The Bourne Supremacy Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.2 / 5
91% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business

Summary

Matt Damon is back as Jason Bourne in another thrilling adventure. If you want to know the plot this one and stay ahead of the game, get the Book first. If you want to re-watch the Bourne Identity get it here and add your reviews.
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
The Bourne Supremacy - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for The Bourne Supremacy

The Bourne Supremacy
The Bourne Supremacy
The Bourne Supremacy
The Bourne Supremacy
The Bourne Supremacy

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★☆☆

“The Bourne Supremacy is very much the same as the...”

Written on: 16/08/2009 by jonny harris (14 reviews written)

The Bourne Supremacy is very much the same as the other 2. He finds out a bit more about his past and loads of action inbertween. Overall its a good film, i thought there was going to be a big finaly but not what i accpected. Recommended if you liked the first two or like action films in general.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“A great action film with very good fight sequences and...”

Written on: 15/03/2007 by RobBuckland (31 reviews written)

A great action film with very good fight sequences and a plot that keeps you guessing.
Matt Damon is back again discovering more about his unknown millitary past in a whirlwind tour starting in Goa and heading through Europe as the clues drop in place for him.
I'd recommend it based on two facts; a) the wife liked it despite hating action films and b) I liked it despite hating Matt Damon.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“This is probably the best film I have ever seen. All...”

Written on: 02/03/2007 by rds1 (1 review written)

This is probably the best film I have ever seen. All the way through I was completely absorbed by the plot and Matt Damon's brilliant acting.
I am a massive fan of The Bourne Identity film particularly because I am a big fan of Matt Damon. The action scenes and the overall balance of the plot meant that I thought the sequel would never be as good as the first film.
However, I think the Bourne Supremacy is much better than the Bourne Identity because of the absorbing plot, outstanding action scenes, and the development of Jason Bourne's character.
If you watch one action film this year, it should be this one, unless you find it difficult to keep up with complex plot lines. I didn't have this problem but the rest of my family did.
I think this series of films takes the action/espionage genre up to a whole new level and raises the bar for all James Bond films of the future.
The action scenes are very cool and very intense and so are the car chases.
Overall, unless you despise clever and action intense movies, I would recommend you to see this film.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Matt Damon returns again as the assassin with no...”

Written on: 15/02/2007 by Tom H (110 reviews written)

Matt Damon returns again as the assassin with no memory of his past, and a fear of what the future may hold.
The plot this time revolves around the links between a traitor within the CIA and a Russian oil tycoon. Bourne, now living with Marie (Franka Potente) in Goa, is set up as the killer of an informer to the CIA in Berlin. Bourne goes into revenge mode after Marie is killed by a man who Bourne thinks has been sent by his former masters. But, in his hunt for those responsible, discovers someone he once worked with has set both he and Conklin (who appears in flashback only) to take the fall for a betrayal of the CIA.

Paul Greengrass (director of "Bloody Sunday" and "United 93") is the director of this instalment of the Bourne movies. Doug Liman is now exec producer. Greengrass produces a movie which, although different from the first, is certainly worthy of much praise. His way of building tension, and getting the best from actors is a match for Liman. Either Liman or Greengrass would be excellent if the third and fourth Bourne novels are made into films.
The action sequences are excellent. Fight sequences are again filmed by hand-held camera to give the impression of the audience being in the room with them, with martial arts expert Jeff Imada again choreographing them. The car chase through a Moscow road tunnel is a rival for the Mini chase through Paris in the prequel, and was the first such sequence filmed in the heart of the former USSR. And the more pensive, touching scenes (like the death of Marie, and Bourne confronting the daughter of his first two victims) are also very well-acted and directed. Greengrass again shows his skill in directing the sequence where Bourne escapes from the Berlin Police.
Damon is again excellent as Bourne, who is now much more of a hard-edged, shadowy man. Damon impresses in both the action scenes and the dramatic ones. This man is now irreplaceable as Jason Bourne. Assuming the third and fourth books are made into movies, Damon should be the only man on the list of actors for the character of Jason Bourne.
Joan Allen is also good as the tough Pamela Landy. She is a brilliant replacement for Chris Cooper's character of Conklin from the first movie. Her scenes with Brian Cox are well-acted, as two powerful supporting characters lock horns.

Based on the success of "Identity" and "Supremacy," Universal Pictures would be foolish to ignore the potential of making both "The Bourne Ultimatum" and "The Bourne Legacy" into Hollywood movies.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The Bourne Supremacy is even better than the Bourne...”

Written on: 21/01/2006 by Savanna Moon (1 review written)

The Bourne Supremacy is even better than the Bourne Identity (the first movie). I really liked both of them! Matt Damon is great! He's one of the best actors ever! I think everyone should see this movie!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“After seeing The Bourne Identity, which was brilliant!...”

Written on: 31/08/2005 by masterchief (5 reviews written)

After seeing The Bourne Identity, which was brilliant! I thought it was going to be hard to better it, but the Bourne Supremacy did. The action was superb, and the storyline kept you thinking all the way to the end of the film.
This is the coolest film I have seen!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The sequel to the much acclaimed Bourne Identity,...”

Written on: 17/08/2005 by kblanking (3 reviews written)

The sequel to the much acclaimed Bourne Identity, based on the Robert Ludlum novel of the same name.
The Bourne Supremacy carries on much where the last one left off. Bourne is living in Goa, India, with the ever patient Marie by his side, helping him to try and remember who he is. After two years of scribbling in his notebook and endless nightmares, he is not much further forward.
When a ruthless assassin enters this cosy new life, and Marie takes the bullet meant for him, Bourne goes on the warpath after 'them'. Surfacing first of all in Naples, where he learns that he has been framed for a murder of two CIA operatives in Berlin, and the theft of millions of dollars. Bourne must endeavour to stay alive long enough to find out the truth. His trail takes him to Munich, Berlin and Moscow, where he is both hunter and fugitive.
The plot is almost as complicated as in the book version, leaving you never sure what is going to happen next. Joan Allen (Pamela Landy) and Brian Cox, are convincing, as the time served warring CIA operatives Pamela Landy and Abbot Ward. Juilia Stiles is superb as Nikki the Treadstone field op from Paris, and Damon does not disappoint as Bourne, doing his own stunts and speaking passable German, and presumably adequate Russian. Franka Potente does her best with the anaemic Marie character, leaving Allen to play the strong female character (Landy). Greengrass's hand-held camera work gives this psychological action thriller an edgy feel, and real cars are used for the car chase scenes which have you on the edge of your seat.
The ending is a resolution of sorts, with Bourne making amends for past misdeeds and gaining a clue to his true identity, his alter ego David Webb. This leaves the way open for a third film, now doubt called The Bourne Ultimatum, in which Bourne/Webb explores the sensitive, intellectual side of his nature, only to have his new life shattered once again by another fit-up by rogue secret services operatives, and the flying bullets of ruthless assasins.
All in all, this a perfectly fine action thrille r, nd a DVD you will want to watch more than once, if only to figure our what is going on.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The Bourne Supremacy - Absolutely loved this film, was...”

Written on: 14/06/2005 by kitten28 (11 reviews written)

The Bourne Supremacy - Absolutely loved this film, was edgy and fast paced throughout. Actually saw this before first one but didn't affect my enjoyment. Casting is perfect and Matt Damom plays the role brilliantly and will keep you gripped to the end. Have seen it now about five times and still would watch again!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The Bourne Supremacy is top film and was an excellent...”

Written on: 31/03/2005 by sportdonkey (30 reviews written)

The Bourne Supremacy is top film and was an excellent sequel to the Bourne Identity. I noticed one of the other reviews complained about the cinematography used but I personally loved the way they put the film together particularly for the action scene of fighting and car chases. I think Matt Damon was the perfect choice for the role of Bourne in both films because he is not the stereotypical all action hero ala Arnie or Vin Diesel. He's a much more thoughtful kind of hero. The plot sees Bourne tracked down and forced out of hiding when framed for a crime, when his mrs gets it he goes after revenge and seeks to put an end to everything so that he can get on with his life. Having raved about it so far, there are a few minor flaws in the plot. Like would the police really believe Bourne was stupid enough to leave a hand print at the sign of the crime? But a good film all the same.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“The Bourne Supremacy - Few sequels come close to their...”

Written on: 19/08/2004 by 80smetal4ever (22 reviews written)

The Bourne Supremacy - Few sequels come close to their original in quality, if the first film was any good. Fewer than that can be considered better movies than the original; Aliens comes to mind. The team behind this movie has done a very good job.

Matt Damon puts in another fine performance as Jason Bourne. He has been programmed by the US government to be a killing machine. In the first movie, The Bourne Identity, he had lost his memory, and was trying to figure out who he was - and why he had so many specialized skills. In this film, he again is the "anti James Bond". He doesn't concern himself with being well dressed, bedding the best ladies, or being suave with the one liners - he just gets the job done. For a man with not a large build, he can cause a lot of damage just with his bare hands.

At the end of the last film, we saw Jason and his girlfriend on some local, tropical island paradise. The sequel starts of with them both living peacefully somewhere on the coast of India. Jason has decided to stay there until they are spotted, and then he will find a new place to hide. He had warned the US government before, "don't come after me, and I won't come after you".

Jason still has nightmares and visions, as well as symptoms of the brutal training which included mental and physical enhancing drugs. He writes everything he can remember down in a journal to try and piece it together at some point. There aren't too many of his kind, the "superagents" from Project Treadstone left alive. If they haven't died from the inner struggle of their brain against the repressed memories - they've either died while chasing Bourne, or by Bourne killing them.

The Deputy Director of the CIA, Pamela Landy, is working on a project in Berlin, Germany. Her sting operation goes very wrong, and somehow they find a fingerprint that leads them to the profile of Jason Bourne. The CIA holds a special meeting with Pam and Ward Abbot (He was Uncle Argayle in Braveheart). Abbot is the last senior advisor to Project Treadstone, since the main director has died since the last film. The CIA bosses decide to send them both back to Berlin to begin to hunt down and kill Bourne.

One of the first things the new CIA team does is hunt down former operative Nicky, played by Julia Stiles. Looks like they asked Julia to gain some weight for this film. She has a much rounder face than usual, and wears a scarf in most of her scenes. They ask her what her role was in Project Treadstone. She was to monitor their health, because of all the issues that could arise: headaches, stress, going out of control, etc.

While all of this is going on, Jason has spotted someone stalking him. They get into a car chase, and Jason's car ends up going off of a bridge with him and his girlfriend in it. The bad guy, decides most of them must be dead - so doesn't pursue. Turns out he was hired to kill Jason, and he told his Soviet boss that he was dead.

Jason is furious, as he blames the CIA for the attack. He thought that he had negotiated a truce with them. Somehow, he shows up in Italy. He is being detained by a CIA agent there. Just when you wonder how he is going to get out of the situation, he takes the agent's gun, and beats up the guard in a flash of action. He also is a whiz with gadgets. He downloaded this agents' palmpilot/phone, into his own phone within 30 seconds, and then he escaped.

He tracks the CIA team to Berlin, their center of operations. He goes to a nearby building, and sets up a sniper rifle with scope, and he can look right into the CIA's war room. That seems a little hard to believe, but it was a nice effect. He asks to have Nicky meet him, alone in a few hours. When Pam says, "What if we can't find her in that time"? - Jason says, "It shouldn't be too hard, she's standing right next to you". That was SOLID! Pam has no idea how good Jason really is, and Ward keeps trying to tell her that she is out of her league on this mission.

Jason gets the info he needs out of his one on one meeting with Nicky. He finds out why they are after him, but also explains to Nicky that he didn't do it, and was in India at the time.

The rest of the movie involves the CIA looking for, finding, losing, and finding Jason Bourne again and again...There is an incredible car chase scene involving Bourne and a secret service agent from Russia. It took me back to the "superchases" of yesteryear, like Steve McQueen in Bullit, with the green, fastback Mustang chasing after the Black Charger. Very good stuff.

Throughout the movie, Jason is trying to put together this one memory he has of a mission he did one time in Germany. Nicky told him that it isn't in his file, but he knows that he did it. When he finally solves that puzzle, the film is almost over.

Just like the first Bourne movie, the very end of the film is good. While these movies have been based on the books of Robert Ludlum, this movie did not follow any of his books. They started to use one of his books as a guide, but midway through - decided they had a better idea of how to go. It works for me, I rate this film an 8.5/10. I hope Matt Damon makes at least 3 more of these films. They are action-packed, have good storylines, good acting, and quality music.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Leighton76's Response to 80smetal4ever's Review

Written on: 20/08/2004

I agree with all of the comments made in this review, I beleive that the story was well0written and Damon (who doesn't like to be typecast) can definitely add this type of character to his already very versatile acting abilities.
<br>
<br>The only problem I had was that Julia Stiles is a very good actress and was only in the film a few minutes then vanished without a trace.
<br>
<br>other than that, very enjoyable, a must see for anyone and I too hope for a 3rd.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“The Bourne Supremacy - I loved the first Bourne movie...”

Written on: 26/07/2004 by krhudson (1 review written)

The Bourne Supremacy - I loved the first Bourne movie and couldn't wait to see this one. Although the story was ok, the cinematography was horrible. The highly excessive camera shake and extremely fast scene changes absolutely ruined the film in my opinion. I mean c'mon, there are scenes where everything on the screen is motionless, so why is the camera shaking?. All that camera shake did not add any sort of realism, it just made it very difficult to watch the movie and sucked the fun right out of it. And regarding the quick scene changes, I imagine there are a select few humans who may actually be able to focus on the screen in the few nanoseconds allowed but I'm not one of them. I feel like I missed 1/2 the film because my eyes didn't get a chance to focus. And trust me, my eyes were fixed on the screen in a sincere attempt. Bottom line - if I could do it over again I would not see this movie in the theatre, not even if it was free.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview