Zurich Home Insurance Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.6 / 5
16% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Zurich Home Insurance - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Zurich Home Insurance

Zurich Home Insurance
Zurich Home Insurance
Zurich Home Insurance
Zurich Home Insurance

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Zurich - No call back - Go with LV they are great ”

Written on: 09/06/2022 by JeffersonPennington (1 review written)

We have a water leak that has caused the floors to go soft between the joist. The agent we have used said the claim handler could not be contacted on one day - is this a one person department? The next time the claim handler has told the agent they will call back on a specific day - no call. Made a different claim on another property with LV insurance- what a difference - no hassle and they pay up. In a lot of cases LV are less expensive but certainly worth a lot more in my experience.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“After 20 years with Zurich excuses used not to pay”

Written on: 29/07/2019 by Sabrinai370 (1 review written)

On Wednesday June 12th My wife who has MS got the car out of the garage.I closed the garage doors and entered the car. Placing the keys which were in a Leather key fob in front of her near her invalidity pass. I was then going to transfer them to her Rucksack which I always do. But at that very moment a man leant into the car asking directions to a dentist, We pointed out the direction and he walked up the road. He quickly returned and asked for the number, which we told him. In the space of a few seconds he had taken the keys out of the key fob and returned the key fob. I placed the key fob in the rucksack and we went to our tax adviser for about two hours. In that space of time thieves had entered out house and stolen our safe, with all contents. All my wifes jewellery was stolen plus other items, but nothing else in the house was touched. The value was 500,000 euros. Zurich have not even sent out one of their own representatives, and claim it was only a common robbery because nobody forced their way into the house. The police had never heard of a robbery like it. We have since received 1900 euros from Zurich transferred to our account. They have not even paid for new locks on the house. Do not go near this company, as there policy is to take your payments and do not pay out for claims THE PRODCT IS BUILDINGS AND CONTENTS HOUSE INSURANCE

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Betrayed”

Written on: 28/08/2018

We took out permanent disability insurance with Zurich, whom we beieved to be a leading insurer. They sold on our policy and we are now with ReAssure who are beyond useless.I am now paying "twice as much for half the cover". They take one month to respond to an enquiry. They are not interested in providing a service, just earning as much as they legally can squeeze out of the client as they do not normally seek clients. I didn't sign up for this and feel betrayed. I would award zero stars if possible.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't buy any insurance with Zurich! Disgraceful ”

Written on: 04/05/2018 by Dane393 (1 review written)

So regret to have a home insurance with Zurich, they charge you anything with administration fees! They can charge admin fee more than the policy itself but they said it's on your policy. Avoid!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 1
★☆☆☆☆

“IF YOU ARE RUBBISH AT PAYING OUT YOU SHOULDNT BE...”

Written on: 11/09/2017 by Krupap21 (1 review written)

IF YOUR RUBBISH AT PAYING YOUR CUSTOMERS, THEN YOU SHOULDNT BE INSURING US!! I made a claim on my house insurance policy back in Feb, due to a water leak in the kitchen. They moved us out of our property into a hotel in June. They started the work in the house in June, 4 months after the actual claim was put through due to the communication between the vendors. Shows that such a big company can't even get a basic leak claim resolved. They have rubbish customer service and do not get back to you with any update unless you chase them. My parents are elderly and they did not take that into consideration at all. Absolutely disgusted how such a big company can have such rubbish customer service, communication skills and hire such vendors that are terrible on notifying their customers, allowing their contractors to walk off the job, delay job as they please, never follow up when promised. Even after our first complaint that they acknowledged that there was 5 weeks of avoidable delays, and still did not do anything to avoid any further delays that are still ongoing. One thing that these guys are really good at is NEGLECTING THEIR CUSTOMERS. For all the time I spent following up with them and their so called professional vendors, I should be paid as a full time staff/consultant.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Will not pay up after storm damage to my roof.”

Written on: 30/06/2017 by 357Stuart (1 review written)

BUILDING INSURANCE. On the 23rd of February 2017 a storm named Doris hit the U.K. This storm blew two slates off my roof and torrential rain poured into the loft. I called out my roofers the next day and they did emergency repairs which cost me over five hundred pounds. So I decided to make a claim from them and a few days later one of their inspectors called round. He was not very friendly and said very little and all he did was to use a smart phone on a long self i stick to look at the repair. After that i heard nothing for over four months and decided to get in touch with them. I was told that the claim had been rejected through lack of maintenance.(rubbish as I only spent 1000 pounds on roof maintenance six weeks before the storm) During the four months no communication or email at all. I decided to go with another company and was quoted ninety seven pounds for the year and was paying them well over three hundred pounds. I've been with them for over forty years and never made a claim. I would advise people not to go near this company with a barge pole.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Refusing claim as gradual process”

Written on: 26/01/2017 by qkRay433 (1 review written)

Zurich linked us with an organisation called Imperial Consultants when I reported the storm a couple of weeks ago had damaged my property. They refused my claim (no mention of the storm was made in the report) but because a bathroom above COULD have leaked some time earlier. No evidence of the leak was found in fact the 'consultant ' said the well used bathroom was dry. The property has been well maintenance and no evidence of neglect. I shall not recommend or use either of these companies again. In fact I am going to lodge a complaint with the Financial Ombudsman.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Claim payment delay”

Written on: 14/11/2016

I made a fairly modest claim for damaged flooring (£1377)in January 2016 and still waiting for settlement in November. There has been no dispute over the claim but I eventually established that they were waiting for the final invoice dispute having agreed early in the year to settle against an estimate submitted. Despite numerous e-mails through the brokers Zurich have not made any apparent effort to contact me to say what the problem was. Their service and communication is atrocious.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor insurance”

Written on: 30/08/2016 by M1howard (1 review written)

They refused to pay my claim because the claim form was submitted a few days late. They will clearly use any tactic to avoid paying legitimate caims.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst insurance company ever.”

Written on: 01/06/2016

They are great when they want to charge you but as soon as you have a claim, they just wash their hands. They will do everything with the main aim of not paying any claim.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Incompetent”

Written on: 22/04/2016 by AllissonBryant460 (1 review written)

Advisors have no idea about their job role and the company they use to deal with claims! As I type this, I am on hold.... AGAIN..... and have been on the phone for over 1.5 hrs!!! Its a comical company and I strongly advise to NOT purchase any insurance from them! I wouldnt trust them!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Zurich deliberately ignore your claim. Months of...”

Written on: 21/01/2016 by wyGreen276 (1 review written)

Home insurance claim Oct 21st 2015, We were flooded. No question as we have lots of photos.. Be aware, after 90 days persistently trying to get them to settle the claim I have found out how they operate. The local agent is the only person who can try to deal with Zurich. That 24hr customer helpline is to lull you into thinking that you have some way to communicate with them. Don't waste your time, you will spend hours getting nowhere. Forget writing emails. I have sent over 30 emails, & someone in Zurich customer service today told me, I think accidentally,'ZURICH DO NOT ANSWER EMAILS' ever... it goes in a file under your claim number. You can compain after 2 months, but they will give you the wrong email address for complaints. If you DO get the right email they Should answer you within 20 days.... apparently. 92 days later I am furious. Still waiting for any response ... meanwhile further damage occurring because their 'nominated builders' didn't turn up.. & Zurich continue to ignore me. Zurich Customer Service will only tell you what you already know. They cannot & will not actually do anything.. they will not organise anything..or tell you any info... they outsource assessors & if they don't come they won't do anything about it. The Agent has no power to get anything done. You can never get through to anyone that will actually do anything. I don't understand how a company this size can get away with not answering any emails as part of their company policy. Why don't they print that in their policy docs. They insist you send them full info & quotes for building repairs & full itemised Contents with receipts and photos etc, but they don't do anything with the info that takes days for you to supply.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid at all costs!!”

Written on: 04/01/2016 by buntylicious1 (1 review written)

I have been with this company for years since they bought out my original insurance company. I haven't made a claim since 1995 but needed to at the beginning of Nov 2015 regarding a loss. The customer service is appalling! Complete lack of communication, poor advisement and conflicting instructions given. I am convinced they only settled my claim as I constantly made a nuisance of myself. Made a stressful time more stressful!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Claims”

Written on: 01/11/2015 by Dillions (1 review written)

Avoid this company I have been with them for years paid in lots of money had to make a small but important claim they refused used any excuse not to pay an they try to bully you out of claiming it's coursed a lot of stress an cost me a lot of money I have left company an many of my friends and neibours are leave them

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Useless”

Written on: 07/10/2015 by KyliePiper214 (1 review written)

Terrible company. Slow to deal with claims, any excuse no to cover you and trap you into having to renew with them. Avoid unless you enjoy hassle and expensive renewal quotes because they take too long to deal with claims. Not even an apology offered.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible unprofessional rude”

Written on: 10/07/2015 by Nash202 (1 review written)

I made a genuine claim after a leaking radiator ruined my new carpet. They treated me like a criminal after I made a claim. Terrible service never ring you back and they try and haggle with you which is totally out of order when they are speaking to you regarding a claim. Not very professional. Beware of this company. Don't insure with them as they are ok taking your money, but if you make a claim they are terrible.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“No one to deal with if you need it.!! Good for taking...”

Written on: 03/03/2015 by Zion465 (1 review written)

I made a claim and just they playing with the time. Plus no one to talk to. They do not answer phones or " will call you back" ( never )they do not answer emails. The only thing either The Ombudsman or solicitor. If you can avoid it do not take out any insurance wit them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★☆☆

“Declined me”

Written on: 30/11/2014 by 271Schofield (1 review written)

I took out home insurance with Zurich Insurance and paid the Premium. However when I received the email copy of the Documents I noticed that I had not included a claim I had made 5 years ago. I immediately phoned them and explained that I wanted the claim added and to be advised of any increase in the Premium. I received a call back to say they were now declining to insure me!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor Service”

Written on: 24/10/2014 by AdaThomas (1 review written)

Extremely poor service - claims department didn't answer the phone. Very poor system for handling complaints. Had to escalate claim to senior management didn't get anywhere ended up paying for the work ourselves. Would never insure with them again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Very Poor Service”

Written on: 22/09/2014 by Charlotte332 (1 review written)

I had a leak under the bath and, under the terms of the policy, phoned their emergency service to fix the wastepipe. I was passed from one department to another until I ended up with their "Wessex" department who more or less told me that it was pointless using the emergency service and that I must make a regular claim that included various unnecessary things like moving the bath and replacing the plaster on the walls and the flooring with an excess of £250. All I wanted was an emergency repair - as stated in the policy - to stop the bathroom from flooding. When I protested they said they would send a firm from 60 miles away who had a £100 callout charge, and that I must pay them over the phone before they had done any work. As a pensioner who doesn't have that sort of money I had to call a local charity who fixed the leak for a fraction of the cost.My complaint is about the faceless and uncaring staff, one man in particular who had an extremely supercilious manner, and the fact that the week after the claim they sent a notification that my premiums would be going up by almost a hundred pounds a year. I have been with them for years. Mylast claim was five years ago and the premiums have in that time risen from £35 a month to £70. They give a very poor service, indeed.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
overview