Sandra Gregory, Forget You Had a Daughter Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.2 / 5
93% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Sandra Gregory, Forget You Had a Daughter - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Sandra Gregory, Forget You Had a Daughter

Sandra Gregory, Forget You Had a Daughter
Sandra Gregory, Forget You Had a Daughter
Sandra Gregory, Forget You Had a Daughter
Sandra Gregory, Forget You Had a Daughter

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“strength”

Written on: 16/10/2015 by 21Shelton (1 review written)

I read this book yesterday and was totally engaged with Sandras' ability to describe conditions in prison both in Bangkok and England. Sandra you really took me inside the walls - incredible I admire the honest and comprehensive way in which you have described the people in your book and felt you emotional reconnection with your family. Congratulations on a happy ending

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Sandra Gregorys account is a very well written book,...”

Written on: 06/01/2011

Sandra Gregorys account is a very well written book, it is what they call a real page turner, I finished it off in two days, great portrayal of her personailty and what lead her to her crime, never thought I would feel sympathy for her, and although I think she deserved a sentence, I was certainly rooting for her by the end, she seems like a great person, who just doesnt think through consequences as much as dshe should, but then, thats could be said of a lot of people.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I have just finished this remarkable book. I have no...”

Written on: 18/02/2010

I have just finished this remarkable book. I have no sympathy with drug dealers and with people who smuggle drugs, but this was a girl who made a very foolish mistake. She was not a dangerous criminal and the conditions and the treatment she received in both countries is appaling. The punishment just does not fit the crime. I cannot understand how the world can allow prisons like the "Bangkok Hilton" to exist. Furthermore, I now understand why so many people commit suicide in prison in this country - what they did was so wrong - she was not a dangerous criminal and the entire prison system in this country needs to be radically overhauled.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I found Forget You Had a Daughter to be incredibly...”

Written on: 04/04/2009 by pappinm (1 review written)

I found Forget You Had a Daughter to be incredibly inspirational. I cannot comprehend what Sandra Gregory went though even after reading this book as it is just too awful. Her story has given me a new appreciation for a life where I am free in so many ways. This book is honest and brave, despite reading about sickening experiences and horrific crimes you emerge at the end of the book feeling inspired by Gregory's strength to pull through. The book is an emotional roller coaster so don't expect this to be an easy read, but it is completely worth it.

NOTE: It will make you incredibly angry at the lack of intelligence within the British judicial system and dumbfounded by the sheer lack of desire for real rehabilitation within British prisons and reeling at the number of people who prevent it by not listening!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I have just finished reading Forget You Had a Daughter...”

Written on: 03/04/2009

I have just finished reading Forget You Had a Daughter by Sandra Gregory for pobably the 5th time, although it could be more! An honest, emotional and inspiring book about a girl who simply made a stupid mistake...but my god did she pay for it. My tears have fallen on the pages of this book so many times and i just thank god that she received her "pardon" and is leading a happy and peaceful life. You paid for your mistakes, more than you should have and this so called "system" must be changed.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I absolutely love this book......i have had a copy of...”

Written on: 08/03/2009 by Rhiannon89 (1 review written)

I absolutely love this book......i have had a copy of Sandra Gregory's, "Forget You Had a Daughter" for 4 years now and i have read it many times! I love, and was a little surprised at how honest i thought Sandra Gregory was from the first page.....and also how she kept her honesty through out her time...in all prisons.
I do think it was disgusting how they sent Gregory to Durham but to the same wing as all these evil people??? i am surprised how the sentence in Thailand for what she did was initially death then life then 25 years i think the Thai law is a mockery it seems they are so powerful and it depends on their moods what sentence you may get! In england some people have been sentenced to less years than 25 for something much worse!! i also found it disgusting that Robert got a fine once he had been found out...i dont understand these laws at all! I do think when i read the book sometimes what i was doing at some of these points as when she was experiencing Durham prison in 1999 i was turning 10 and hadnt a care in the world....things of the book make me wonder how i would have coped and i actually dont think i would have been as brave as Sandra was.....the things she knew about people..people she mixed with spoke to saw day in day out its just something i see on tv about convicts..also the things she saw and how after a while it doesnt seem as shocking anymore like no one cares...
Overall i think that Sandra Gregory was and is an inspiration..... i am, as wierd as this sounds, proud to own this book...as it takes you to into her shoes i imagine seeing everything she saw when i read it everything she ate touched it was like i was there....i am thankfully not and never will be! this book shows to you how difficult it can be not just for men but for women in prisons.....people sometimes argue that male prisons are horrific because they get raped and women cant rape eachother so it cant be as bad as that....but i beg to differ after reading what people do if they know someone is smuggling drugs.....i am in awe of Sandra Gregory not for what she been through but that she has come out of....she survived the life of a prisoner for a small crime and i think that this book is is more of a bible to me as i know that if i need help i should always just ask and not think that i can do it alone.......A******************** a book that will be passed down! a rule book instead of a story....

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“It's candid and brave. Very happy and moved that...”

Written on: 03/11/2008

It's candid and brave. Very happy and moved that Sandra emerged those terrible years in prison a person with much more understanding of life. It's a book I'll not forget.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Forget you had a daughter is not a bad book, but...”

Written on: 25/02/2008 by Digger1982 (6 reviews written)

Forget you had a daughter is not a bad book, but having read some of the competition it has I'm afraid that the book just fails to deliver to the same level... I must admit to finishing the book and having little or no sympathy for the author. My enjoyment of what could have been a very interesting book was tainted by the fact that I found it too self pitying.... Shame.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“This book enables us to realise and also make...”

Written on: 30/12/2007 by kristinleo (1 review written)

This book enables us to realise and also make offenders like her know that the pain and shame that you've bring to the family. And also what is it like when you realised that you took your family members for granted and there's nothing to atone for what you've done now since you're going to die.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Sandra Gregory, Forget You Had a Daughter is an...”

Written on: 17/04/2007 by carolynevans (1 review written)

Sandra Gregory, Forget You Had a Daughter is an excellent book all round.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Sandra Gregory, Forget You Had a Daughter - Is a good...”

Written on: 28/06/2006 by altdelete (1 review written)

Sandra Gregory, Forget You Had a Daughter - Is a good read and would recommend it to anyone travelling and thinking of stepping off the straight and narrow

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I not only read Sandra's book, but I lived with her...”

Written on: 27/05/2005 by AngelaCarnegie (1 review written)

I not only read Sandra's book, but I lived with her there in Lard Yao for four of her five years. I spent a total of 9. While a lot of the book was point on in it's accuracy, there were several issues that were distorted and untrue. Sandra is a great person, and I called her a friend, but there was a lot of negativity about other inmates that I felt should have been handled better and in some cases avoided all together.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Thoroughly enjoyed Sandra Gregory, Forget You Had a...”

Written on: 30/03/2005 by saffron (1 review written)

Thoroughly enjoyed Sandra Gregory, Forget You Had a Daughter. Appauled at the way she was treated and felt the punishment severely outweighed the crime. Would definately recommend to a friend. Very inspirational.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Well, i found Sandra Gregory writing style transported...”

Written on: 24/12/2003 by ladyluck (1 review written)

Well, i found Sandra Gregory writing style transported me to Thailand as i read it, the only disappointing aspect was that she seemed to go out of her way to downgrade africans-nigerians specifically. That part of the book seemed too personal and vengeful to be story telling (however factual it maybe.) So if you are african with a soft/touchy side-dont buy the Forget You Had a Daughter book, i will summarise it for you. she went to thailand and was mislead to smuggle, she did and she paid generously for the mistake. She is back home now and studying at oxford.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 2

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview