La Pirogue Reviews

Click here if this is your business
La Pirogue
★★★★★
4.6
83.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
La Pirogue - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for La Pirogue

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“We have visited La Pirogue 3 times, and every time it...”

★★★★★

written by Riette on 16/02/2010

We have visited La Pirogue 3 times, and every time it was FANTASTIC.

Went there the 1st time during 1997 for our honeymoom WOW we got great gifts and were treated like royalty. Lots to do at the hotel and LOADS to do on the the Island. 1998 We went back and this time my parents went with, and they also loved it.

In 2007 we went bact to celebrate our 10th anniversary, after the upgrade of the Hotel and what an experience. We had a lovely romantic dinner, gifts and the best cake we have ever had.

Everything is just 100% from arriving getting that delicious tropical drink with wet towels to freshen up, to being taken to your room, opening the door and stepping into a cool room, with a huge bed, all I can say is that we will keep going back over and over again.

Thank you for making all our holidays at LA PIROGUE something to remember.

Wayne & Ri tte McKenzie

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Our stay at La Pirogue was a thoroughly lovely...”

★★★★★

written by picklebonce on 17/08/2008

Our stay at La Pirogue was a thoroughly lovely holiday, would recommend the boat trip from Blue Bay and snorkeling on the Nature reserve, totally amazing!
Will definitely go again and would go back to La Pirogue.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Just celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at La...”

★★★★☆

written by TriHarder on 01/06/2008

Just celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at La Pirogue. We decided on half board after reading several of the other reviews below we made the right choice. Even those on the All Inclusive basis had a bill to settle on departure as not all beverages are included, and we didn't starve by missing out on the daily lunch (which was quite limited any way).

They gave us a free room upgrade and, on our anniversary, sprinkled flower petals across our bed, placed a bottle of sparkling wine (in ice bucket) in our room and treated us to a complimentary dinner in the La Badiane restaurant.

ALL the staff are really genuinely friendly and helpful. Any request was carried out swiftly, efficiently and with a smile. Gardens and pool area are superb and are tended by a vast army of behind-the-scenes staff.

The food offered was really good freshly cooked on the spot and a great variety. The waiters and waitresses can't do enough for you and are some of the nicest people you could ever wish to meet.

A lot of the facilities offered in the brochure are shared with the sister resort of Sugar Beach. This is currently closed for refurbishment, so some facilities are limited until August 2008.

We also chose La Pirogue because we had to take out 12 year old son with us and the hotel offered a teens club. We thought he could do his own thing and not have to hang around with us. Complete waste of time as he was the only teen registered.

A couple of words of warning. Gents, make sure you take some long trousers or you won't be eating in the restaurants. Nowhere in the brochure is this mentioned and I nearly got caught out I packed a couple of pairs just in case the evenings were cooler than I thought they might be. Also, all prices are in Euros for some reason, which is handy when the travel agent info says to take Mauritian Rupees. Drink prices are quite high (3 euros for a glass of coke), so take a walk up the road to the Wolmar Store and buy your own at a third the cost. I advise you not to eat or drink anything from the mini bar in your room unless you have taken out a bank loan beforehand. As for the gift shops just don't, OK, don't.

Evening entertainment was pretty limited. The band is very good but the floor shows at the start of the evening are very 'samey'.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at La Pirogue but the 12 hour flight is soul destroying. How people go back year after year we could understand but for the flights.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I would recommend it to anyone wanting a really good...”

★★★★★

written by messiter on 26/03/2007

I would recommend it to anyone wanting a really good holiday.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“After a mix up with our room on arrival, we had booked...”

★★★★☆

written by pslee on 02/09/2006

After a mix up with our room on arrival, we had booked a superior room and spent the first three nights in a standard. They gave us a free dinner at Paul and Virginie and a refund for the first three days, which I feel was acceptable, but not an ideal start to our honeymoon. The resort was nice and the staff were very keen to help, and overall we had a nice stay. We stayed on a half board basis, which I feel was the right thing to do, as we were only staying for 11 nights, and it gave us more flexibility as to where we ate. Dining at the buffet became a little boring to say the least!

I feel a little spoiled, as I have visited the Maldives on three occasions in the past, and if I was going to spend that amount of money on a beach holiday again, the Maldives would be the place I would choose instead of Mauritius.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Overall, La Pirogue in Mauritius is a nice place, but...”

★★★★☆

written by the pharaoh on 12/06/2006

Overall, La Pirogue in Mauritius is a nice place, but the rooms were insufferable. Moved next door to Sugar Beach (same ownership), and the move was gladly and easily made, and it was a whole lot better. La Pirogue is a 3-star resort, except for the 2-star rooms.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“From the time we stepped off the bus from the airport...”

★★★★★

written by namboy on 04/04/2006

From the time we stepped off the bus from the airport the La Pirogue hotel staff gave us the best treatment ever. They met us at the door with an ice cold fruit cocktail with the flower garnishing. They also gave us ice cold face clothes to freshen, up as we were all perspiring after the trip. They refused to allow us to carry our own luggage and drove us to our room in a golf car.

My wife and I decided to take our children along (2 years old and 7 months old) and I am so happy we did. Our room was #326 with a beautiful sea view through the palms. It was about a 100m walk to the beach from our room. The room was comfortable, and well designed with a big bathroom and plenty of space. With two cots in the room we still had plenty of space.

The food was unbelievable, and because we were on the all inclusive package we had the option of eating lunch, snacks, drinking as many locally prepared beverages as we wanted to, as well as breakfast, dinner and snacks. If you consider that a Pirogue cocktail costs about 350 Rupees and we drank these like water, it was very worthwhile. Also, the all inclusive package did not tie us down to specific meal times, which allowed our daughter to eat whenever she was hungry.

The staff were amazing and remembered our children's names, calling them by name whenever we saw them. We are planning to go back next year and are hoping to take some other members of our family along.

The weather was very pleasant, but humid, so we spent most of our time in the pool or in our air conditioned room sleeping, which is something you are able to do very well there.

It was the best time we have spent together as a family. Just being away from everything without a cell phone was the best thing we could have done.

The pool was beautiful, the beach was great, and the facilities were amazing! All I can say is that if you are still making up your mind, just decide to go to La Pirogue. You won't regret it, and who knows, we might even see you there!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“We have just returned from our 3rd (yes, third!) trip...”

★★★★★

written by toriamcneile on 31/01/2006

We have just returned from our 3rd (yes, third!) trip to La Pirogue and it is still absolutely fantastic - stunning views, beautiful white sandy beach and tons to do and the staff are so lovely and helpful - they simply cannot do enough to help you and you're truly made to feel like VIPs. The hotel is set in stunning fragrant gardens and comprises individual thatched cottages, designed in the shape of 'La Pirogue' - a type of boat local to the island. The gardens are constantly being 'manicured' and everything is so immaculate and clean - all the staff there get on with their respective jobs and go un-noticed, apart from the fact that they are all dressed so smartly - each 'team' has a different coloured uniform so you know exactly who does what! The language is French but most of the staff speak very good English. The best time of the year to go is from December to about March as that is their summer and the weather is wonderful, though for one day we had terrential rain but that is to be expected - they certainly need it for the sugar beat crops.

If you are lucky enough to go, please ensure you introduce yourself to Prem - though he will probably come up and greet you (a lovely chap). Also, look out for Lobin in the Thatches restaurant (he looked after us impeccably) and Veejay at the Beach Bar - cheeky chap and easy to talk to you and can't do enough for you - as with all the staff.

I'd recommend going on a boat trip on a catamaran - great fun and you get to go dolphin watching too and we saw loads of them.

All the islanders that we cam across are just so lovely and friendly and very chatty which is nice - we were told the history of Mauritius and why Flic en Flac has it's name on our taxi ride back to the airport which was fascinating.

If you want to see some photos of our most recent trip (we arrived back in the UK yesterday - 31st January 2006) check out our webpage - http://homepage.mac.com/victoriamcneile/PhotoAlbum1.html

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Although married for 29 years now, the beautiful and...”

★★★★★

written by pierrelima on 22/11/2005

Although married for 29 years now, the beautiful and lovely Hotel La Pirogue resort at le Maurice, makes us feeling like honeymooners again!

On arrival, and after a tiring 11 hour flight in a charter like Air France Jumbo seat pitch (not at all acceptable since we were paying for a regular airline flight), we were very well received at the magnificent La Pirogue Hotel, with a tasty and colorful welcome drink. After checking-in we were offered a delicious breakfast at the "Thatches" buffet restaurant. Surrounded by plenty of flowers, palm-trees and many birds singing and flying around, along with the hotel's very kind and well trained staff, we were certain we had arrived in paradise, with a truly tropical ambiance! Then we were driven to our recently refurbished room (the hotel was totally rebuilt and refurnished in November 2003), a volcanic rock Pirogue format cottage, wonderfully decorated with coral and marine colors, superbly furnished with a large king size bed and a nice shiny bathroom, with its separate shower and bath-tub, strewn with small flowers everywhere. The room's cleaning as well as all other public areas, including the majestic garden, and the large seaside swimming pool and beach maintenance, were perfect.

We only left the hotel for two half day tours on the island with a very kind private guide, and for a one day we went on a Catamaran visit to " les aux Cerfs", which we enjoyed very much.

For the last two days we were invited to change to a superior room, in the seaside. Unlike the previous standard room (2 rooms on each cottage), this superior room was the whole "Pirogue", with a fabulous view of the palm-tree garden, nicely flowered, with the beach just in front. Although the standard rooms are great, I believe it is worth paying the difference for the superior rooms (120 Euros per day during the prime season according to the hotels internet rates).

Although we didn't use them, the sea related activities looked great, and many of them are free of charge. Also the night entertainment was very good and romantic, with an almost daily show (at La Pirogue or at the neighboring Sugar Beach resort, that you can use as it belongs to the same company), followed by great bands, with very nice and romantic dance music until midnight.

We also had a great lobster dinner at the "Paul and Virginie" restaurant near the large pool, and the extremely white sandy beach, with live music, at an extra charge (about 50 Euros per person).

Since all the drinks and snacks are very expensive at the hotel, it may be worth paying to go AI (all inclusive). We paid about 60 Euros per day for light daily snacks at the beach bar, and some drinks at the bar and at the beach. Although we never shopped there, you may find a supermarket to buy some drinks and snacks within 5 minutes walking distance from the resort.

If it wasn't for the poor weather conditions, with some clouds and some scattered rain, I would say this unforgettable week staying at La Pirogue would be one of the best holidays we have ever had.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“From start to finish, our honeymoon at La Pirogue was...”

★★★★★

written by cjfrise on 11/09/2005

From start to finish, our honeymoon at La Pirogue was lovely. Flic N Flac's accommodation was spacious, comfortable and cleaned/tidied twice a day. At every meal there was a huge range of food to choose from, which differed every day, and was all of a very high standard. There was a wide range of alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks available, of which many but not all are included in the all inclusive tarif.

The hotel shares the facilities of the next door Sugar beach hotel, and so you have even more choice of restaurants and bars and you can eat wherever you like for the duration or your stay. They have different menus and range of drinks so we never felt like the choice was limited.

The beach is a perfect white sand beach, and as we were there in July, the temperature was cooler (it being their 'winter') but it was still warm enough to swim and sit out all day, and there were always more than enough sun loungers.

The staff were always really friendly and helpful and we organised our excursions really easily at the tour desks in the lobby.

The hotel was massively redone very recently so if you find a not so positive review somewhere online it is likely to have been written before the renovation rather than recently.

We had a fantastic time there, and plan to return in the future! We recommend it very highly. A safe bet for a really special trip.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Toriaoxford's Response to cjfrise's Review

Written on: 28/10/2005

Hmm, another 'honeymooner' at La Pirogue from Oxford! We had our honeymoon at La Pirogue this January (05) and had been the previous year and are going again next January (06). Can't wait but this will have to be our last time sadly as it is quite expensive but definitely worth it. The staff are lovely, very (genuinely) friendly and helpful and treated us like royalty even though we're just 'ordinary' people. Glad you had a wonderful time - try going in January next time - though it can be rather wet but is very hot and just... oh wonderful really! Regards, Tora (from Yarnton in Oxford!)

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I've been twice to La Pirogue, the first year I got...”

★★★★★

written by toriaoxford on 23/05/2005

I've been twice to La Pirogue, the first year I got engaged, the second year on honeymoon! When you first arrive at La Pirogue, you think, WOW, fantastic, deluxe hotel. You are greeted by the Concierge and greeted with a local fruit punch whilst you wait to be booked in to your room. You are then driven in golf carts to your room! How lush is that! There are tons to do - water sports, non-water sports (tennis, bike riding, horse riding etc...) Just stroll along the beach up towards the Sugar Beach and Hilton (next door to La Pirogue but inferior, in my opinion, in quality to La Pirogue), or down the beach to the 'Coke Can' as we affectionately called it - not such a nice hotel! Chill by the pool or Jacuzzi - have drinks bought to you or go back to your chalet and have a pizza delivered on a bike! Relax in the afternoon on your terrace (the superior rooms have an immediate sea-view (all of about 50 yards to walk to the beach). Stroll up the Thatches restaurant or Paul & Virginie (sea-food) for dinner after a pre-dinner drink in the Blue Bar (look out for Vijay!). Lobin, one of the waiters in Thatches/Paul & Virginie will look after you beautifully.

The views are absolutely stunning - picture post-card! The pool is lovely with a Jacuzzi in the middle of it. If you're into Casinos, there is one in the village - you can get a taxi or minibus there. If you want to see some of our pictures, visit my website at http://homepage.mac.com/toriasummers/PhotoAlbum34.html. Book it - you won't regret it one bit! The flight from Heathrow is quite long (12 hours) but well worth it and if you can afford Business Class/First Class, it is well worth the treat! Book it, book it, book it - for a holiday of a lifetime, it's out of this world!

Some reviewers have complained about signing for everything but this has to be done to keep stock levels correct. Also, some have complained about the pool not being heated - you don't need a heated swimming pool in this sort of heat!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Maz Cole's Response to toriaoxford's Review

Written on: 11/03/2006

Hi! Note you said in a comment on another La Pirogue post, that you were going again in January 2006?
We are off to L.P. for our second visit end November 2006, this time on our own. Our first visit was with the family for our daughters wedding end May 04.
Am a bit worried by this 'Teens Club' L.P. have introduced since 2004, as we like the resort/hotel because of its quietness and peace and tranquility, especially during the day and night time!!! We, like many other people, go there to chill out totally, getting away for 2 weeks rest and relaxation - without little 'ankle-biters' or teenagers running riot! We can get that if we book in at Butlins, and certainly do NOT expect to get it at La Pirogue! At £2,000+++, we just simply require peace!!!
Please, if you have the time, would you kindly let me 'know the score' for this year? I would be so grateful for your honest opinion.
Kind regards, Maz.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“La Pirogue ”

★★★★☆

written by rudster on 23/03/2005

La Pirogue
I imagined Mauritius to be a tropical island with idyllic beaches and scenery.

Although La Pirogue offered the best beach we saw, Mauritius was basically Cyprus in the Indian Ocean.
It was very confusing to decipher what was all inclusive and what wasn't. You soon learn that all inclusive actually means 'half inclusive' and that 'all-inclusive' types are not treated the same.

Also, you had to sign for everything (every drink per room) which meant signing hundreds of bits of paper during the course of your stay.

The pool was not heated which meant it was freezing and empty.

Guess it didn't help that when we arrived our room wasn't ready (after a 12 hour transfer), which meant we had to wait on the beach for 3 hours, during which time we had our bag stolen. The hotel tried brush the incident under the carpet and were very unsympathetic to our loss.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Toriaoxford's Response to rudster's Review

Written on: 23/05/2005

Sorry to hear you had a bad experience at La Pirogue. We've been twice now, once on honeymoon and I have to say the service is second to none and they couldn't do enough for you, as you say. Sorry to hear you had a bag stolen - it surprises me that they seemed to sweep it under the carpet. Perhaps they misunderstood the problem?! We have absolutely loved it both times (my husband has now been 4 times!) and had no problems at all. With regards to the pool, surely it doesn't need to be heated in the heat you experience out there! We may be going again this year! With regards to their check-in time, they clearly state on the websites that you cannot check in until 2pm - its just a shame perhaps that the flight arrival time and check in times don't coincide a little better but that's not La Pirogue's fault - most hotels have a check-in time of 2pm!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Maz Cole's Response to rudster's Review

Written on: 11/03/2006

Hi there! So sorry to hear that you both had what appears to be such an unhappy time at La Pirogue. I certainly do not disbelieve you, but I can only say that you really MUST have been incredibly unlucky!
My family and I last went to La Pirogue end May 2004 when our daughter was getting married (in the wedding gazebo/tropical gardens). We had 14 nights in resort and found it absolutely spot-on in all respects. We had a standard room which was super, and never saw one insect of any description in the room. The wedding, which was handled by Virgin, our tour operator, was superb from start to finish. Throughout the whole 2 weeks, we can honestly say that 'nothing was too much trouble for ANYONE'. To have such wonderful surroundings for a wedding, and then to relax for the rest of our holiday was superb. We could not find anything at all to gripe about, and we are very fussy, believe me!
My husband and I have recently booked for a second visit. This time we are going end November 2006 and returning in time to do the Christmas shopping! Although we had good weather (around 78-80 degrees midday) and only one slightly rainy day, we felt November/early December would be warmer and less chance of rain. In fact, Astrid/Queensly, our wedding co-ordinators, suggested this time for a return visit as it was the best time weather-wise.
I must admit to having just one reservation about this year (2006) - the 'Teens Club'!!! Just hope that L.P. is NOT now over-run with noisy teenagers. Now approaching our mid-50's but definitely not 'old foogies' by any means, we do like this resort because of its beautiful, relaxing and idyllic location and QUIETNESS. Lets hope that the management have not spoilt what we are paying a lot of money for, to revisit! (I will post here when we return 10 December).
Again, so sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with certain things. Unfortunately, just the luck of the draw in tropical countries though. Better luck next time you visit!
Regards, Cole family, Norfolk.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Rudster's Response to rudster's Review

Written on: 24/05/2005

Hi Toria
<br>
<br>Sorry, I sound like a right old whinger!
<br>
<br>We stayed in a normal room to the left of the restaurant (as you look out to sea). Again I think we were just unlucky!
<br>
<br>Glad to hear you had a great time, on another journey maybe our would have been better. As there's no getting away from the fact that the resort was beautiful and the service was amazing!
<br>
<br>Given the chance and the english weather I would love to be there now!
<br>
<br>Thanks
<br>
<br>Jamie

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Toriaoxford's Response to rudster's Review

Written on: 24/05/2005

Goodness, you DID have a bad time of it! I'm sorry to hear about the damp room and cockroaches! Yuuuuukk! Have to say we were more than happy with our room, service etc... No nasty surprises, i.e. creepy crawlies, apart, that is, from 'Eddy' the lizard! Very friendly little chap and keeps the bugs down! Did you have a superior room or a standard one? The superior rooms are, I'm told, a little bigger than the standard ones and have a lovely view of the beach and are certainly not damp - they are perhaps a little dark but that's the nature of the little cottage! We too were on honeymoon this year in January and absolutely loved it .... for the second consecutive year and we're thinking of going again in Jan 2006! Sounds like you got a rough deal. When did you go/what time of year?
<br>
<br>Best regards,
<br>
<br>Toria

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Rudster's Response to rudster's Review

Written on: 24/05/2005

Hi
I guess we were looking for something a little more secluded / idyllic for the amount we spent on the holiday.
It didn't help we got off to a bad start and our room wasn't what we had hoped (dark and damp) being a honeymoon couple.
As for the arrival, we arrived at 14:30 so there was no excuse for our room not being ready and our bag was stolen during that waiting time. The police were called by the head of security ... so definitely no confusion!
I agree, there was no hardship to signing for everything, just seems daft when they had networked electronic tills!
Further more, forgot to mention the x-large cockroaches in our shower that kept appearing during the course of our stay. Slippery little tykes!
For the money, I was disapointed.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Toriaoxford's Response to rudster's Review

Written on: 23/05/2005

... further to last posting with regards to signing bits of paper for everything, they have to do this for stock purposes, nothing more sinister than that and surely it's not that much of a hardship!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“We have just returned from La Pirogue and must admit...”

★★★★★

written by MrDixonHill on 15/10/2004

We have just returned from La Pirogue and must admit it is a wonderful location and hotel. Set long a white sandy beach with crystal clear waters it is protected by a reef which means it's a simply stunning setting.

La Pirogue is the oldest hotel on that stretch of beach (shared with Sugar Beach and the Hilton), but has been recently renovated with great success, the grounds a wonderful with big palm trees all around and the unique bungalows certainly give a more intimate setting, in our opinion it's far better than other hotels in the area (which we visited) for character and charm.

Food at La Pirogue is the usual buffer style for breakfast but generally cover all that you could want from full English, to fruit, to more specialist items such as omelettes cooked to order.

Lunch can be obtained from the Beach bar or from the Pizza Bike (highly recommended); good quality snacks are also server.

Dinner is again a buffet style, with a wide selection rotated on a daily basis, so there's always something you fancy. You can also choose to visit the two other restaurants on the site which do more formal meals but as we went All Inclusive only once did we go for something different. They do a BBQ seafood dinner on the beach once a week and make a real effort on presentation with LOg beach fires and the BBQ done to represent a sailing ship. Music is also provided by the resident entertainment team.

Facilities are good with lots to do both on and off water. Tennis is excellent but don't purchase the balls required on site .. go to the local supermarket where they sell them half price.

A recommended activity is the horse riding which isn't run by the hotel, but is next door. At £11 for 45 minutes is excellent value and is great fun. The horses are ex-race horse and are keen to please. We went 3 times during our stay.

The evening entertainment is first rate, they have a show most evenings with a resident band and dance team. We checked the hotels around and certainly the La Pirogue team can better by far and play a wide selection of music to everyone's taste over the course of a week. Dancing is lively and the costumes are wonderful, the group work hard to put on a show and seem to enjoy what they do.

Staff at the hotel are pleasant and often reserved but watch out for some real characters that welcome you and seem to genuinely care about there jobs and making sure you are welcome.

Watch out for "Jeewan" on the Beach Bar, "Vinod" at dinner and "Sanjay" and "Sebastian" at the blue bar, they are a credit to the hotel and remember names, room numbers and always have a first rate welcome, these folks really do go that extra mile to please. Spend the time to get to know them!

The rooms are very comfortable and the standard rooms are well equipped. The do a superior room and a royal suite, but spend the extra money on a longer stay as the standard are good enough to please and besides, who needs a sea view when you can spend 2 minutes walking to the beach for the whole day !

At 5pm go to the beach bar, watch the volleyball match (or join in), then sit back and enjoy the sunset that follows while drink a glass of wine .. perfect!

In the evenings park up against the beach fires that they light with your partner and enjoy the flames and the waves as they compete for your ears and eyes.

La Pirogue certain has the best section of beach down that part of the coast; it has the best accommodation to (if you like more self contained buildings). You also get the chance to exchange a night at the Sugar Beach resort, but we didn't, why would you, La Pirogue is much nicer in our opinion.

The downsides are that the pool was very cold in the first week that we where there, it was certainly warmer to swim in the sea. Also for All Inclusive you still have to sign bills and they do the justments. You need to be careful what you sign and ensure that it is correct as sometimes the staff do get the bills wrong. Saying this they do also correct without much hassle and often try to save you money.

We also had an issue with one of the tour desks (not run by La Pirogue) which was on-site who overcharged us for Quad Biking. We got very little help from the tour operator (not Mauritours) so decided to approach the hotel resident manager. He sorted the problem out within the hour and resolved the issue to our satisfaction without question .. excellent!

Our bottom line is that La Pirogue is an excellent hotel in a wonderful location, worth the money and perhaps worth the All Inclusive if you make use of the facilities.

Well recommended.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Toriaoxford's Response to MrDixonHill's Review

Written on: 28/10/2005

Hi, glad to hear you had such a wonderful time at La Pirogue! We did too and in fact it was so good, we're going back for a third time (well, 4th for my husband)! The staff as you say are very helpful - I didn't come across the ones you mentioned but VJ in the Blue Bar and Lobin (waiter with a tash!) were wonderful and, as you say, remembered our names and room numbers and couldn't do enough for us. We were lucky enough to stay in one of the superior rooms but as you say, I'm sure they're not that different to the standard rooms and of course it takes no time to walk to or even see the beautiful beach and sea! We're going again in January 06 and I can't wait - it will be our first wedding anniversary holiday and certainly needed after the lausy few months we've had. Do go again if you can - we love it but I think next year will be our last - at least for a while! Regards, Toria (Oxford)

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“La Pirogue was the most fantastic holiday we have ever...”

★★★★★

written by MrsVandepeer on 16/09/2004

La Pirogue was the most fantastic holiday we have ever had. We were on honeymoon, and the staff could not have been more friendly. Food, drink, entertainment, sports and activaties are just endless. Totally recommend anyone newly weds to spend at least 2 weeks in flic en flac.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“We have just returned from Mauritius (12/09/04) and...”

★★★★★

written by susan hutchens on 15/09/2004

We have just returned from Mauritius (12/09/04) and feel we have to say this was the best holiday we have had to date!! La Pirogue was excellent in all aspects. The setting is beautiful. All accommodation nestles within beautiful tropical gardens that are spectacularly well maintained. Food is superb in both choice and quality. Cleanliness of the hotel is first rate and the service and friendliness of the staff is second to none!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Toriaoxford's Response to susan hutchens's Review

Written on: 28/10/2005

I have to say I TOTALLY agree with your comments. I've been there twice now (birthday Jan 04 and Honeymoon Jan 05) and we're going back in Jan 06 for our first wedding anniversary! Can't wait. I hope that VJ (Blue Bar) and Lobin (waiter with the tash!) looked after you as well as they both looked after us - lovely staff and nothing too much trouble and the views, boy, those views! STUNNING! Can't wait to go again in 10 weeks though the flight is not so good .....
<br>
<br>Toria from Oxford

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“La Pirogue: This was the best holiday we have ever...”

★★★★★

written by John Heather on 11/08/2004

La Pirogue: This was the best holiday we have ever had. We are a family of 5 and there were plenty of activities for all ages included in the holiday price. Only 1 minor drawback, sailing can only be done 2 hours either side of the high tide within the lagoon area, but the other sports are not affected. The enormous fresh water pool kept the kids happy for hours.

The food was excellent and the service the best I have had (visited many different hotels around the world). The staff could not do enough for you. The rooms were good and kept immaculately clean (maids visited in the morning and while you were eating evening meal).

We weren't All inclusive which meant we never had to say no to the kids. It is a fine balance, if you are not hearty drinkers and do not need lunch and afternoon tea it may be cheaper to go Half Board.

Brilliant.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Flic N Flac, La Pirogue - Got married here- a great...”

★★★★★

written by neilo on 17/06/2004

Flic N Flac, La Pirogue - Got married here- a great hotel with great staff.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Flic N Flac, La Pirogue - We went to Mauritius to get...”

★★★★★

written by burnysbird on 01/06/2004

Flic N Flac, La Pirogue - We went to Mauritius to get married this year and we could not have chosen a better place!

The hotel was gorgeous, with an immediate "wow" factor as soon as we walked into reception. Palm trees everywhere!

The people in the hotel were so friendly and went out of their way to help us.

The island in itself is amazing - there were various trips to go on - including going up a mountain in a jeep or even quads! As the island is surrounded in a Coral Reef (the second best in the world) there was plenty of scuba diving and snorkelling.

It may be an expensive holiday, but well, well worth it!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview