Aviva Car Insurance Reviews at Review Centre

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.4 / 5
15% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

Summary

Aviva was previously known in the UK as Norwich Union.


? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Aviva Car Insurance - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Aviva Car Insurance

Aviva Car Insurance
Aviva Car Insurance
Aviva Car Insurance
Aviva Car Insurance
Aviva Car Insurance

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Aviva Shame on you”

Written on: 12/12/2020 by Deja226 (1 review written)

Aviva have proved to be very expensive. Please check out other companies before renewing. My mother had her renewal this year which had gone up £200 since last year. She has a clean driving record, no reported accidents and has her house insurance through this company. I phoned Aviva to say that £700 was far too expensive and the AA along with other companies were quoting £309.00. I asked if they could match this and they point blank said that the don't price match under any circumstances. I asked why it had gone up over £200 this year and he said that there could be over 100 plus reasons, so too many to talk about. My mother has been a customer of theirs for many years and I felt this lack of customer care was very very poor. We obviously changed her insurance to the AA who were kind, courteous and very helpful. Aviva did not care about losing a long term customer. Shame on you.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Renewal existing policy”

Written on: 19/12/2019 by Victori84 (1 review written)

Got my renewal in for Aviva policy which is with yourself . Looked for various quotes including Aviva themself.Altjough I got cheaper quotes they were not like for like and you gave a £35 discount for renewing on line .Very pleased.Also phoned about a few queries regarding my policy and got immediate answers.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“WORST COMPANY , LAZY STAFF”

Written on: 23/05/2019 by Jamesonc168 (1 review written)

Had an accident 2 months ago and whenever i asked for the final settlement amount, they are like investigation in still going on! Like what? Did i murdered someone or what? These lazy people doesnt care about their customers all they do is “talk rude”. Same thing happened with my friend too . I suggest y’all never ever go with this company. All they gonna give you is stress. Imagine having no car for 2 months and still you have to pay for insurance !

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Aviva Horror Story”

Written on: 07/03/2019 by Amelie274 (1 review written)

For anyone that has auto insurance from Aviva Canada I strongly suggest you find a new provider and for anyone who is contemplating using them for insurance to stay well clear of them. They are a horror story and only want your money and will find any excuse to avoid payouts. Here is my horror story. I have had them for over 10 years as my auto insurance provider and dutifully paid the premiums on time, every time, even when I heard others had cheaper premiums with other companies. Stupid me. On July 2018 I was involved in an auto collision. The other driver was at fault and was charged with careless driving by the police officer. It was my bad luck that he also had Aviva insurance. I reported the accident in same day. Aviva quickly wrote off the vehicle, even though the damage did not seem that extensive, and low balled me on the payout. Less than half of what I paid 2 years prior. I argued that I had done some major repair work on it 6 months prior and should be at least partially compensated for that as well. According to Aviva that is apparently where I committed a sin. It seems we cannot question been them. After 1 months of no definitive answers from them, in frustration I cancelled my multiple auto and property policies with Aviva. They lost a total of $6,600 annual premiums because of their unprofessional approach. And really for a mere $12,000 claim. That appeared to have been my second mistake. I believe that they thought it was now payback for cancelling my policies. They took over 6 months to make a case that the work was not done as detailed in the receipts I provided. They put me through a phone and an in-person interrogation (the gestapo could not have done a better job). The end result was that they declined my claim including the car rental I used for 1 week after the accident. While it may be true that the auto shop cheated me on the work done in the bills they should have simply declined the receipts and maintained their original offer, low as it was. Talk about adding salt to a wound. I have now retained a lawyer and proceeding with legal action against Aviva. Stay away from this company.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Making changes to policy was simple!”

Written on: 08/09/2018 by Abwood (1 review written)

I had to change my policy to include my son. Did most of it online which was easy but had to them call to add a medical condition. The call taker was brilliant and even when I had to call again the staff were so helpful and I wasn’t charged an admin fee! Well done Aviva!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Third party hit my vehicle”

Written on: 10/05/2018 by Mohammed1993 (1 review written)

I was at a sheesha bar and staff notified customers a vehicle matching the description of mine was damaged. I rushed outside to see my vehicle rammed by a third party stolen vehicle and police at scene. My vehicle was a brand new car but i had bought it from a auction and got it repaired but i wasnt the best at filling away all reciept. I also serviced from Mercedes and really took pride in looking after it. The police advised me to contact my insurance company as i was screaming my head off about what had happened. Later that night i got around to telling aviva what had happed, gave my crime ref and they started from the start of claim giving me inccorrct advice. They explained to me first i was entitled to a standard courtesy car because i had no driver details. After thought the next day i rang back explaining i wasnt in the vehicle at time Of accident so regardless its not my fault and the fact vehicle was stolen as i found out from Police. They then changed their story to giving me a like for like vehicle. After agonising long stretch of me waitiing they decided to investigate mainly because i think of the value of the vehicle and the fact they wanted nay excuse not to pay me out. I coopearted as much as i could and at the time could not find reciepts due to my lack of organisation skills however they kept penalising me the fact i never had the vehicle repaired to a good standard, never had recipts at that specific, damage from the accident was inconsistent and that my emails provided were not mine and declined my claim. They also called my claim fraudulent indirectly by outlining their terms relating to cancellation if policy and if a claim is invalid or exagerated.I complained and explained addressing all the points however they maintained their stance due to The high amount of pay out it would result in. I have proof of my vehicle as in perfect condition but upto their specifications it wasnt although mercedes never ever mentioned any major problems when servicing. Overall i would say PLEASE DO NOT TAKE OUT INSURANCE WITH AVIVA !!!!! They literally look for excuses not to pay out especially if its a new car and it will cost them fair amount. I would never ever take any policy out and will recommend to everyone not to take out any policy with aviva. I realised by my experience and further by researching amd found aviva is known for such scandals. If only i had researched before taking out insurance. Now i will be going to Financial Ombudsman Service. Please share my experience with all family and friends. I was gutted with my experience and heartbroken. They left me hopeless with no support and made me feel so vulnerable and it took me 6 months to mentally recover of the accident damage and their responses.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 8
★★★★★

“Well handled car insurance claim”

Written on: 30/04/2018 by ronrev (2 reviews written)

Had to make a car accident claim against my Aviva policy. I have no connection with Aviva and have not been asked to make this review. In these days of hard-to-get good service I feel great service should be commended. This was the case with my claim against my Aviva policy. They were prompt, informative, courteous, and very efficient in dealing with my claim. They established that other drivers insurer accepted liability and that there would be no cost to myself. This turned out to be the case and I got my car back with all damage expertly repaired. So top marks and a big thank you to Aviva Car Insurance.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★★★★★

“Really easy experience ”

Written on: 06/02/2018 by Sophiem447 (1 review written)

Online experience literally took 3 mins. Competitive price and they offered me 20 percent on my Home quote straight afterwards.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Please answer the phone”

Written on: 29/12/2017 by JaylaHahn (1 review written)

Opened up a policy but now 24 hours on can't actually view myaviva account policy documents. Very poor.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst insurance company ”

Written on: 04/12/2017 by Welchvn474 (1 review written)

Took a policy fully comp had an accident n they were no where to be seen or heard off I got solicitors fight my case myself n these aviva gave me no response to anything they r clueless good for when they want the money but when paying out they all chat bubbles mofos I think we as consumers should take action but we so dumb founded in this country u believe u have rights but don’t allow u do pooh

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 6 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT INSURE!!!”

Written on: 24/08/2017 by Demarcus1989 (1 review written)

I claimed for flood damage, they took my car and didn't replace with a courtesy car when they said they would I had waited in all day. So I was left without a car! They then said they would cover my work travel if I kept receipts which was promised then not because no one had communicated with eachother. I had to keep chasing up for updates on my car and what was happening with it... to one phone call they said they thought I had my car back! When I finally found out what had happened my car windscreen had actually been smashed while it was being fixed and no one had called to tell me! I would not renew with them at all!!! Rubbish customer service!! They were the cheapest and also the worst!! Not always about saving money!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst insurer on the market ”

Written on: 26/05/2017 by Ashly254 (1 review written)

This insurer is great until you need them. Customer Service is awful...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“ avoid!”

Written on: 21/03/2017 by Gavsrecordings (1 review written)

Payed my car insurance premium in full for years, changed my address 2 months into this years policy and they've hit me with a £220 bill, told them my property has full cctv, car is locked away securely, my property has 2 metre high fences all around, they said it doesn't matter, told them I had been on comparison sights and had insurance quotes from as little as £600 but they said if I cancelled with them I'd get less than half of my money back (despite being only 2 months in on this years policy), basically got me by the balls as I'd be losing money, doesn't stop me airing my views though and stopping other potential customers/victims being ripped off, they were also a nightmare back in 2015 when my car was written off due to someone (who was being chased by police) smashed into me, they tried ripping me off when paying me off for the writeoff until I got prices from glasses guide, avoid avoid avoid

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Nuffield Health”

Written on: 21/02/2017 by sarah9224 (2 reviews written)

With Aviva, you qualify for 20% off gym memberships, great benefit !!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Bloody Joke!”

Written on: 10/08/2016 by 1976McGrath (1 review written)

I took out my car insurance with Aviva through recommendation of friends and family. I took the insurance out over the phone despite them insisting it was done online. Whilst on the phone taking out my plan I was not made aware of the cancelation fees or 'Risk period'. After two 45 minute calls I was told the large sum of money was going to be taken out of my account to cancel the plan. I had said no until I had spoke to a manager, but had already been processed. Eventually after another 10 minutes of waiting a manager picked up the phone. Even after all the problems and time I had spent on the phone, nothing was done about the money...not even a good will for their mess up. Was spoken to like an utter child and the manager was nothing like a manager I would expect from a company such as Aviva. Will not be using it again

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“WHAT A JOKE!!!!!!!!!”

Written on: 30/07/2016 by Jamesonn239 (1 review written)

I HAVE BEEN ON HOLD TO THIS JOKE OF A COMPANY FOR OVER AN HOUR EVERY DAY FOR THE LAST 4 DAYS I EVENUALLY GOT THROUGH TO SOMEONE WHO SAID IT WASNT THEM ANTOTHER DEPARTMENT, NOW BEEN ON 1HR 20 MINS I HJAVE BEEN CALLING TO RESOLVE THIS ISSUE SINCE 9AM. I WOULDNT PUT ANY STARS BUT IT WOULDNT LET ME I ALSO WOULDNT RECOMENED THIS COMNPANY TO MY WORST EMENY

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“way to expensive”

Written on: 29/03/2016 by 397Castro (1 review written)

quote was some £200 dearer than a competitor for the same quality cover. how do they do any business ?? a waste of 20 mins entering details. Thanks

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“renewal rip off”

Written on: 07/07/2015 by moodymy (1 review written)

How can your car insurance go up by nearly eighty pound in a year? I have been sent Aviva renewal paper work to confirm renewal price. I also went on line to Aviva and been given a totally different quote. After speaking to a great sales person I have managed to raise a complaint. I have got so fed up with ringing Aviva and not been listened to so I have gone else where with the same cover and a lot cheeper. I found out from another insurer that because I had a none fault claim i.e car was stationary and elderly man reversed in to back of my vehicle it puts your premiums up. WHY? I did not put any claim in and it was not my fault. Aviva had to close my file and then reopen my file and state on it notification rather then non fault claim. totally confused and not happy. I yet await to hear from a manager. I say to Aviva dont penalise a 48 year old woman driver who has never put a claim in and always paid insurance on time in full. regards moodymy.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT GET A QUOTE FROM AVIVA UNLESS YOU WANT TO BE...”

Written on: 26/06/2015 by viFowler463 (1 review written)

i got an online quote. they rang me every day for a week about the quote. i eventually managed to ring aviva on their new claims line and get them to put me on their no marketing list. i have never been hounded so badly by an insurance company. i didnt go with them because their quote was also nearly double other quotes.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Appalling customer service.”

Written on: 27/05/2015 by algst (1 review written)

I wanted to make a simple change to the start date of a new policy not yet in force. It took two days of trying online and by phone for them to finally achieve this. The service advisors were rude and condescending. I was left on hold for 25 minutes without explanation and then talked to like a child for having the audacity to hang up. I was told that it was 'normal' for customers to be on the phone for over an hour. I would have cancelled this policy there and then if they had not already taken my money. Which they did very efficiently!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by jackroxbrough on 24th April 2018 Report this content
How do I find out when my car insurance needs renewal?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview