Spain, Competa Trailblazers Reviews

★★★★☆
4.2 / 5
84% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Spain, Competa Trailblazers - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Spain, Competa Trailblazers

Spain, Competa Trailblazers
Spain, Competa Trailblazers

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible bikes, dull riding ”

Written on: 25/03/2017 by Pmzza (1 review written)

I was so disappointed after my trip to Spain to ride with Trailblazers-pro in competa. There was two major mechanical failures of bikes in the 3 days I was there, and the same basic novice level gravel roads on offer everyday. My brakes were so bad on the first day of riding that I could barely keep it upright and although the bike was changed on day 2 it was still a pain to have to deal with sub-par machinery when you think you're paying for decent gear. For the money you're better off paying another 20-30 quid and going with a different operator that actually delivers what they claim on their website. These guys are not good at all.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great Lakes Raid Tour”

Written on: 17/10/2016 by Jamezuk (2 reviews written)

If not done - DO IT ! fabulas time had by all, great company, hotels, bikes, food and hats off to Gustarvo for his hospitality - Great Villa! Thank you Trailblazers Pro 

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Fabulous holiday”

Written on: 17/10/2016 by Slattery1970 (1 review written)

My sixth time with Trailblazers. Fabulous fun doing the 3 day scenic lakes tour. Great hotels, great company, great fun, scenery just stunning. Bikes were great, we didn't even get a puncture. Best way to holiday in Spain.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Only negative thing I'd have to say about trailblazers...”

Written on: 19/06/2016 by 230Hughes (1 review written)

Only negative thing I'd have to say about trailblazers is about the bikes not very well maintained we had to set front forks as they were so badly setup maybe done by previous novice riders not having a clue what they were doing. Pick up from airport was spot on the taxi driver turned out to be owner of bar bar manager owner of hotel and mayor of malaga as far as we new. He kept on recommending the restaurant for lunch and dinner turns out he owns all of them. The biking tour was deadly those tight turns up the mountains fabulous views but as bikers wouldn't have it any other way . Why do it if it's not dangerous. Jose was a great guide and good laugh and nice guy. Would go again but maybe do the lake tour next time.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Spring Raid”

Written on: 28/04/2016

Had an absolutely fantastic time. Not for the faint hearted though (esp if you're on the KTM 300cc 2stroke - which is a blast!! Could maybe do with better response when riders become injured...i.e don't allow them to ride their bike with a suspected broken arm without getting it checked out first.....although in fairness, the nature of the location etc. does make a fast response difficult. Time on the practice track with assessment of rider ability I'd think would enhance safety, as guides would gain better appreciation of individuals skill levels, and could tailor to suit. Accommodation/food was fantastic, and his stories very entertaining.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid at all costs. Bikes are a death trap, zero...”

Written on: 04/10/2015 by Pinny3 (1 review written)

Avoid at all costs. Bikes are a death trap, zero maintenance and tyres are not fit for the type of terrain. After we agreed to end our three day trip early on good terms when we called for a refund, owner was very hostile and made up some story about us trashing the hotel room and we wouldn't be getting a refund. A total lying 5cumbag. Don't waste your money on this company

Trailblazers-Pro's Response to Pinny3's Review

Written on: 08/10/2015

We thank you for booking your tour with us and we were sorry to see you leave the tour prematurely. We honestly tried to bend over backwards to accommodate your requests to a reasonable degree when possible. We agree totally with one of the group who said “this tour would be ideal for 99% of riders, but for us it isn’t what we expected”. What you “expected” we cannot deliver on a number of reasons. Firstly, we have the safety of our riders to care for, this is a paramount issue for us to maintain! Secondly, we have our reputation in the community to consider. We have operated here in this part of Spain for over 13 years and have built up a good reputation with the locals and certainly do not want to jeopardise it. As you make up the 1% of riders looking for more extreme action we suggest next time you do more research into your chosen trip away with the guys.

Reply to this comment

Jac111's reply to Trailblazers-Pro's Comment

Written on: 27/10/2015

having also been on the trip, you did not try to accommodate us at all, you threw the toys out of the pram.
you had all the information and level of all riders. we paid a premium for our group only but when we arrive you have 2 novices and an extra guy. You sent the novices out on they're own!! and the single joined our group.
You asked us to stay at the hotel for dinner before leaving as they put on extra staff which was more lies.
Stag doos only as its a shocking experience otherwise.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Well cared for!”

Written on: 13/08/2015

As beginners we felt very well looked after. We had a blast great fun good company would come again.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Amazing fun in spain”

Written on: 30/06/2015

This was a really fun experience. The trails are cool and lead you to wonderful views of spain. I thought there was a large selection of bikes to choose from. It was reasonably priced too.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“amazing full ”

Written on: 12/06/2015 by kelsbelskelsbels (1 review written)

Just back home in Switzerland after  3 days riding in Southern Spain with Trailblazers.  This was our first visit and first time off road.  Jose our guide was a great teacher with immense patience.  His local knowledge incredible  how they learn all the   routes I´ll never know.   The hotel Posada La Plaza fantastic accommodation great food great prices. Already looking forward to meeting up with the guys again next year.  Thanks again Trailblazers

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great trail riding around beautiful scenery of Andalucia”

Written on: 11/06/2015 by pwesley (2 reviews written)

This was my 4th holiday with Trailblazers in 2 years. I love these holidays because they have everything I want in a biking holiday that supplies everything I need - kit, bikes, nice hotels, guides and lunches. These holidays are so easy for me to come on - originally coming with mates on my first trip, the last 3 trips have been just me as I love the pick-up option from the airport instead of car hire and have enjoyed meeting up with a few different groups of bikers, all who have been so very friendly - The love of bikes is a great thing everyone has in common. 3 full on days of trail riding on a KTM 450 on the latest trip, and previously a mix of both 450 4-stroke and a 300 2-stroke. The latest trip was a 3 day Lakes raid. Day one was great riding over the hills towards a stunning blue water lake with lots of great tracks through the woods surrounding it then upwards over the hill on the horizon via great tracks with an overnight stop at the El Ventorro hotel (http://elventorro.net) where our kit was dropped off and we all enjoyed the perfect way to relax after a long days ride by taking a long dip in the hot natural springs pools at the hotel. Day two was great riding towards a second stunning blue water lake with lots of great tracks through the fields and hills surrounding it then upwards over another hill on the horizon via great tracks with an overnight stop at the Bandalero hotel (http://www.posadadelbandolero.com) where our kit was dropped off and we all enjoyed the comfortable hotel with the very friendly owner who really makes you feel welcome. Day three was a ride up to the masts above Malaga - just a couple of the technical sections were a bit too hard for me so I enjoyed the winding road sections between these, meeting up with the better riders a bit further along and just soaked up the beautiful scenery. Blast back to Competa and the final nights stay at the nice quality hotel. I am always tired but buzzing for a few days after coming back from these holidays, as they have everything in one holiday that I love as a biker.   the people I dealt with are always great hosts and the other guy always makes the riding fun as we take a few stops along the way for a breather, photos and some interesting riding tales or some local history of the area. Lunches are always great (and included in the price) to get your energy back up in the local villages we go through along the way. These holidays give you the true flavour of Spain at its best and in places you would never otherwise visit.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Lake Tour - Highly Recommended”

Written on: 13/05/2015 by Jamezuk (2 reviews written)

All I can say is 'Book it' greta 3 day tour, riding around two lakes, through woods and put in some extreme riding along the way. The acommadation was 1st class, Competa hotels, Ventoro - brine baths and El Borge - all superb! Bob Corsa - Paris/Dakar rider rode with us on the last day.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“One of the best holidays ever”

Written on: 23/10/2014 by beddoes90 (1 review written)

Fantastic time with Trailblazers. Great organisation, and very friendly people, stayed for 4 days and did plenty of riding and stopped at some fantastic places for lunch and sunshine. I would recommend this to anyone, we are definitely coming back!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great Escape”

Written on: 23/10/2014 by neiljohnmarshall (1 review written)

This was my second visit to Trailblazers and had another fantastic time. Its such a wonderful place in the world to explore and be free. The trials were excellent albeit scary at first but as long as you ride within your limits there is no problem. Our guide Jose was brilliant and looked after us all really well. Our group was novice and the day was geared to suit our riding skill. The restaurants we went to at lunch gave us an opportunity to recover and relax for an hour. Each restaurant went out of their way to ensure we were fed and watered adequately and the food was first class. The hotels we stayed in were perfect for our needs albeit a bit rural but perfectly fine for what we needed. Hotel food was excellent we especially enjoyed the steak stones at the Hotel Rural Alberdini.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great Trails - will be back”

Written on: 24/09/2014 by Davion383 (1 review written)

As a first timer to Off Road motorcycling, we didn't know what to expect. All I can say is 'It's brilliant' The overall experience was just amazing, from when we landed, the car hire(free)just had to pay for the fuel,the hotels,bikes,kit,guide,trails, lunch,evening meals and the hosts, They were so accomadating - Thank You. We will be back.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Superb Experience”

Written on: 31/01/2014 by BikeTracker (1 review written)

Just back from a wonderful trip to sunny Spain with Trailblazers-pro. Right from the start everything went to plan! We were a little doubtful having heard of things typically going wrong in Spain but from landing at Malaga airport we followed the directions to find our free car hire provided by Tailblazers-pro. The hotel was great, easy to find, they looked after us and were very accommodating as we arrived rather late in the evening. Thoroughly enjoyed the riding, even though I had an slight accident and snapped off a lever on my bike, was expecting to have to pay for the damage, but they just laughed at me! Both the guides bent over backwards to help and especially the Spanish guide who could understand me despite my Scottish accent. Scenery, weather was fantastic and the Menu lunches were a bonus, as we all developed quite an appetite being on the bikes for so long. Definitely would recommend it!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Trailblazers Pro - Fantastic”

Written on: 16/01/2014 by Jamezzuk (1 review written)

I must say after reading some of the reviews I'm gobsmacked ready the negative comments that have been written. I've been going for 7 years now, taking 20 or so different people to experience the Trailblazers way of life and not one bad comment has been made, It's great. As long as you are honest with your level of riding and request the different itinerary info, then go for it. The advisers are fab people as are the hotel staff and owners. Top bikes, KTM - 2t/4t, Honda and Suzuki bikes are on offer to use as long as you can handle the big bikes, away you go. Put it this way, if you portray bad vibes, what do you expect!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I originally signed with friends for a 3 days "tour"...”

Written on: 29/11/2013 by surcouf888 (1 review written)

I originally signed with friends for a 3 days "tour" early November 2013. The first half day ride was a combination of backyard trails between private villas and a seedy motocross field. Whilst we did go through the mountains, all the locations we rode through had sporadic houses/farms - we expected this to not be the case. On the second day, although we had different guides and the overall directions were different it felt like we were on the same trails, it did not feel any different to the first day. Third day, we went to the beach! 30 years of dirt bike across so many countries, this is by far my very worst experience. PS: Hotel and people from the region are really nice.

Jamezuk's Response to surcouf888's Review

Written on: 16/01/2014

Been going since 2006, great place to ride, you must be novices or the guide was not impressed with your level, we always go around the lakes, up the river beds etc.
Remember it's Trailriding not enduro.

Reply to this comment

Surcouf888's reply to Jamezuk's Comment

Written on: 17/01/2014

35 years of dirt bike including 5 years of Enduro and motocross competition + 10 African Rallyes ranking in the top 20. Let's say I am an inspired novice.
I invite you to discover other places instead of keep thinking this is a great place to ride. I would not even bring my true novice kids over there.

Reply to this comment

Jamezuk's reply to Surcouf888's Comment

Written on: 17/01/2014

If your such an expert, why go trailriding, think your expectations were too great, maybe the Daker is more up your street!!!
I've also been all over, trials riding for 35 years, nationals the lot, we enjoy Trailblazers and don't think you should slate something that you don't like - many folk enjoy the trailriding thats on offer.

Reply to this comment

Jac111's reply to Jamezuk's Comment

Written on: 01/10/2015

Sounds like trailblazers answering they're own reviews, to me.

Agree with Surcouf888, total joke, run by a old guy and his older wife, talking a good job and delivering cheap tat.

Reply to this comment

Jamezuk's reply to Jac111's Comment

Written on: 18/02/2016

Jac111/Surcouf888 -
Those are harsh words.
and NO your totally wrong as normal - We use other off road companies in Spain.
Sounds like your all amateurs to the whole Spanish Off Road world - I'd stay on the MX track if I were you........LOL

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 5 Comments
★★★★★

“100% great experience!!”

Written on: 23/04/2013 by Fraserzx9 (1 review written)

Just returned from Competa Spain and have to say, what a fantastic weekend! They were superb in every aspect, relaxed, friendly and very welcoming, the trails are great and chosen well for the whole groups ability, me being the only novice in the group found there was no pressure and could ride within my comfort zone. The whole trip was organised so well from the transfers, hotel, bikes and gear! Could not fault it in anyway and would highly recommend to anybody thinking of doing a off road bike trip. Thank you for a chilled but adrenaline filled two days of riding.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I have just returned from my 3rd long weekend back...”

Written on: 01/03/2011

I have just returned from my 3rd long weekend back from trailblazers (3 days riding on each trip) and had an outstanding time. There were 9 of us and we had such a blast. Graham and Liz are such good hosts and since we have ridden quite a few of the trails before they arranged a stay on the 2nd night at a different hotel, with Liz arriving with our luggage (no extra charge) I persoanlly would advise you to have some off road experience, if not go with a group who are also novice. Generally speaking the bikes are excellent, as Graham changes them on a regular basis, but they DO take a hammering, out of our group two were not the best BUT as I say there were NINE of us and I ended up with a 450 KTM which could pull your arms off! As for the trails and views- 11 out of 10. Makes Wales look flat!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“TRAILBLAZERS-PRO SPAIN - A complete disaster,...”

Written on: 25/11/2010

TRAILBLAZERS-PRO SPAIN - A complete disaster, collection at the airport was bad, couldn't find our driver, then a mile walk with our kit to the car to find that the Police had impounded the car, had to wait ages to get that released. got to the deserted village, no host, dropped off by the driver & wandered around in the dark not knowing where to go, eventually got into the Hotel & phoned the host, he was too busy to talk, he said see you in the morning. Wandered around the village looking for somewhere to eat eventually found a little bar about to close. Went back to the hotel to bed, got up in the morning, host told us that there were no bikes to ride, been impounded by Police. eventually two off road bikes turned up that were just about ridable (these had to be shared between five of us), one bike had no front brake & both were difficult to start. did a bit of riding on a local piece of rough ground one of our friends had a fall & ended up in hospital, not much riding for the rest of the day or the next two days. was offered a free day when we come back next time ..... I DON'T THINK SO! WHAT A DISGRACE!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview