Natwest Home Insurance Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.2 / 5
5% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Natwest Home Insurance - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Natwest Home Insurance

Natwest Home Insurance

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“They don't care if you are left without a TV”

Written on: 06/10/2022 by AndyClarke12 (1 review written)

Have just made a claim on my so called "ELITE "home insurance policy £982.24 per year. Lodging the claim no problem very quick and efficient. Some days later i get a call from The Davies group whom act as assessors for NatWest. 42 minutes of interview and am told by the assessor that they wish to have their engineer inspect it ,I am fine with this but then comes the crunch they are going to send 2 men some 77 miles each way in a lorry to pick up my TV for their engineer to look at it and i may get a decision in 5 to 7 days NOT GOING TO HAPEN!! The assessor is well aware that the problem with the tv is a cracked screen, damaged whilst putting on the wall. But no they expect me to be without a tv for 5 to seven days, no loan of a TV offered i ended the conversation with the Davies group assessor and went back to NatWest a very pleasant Young man answered and he went back to the Davies group but they were not for turning, I have lodged and official complaint with NatWest i await theire response What a waste of my time and energy, least to say 2 men travelling 144 miles minimum to pick up the TV how Green is that. I wont be taking any notice of NatWest anymore when they virtue signal their saving the planet propaganda. As you can see i am some what bemused with Davies Group assessors Probably an overeducated undergraduate not even having the understanding between cracked tv screen and an electrical /internal problem. DISSAPPOINTED

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst insurance I have ever used ”

Written on: 15/09/2022 by Zanele (1 review written)

I have had a NatWest insurance for nearly 5 years and a few days ago my washing machine stopped working, I called NatWest insurance and l was told that they don’t cover old gadgets and my washing machine has stopped working cause it’s too old. What’s the point of having a policy that only covers new equipment. I pay £720 a year and will be definitely be cancelling that stupid policy. The worst part is that a trawler handler makes that decision with out sending a qualified engineer to assess the situation. To my surprise I asked a different company and they came to fix my machine within 30mins and yet NatWest said my machine had packed up as it’s old.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Boiler cover is worthless”

Written on: 26/11/2020 by Rmistry4 (1 review written)

We have the boiler cover option and had an issue with our boiler. Managed to get someone out to see it within a day so it started well but from there it was all down hill! NatWest contract out there cover to a company who then contract out to another company but any parts for fixes have to be approved back up the chain! Took nearly 2 weeks, 12-13 phone call chasers and a lot of anger and still no action. Worthless

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“NatWest home insurance don’t use them they treat you...”

Written on: 18/10/2020 by Diego1234 (1 review written)

I got burglared dec2019 was insured with NatWest insurance contacted them about the burglary. Iv had 4-5 different people involved Sedgwick my claim . The magic man . A woman from Glasgow and a man. I was left scared frightened installed cameras updated all my security. Had a nervous break down had social workers critical care team as was not sleeping eating started getting confused was going through some terrible things with family suicide and critical car crash with my daughter as well as a dad that was in hospital over 5-6 week told he wasn’t goin to make it . And covid told insurance all this only for the man to tell me he wasn’t interested in my emotional side only the claim no one helps you they harass and try n confuse you I wrote on a receipt and now there saying I exaggerated the claim and are not paying me a penny. Still got all the broken items in the house and son has no tv . And there not interested. Mental health is at its highest and no one has even been interested you give them one inch and they use it against you.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“NATWEST HOME INSURANCE DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY sent...”

Written on: 21/01/2020 by corruption (1 review written)

NATWEST HOME INSURANCE DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY sent builders to my home after structural damage,no reports done, was told like for like yet in fact they were reusing my old items but just repainting them. building work was so poor it was classed as that at best by building inspector who's report they refused to accept.2yrs later after the ombudsman found them at fault did they decided to pay out. so they tell you they will do this and they move you out so you don't see nothing then fix your home for as less as possible at a later cost to you. i had to sen my chair away three times each time it came back worse than the time before until it was that bad after another furniture report done they decided to pay out.stay well clear of these people if you have had a company from LEICESTER do work at your home have it checked and don't trust the structural engineer

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Extremely poor service”

Written on: 12/04/2018

I have been with NatWest over 52 years and have Home insurance for over 40 years. After torrential rain couple of weeks ago, I had leak from roof over my garage, assessor came after 4 days but did not want to go in the loft, although I pointed out that my son did go up the loft and identified the site of leak, he was only prepared to take photographs from outside and said will pass it on to his company. When nothing happened I rang claims dept and was told that assessor should have told me that it was "not covered" as he considered it was wear & tare and not due to heavy stormy rainfall. They are trying to cop out!! Prior to heavy rainfall there was no problem with the leak. My advise is to avoid them like a plague!! I wish I had seen this site & reviews Zero stars for service but unfortunately lowest is one star!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Most unprofessional people I have ever dealt with. Do...”

Written on: 01/09/2016 by daviesgg (1 review written)

I pay £439 per year for their 'Elite' home and contents. Last week a leak was discovered in my upstairs bath room. Contacted them and a man came. He videos the damage of sagging floorboards, cracked tiles, toilet commuting away from fitting due to floor bending.He agreed we had a leak, possibly foul water. What has happened since 8days. Nothing. I have cancelled the renewal and find another company.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Daylight robbery”

Written on: 04/07/2016 by Brewermi299 (1 review written)

NEVER AUTO RENEW I have had a policy with NatWest Building insurance for over 15 years - and stupidly didn't go through the details every time it auto renewed. My fault. Not only had they changed the policy so it didn't cover crucial areas but they had increased the premium year on year by 15-20% - with only one small claim made over the whole 15 year period. I ended up paying over £3,000 for a policy I can get for £300 on a basic online search. I must take some responsibility - but I had hoped that a "reputable" company would have played a straight hand.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“don't bother ”

Written on: 16/05/2016 by Misael76 (1 review written)

Had contents insurance with them for 11 years paying £25 a month (which included £5 for mountain bike insurance) with no claims during that time, then i broke my laptop which i brought 2nd hand for £300. I called up and gave them the SN. they said they would call back and never did. when i called them up they said again someone will come round and look at the laptop and will call me to arrange a time, no one ever called. cancelled the insurance last week, they were not interested in why but just said there is a £25 cancellation fee now moved on to another insurance company paying half the price with the same cover

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Comm more important than Integrity ”

Written on: 29/01/2016 by Natwestissues (1 review written)

I'm totally disgusted with the claims service from Nat West home insurance. Having worked in the industry all of my working life I can't believe they still have such an appalling settlement strategy - picture this - a watch is stolen - it's validated by LMG and they offer you £300 via a cygnet card which you can use at 3 jewellers - you check and only 1 of the 3 jewellers stocks the brand and design but in a different colour - this is £379 - so you query this and they say they have made a mistake - you then say you don't want the only colour the jeweller stocks - Nat West then go away and say they have found a watch on Amazon for £167 and they can send me cash - yea right of course I'm going to by an expensive watch at a knock down price from Amazon. So I suggest to them LMG issue a Gem card instead - finally they agree to this for the watch but not the other items, we still have to have a Cygnet for this - not happy - is this treating customers fairly? The reason they confirmed was that they get better discount on Cygnet cards - but they would give me £50 as I was unhappy!!!! So I ask what is the difference in their commissions - is it more than £50 - if not just give me the bloody Gem card!!!!! They have gone away to look into it - I'm so annoyed and felt I had to rant - please feel free to share so Nat West policy holders know that their commission is more important than integrity !!!!!! I think they need to change their policy wording to that they will replace through their suppliers who give them the best commission - what a joke!!!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Excellent insurance company”

Written on: 18/12/2015 by Whaley1975 (2 reviews written)

Me and my partner got burgled over a month ago now while we were both at work. When we came home we were devastated to find our home trashed,and all our possessions including valuable and sentimental items gone. We were both gutted as you can imagine. Not only upset to have all your items stolen but to know someone else has been in your home. Natwest have been absolutly fantastic in every way and made a bad situation more bearable. They were on the ball straight away,keeping us up to date on a daily basis with the progression of the claim,making sure every aspect was dealt with as quick and efficiently as possible. In just over a month our claim has more or less been settled. All our items have been replaced at price value to the current market price or settled with store vouchers. One person who stands out in particular is the person I dealt with who has been so helpful,friendly,fair and caring. Thanks to all staff at natwest though. Your all very proffesional and fantastic. Again can't thank you enough. Would highly recommend. Xxxxxxxx

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★★

“Home Contents- Escape of water damage”

Written on: 17/12/2014 by ukmedic (2 reviews written)

Last year my home was flooded by an escape of water from an upstairs boiler whilst we were on holiday. Of course, no ground floor room was spared from the 100,000+ litres of water. NatWest were exemplary. They were very sympathetic and helped us every step of the way with the various claims for carpet, furnishings and appliances. They quickly sent out loss adjusters and we agreed replacement of all of our damaged items even though sometimes we had to negotiate with independent assessors (all insurance companies use these) to find the most similar replacement. NatWest even allowed us to use companies such as Appliances Online (AO.com) or Carpet Right to replace our goods. NatWest even allowed us to replace our ground floor carpets with laminate flooring (which we are delighted with). I cannot thank NatWest home insurance staff enough for the way they helped us through one of the worst times in our lives. They even extended our claim time because it took the housing authority nine months to repair structure of the house. It might have been because we had never made a claim up to that point but I have to say they were marvellous. Thank You Nat West!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Useless”

Written on: 24/09/2014 by rvBailey238 (1 review written)

I am currently trying to claim for a water damaged mobile phone. I contacted the insuarnce company as soon as the damage occured, I posted the phone to a repair shop as soon as I had the address, I chased up the repair centre as was told I would hear from them in 10 working days (but obviously did not), arranged a telephone interview to repeat everything I had already told people at least twice, and am now having to get irrelevant information from my phone company for them. If they do not have all the information they need by Oct 1st they will stop my claim. However, the information from my phone company they seem to feel is essential may not arrive in time. Non of the timings have been my fault, yet I may not get a replacement phone. As soon as this claim is settled (whichever way it goes), I am cancelling my insurance and taking my money elsewhere.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Davidc3568's Comment

Written on: 01/12/2014

Same thing happened to me mate tried to offer to repair dont accept that you need a new phone worst insurer out there

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“find another insurer”

Written on: 18/09/2014 by bailey69 (1 review written)

After coming home from holiday I found my house was vandalised ... since making a claim I have been treated like a criminal and after 10 months I still have no resolution and I am living in a vandalised house ..apart from this when I first made a claim it was delayed by 3 months as the advisor could not be bothered to inform the loss adjuster and after loads of calls no one saw this error until I made a formal complaint .. avoid these insurers as they think their customers are criminals

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“2 months to fix a burst pipe and counting.....”

Written on: 12/08/2014 by Robmiles (1 review written)

A pipe burst under my rear patio causing the formation of a stagnant pool against the outside wall of my kitchen. Reported it to Natwest Insurance on 19/6/2014. As of now 12/8/2014 water is still gushing out of the crack. Constant phone calls both to the company contracted to fix the pipe and to Natwest have resulted in no action. Have now involved Financial Ombudsman for all the good that did. Water is slimy and full of rotting vegetation. Absolutely incredible total lack of service. I am disabled and very vulnerable.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“can't get through!”

Written on: 21/07/2014 by Polo12 (1 review written)

I put a claim in for wind damage in Feb. it took a nearly month to get through to the call centre phoning every day and its still not resolved. I am writing this as I wait again ( it has been close on 30 mins this time)to speak to someone.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Good Service but could be better”

Written on: 07/04/2014 by KaliFry (1 review written)

I made a claim because my little boy pulled our 51" plasma TV on himself. There was no harm done to the little boy but the TV refused to work again. I phoned through to Nat West Insurance with the details to make a claim. Initially I was very annoyed as the lines never got answered on three occasions whilst I was on the phone for over an hour. When they finally did on the 4th attempt, they took the details and passed it on to Direct Validation Team. They called me back within a few hours to take some details and concluded that the TV was irreparable. They passed it back to Nat West to make the payment up to the level of insurance cover. Within 6 days the payment was made which I found really quick and excellent.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The Worst Experience Of My Life”

Written on: 20/12/2013 by LadyMills1 (1 review written)

So after taking out insurance, initially after 1 year this premium doubled because I was no longer a new customer! Sold my house and 3 weeks before moving out there was an incident with the flooring and I made a claim to have this replaced, after waiting several weeks a date was received to fit the floor a few days before I was due to move out, they cancelled with less than 24 hours notice, this was 2 weeks before Christmas and less than a week before I needed to move out, I had removed all the flooring and ALL APPLIANCES from the Kitchen and booked unpaid time off work, I had a huge amount of stress trying to get this arranged because everyone is booked solid on the run up to Christmas. I had to pay for the flooring and labour from my ISA as I had to wait additional time for the settlement I took to sort it myself to come through, I had no choice as the company they use asked me to wait another 3-4 weeks. My compensation? No excess! Thank you very much! On top of that even though I have now moved out I still have to pay the remainder of the policy, no matter how long it is for this 'service' even though I don't live there and had the same conversation with the rudest man alive 5 times about this. Beware of taking out a policy with Natwest.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!!”

Written on: 16/10/2013

I have claimed against my policy with Natwest and have been treated extremely poorly!! I have a claim for clothing ruined in leak. I sent proof of purchase through the post ( they never received this) I sent bank statements showing the withdrawals ( they never received this either.. convenient). All other correspondence has been through FAX and telephone contact. I am claiming £1400 and have banked with Natwest for over 20 yrs ( this will soon be changing) I have complied with all their requests and still they are asking for me evidence?? They now want photographs of me wearing the items??? ( how do they know what i look like its laughable). I am currently going through the financial ombudsman as I feel i have been unfairly treated any thoughts or advice would be appreciated thanks (wish there was a button for worse than terrible service!)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bigmouthsue's Comment

Written on: 12/06/2014

Well what happened with the obudsman!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID AVOID AVOID”

Written on: 26/06/2013

I have been banking with NatWest for over 25 years. I took out NatWest home insurance about 10 years ago and the first claim we had following a burglary was dealt with by their UKI validation team who treated us like criminals. Claim took over 1 year to pay out after involving the Financial Ombudsman. Then 2 years later we had another burglary and went through the exact same gruelling process. They have no problem taking your money but when a genuine claim is made they treat you like a criminal and have no customer care whatsoever. They try anything and everything not to pay out - even as far as trying to VOID my policy which again was turned around by the Financial Ombudsman. Never EVER take out insurance with them. I am even considering closing all 7 of my bank accounts and going elsewhere. BTW - I used to be ex-NatWest staff 20 years ago!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview