Yamaha YZF-R6 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★★
4.6 / 5
89% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Build quality

  • Reliability

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Yamaha YZF-R6 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Yamaha YZF-R6

Yamaha YZF-R6
Yamaha YZF-R6

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Yamaha R6 YZF 2009!!! (BLACK & GOLD)”

Written on: 13/06/2017 by siBailey1965 (1 review written)

I have only had my Yamaha for about 3 months now, and every time I get on it is like the very first time. The speed alone is in a class of its own. I am 6"0 and my feet cannot firmly stick to the ground at traffic lights, but I am in full control of the bike, I would recommend anybody riding if you are 5"7 or under. The handling is smooth and the bike feels incredibly light once one the move. Down Side: It can really do a number on your wrist and tends to get warm really quickly, but the fans do a great job on cooling this bike down. For everyday use and long rides out, I couldn't think of a better bike to be honest. Yamaha for life!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Rickster1's Comment

Written on: 18/07/2017

I've also got a Black & Gold 2009 Yamaha YZF R6. I have had it for about 2 months now, and its amazing. I 100 percent agree with the bike getting warm very quickly, but like you said the fans kick in and do the job. I am also 6"0 and I still use my toes to balance the bike at the lights, but its not in danger of falling over, love the riding position and the sound its awesome!!!! So far so good!!

I am abit worried about going on a long ride if the bike does get too hot too quickly.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Beautiful Bike to own”

Written on: 02/11/2011 by The_Cape (2 reviews written)

Just bought this bike for myself and my partner. I love the beautiful design, great engine power, excellent handling, easy to manouver, stable power distribution in every RPM level, powerful accelleration, and the best top speed in class. The ride position is beautiful, even though the seat is higher than the handle bar. Overall, I couldn't find any fault with this bike. It is another Masterpiece from Yamaha, and this bike is the best in the class.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Just used a Yamaha R6 on a track day at Silverstone....”

Written on: 18/09/2009 by kingofreviews (89 reviews written)

Just used a Yamaha R6 on a track day at Silverstone. What a great little bike! So easy to drop into a corner, and it feels really stable under power through even the tightest bend. As with many bikes in this class you have to keep the rev's up - let them drop below 8000 and you will really feel the lack of torque, but keep it in the power band and it will fly. On the shorter, twistier circuits like Silverstone international it will keep up with almost anything - if we had been on the GP circuit it might have been different. A great track bike, docile when wrming up but as quick as you need when you are thrashing it - just needed some slicks for maximum effect.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Had my 2002 Yamaha YZF-R6 for 2 weeks and have enjoyed...”

Written on: 13/03/2009

Had my 2002 Yamaha YZF-R6 for 2 weeks and have enjoyed every second of it, i would say its a belter of a sports bike to start with, you wont have any regrets. ENJOY

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“If you can do cause these bike's are so much fun, I...”

Written on: 07/07/2008 by lincolnjames2008 (1 review written)

If you can do cause these bike's are so much fun, I wanted the r1 but the r6 was avaiable, and so pleased I did there great fun, perfect for big bike experience, great for everyday commuting or just ride out's and track day's, either way, it'll bring a smile to your face everytime!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I have owned my 99 Yamaha R6 for around 6 months now...”

Written on: 05/07/2008

I have owned my 99 Yamaha R6 for around 6 months now and this was my first bike after passing DAS. Coming of an ER5 onto a R6 was a big leap but definately worth it. The power is amazing and handling brilliantly. As others have said turns in the road are difficult your hands are so close to the tank on full lock. Otherwise can't fault it has been reliable since I have owned.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I got this Yamaha YZF-R6 from a friend because it was...”

Written on: 06/06/2006 by oogie (2 reviews written)

I got this Yamaha YZF-R6 from a friend because it was too much bike for him. He let me have it for a song! He dropped the bike three times and couldn't pick it up. Not a problem for me but he found it quite a challenge. He was a shorter rider and found he had problems with his feet on the ground... once again not a problem.
When I ride this bike I find that it's a very deceptive bike You can ride it a slow speeds and it is very comfortable in the city and for short rides on the highway, but twist that throttle too hard and your on one of those scary rides at the Fun Park! This bike is incredibly fast and should be ridden by more experienced riders. When your taking it out for a scoot with a rider on the back you can have a great time. I highly recommend this bike!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I have recently owned a 2001 Yamaha YZF-R6, this bike...”

Written on: 18/12/2005 by TLRogue (2 reviews written)

I have recently owned a 2001 Yamaha YZF-R6, this bike was extremely light and manouverable around town, it's fuel injected engine was smooth and manageble and made it very user friendly, that is until you gave it some stick then the pokey little motor that peaks at 18,000 rpm comes into its own. Drop a couple of gears then watch as the tachometer approaches 10,000 then you feel the surge as it takes off like a scalded cat. This has a serious grin factor and you tend not to realise how fast this 600 actually is. The gearbox however is something different, it's notchy and clunky especially between 1st and 2nd gear, and I found it prone to hitting false neutrals. You have to be exact with your left foot or quick on the clutch. The handling of the bike is easy at slow speed although the turning circle on it is dire, 3 point turn turns into a 5 point turn. As the bike pulls its very easy to power wheelie in first and second as the front is very light, too light sometimes and it can get a bit unsettled over the slightest rise in the road. I suggest a steering damper to rectify this and bring it back into heel. The suspension was smooth but a bit soft as standard but there is plenty of adjustment to tighten the whole thing up.The dashboard was easy to read with its large digital display and all the switches were in the right place. The riding position was a little cramped for me and you couldnt get a packet of chocolate drops under the seat, apart from that it is a nice ride. Recommended for anyone who doesn't want to go far and wants to do it quickly.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

252091_Stubennett's Response to TLRogue's Review

Written on: 21/07/2006

THIS REVIEW IS RUBBISH. THE 2001 R6 DID NOT COME WITH FUEL INJECTION. THIS COMES ON THE LATER 2003 MODEL. IT ALSO DOES NOT RE TO 18,000RPM

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“I purchased this Yamaha YZF-R6 sports bike recently...”

Written on: 05/05/2005 by qldfisho (1 review written)

I purchased this Yamaha YZF-R6 sports bike recently and found it to more than satisfy my needs. The bike appears to be very reliable. It handles extremely well and is suitable for commuting or taking those long Sunday rides.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview