La Pirogue Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★★
4.6 / 5
83% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
La Pirogue - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for La Pirogue

La Pirogue
La Pirogue

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“We have visited La Pirogue 3 times, and every time it...”

Written on: 16/02/2010 by Riette (1 review written)

We have visited La Pirogue 3 times, and every time it was FANTASTIC.

Went there the 1st time during 1997 for our honeymoom WOW we got great gifts and were treated like royalty. Lots to do at the hotel and LOADS to do on the the Island. 1998 We went back and this time my parents went with, and they also loved it.

In 2007 we went bact to celebrate our 10th anniversary, after the upgrade of the Hotel and what an experience. We had a lovely romantic dinner, gifts and the best cake we have ever… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Our stay at La Pirogue was a thoroughly lovely...”

Written on: 17/08/2008 by picklebonce (1 review written)

Our stay at La Pirogue was a thoroughly lovely holiday, would recommend the boat trip from Blue Bay and snorkeling on the Nature reserve, totally amazing!
Will definitely go again and would go back to La Pirogue… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Just celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at La...”

Written on: 01/06/2008 by TriHarder (1 review written)

Just celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at La Pirogue. We decided on half board after reading several of the other reviews below we made the right choice. Even those on the All Inclusive basis had a bill to settle on departure as not all beverages are included, and we didn't starve by missing out on the daily lunch (which was quite limited any way).

They gave us a free room upgrade and, on our anniversary, sprinkled flower petals across our bed, placed a bottle of sparkling wine (in ice… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I would recommend it to anyone wanting a really good...”

Written on: 26/03/2007 by messiter (1 review written)

I would recommend it to anyone wanting a really good holiday… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“After a mix up with our room on arrival, we had booked...”

Written on: 02/09/2006 by pslee (1 review written)

After a mix up with our room on arrival, we had booked a superior room and spent the first three nights in a standard. They gave us a free dinner at Paul and Virginie and a refund for the first three days, which I feel was acceptable, but not an ideal start to our honeymoon. The resort was nice and the staff were very keen to help, and overall we had a nice stay. We stayed on a half board basis, which I feel was the right thing to do, as we were only staying for 11 nights, and it gave us more… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Overall, La Pirogue in Mauritius is a nice place, but...”

Written on: 12/06/2006 by the pharaoh (3 reviews written)

Overall, La Pirogue in Mauritius is a nice place, but the rooms were insufferable. Moved next door to Sugar Beach (same ownership), and the move was gladly and easily made, and it was a whole lot better. La Pirogue is a 3-star resort, except for the 2-star rooms… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“From the time we stepped off the bus from the airport...”

Written on: 04/04/2006 by namboy (1 review written)

From the time we stepped off the bus from the airport the La Pirogue hotel staff gave us the best treatment ever. They met us at the door with an ice cold fruit cocktail with the flower garnishing. They also gave us ice cold face clothes to freshen, up as we were all perspiring after the trip. They refused to allow us to carry our own luggage and drove us to our room in a golf car.

My wife and I decided to take our children along (2 years old and 7 months old) and I am so happy we did. Our… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“We have just returned from our 3rd (yes, third!) trip...”

Written on: 31/01/2006 by toriamcneile (1 review written)

We have just returned from our 3rd (yes, third!) trip to La Pirogue and it is still absolutely fantastic - stunning views, beautiful white sandy beach and tons to do and the staff are so lovely and helpful - they simply cannot do enough to help you and you're truly made to feel like VIPs. The hotel is set in stunning fragrant gardens and comprises individual thatched cottages, designed in the shape of 'La Pirogue' - a type of boat local to the island. The gardens are constantly being… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Although married for 29 years now, the beautiful and...”

Written on: 22/11/2005 by pierrelima (1 review written)

Although married for 29 years now, the beautiful and lovely Hotel La Pirogue resort at le Maurice, makes us feeling like honeymooners again!

On arrival, and after a tiring 11 hour flight in a charter like Air France Jumbo seat pitch (not at all acceptable since we were paying for a regular airline flight), we were very well received at the magnificent La Pirogue Hotel, with a tasty and colorful welcome drink. After checking-in we were offered a delicious breakfast at the "Thatches" buffet… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“From start to finish, our honeymoon at La Pirogue was...”

Written on: 11/09/2005 by cjfrise (1 review written)

From start to finish, our honeymoon at La Pirogue was lovely. Flic N Flac's accommodation was spacious, comfortable and cleaned/tidied twice a day. At every meal there was a huge range of food to choose from, which differed every day, and was all of a very high standard. There was a wide range of alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks available, of which many but not all are included in the all inclusive tarif.

The hotel shares the facilities of the next door Sugar beach hotel, and so you have… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Toriaoxford's Response to cjfrise's Review

Written on: 28/10/2005

Hmm, another 'honeymooner' at La Pirogue from Oxford! We had our honeymoon at La Pirogue this January (05) and had been the previous year and are going again next January (06). Can't wait but this will have to be our last time sadly as it is quite expensive but definitely worth it. The staff are lovely, very (genuinely) friendly and helpful and treated us like royalty even though we're just 'ordinary' people. Glad you had a wonderful time - try going in January next time - though it can be rather wet but is very hot and just... oh wonderful really! Regards, Tora (from Yarnton in Oxford!)

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“I've been twice to La Pirogue, the first year I got...”

Written on: 23/05/2005 by toriaoxford (6 reviews written)

I've been twice to La Pirogue, the first year I got engaged, the second year on honeymoon! When you first arrive at La Pirogue, you think, WOW, fantastic, deluxe hotel. You are greeted by the Concierge and greeted with a local fruit punch whilst you wait to be booked in to your room. You are then driven in golf carts to your room! How lush is that! There are tons to do - water sports, non-water sports (tennis, bike riding, horse riding etc...) Just stroll along the beach up towards the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Maz Cole's Response to toriaoxford's Review

Written on: 11/03/2006

Hi! Note you said in a comment on another La Pirogue post, that you were going again in January 2006?
We are off to L.P. for our second visit end November 2006, this time on our own. Our first visit was with the family for our daughters wedding end May 04.
Am a bit worried by this 'Teens Club' L.P. have introduced since 2004, as we like the resort/hotel because of its quietness and peace and tranquility, especially during the day and night time!!! We, like many other people, go there to chill out totally, getting away for 2 weeks rest and relaxation - without little 'ankle-biters' or teenagers running riot! We can get that if we book in at Butlins, and certainly do NOT expect to get it at La Pirogue! At £2,000+++, we just simply require peace!!!
Please, if you have the time, would you kindly let me 'know the score' for this year? I would be so grateful for your honest opinion.
Kind regards, Maz.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“La Pirogue ”

Written on: 23/03/2005 by rudster (1 review written)

La Pirogue
I imagined Mauritius to be a tropical island with idyllic beaches and scenery.

Although La Pirogue offered the best beach we saw, Mauritius was basically Cyprus in the Indian Ocean.
It was very confusing to decipher what was all inclusive and what wasn't. You soon learn that all inclusive actually means 'half inclusive' and that 'all-inclusive' types are not treated the same.

Also, you had to sign for everything (every drink per room) which meant signing hundreds of bits of… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Toriaoxford's Response to rudster's Review

Written on: 23/05/2005

Sorry to hear you had a bad experience at La Pirogue. We've been twice now, once on honeymoon and I have to say the service is second to none and they couldn't do enough for you, as you say. Sorry to hear you had a bag stolen - it surprises me that they seemed to sweep it under the carpet. Perhaps they misunderstood the problem?! We have absolutely loved it both times (my husband has now been 4 times!) and had no problems at all. With regards to the pool, surely it doesn't need to be heated in the heat you experience out there! We may be going again this year! With regards to their check-in time, they clearly state on the websites that you cannot check in until 2pm - its just a shame perhaps that the flight arrival time and check in times don't coincide a little better but that's not La Pirogue's fault - most hotels have a check-in time of 2pm!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Maz Cole's Response to rudster's Review

Written on: 11/03/2006

Hi there! So sorry to hear that you both had what appears to be such an unhappy time at La Pirogue. I certainly do not disbelieve you, but I can only say that you really MUST have been incredibly unlucky!
My family and I last went to La Pirogue end May 2004 when our daughter was getting married (in the wedding gazebo/tropical gardens). We had 14 nights in resort and found it absolutely spot-on in all respects. We had a standard room which was super, and never saw one insect of any description in the room. The wedding, which was handled by Virgin, our tour operator, was superb from start to finish. Throughout the whole 2 weeks, we can honestly say that 'nothing was too much trouble for ANYONE'. To have such wonderful surroundings for a wedding, and then to relax for the rest of our holiday was superb. We could not find anything at all to gripe about, and we are very fussy, believe me!
My husband and I have recently booked for a second visit. This time we are going end November 2006 and returning in time to do the Christmas shopping! Although we had good weather (around 78-80 degrees midday) and only one slightly rainy day, we felt November/early December would be warmer and less chance of rain. In fact, Astrid/Queensly, our wedding co-ordinators, suggested this time for a return visit as it was the best time weather-wise.
I must admit to having just one reservation about this year (2006) - the 'Teens Club'!!! Just hope that L.P. is NOT now over-run with noisy teenagers. Now approaching our mid-50's but definitely not 'old foogies' by any means, we do like this resort because of its beautiful, relaxing and idyllic location and QUIETNESS. Lets hope that the management have not spoilt what we are paying a lot of money for, to revisit! (I will post here when we return 10 December).
Again, so sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with certain things. Unfortunately, just the luck of the draw in tropical countries though. Better luck next time you visit!
Regards, Cole family, Norfolk.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Rudster's Response to rudster's Review

Written on: 24/05/2005

Hi Toria
<br>
<br>Sorry, I sound like a right old whinger!
<br>
<br>We stayed in a normal room to the left of the restaurant (as you look out to sea). Again I think we were just unlucky!
<br>
<br>Glad to hear you had a great time, on another journey maybe our would have been better. As there's no getting away from the fact that the resort was beautiful and the service was amazing!
<br>
<br>Given the chance and the english weather I would love to be there now!
<br>
<br>Thanks
<br>
<br>Jamie

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Toriaoxford's Response to rudster's Review

Written on: 24/05/2005

Goodness, you DID have a bad time of it! I'm sorry to hear about the damp room and cockroaches! Yuuuuukk! Have to say we were more than happy with our room, service etc... No nasty surprises, i.e. creepy crawlies, apart, that is, from 'Eddy' the lizard! Very friendly little chap and keeps the bugs down! Did you have a superior room or a standard one? The superior rooms are, I'm told, a little bigger than the standard ones and have a lovely view of the beach and are certainly not damp - they are perhaps a little dark but that's the nature of the little cottage! We too were on honeymoon this year in January and absolutely loved it .... for the second consecutive year and we're thinking of going again in Jan 2006! Sounds like you got a rough deal. When did you go/what time of year?
<br>
<br>Best regards,
<br>
<br>Toria

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Rudster's Response to rudster's Review

Written on: 24/05/2005

Hi
I guess we were looking for something a little more secluded / idyllic for the amount we spent on the holiday.
It didn't help we got off to a bad start and our room wasn't what we had hoped (dark and damp) being a honeymoon couple.
As for the arrival, we arrived at 14:30 so there was no excuse for our room not being ready and our bag was stolen during that waiting time. The police were called by the head of security ... so definitely no confusion!
I agree, there was no hardship to signing for everything, just seems daft when they had networked electronic tills!
Further more, forgot to mention the x-large cockroaches in our shower that kept appearing during the course of our stay. Slippery little tykes!
For the money, I was disapointed.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Toriaoxford's Response to rudster's Review

Written on: 23/05/2005

... further to last posting with regards to signing bits of paper for everything, they have to do this for stock purposes, nothing more sinister than that and surely it's not that much of a hardship!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 6 Comments
★★★★★

“We have just returned from La Pirogue and must admit...”

Written on: 15/10/2004 by MrDixonHill (1 review written)

We have just returned from La Pirogue and must admit it is a wonderful location and hotel. Set long a white sandy beach with crystal clear waters it is protected by a reef which means it's a simply stunning setting.

La Pirogue is the oldest hotel on that stretch of beach (shared with Sugar Beach and the Hilton), but has been recently renovated with great success, the grounds a wonderful with big palm trees all around and the unique bungalows certainly give a more intimate setting, in our… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Toriaoxford's Response to MrDixonHill's Review

Written on: 28/10/2005

Hi, glad to hear you had such a wonderful time at La Pirogue! We did too and in fact it was so good, we're going back for a third time (well, 4th for my husband)! The staff as you say are very helpful - I didn't come across the ones you mentioned but VJ in the Blue Bar and Lobin (waiter with a tash!) were wonderful and, as you say, remembered our names and room numbers and couldn't do enough for us. We were lucky enough to stay in one of the superior rooms but as you say, I'm sure they're not that different to the standard rooms and of course it takes no time to walk to or even see the beautiful beach and sea! We're going again in January 06 and I can't wait - it will be our first wedding anniversary holiday and certainly needed after the lausy few months we've had. Do go again if you can - we love it but I think next year will be our last - at least for a while! Regards, Toria (Oxford)

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“La Pirogue was the most fantastic holiday we have ever...”

Written on: 16/09/2004 by MrsVandepeer (1 review written)

La Pirogue was the most fantastic holiday we have ever had. We were on honeymoon, and the staff could not have been more friendly. Food, drink, entertainment, sports and activaties are just endless. Totally recommend anyone newly weds to spend at least 2 weeks in flic en flac… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“We have just returned from Mauritius (12/09/04) and...”

Written on: 15/09/2004 by susan hutchens (1 review written)

We have just returned from Mauritius (12/09/04) and feel we have to say this was the best holiday we have had to date!! La Pirogue was excellent in all aspects. The setting is beautiful. All accommodation nestles within beautiful tropical gardens that are spectacularly well maintained. Food is superb in both choice and quality. Cleanliness of the hotel is first rate and the service and friendliness of the staff is second to none!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Toriaoxford's Response to susan hutchens's Review

Written on: 28/10/2005

I have to say I TOTALLY agree with your comments. I've been there twice now (birthday Jan 04 and Honeymoon Jan 05) and we're going back in Jan 06 for our first wedding anniversary! Can't wait. I hope that VJ (Blue Bar) and Lobin (waiter with the tash!) looked after you as well as they both looked after us - lovely staff and nothing too much trouble and the views, boy, those views! STUNNING! Can't wait to go again in 10 weeks though the flight is not so good .....
<br>
<br>Toria from Oxford

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“La Pirogue: This was the best holiday we have ever...”

Written on: 11/08/2004 by John Heather (1 review written)

La Pirogue: This was the best holiday we have ever had. We are a family of 5 and there were plenty of activities for all ages included in the holiday price. Only 1 minor drawback, sailing can only be done 2 hours either side of the high tide within the lagoon area, but the other sports are not affected. The enormous fresh water pool kept the kids happy for hours.

The food was excellent and the service the best I have had (visited many different hotels around the world). The staff could not… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Flic N Flac, La Pirogue - Got married here- a great...”

Written on: 17/06/2004 by neilo (1 review written)

Flic N Flac, La Pirogue - Got married here- a great hotel with great staff… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Flic N Flac, La Pirogue - We went to Mauritius to get...”

Written on: 01/06/2004 by burnysbird (1 review written)

Flic N Flac, La Pirogue - We went to Mauritius to get married this year and we could not have chosen a better place!

The hotel was gorgeous, with an immediate "wow" factor as soon as we walked into reception. Palm trees everywhere!

The people in the hotel were so friendly and went out of their way to help us.

The island in itself is amazing - there were various trips to go on - including going up a mountain in a jeep or even quads! As the island is surrounded in a Coral Reef (the second… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview