Bank of Scotland Business Bank Account Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
0.8 / 5
4% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Bank of Scotland Business Bank Account - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Bank of Scotland Business Bank Account

Bank of Scotland Business Bank Account

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“The most appalling customer service I have ever...”

Written on: 05/05/2020 by GAAM (1 review written)

Wed – after 14 years of online banking, today I can't add a new recipient. Phone for assistance can't get a reply. Thu – Phone many times throughout the day, finally call taken in the afternoon. After 30 mins on the call being passed around the line goes to the engaged tone. Fri – Phone many times throughout the day, finally call taken in the afternoon. 1hr 20mins phone call during which I was passed around four operators. Eventually told that a card and reader was to be posted. Fri - I log in to my account – the password has been changed. I can't access my bank account. Mon – Phone many times throughout the day, finally call taken in the afternoon. Passed around three operators. Why have they locked me out of my account? "You'll have to wait for the card to arrive." Tues – Waiting. Still locked out. No one to talk to. Does the Business Team exist? No chat support. No email support. The most unprofessional shambles.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Definition of what a bank should not be ”

Written on: 23/05/2015 by Mylesc500 (1 review written)

We have had 2 Bank of Scotland business account for almost 30 years, but not for much longer, When we had a business manager locally, they were only a phone call away and any issues were dealt with swiftly and effectively. We now have what is called a 'relationship manager'. But I don't know who the relationship is with as its certainly not us. I don't even know their name, let alone any contact details. I have just spent 42 minutes in a telephone queue to end up speaking to no one. The service supplied by the head office of this bank is unbelievably poor. But therein lies our problem, the local branch staff are fantastic, and our day to day dealings locally are not an issue, but anything that involves head office is a nightmare. We recently had to complete a telephone survey about our local branch, and we gave them good scores for all questions, but I would willingly do the same survey for head office stall if they would only let me, though not sure how to score in negative figures. BOS please get your act together !!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Gprovan's Comment

Written on: 17/06/2015

Agree completely. Same experience with us.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't go to BOS for business account!!!”

Written on: 03/04/2015 by Craig35 (1 review written)

Completed application online, took 2 full weeks to receive in post and 3 weeks after sending docs back to them we have been given excuse after excuse, no answers as to when account will be open. Given the runaround. The CS folk are nice enough but tell you what you want to hear but all have been lies. Gone way past the timescale they state it should've been completed by. Asked to speak to the Manager several times - you have to wait up to 72 hours for a call back. Completely disappointed. Go somewhere else if you need a quick turnaround (Santander and HSBC I've been told are 3-5 work days).

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Diabolical ”

Written on: 08/09/2014 by Spray (1 review written)

I can't name staff member as I get out through to call centres and have not spoken to the same person in the 4 weeks I've been trying to sort my account out! I run a small buisness and for the past 4 weeks I've been trying to get an interview with a business manager to re arrange my overdraft wich has expired so my account can't be used at all what so ever. I've been promised for the past 4 weeks that a manager will ohine me back within 24hrs and noting. I have take 4 full days off work and sat beside the ohine as they have promised they would call back on each if these days and nothing. Just a disgrace. Also I've been trying to get inline banking with them with no success at all. I full the forms out and send them into the Bank of Scotland and I never get a response, on questioning this on the phone and asking if they are not recieving my paper work then who is getting my personal and buisness details?? They tell me to put my complaint in writing so I do, they seem to think by putting £25.00 into my account is going to stop me questioning where my details are actually going to. I'm left with no other choice but to change banks for personal and buisness accounts and I advise anybody to never ever ever go the the bank of Scotland for anything. Even their staff in their branches are embarrassed at the poor system and lack if customer service! Don

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Davids1965's Response to Spray's Review

Written on: 02/03/2015

You could be telling my story

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Bad Cutomer service - Worst Business banking”

Written on: 20/05/2014 by A.Razzouk (1 review written)

I am having personal account with BoS since 2009. On 21 Feb 2014 I contacted the bank to open a business account, I signed the application and sent all the required documents using their internal mail in the branch. Until today 20th May, they could not open the account for me. They lost the documents that I sent to them, and I had to send same documents 3 times. I did 3 complaints about that, and the senior complaints officer admitted that they have a problem in the business department but she can not do any thing, and she asked me to send the documents again, which I did but still not opened. To make it worse, she offered me a compensation of GBP200 (as if she wants to say take it or leave it), which I refused to take and found it offensive. I am not sure what kind of skilled people they hired, but I am sure that such an attitude and carelessness would take them out of the business for a while. 3 month waiting to open an account affected my cash inflows as new setup business and affected my reputation in front of my clients. This is something that BoS team could not understand.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“3 hours wasted trying to carry out simple task”

Written on: 28/04/2014 by Owdboots (1 review written)

Tried to make an internet payment to a new supplier but the account name only allows for 12 characters. Tried to get some help by phone and trouble from the start. A robot asks you to speak certain characters from your password, which it never seems to recognise. A robot then asks why you are calling, but doesn't see to recognise "to speak to a human being". After being serenaded by canned music, eventually told by another robot that they are very busy and current waiting time is 5 to 10 minutes. Try the same procedure 1 hour later with same result. Eventually manage to speak to a Scotsman with a very hard to understand Glasgow accent who tells me I can only make a Daily payment of £10,000 so will need to make more than one transfer if done by phone, however I can make the transfer in one transaction on line, but cannot explain why the online transfer will not allow me to input the full company name, and offers to transfer me to the internet help department. After listening to canned music again, I am cut off. in desperation I give up, and am now looking to move my account.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Bank of Scotland Business Account”

Written on: 25/02/2014

Starting up a one man consultancy business and applied on line to BOS on 14th January 2014. 6 weeks later they still can't tell me when it will be open. Even when it is opened the account is locked until they do verification - on information they received a month ago. Go somewhere else - but check carefully on how long it will actually take to open.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible Bank, Would Not Recommend”

Written on: 03/10/2013 by georgetronan (2 reviews written)

Terrible bank, but I suppose probably lie the rest of them. All we can say is that it took 3 + months to even get our online banking sorted, so next time we’ll stay with NatWest.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst experience of my life”

Written on: 02/09/2013 by stevencairns88 (3 reviews written)

Bank of Scotland Business has been the worst experience of my life. The opening procedure was an utter joke. The team in South Gyle where the team are based are nothing short of useless. They made a multitude of errors when opening the account from losing paperwork to countless failures to call back. This meant we did not have an active bank account for opening our hotel. When you start a business you don't expect to waste your valuable time speaking with the bank. Think again with this lot. I had to escalate my complaint to the head of the account opening team before things even started to progress. Past the account opening hurdle- I thought it would be plain sailing from there. Boy was I wrong. I work in contact center customer experience management- and I would have a field day with this lot. No one is interested in screeds of detail so will summarise; - They always lose documentation you sent to them - If a business manager is not available to speak to, then insist you hold. Call backs never actually happen - Call backs, in general, from any team, don't seem to happen so deal with all requests on the same call - If you have personal banking, watch they do not interfere with any security checks you have set up on there. - Always take a note of who you speak with as the agents sometimes fail to leave a note (seems to be during mess ups) and they will deny you called them. Keep records. I would say 9/10 of the times I contact them was because some form of mess up from their end. AVOID AT ALL COSTS. I have been a BOS personal customer for years and always thought they were great. Since the Lloyds take over, it all seems to have went to pot.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“BOS poor business support”

Written on: 11/07/2013

A very very poor service, advice given by help desk is not condusive to standard business practice demonstrated complete lack of customer service experience would recommend anyone to give a wide berth

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't do business with BOS”

Written on: 22/05/2013

Been trying to open a business account since 29/03/13 they don't contact you then make you wait for ages on hold to talk to them. The accounts opening team don't have a clue about business and just lie to you when you ask questions. No idea what's taking them so long to open a basic bank account for a limited business? They told me the account would be open in ten days and silly me I have been taking payments from my customers only to be told today 22/05/13 that the payments won't go into the account as its not open yet??? And when I asked why got told I don't know!!! This bank does not want to do business so do not use..... Am off to find another bank after being threatened with closure if I use my own bank account to get my customers payments as I need to use a business account for business payment bla bla WELL OPEN MY BUSINESS ACCOUNT THEN ejits. I really do hope you go bust and you all including the gimps on the boardroom get kicked out onto the street cos that's ware myself and staff are ending up because of you lot of morons..... Rant over again don't use this silly silly bank

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“awful”

Written on: 13/05/2013 by pabloc (1 review written)

now 35 minutes into a call centre queue. they said it would be 10 minutes. i think the one person has probably gone home or for a fag. if the automated intro was not so awful i would give up. typing with one hand, hence no caps. time to close this account. gone to pot under public ownership - pity. customer for 10 years. cannot be doing with this.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“One word for Bank of Scotland - AVOID.”

Written on: 19/04/2013 by bos_sucks (1 review written)

We have banked with Bank of Scotland for over 16 years. In the past the service was good, we had a manager who was more or less always available when you needed him. This all changed in 2010 when our manager was made redundant and our account taken over by what they now call a Relationship Manager. This is the biggest joke ever. There is NO relationship with this man. He doesn't answer his mobile phone, doesn't respond to numerous voicemails you leave him and has no landline number. There is no telephone numbers for any of the branches. The only way to speak to Bank of Scotland is through the "Helpline" telephone number and you may as well talk to your dog. Here is a horror story for you. We desperately needed to talk to someone about business lending. Call the "Manager". Does not answer. Does not respond to 5 voicemails. Go to local branch. Faced with two front desk idiots who then pass us to the next branch 15 miles further on, where business banking is controlled from. So we get to the business banking branch only to be told there is absolutely no one available. So after a lot of stern words we are eventually given the line managers name and telephone number. So we go outside and attempt to call him. "Hello, this is *name" and I am now on holiday until the 10th of April. Well that's just brilliant right? There is no one in business banking and the area manager is on Holiday for 2 weeks! When you need a little help Bank Of Scotland slam the door in your face. Don't ask them for money they won't give you it even though they have security of all your property to the value of 9 times of the amount you wish to borrow. They won't pay items against uncleared funds. They charge you for paying in, they charge you for taking out, they charge you for practically stepping inside the branch. They are rude, they are incompetent, overall they are useless. They return £10000 direct debits for the sake of £100 being short. When we asked to borrow an extra £10k we were told to take a personal loan. This bank is a HORROR STORY. All they want to do is sink your business and take everything you own. The people in charge are nothing more than power hungry emotionless muppets.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Business Banking website down for days”

Written on: 30/03/2013 by JohnChallis100 (1 review written)

The online banking website has been unavailable now for six days (from 26th March to 30th March 2013) and it is still down now. The site is completely unavailable - returning a 404 Not Found error. How am I supposed to run a business - page wages etc - with no access to banking facilities ?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“A Bank, really!!!”

Written on: 14/03/2013

We have been BoS business customers for 25 years, and I can't believe how poor the service has become over the last 2 years or so. I have no issue with local branch staff, who are usually very helpful. My wrath is reserved for the head office people, they have no interest whatsoever in my business. it is impossible to contact my relationship manager (whatever that means) by either phone (unless you wait in a phone queue for ages once it took 45 minutes) or email. Over the last 6 months I have carried out an experiment, every time I see an advert for a new product or receive something in the post(which is often)offering a new product from BoS I have dialled the contact number and without fail got straight through to a human being immediately. what a pity they didn't think enough of their existing customers to offer the same service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT USE BOFS”

Written on: 18/01/2013 by wheelyneil (1 review written)

Ridiculous call centre delays - almost impossible to speak to a human. If you finally get through, the staff are not in the slightest bit helpful in resolving problems - it's always the same story - they can't help as it's not their department and the people you want to speak to are not available. utterly useless. DON NOT USE THEM IF YOU VALUE YOUR MONEY!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Problems with receiving euro account statements abroad”

Written on: 01/12/2012

For more than two years now the Bank of Scotland has been unable to deliver monthly statements on my euro account to my address overseas. This is more or less since the Lloyds Bank takeover. The Bank of Scotland has been unable to find out why this is happening. All other statements and documents arrive in good order. I have to request a euro statement each month by telephone! I have recently discovered I am not the only person in this situation.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not use BoS!!”

Written on: 27/01/2012 by b16jim (1 review written)

Started up my business using the Bank of Scotland. Very easy set the account up and initially the online banking was good. But this is where unfortunately the good news ends. The BoS has never showed any interest in my business, our growth, our requirements. The Business Account Managers (you will probably have a few as they seem to change frequently) don't have a grasp of your business and to be quite honest, don't seem to care. Information or help is poor and if you require any financial assistance they will send a Lloyds TSB rep who will peruse the best product for them...not you! The final straw came with the 'slick' way BoS was able to seamlessly revamp their online banking facility by taking away the only good features, making you apply for bulk payments (even though they had allowed it prior to the change), wiping all bill payment details....twice!!! If I ran my business they way these buffoons run theirs I would have gone under within a month. Just as well they have the safety blanket of the tax payers money to sit back on! If you are serious about your business, please do not use the Bank of Scotland as they have the potentiall to take you under through their incompatancies! After 5 miserable years I have now moved to HSBC (although this proved to be a bit painful as BoS decided to delete all my bill payments again) who seem to be 100% better (still early days though). I now see my Business Account Manager on regular basis who fully understands and supports our business and even has the guts to say 'I don't think that's possible' if we are asking the impossible, instead of stringing us along only to get to the final hurdle and then announce that it could not happen! Apart from all that though...the BoS are good :)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Bank of Scotland are Rubbish”

Written on: 12/12/2011 by krikoman (6 reviews written)

Like many here, very disappointed that the recent Sept.2011 changes have completely wrecked the ease of use of their E-Banking service and the total lack of interest show by my "Account Manager" for whatever use he is. There is no other way to contact them other than by phone (local rate) obviously not a free phone number. Just opened an account with Santander and unfortunately that appears to be as bad as BoS!! To make a payment you have to enter the details every time if you want to change the reference (i.e. the invoice / bill number) Santander doesn’t allow “\” or “/” in the reference field!!! Dows anyone know of a good easy to use online bank – like BoS used to be??

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Webperson's Response to krikoman's Review

Written on: 20/01/2012

HSBC online banking is easy to use and good. Their customer service I wouldnt rate though, but if you dont have to speak to anyone, then HSBC is good.
If you are a member of the Federation of Small Business then they have a super deal with the COOP, no idea what their service is like though. Its worth asking around.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“LACK OF INTEREST IN RESOLVING PROBLEMS”

Written on: 24/11/2011 by MELVYNHOLMAN (1 review written)

I had wrongly paid in £22000 into the bank on credit slip we had never used but had put correct sort code and account number onto slip,I had also put company name and bank details onto cheques after numerous phone calls and being told different stories, it was put under investigation when i checked what was happening i was told the money would be in a suspense account somewhere with many other peoples. The investigation was suspended and i was not told. My account manager who appears to have her hands tied ! tells me now that i have to get a copy of one the cheques so they can find our money at a cost of 310. One of the cheques in question was actually cashed by the bank of scotland 6 days after i sent them.But still not in my account two weeks later. I will keep you updated and let you know which bank i change to,which i have mentioned to my account manager who once again was not concerned, still i suppose i only pass through the bank £1 million pound a year peanuts i suppose but just watch for the redundancies when people move from this bank.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by gemmisa on 9th February 2018 Report this content
Do I have to go to the bank to open a business account if I am not with the bank of scotland or can I open an account online with them?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview