BMW 8 Series 850 CSi Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★★
4.8 / 5
100% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Performance

  • Practicality

  • Reliability

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
BMW 8 Series 850 CSi - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for BMW 8 Series 850 CSi

BMW 8 Series 850 CSi
BMW 8 Series 850 CSi

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Bought my automatic 850i last year with 28,500 log...”

Written on: 30/04/2010 by Huddo (1 review written)

Bought my automatic 850i last year with 28,500 log book miles. It looks magnificent, but many power accessories were non-operational (to be expected for an 18 year old and lack of use) Also many plastic bits are brittle from age. This is especially a problem in the very hot engine bay

With a few months of weekend tweaking/tinkering, and minimal cost, have got most electric bits to work except the MID which gradually fails in most aged BM's. Design innovation and material quality for a 1980's design is amazing even now and the 850 has proven it is not an electronic nightmare.

Engine V12 power is smooth and handling is solid feeling but spritely for a big car, especially heart pounding when manually shifted. Fuel economy is good on light foot but no good for lead foot. Seat space and driver comfort are better than a two seater and just right for four jockeys.

The pillarless design is timeless and a real attention getter and due to limited sales volume and lack of awareness, causes some admirers to think it's the latest model. The look of the original factory mag wheels are the only weak link and are better replaced.

Parts are very expensive but once replaced, they do last a long time. Remember that this was once a BMW flagship - so running and spare part costs are not going to be cheaper than when it was new.

Compared to Aston Martin, Jaguar, Maserati, MB, and equivalent GT cruisers, none can match the BMW 850i for "silver hair" Sheer Driving Pleasure.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I finally found the holy grail of BMWs. I've owned 3...”

Written on: 15/04/2009

I finally found the holy grail of BMWs. I've owned 3 other 8 series BMWs (all of them 840s). I just bought a 1995 Black on Black BMW 850 CSi and am thrilled to own and drive it. I was fortunate to have found one with 28,000 original miles and in perfect condition. For that privilege I paid top dollar but it was worth it. The car handles exceptionally well and is sneaky fast if you know what I mean.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The BMW 8 Series 850 CSi is a classic timeless styling...”

Written on: 15/04/2009 by TGMD (1 review written)

The BMW 8 Series 850 CSi is a classic timeless styling with great performance for a hefty car. I finally found the holy grail of BMWs. Having owned 3 other 8 series vehicles (all 840s), I continue to love the classic styling of this car. The 850CSi is a different animal than the others. I was fortunate to find an1995 model with 28,000 original miles. It is in new condition, from the black paint to the new car smell of the black interior. Sound, performance and handling are excellent. The car is what I call sneaky fast. Once you hit 3rd gear, before you notice 100 mph is showing on the speedometer. Absolutely love it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I have owned my 91 BMW 850i 6 speed 12 cylinder beast...”

Written on: 23/08/2008 by ahouse1 (1 review written)

I have owned my 91 BMW 850i 6 speed 12 cylinder beast for 5 years and I get into the car just to drive when ever it is sunny and dry. The power in every gear is truly amazing and all the systems still work perfectly including the sound system.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I would really like to see a v12 engine on the new M3...”

Written on: 07/04/2008 by pankero (1 review written)

I would really like to see a v12 engine on the new M3 body. A v12 engine that propels this car, it is cheaper than other v12 cars, like other BMW cars the suspension train is sweet and lets not forget the good looks.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I looked for a used BMW 850 CSi for a long time and...”

Written on: 18/12/2005 by freqtrvlr (1 review written)

I looked for a used BMW 850 CSi for a long time and finally found one and fell in love with it instantly. What a rush it gives you when you have the opportunity to really do what it was designed to do; handle the curves beautifully with power to spare. Have owned many fine autos and this is the best.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Development of the 8 series was over the top - 5...”

Written on: 14/10/2004 by M8 (1 review written)

Development of the 8 series was over the top - 5 years. BMW pumped no less than 1 billion DM into it. Some even tag the car as 'over-engineered'. Well it shows. It's superbly built (definitely not Bangled ;-)

The wedge-shaped body oozes style and the design has aged well. It's not uncommon for people to think a nice CSi is a new BMW model. The pop-up lights also look very modern. The build is solid and for a change, BMW seem to have built a solid interior (interior door panels won't fall off this beemer). Nothing on this car is flimsy - it will not vibrate itself to bits at high speed. Boot space is very generous (320 liters) - even with a spare tyre, jack, two batteries, CD changer and Stereo (Euro models have a fold down panel that houses the radio receiver and amplifier). Rear seats fold down flush for extra interior storage and there is also a pass-through for skis.

The list of features are endless and rivals some current models. After all, this was a USD100,000 car so you got a lot for your money. One 'feature' is the Limp-Home-Mode. BMW built a failsafe system into the M70 V12 engine (S70 in the CSi) so if a problem was to occur in the engine, it would simply shut down a bank of 6 cylinders and run as a straight 6. Note that the S70 signifies ///M origin. Throttle control is electronic (naturally, there are two) and is very smooth. There are switchable Sport and Comfort modes. The clutch is not particularly heavy so hill starts are on a par with most modern family cars. The gear shift is notchy and precise, albeit 4th to 5th is a long throw compared to the other gears.

The drive is solid and predicable (with AHK (rear wheel steering), lane changes are on par with a 911 of a similar age). There is a slight tendency to under steer but with ample power on tap, the back can be easily pushed around.

City driving can be a little tedious with lots of clutch and gear changing of the 6 speed box but with untold torque, driving everywhere in 4th is not a problem. The car is low already but some people lower it even more. This can create some bumpy rides in city streets where the road surface is not smooth. It also prevents going over tall speed bumps.

Acceleration is very respectable (0-100kph in 6s). 1st gear is not very tall but as soon as you hit 2nd and 3rd, most things become small specs in your rear mirror - and keep getting smaller. There are diff swaps to get better acceleration off the mark but not sure how this affects the final drive ratio...

Driving at 160mph (the car is limited to 150mph but re-chipping is common to remove the limit) the ride is smooth and you always feel in control. Oh, forget windows down at 100mph - they will rise automatically at this speed. There is no wind noise (///M mirrors help) and the car is always comfortable inside thanks to the very well made leather seats (fully electric with memory) and the automatic climate control.

This car is a real cruiser and eats miles for a snack - and then says "where's dinner". Cruising at 120kph, the engine is barely working at a mere 1,900RPM (my Landrover would be straining at around 4,500rpm!). Don't be put off buying a high miler - 200,000km+ is not unusual. If maintained the engine is good for a lot more.

All switchgear are well placed but for anyone approaching 2m tall, the cabin and headroom are a little confined (not sure how this happened with such a big car!). The steering wheel is quite big but there are aftermarket wheels that are smaller

If you ever get a chance to own one of these super-cars - do it! Careful with your purchase - this car is quite rare; only 1510 were made worldwide and some are in terrible condition. Saying that, most owners take very good care of them. Get one with a full service history and a pre-purchase dealer inspection and you will not be disappointed.

This 850CSi will still be turning heads a decade from now and it will still raise questions from old and young alike "is it a BMW prototype" or "what is it?"

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“I have owned the BMW 850 CSi for 2 years now, I bought...”

Written on: 22/04/2004 by anthonyhardman (1 review written)

I have owned the BMW 850 CSi for 2 years now, I bought it second hand for £8,500 and I have to say it is one heck of a roadster. It is a gorgeous looking powerful motor. It has 380bhp and 4 massive exhausts on the back making it a really fast car. So I would reccomend this car over most Ferraris. I am very proud to own this motor.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★☆

“It is hard not to compare the BMW 850 CSi line of cars...”

Written on: 30/10/2003 by mrjonesandme (1 review written)

It is hard not to compare the BMW 850 CSi line of cars with performance cars from the here and now. In its original form it was designed to cover large stretches of land in a short amount of time. Get it on the freeway and even newer super cars with gobs of horsepower have trouble keeping up. The off the line performance will have you looking at rear end re-tooling and low end torque improvements. But off the line is not what this car is about. If you want to go long distance in the most comfortable sports coupe to come from Germany this is the car. Watch the repair record or lack thereof. What you do not know will cost you on this car. Six to eight thousand a year is not out of the question on aging models and heaven help you in the event of even the most minor fender bender. Every one you see go by is someone's labor of love.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

476976_Bdavis1950's Response to mrjonesandme's Review

Written on: 09/08/2009

I found this review very helpful because it addressed practical issues.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“I saw this 850 sitting inside a classic car showroom...”

Written on: 20/09/2003 by charliesgym (1 review written)

I saw this 850 sitting inside a classic car showroom alongside a 328 GTS Ferrari (red of course). I climbed inside and out of both cars, drove each one and guess what? I bought the 850! At first I thought maybe I blundered but after learning how to drive this vehicle, yes, this car has to be learnt how to drive, I've fallen in love with it. I wouldn't trade it for a new one. There's nothing on the road to compare to this work of art. Find one if you can and BUY IT!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Merlin4Sc's Response to charliesgym's Review

Written on: 14/01/2004

Your are absolutely correct about learning to drive. Fortunately, I am used to learning to operate new machines having flown most of my life.
<br>
<br>But once you the the hang of the steptronic to the torque curve of the M73 engine, it is great. And you CAN achieve very decent economy on the highway too(i get 22.5 mpg at ISA)

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Charliesgym's Response to charliesgym's Review

Written on: 11/08/2006

To Simon: Sorry I can&#039;t help you in Bristol but I can help you in Palm Springs, CA. I have my own BMW specialist and he is a godsend and does know every nut and bolt. I still have my 850 and love it more today than I did 5 years ago. I still get stopped when locking it or walking away from it by many people who want to know about the car. I recommend you buy a wide kit from Zeemax and the wheels to go along with it. Your 850 will look like it came from Torino but Bavaria is just as good...even better. Charlie

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Simon Wade's Response to charliesgym's Review

Written on: 06/08/2006

I have one also- & could&#039;nt agree more with you. They are beautiful cars & truly a work of art way ahead of its time. The first time I saw one I fell in love with it straight away. People of all ages comment on it all the time, which is a great feeling.
<br/>
<br/>I intend to drive it on the continent, ending up in Northern Italy- bit like the Italian job!
<br/>
<br/>I would&#039;nt sell mine for anything & intend to keep it indefinately.Its just finding the right specialist to service it, that really does understand every nut & bolt on the car. Do you know anyone in the Bristol area? Simon Wade

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 7 0
Read 3 Comments
★★★★★

“Owned an 850 for 2 years now, bought used for a little...”

Written on: 30/07/2003 by petrolhead. (1 review written)

Owned an 850 for 2 years now, bought used for a little under £9500, about the price I would have paid for a new low spec ford fiesta. For that money I got a head turning, motor way storming luxury cruiser of impeccable quality. Just amazing. Get the six speed manual to have real fun (accelerating from 10mph in sixth [with ease]) is just one of its party tricks. Mine has done 133000 miles and theres not a squeak or rattle anywear. If you do motor way miles a lot fuel consumption isnt too bad, in sixth engine is barely turning at 70-80 mph. Get a red one and everyone will think you have spent 50 grand on an italian stallion, get a black one and some ray bans and live in it. Just awesome, cannot fault this car. Power, luxury, exclusivity, practicality and one hell of a grin.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★★★★★

“I purchased my 1995 BMW 850 CI from a collector in...”

Written on: 28/06/2003 by SJ Cuban. (1 review written)

I purchased my 1995 BMW 850 CI from a collector in Florida. The car has 34k original miles and is black on black. Everywhere I go the car is a headturner. Great perforamnce thanks to the powerful V-12. Buy one if you can find one , you'll be in an exclusive class.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I am a owner of a Bmw 735 with an V12 motor! And i...”

Written on: 09/11/2002 by Chris Lykkegaard. (1 review written)

I am a owner of a Bmw 735 with an V12 motor! And i love BMW! When they don't make luxury cars they make SPORTSCARS! Ain't that right?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Terrance Eackles.'s Response to Chris Lykkegaard.'s Review

Written on: 29/04/2003

I drove a 850i BMW and i think it is the best car ever made.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 7
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“I have always admired BMW cars for their clean lines...”

Written on: 23/10/2002 by cstb10. (1 review written)

I have always admired BMW cars for their clean lines and no-nonsense styling. The 850 CSi is sporty and comfortable. BMW has always had a certain ability to combine comfort/luxury with performance. This bad boy has plenty of performance. I love this car and am proud to own it. If you like clean, sexy, sporty styling with power to boot, you will love this car.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 2
★★★★★

“i am a recent owner of a BMW 850 CSI: it's a dream !! ”

Written on: 07/02/2002 by werewolf. (1 review written)

i am a recent owner of a BMW 850 CSI: it's a dream !!
It's the best car ever made. I was almost buying a 2000 CL500 mercedes when i found this one in an ad on the internet.
I never regretted making this choice.
Mine is silver and people in France don't really know this model. It's not as usual as a Porsche nowadays.
And i am proud like a child to own this 380 hp monster !!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 12 2
★★★★☆

“The BMW 850Csi is a big and heavy car so it is safe...”

Written on: 16/07/2001 by Alex. (1 review written)

The BMW 850Csi is a big and heavy car so it is safe too! With great engine this is very fast,powerful,muscle,torquey car for family with two small children. It is nice looking too.This car is the best AUTOBAHN STORMER on world, only some cars from Sttutgart can compare with 850CSi, like SL600 and CL600, in future SLR...!Sound is like an anthem for me!

10

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

55083_Adr.'s Response to 2948_Alex.'s Review

Written on: 02/12/2002

Fair review of a nice car. Oh and oh yes the fuel usage is scary as hell, it reminds me of a v8 landrover I used to own in 4wd while towing! I drive to the south of France several times a year and this a a fantastic motorway car, cheap to buy but expensive to run! Go on open up your wallet!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 6 1
Read 1 Comment

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview