too often. Bought my 2007 1200 Roadster without ever riding a Harley. Installed V&H Short Shots and Screaming Eagle super tuner, quick detach sissy bar and quick detach windshield ( which i used once) I have to say that i was extremely impressed with the raw power and torque. I absolutely love the sound. I could not be happier with my purchase and wonder why i waited so dam long to get one. I recommend it to anyone who is curious as to how satisfied i am with it. It is not the most expensive looking machine nor the fastest, but it does haul ass and gets me where i choose to go with the slow twist of the wrist. Passing is a treat compared to any Jap inline four i have rode........no shifting involved at highway speeds. 4and a half stars out of 5. If the seat was more comfy and the tank bigger then 3.3 gallons i would rate a perfect 5.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 16/07/2011

Question my man. I am 155 pounds 5'5 I have about 1/12 riding a ninja 250r 2009. Do u think I am ready for a sportster 1200?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“love my Harley Davidson Sportster 1200 bought used in...”

Written on: 09/06/2009 by joeharley1970 (1 review written)

love my Harley Davidson Sportster 1200 bought used in 2000 with 1600 miles and been riding ever since. Made two trips from rhode island to ohio one time straight thru ( long ass ride 15 hrs but man was it fun) love the drag bars and forward controls

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The Harley Davidson Sportster 1200 is a good looking...”

Written on: 18/05/2009

The Harley Davidson Sportster 1200 is a good looking low bike. Excellent paintwork. Good (but pricy) accessories. Good ride.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“ I had never ridden a bike as big as this Harley...”

Written on: 03/04/2009 by Felix Groeteschele (1 review written)

I had never ridden a bike as big as this Harley Davidson Sportster 1200 when I first bought it. After buying it and riding it home, all I could think about was that I was on a very powerful and heavy machine that seemed to want to leap out from under me whenever I moved off. After getting used to it and riding it on the open road, I felt very comfortable and confident.
I recently fitted a set of Hooker Troublemaker exhausts and forward controls. It's like I bought a new machine. The ride is so much different and very comfortable. The sound is unbelievable and it feels like there's another 20 horsepower available. I've waited six years to own one and I don't regret getting it one bit.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Riding position is good and the Harley Davidson...”

Written on: 18/03/2009 by wrnw33847 (1 review written)

Riding position is good and the Harley Davidson Sportster 1200 is a reliable bike. Only been out in the rain 3 times and when I took it back to the dealer they said Harley would not accept responsibility or repair it they said as it was more than one component it must be misuse. Bike was only 12 months old!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to wrnw33847's Review

Written on: 05/07/2011

So this review isn't so much for the bike as it is for the Harley service? Sounds like you would give the bike itself 4 or 5 stars.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Quick off the line. Sounds like a dog from hell and...”

Written on: 25/11/2008 by booboolala2000 (1 review written)

Quick off the line. Sounds like a dog from hell and keeps on running strong. Neighbors hate the aftermarket pipes. Love all the chrome and it is a beast.
My first bike in 20 years and will definitely be the one I keep. I expect this will be a long relationship. Awesome. I love it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I love this bike, a 2008 1200 XL (Low)! I put a...”

Written on: 03/11/2008 by porkchop4 (1 review written)

I love this bike, a 2008 1200 XL (Low)! I put a heel-toe shifter on it to help with the shifting, and I added a windshield and sissy bar and bags. I have about 2300 miles on it now and it is just a blast to drive. It dives through turns like a fighter and accelerates like a scalded cat!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

474204_Virga's Response to porkchop4's Review

Written on: 21/07/2009

I've been riding my 1998 Sportster for years now. I love it. However, in Novemeber of last year (2008) I had a pretty bad wreck and severely injured my left leg. Now... due my injuries, I have trouble shifting. I have Kuryakin forward controls on it and love them, but again it's difficult and can be painful to shift. It would be even more difficult with mid-shift controls (which I don't like anyway). When I ride all day on the weekends, it takes my ankle a week to recover and not cause me to limp. I read in your review that you put a heel toe shifter on yours. Can you give me some information on where you got the parts or had it done? Thanks.
<br/>Virga

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to porkchop4's Review

Written on: 02/07/2011

i had a bad wreck also and am in the process of getting my bike road ready. I have a 2003 1200 sporty with forward controls and I need a heel toe shifter. Could someone please let me know where I could locate a custom heel toe shifter for a 2003 sporty with forward controls? My email is kevinupman @ yahoo . com(no spaces.) Thanks.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Flucido's Response to porkchop4's Review

Written on: 28/03/2010

I'm with Virga!!! Where did you get a heel/toe set up for a Sportster?? let me know. Flucido(at)AOL(dot)com. THANKS!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 3 Comments
overview