John Fowler, St. Ives Holiday Village Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.2 / 5
39% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
John Fowler, St. Ives Holiday Village - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for John Fowler, St. Ives Holiday Village

John Fowler, St. Ives Holiday Village
John Fowler, St. Ives Holiday Village
John Fowler, St. Ives Holiday Village
John Fowler, St. Ives Holiday Village

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“HORRENDOUS ”

Written on: 27/08/2020 by MarieClarke1111111 (1 review written)

We had a weeks holiday booked at the John Fowler St Ives holiday park, and it was a nightmare from the moment we arrived. We were allocated chalet 299 which is apparently Gold standard....from the moment we opened the door our holiday went downhill. The place absolutely stank, the bedsheets were wet so we tried to dry them, to find the heating was broken. The kids mattresses had springs sticking out, we complained multiple times, and eventually had the mattresses replaced with mouldy ones… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgusting not fit for a dog”

Written on: 25/10/2017 by Bell1065 (1 review written)

We arrived Friday night for a lovely weekend , than we were given our keys , shock horror at what we saw , never in my life have I seen anything so disgusting, the smell hit us as soon as we opened the door , it was filthy there were holes in the window and the door was rotten , what can I say about the funiture , there’s not words to describe it , reception staff not helpful they seem to think it’s a big joke , club house is tired and smells people were taping umbrellas to chairs cause… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bluebird999's Response to Bell1065's Review

Written on: 04/02/2019

The chalet we had ( bronze) was very similar ( to above) but we had a little extra which was human excrement smeared on the wall in the living room.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst holiday ever”

Written on: 29/09/2016 by Siennat1976 (1 review written)

Stayed in silver rated chalet for four nights, thank god it was no more than that and thankfully weather was dry. It's beyond comprehension how this company can take people's money and let them stay in these rabbit hutches!! As soon as we arrived we could smell the dampness we had heater on in lounge not because it was cold but to try and eliminate the damp odour but this wasn't very successful ! The shower dripped out it did not flow I could not wash my hair I had to go to a family members… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Damp unclean and smelly!”

Written on: 12/10/2015 by TaniyahStrickland (1 review written)

Ok we had budget accommodation this time....it was terrible! The Windows wouldn't shut properly which is a security risk....and well not to put to finer words on This I have seen better looking sofas on a rubbish tip my arms kept sticking to the material which was black and sticky not to mention the damp waking up every time I turned over in bed because the spring's made that much noise....he'll it was hard and I would have slept better on the floor! The only saving grace it had was we could… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great family holiday”

Written on: 26/07/2015 by KayleighMorris (1 review written)

Had family holiday June 13-20. We had such an awesome time mostly thanks to the amazing entertainment team. My family age range 21,19,12,4. All had such a lot of fun every evening on the club, we were thoroughly entertained, laughed till we cried every evening. The younger children were so well looked after and made to feel very special. Recommend this park for any family… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“horrible ”

Written on: 29/06/2015 by urMahoney27 (1 review written)

Sent the wife for nice relaxing weekend away. She checked in at 4 and texted me at ten past to say that the chalet is disgusting damp and smelly. .....should have known better JOHN FOWLER never again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DISGUSTING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Written on: 02/10/2014 by ArelyMattingly255 (1 review written)

Ok so we arrived at chalet 18, it was unbearable, dated, dirty, smelly, and as for the bathroom what a disgrace. Complained then we went into chalet 50, well that wasn't fit for a dog let alone a couple with a 13month old and that was a higher grade!! Asked for a refund they then offered us another chalet so into 245 we go, it smelt damp and sweaty, the bathroom floor was filthy and no way useable, and no where for a travel cot so off to reception we go (reception supposed to be there until 7)… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible stench and mould. ”

Written on: 23/08/2014 by KingCos (1 review written)

Location nice but silver bungalow damp, smelly and dirty. Lawn outside littered and outside of building unkept and in need of tlc. Me and hubby very dissapointed but tried to stop kids holiday from being ruined so stayed out as long as possible. Spent money and time cleaning all rooms but could not deter horrible smell.. It had permeated all walls, wood and fabric of building. Love St Ives but not John Fowler holiday. Never again. Would not recommend… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Brilliant time after time”

Written on: 29/05/2014 by May1987 (1 review written)

My husband and I (plus dog) have been going to John Fowlers in St. Ives for the last seven years. We take the same route each time and as we turn into the driveway we both say 'home again'. To all who have complained about the smell of damp, the insects found on arrival, the less than perfect paintwork inside and the small bathrooms I would say; for goodness sake people, you're staying in a wooden structure ... in the middle of a wood! What did you expect, the Hilton. It's the closest thing… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Silver Chalet?? Outrageous...”

Written on: 07/05/2014 by efColeman319 (1 review written)

OK, so we had this weekend as complimentary to 'renew our faith in John Fowler Holidays' after our stay at Ilfracombe. We thought that at least they might make sure we were put up in a decent chalet. Hell, no. The silver chalet stank of damp as soon as we opened the door. Yes, it was an improvement on Ilfracombe, but quite frankly, that wasn't hard. The kitchen area was pretty clean. The bathroom light switches were black with mould and dirt at the bottom. The outside of the chalets were… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“danger don,t go there”

Written on: 09/09/2013

me and my girlfriend have been doing sun holidays for years and we always have the budget accomadation and have always had decent places to stay in but this place stinks,how they get away with letting people pay to stay in them the mind boggles,they should pay you.if you do decide to go here take a hoover some plug in air freshners and a tin of paint.we told the woman at reception that it smelled of damp but she then said they know they have a damp problem.the answer DON,T LET PEOPLE STAY IN… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Was worried by reviews, but have booked again read on!!!!”

Written on: 14/10/2012 by KIMANDED (1 review written)

October 6 – 13 2012 5 adults: myself, my husband 2 grown up children & one of their partners. Have just got back from St Ives holiday Village, Oakleigh bungalow ( budget one) I must admit I was very worried after reading the reviews on this website & from previous experience of a John Fellows site (not St Ives). Everything that was vital was great constant hot water from the tank, the shower was no problem, heated towel rail in the bathroom came in very useful so did the clothes hanger… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Lovely Break!”

Written on: 11/05/2012 by Jaynelangford (1 review written)

Well,,, after reading a few negative reviews I was thinking of not going but glad I did! Took Hubby and two Westies. Check in 10 outta 10 very friendly and happy to help with anything we needed, Chalet very clean and believe me I am a clean freak, shower and cubicle spotless, sink, toilet spotless, same goes for the rest of the chalet and by the way we had a budget one. Yes little outdated but that reflects in the price, if we wanted 5 star we would have paid 5 star prices. Club House,,, well… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT waste your money on this place”

Written on: 29/04/2012

The chalets at the John Fowler site are sub standard accommodation which date back to the sixties and have clearly not been changed since; apart from the sofa and tele. The chalet resembled a shed with windows and as the weather was awful we had to have the one heater on and so the windows were running with condensation. The doors have paint chipped off them, the bathroom is so small I have no idea how an adult male or large woman would even fit in there. The front door had a huge gap at the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“did not enjoy”

Written on: 21/04/2012

arrived here after a 9 hour journey from scotland and entering challet it was horrible i knew by the filth on door that it was not going to be pleasant there was a horrible smell even my 12 year old son couldnt stand it! the chairs were worn done really needs an upgrade bed sheets were filthy went to reception to complain and ask for an upgrade got told there was no other places and it would not be dirty so they sent someone along and they changed bedsheets!!!then got told we could upgrade for… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Nice place :)”

Written on: 17/04/2012

We have just come back from st ives John folwer,our party was four adults and two children. We had a budget woodland chalet,this was nice well equipet and clean ,only complaint was the bath was extreamly small !!! The whole site is attractive and peacefull. Pool was ok however there are no lockers or changing rooms. The entertainment team work EXTREAMLY HARD to keep every one happy. Close to st ives and not too far away from Hayle. We will be returning thankyou to all the staff who made our… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“We always go back every year”

Written on: 16/10/2011 by drrock (1 review written)

We went to St ives in the April 2009, for our first family holiday and it was the best holiday everso good in fact as soon as we got home home we booked another holiday for the October of the same year. We went again last year and the staff made our little boy who has learning problems feel like a milion dollers cause the celebrated his birthday on stage with freddy. We are going back this year in a week in fact and cant wait. We as a family absoulutly love St ives we will never stop comming… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Not at all a treat!”

Written on: 02/10/2011 by Chloe222b (1 review written)

We booked a week long holiday, Saturday to Saturday. It took seven hours to get there and when we got into our chalet it was damp, smelly, the setee's and armchairs had brown stains of dirt on the arms, there was no blankets for the beds which were needed as we had one poxy little heater to heat the entire chalet and there was four sets of everything, four plates, four bowls ect. and we needed MORE, there was not a hanger to hang clothes that needed drying out the window, that could possibly… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“do not go here”

Written on: 20/09/2011 by Plymouth (1 review written)

Tthis was the holiday from hell and was definately not worth the money. Everything about this place was awful and should be closed down! for one, the staff are so rude, unhelpful and miserable. The "childrens park" is FILTHY, has nothing but two slides, it is so pointless and boring with bird poo everywhere! The "perfect holiday lodges" are dirty, damp, cold and smelly. The arcade is tiny with hardly anything in there, not even a 2p machine! all arcades have one of them. The swimming pool is… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“The park served its purpose for what we wanted”

Written on: 04/07/2011 by Kerry_Louise (1 review written)

The John Fowler holiday park needs a lot of work and money spent on it. The shalets are very old, ours smelt of damp and the windows did not shut properly so we had to sleep with the heating on all night(In July). The insides of the shalets are very dated with wood effect walls and carpets from the 60's. The entertainment was ok, but all the staff in the park were really nice. Even though i have given the park a low rating we still had a lovely holiday. We were booked onto the park with the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview