Southend-on-Sea, Adventure Island Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.7 / 5
68% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

Summary

Read reviews of Adventure Island, find the best rides and what you need to know before you go.
Location Southend-on-Sea, Essex.
Directions M25 take either the 29 or 30 junction eastbound towards Southend-on-Sea.
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Southend-on-Sea, Adventure Island - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Disgraceful”

Written on: 24/08/2016 by Purcell422 (1 review written)

The Family went to Adventure Island Southend and stopped at one of the places with pianos. Now my Nephew loves sounds and him and some of the other kids were playing with the piano. This young arrogant woman and friends then went up to my sister and said, is this a coffee shop? and called them BLACK PIGS AND BLACK P R I C K which was so uncalled for. My sister's friend's partner then went to speak to them privately and it escalated as they kept bringing in racial insults. The police were called, and no surprise, the police claimed that the community felt threatened? Threatened by what exactly?...A group of Family friends playing the piano and relaxing with each other. In the end, The blacks were thrown out because " The racist woman said the community had been made to feel uneasy" however would this have happened if this ignorant woman and her racist friends just minded their own business, or better yet did not bring race into it. Absolutely disgusting and disgraceful management for being so closed minded and ignoring the apparent racism.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Wrist bands”

Written on: 01/06/2016 by Keshawn402 (1 review written)

We visited Southed from France and bought our two children wrist bands to enable them to go on all the rides at Adventure Island. Unfortunately, before they had chance to ride, there was a terrible storm and most of the rides were shut and the children were drenched. We asked if their bands could be used the next day as it was late and the children were wet and frozen. Although the operators could see that we had only just purchased the expensive bands and had been unable to use them, they refused to grant them a transfer to the next day. Had the operators of Adventure Island shown a drop of kindness and allowed the children to exchange their unused bands for the next day's rides, we would have returned each year to the area but having experienced such a mean attitude, we will go elsewhere in future.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely rubbish! ”

Written on: 28/07/2015 by Kerrih (1 review written)

Paid for two wrist bands for my two children one is 4years old and the other 11years old, and has special needs. We were allowed an adult to go on rides with my youngest daughter but wasn't allowed to go on with my daughter who has complex special needs. I think it is absolutely disgusting and extremely unfair! It was a complete waste of time and money visiting! And there was only a few rides that the children were allowed on! Most of the people working there look like they have just left school and we're very rude about my special needs child! Won't be going there again! Better off going to gullivers land! Much better, brilliant about children with special needs and have much better rides!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“BRILLIANT”

Written on: 12/05/2015 by qeForbes297 (1 review written)

We had the best day ever at this park with our Granddaughter yesterday. Although the weather was nice the queue times were good and the staff on the rides were excellent with the kids and high fiving them as they came off, they were polite and made the day special. LOVED IT. The band prices were good for the money, we purchased the green and red ride bands for our 7 year old and she went on everything she wanted to. Could not fault the day.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Staff send bloody child away without help for cuts ”

Written on: 11/08/2014 by veryunhappycustomer123 (1 review written)

Will never spend another penny in this place, my child had fallen just by the beach next to park and cut his feet and hands badly i was directed to go to the park from beach staff and as i walked into the park i asked for help to stop my sons bleeding,only to be asked did it happen here i said no but can i have some help please as my son was in so much pain,they turned me and my 9 year old away stating if it did not happen in park then siorry we cant help,i only asked for water and a bandage until i get him to the hospital but no we cant help, i understand for insurance purposes but come on i was there the day before with 4 children,spent loads,but that does not help, find it strange that you can see a child covered in bloody hands and feet and you tyrn them away,for this reason i will not nor will my other family members ever go to this place again .

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Just Brilliant!”

Written on: 05/09/2013 by davidjayo (21 reviews written)

Ok so it hasn't got the huge rides like the main parks, but my 7 yr old daughter loves fast rides, she is 1.2m high and at any Merlin park u need to be 1.4m, at Southend she can go on all the rides, last Saturday we went on 42 rides in 8 hours and the dreaded Time Machine 30 times, superb value for money even at £25 compare it with any other theme park, we have annual passes and have been 11 times in 6 weeks, they cost us £220 for 4 people and then you get 20% off of everything we went Sealife with our passes for 2 people £4.70 the shows are pretty good as well, staff are happy and crazy its like a really good fairground

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Davidjayo's Response to davidjayo's Review

Written on: 08/09/2013

We went on sat 7th Sep the live act / singer was very good we got there at 4pm left at 10pm went on the dragons claw 50 times and 3 other rides

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“Far too expensive but sort of fun.”

Written on: 05/07/2012 by adamhill100 (3 reviews written)

We go to Southend quite a lot because its near to us but I moan everytime about Adventure Island being a Rip off,,Price for single tickets if u just want to go on a few rides is really high,! Saying that the Staff are friendly and the rides are ok,, Rage is very good,!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Davidjayo's Response to adamhill100's Review

Written on: 08/09/2013

Hi there, we got annual passes at the start of the holidays with our tesco vouchers it came to £220 for a family of 4 all blue bands been there 12 times and counting, that's £4.60 a visit in 6 weeks on average we go on 30 rides a day and u also get 20% off sealife which works out at £4.70 for 2 x people, we live in walthamstow, I can't think of better value anywhere, my 7 yr old daughter did 30 rides on time machine last sat, 50 rides on Claw this sat and next sat we are planning 50 on Rage thats about 10p per ride! thats better than the usual £6 per ride at Alton Towers, go on splash out on an annual pass...whats better is my kid is exactly 1.2m high, she can ride everything...

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Childrens party at Adventage Island”

Written on: 13/04/2012

Would reccomend anyone to have a party for their children at Adventage Island, Southend. Fantastic value for money, great friendly staff,good food, ticked all the right boxes.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I did not like it”

Written on: 11/09/2011

Food: terrible choice. Rides: mainly children's rides, some thrill rides Shows: what shows? there was some kind of tacky entertainment going on.. i think.. it was confusing No idea how anyone get really like this place. It's a good place to spend a few hours. Good little funfair, but not an amusement park or theme park by any means. This place has not got a patch on the king of all theme parks/amusement parks, Pleasure Beach Blackpool. I will not be back in a hurry, but it is a lovely addition to Southend-on-Sea, which I was not impressed with generally on my visit, very, very tacky and dirty.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Davidjayo's Comment

Written on: 08/09/2013

We love this park, and southend, did you go on Rage, Time machine, vortex, Dragons Claw? superb rides and Time Machine stops on a regular basis for sick cleaning, u don't have to wait an hour to get on....on average 6 rides an hour, the entertainment is normally superb went last night the ladies of pop night i'd give 9/10 she actually sounds like Pink, to be honest whats the point in going to Alton towers paying £40 to go on 6 rides when you can spend the day on 5 great rides a total of 30 times? a beach, yeah it's a bit tacky bit if you have a small child that loves fast rides you can't beat it at the moment we are paying around 10p per ride....perhaps u just had a bad day, i'd never go back to Thorpe Park or Alton Towers, we travel up from walthamstow every saturday

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“We took our 5 children (aged from 2 to 20) and our...”

Written on: 05/10/2010

We took our 5 children (aged from 2 to 20) and our family had a fantastic time. We would all definately go again as there is a good range of rides. The park was clean and tidy and the food was ok (not too pricy)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The day we had was fantastic, even though the weather...”

Written on: 15/04/2010

The day we had was fantastic, even though the weather was not. Adventure Island was definatly value for money and the staff were happy and pleased to help you if you needed it, a great day out for all the family !!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Adventure Island, though a compact theme park, it...”

Written on: 10/08/2009

Adventure Island, though a compact theme park, it somehow manages to fit over 30 rides into a small area. Great for all ages particularly from 5 to 15. Kids from 1 upwards will enjoy the rides. There are even rides for adults and teenages. Rage is newest and biggest coaster in the park. Not as big as those find in places like Alton Towers or Euro disney, its still pretty good.

Great points about the park, you can buy an wristband (discounrs available online or vouchers in many places) and you get to use all the rides all day. Longest queue was 10 minutes (this during summer school holidays). We managed 40 rides in the day making it great value. As mentioned the park is compact, you can walk from one side to the other in 10 minutes. Plus there is LOTS more to do in southend including the beach, sealife centre (kids free voucher included with wristband purchase), shopping, arcades and who cannot resist fish and chips when visiting the sea side.

Main bad points are getting there can get VERY busy as you have to drive through southend and finding parking can be a pain, expect to pay up 10 pounds for a days parking. My advise get there early (before 10am) and enjoy the beach until the park opens.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“put a map of Adventure Island park on your website. ...”

Written on: 15/04/2009 by iudysozi ufxidf (1 review written)

put a map of Adventure Island park on your website. good rides for all ages and different viretys

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent rollercoaster, rage is awesome. I went on it...”

Written on: 26/06/2008

Excellent rollercoaster, rage is awesome. I went on it 7 times as it never gets boring. Great day out food and drink is good too. Toilets were unhygienic. It is a great day out, lots of good thrill rides, and overall not particularly expensive.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Adventure Island is a great park for older teenagers...”

Written on: 22/05/2008

Adventure Island is a great park for older teenagers and kids. Definitely aimed at kids, not for adults really but if you like big thril rides, adults-there are a couple worth trying out!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Its a really nice day out at Adventure Island, very...”

Written on: 04/04/2008 by marjory (1 review written)

Its a really nice day out at Adventure Island, very clean, very safe and nice food and drinks. Its really clean and safe for my children there is a large range of roller coasters etc. Its a really nice day out. I would recommend you take suitable shoes and clothes.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Me and my partner went to Adventure Island yesterday...”

Written on: 09/07/2006 by djeva1 (51 reviews written)

Me and my partner went to Adventure Island yesterday and we both had an awesome time as this was our second visit. There was lots to see and do and plenty of rides for both children and thrill seekers. I enjoyed going on the 'log flume' as it was my very first experience of a water ride and the same goes for the big blue water slides and the 'green terror' tube. We then decided to have a rest from the rides by taking a stroll along the pier and then visited the museum. We had a lot of fun in the museum playing on the old fashioned arcade machines, we could not get rid of the old pennies! Plus the old photography machines with 'What the butler saw', were great too and the museum also showed the history of the pier plus old buckets and spades and postcards. A visit to Adventure Island is not complete without a visit to the museum and a stroll on the pier. The park served good food which was reasonably priced plus there were plenty of ice cream, doughnut stalls and stalls selling sweet novelties.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Adventure Island has some majorly good rides. The...”

Written on: 22/05/2006 by Apocolyptic Demise (1 review written)

Adventure Island has some majorly good rides. The theme park tends to stick with the basis of whole family entertainment: a few thrills for teenagers, a few roller-coasters, and even some gentle rides here and there.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“We love Adventure Island as a family. ”

Written on: 06/08/2005 by joroca (4 reviews written)

We love Adventure Island as a family.
There are always entry offers and if you are not going on any rides, you do not pay to get in, unlike other theme parks.
The queues are never very long & the rides are excellent. It is well worth a visit.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview